Season #: 11, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On
Buy On

Critic Reviews

  1. Variety
    Reviewed by: Laura Fries
    Jun 10, 2013
    60
    Works a little too hard to be everything to everyone. However, beyond the carefully calculated diversity of the pilot lies a pleasant and heartwarming series that may bridge the generation gap at the WB. It's still a chick show, but at least Gilmore Girls could attract women well past the N' Sync phase. [4 Oct 2000, p.7]
  2. Arizona Republic
    Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 6, 2013
    60
    Gilmore Girls tries to be edgy, but at its core it's -- there's just noother word -- sweet. It's nothing groundbreaking. [5 Oct 2000, p.1E]
  3. Washington Post
    Reviewed by: Megan Rosenfield
    Jun 10, 2013
    50
    One of those "almost" shows--almost funny, almost interesting and almost family-friendly. There is potential here, particularly in the mother-daughter relationship between 32-year-old Lorelai (Lauren Graham) and 16-year-old Rory (Alexis Bledel), who could develop a real bond if they'd stop zinging one-liners for a few minutes. And if they can't stop the quips, maybe they could just speak more slowly so the audience can understand what they're saying. [5 Oct 2000, p.C07]
  4. Boston Herald
    Reviewed by: Monica Collins
    Jun 6, 2013
    50
    The TV mom has changed - from out-of-touch authority figure to giggling girlfriend. This WB series attempts to depict a thoroughly modern single parent-child relationship. Yet, there's a sense this type of chumminess could only happen on TV. [5 Oct 2000, p.48]
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 78
  2. Negative: 6 out of 78
  1. Jul 31, 2018
    9
    Gilmore Girls Review:

    When I first began Gilmore Girls, I was skeptical. It moved too slowly - life in Stars Hollow - and by reflection,
    Gilmore Girls Review:

    When I first began Gilmore Girls, I was skeptical. It moved too slowly - life in Stars Hollow - and by reflection, the girls’ lives. It felt atypical, misplaced, and not synchronious with the real world. Slowly, I was pulled into the world of troubadors, nights spent on couches in the GIlmore house, walking the sandstone hallways of Chilton and Yale — seeing the world through Rory’s eyes, and at the same time, observing her aside. It got me, in its subtly concealed understanding of family dynamics, relationships, and friendships. People in the show became more animated and believable, not just falling back on their familiar idiosyncracies, but in their roughness and shortcomings. The show grew on me, as I watched, enveloped in the warmth of the Gilmore house but also the simplicity and characteristic warmth of Rory’s life. I could revel in the family altercations at Friday night dinner, the scares of attending a private university, and the difficulties of having a relationship and balancing that with true and loyal friends. Ultimately, the show gave me a safe haven, an alternate depiction of life, despite its somewhat pictorial absurdities, and lessons the lengths to which Rory will go to keep family and dreams close by. The revival of the show wasn’t perfect - as people often are - but more importantly, life often isn’t. Rory’s epistles from naivety to maidenhood are as trying with reality as they are sympathetic to our dreams.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 3, 2017
    10
    I love Gilmore Girls! It's one of my favorite show of all time. I first heard about it when it came to Netflix, so I'm part of thatI love Gilmore Girls! It's one of my favorite show of all time. I first heard about it when it came to Netflix, so I'm part of that generation. I love the fast paced and quick witted dialogue the show has. That is just one of the elements the show has. The mother-daughter duo that are more like best friends is great. Their chemistry works so well together. The town of Stars Hollow is probably my favorite part because I love that town! The quirky characters, the festivals every month, Luke's Diner, Ms. Patty's Dance Studio, the town gazebo, Taylor Dosee. I love it all! The boys on the show are probably the best part! Dean, Jess, Logan. My favorite boy was Jess. Even though he was a bad ass he was so sweet to Rory and he was interested in reading and writing and almost more into the pop culture references that went over Dean's head. I love Richard and Emily Gilmore. Their chemistry on the show is one I will never forget. Emily's insults made me laugh. Whenever Richard entered a room, I felt his presence. He was definitely in the revival. I love Paris Gellar. She and Emily Gilmore were probably the two most intimidating characters on the show. I love Luke Danes. His presence on the show and his chemistry with Lorelei is one that I will always remember and one that is always goals. The small elements on the show I loved as well. The coffee addiction, pop tarts, Chinese food, pizza, movie nights, studying, a weekend in Stars Hollow, reading, the town gazebo, Luke's Diner, the library. I love it all! I couldn't wait for the girls to be back in the revival and was incredibly happy with it. Amy Sherman-Pallidino, you did a great job. I will always appreciate you. You're amazing in what all you do. I love Sookie St. James, played by the wonderful Melissa McCarthy. I love Jackson. I love Lane. She was a such a good friend to Rory and Lorelei was basically like a second mother to her. I love Lane's band. I love Mrs. Kim, even though she's super scary. I love Ms. Patty. I love Babette and Mori and their cat and their gnomes. I love Luke's sister Liz. I love her husband TJ. I love all of Lorelei's men. Christopher, Max, Alex, Jason, and Luke. Luke was the best guy for her though, just saying. I love when Rory goes to college and experiences new things like love, classes, and realizes it's very hard. I love the episode of when she comes home to talk to her mom, but can't find her. She ends up getting comforted by Dean. Lorelei has a breakdown to and ends up getting comforted by Luke. All the first times that happened in this show to both girls. I love Kirk. Kirk is the best character and he's so funny. I wish there was a Kirk where I lived. My favorite characters though are Lorelei and Rory Gilmore. The two leading ladies of the show. Their chemistry with each other is amazing and make me laugh after I've had a bad day. Thank you for listening to my long ass review of the best show ever! Full Review »
  3. Dec 16, 2016
    0
    This show is about a woman with a rich upbringing that hates her parents not because they beat her but because they insisted on theirThis show is about a woman with a rich upbringing that hates her parents not because they beat her but because they insisted on their upbringing...poor Lorali. Rory is a spoiled nerd that has to have things her way, sleeps with married men and ends up doing nothing with her life. Great show! Full Review »