Season #: 11, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On
Buy On

Critic Reviews

  1. Deseret News
    Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    Jun 10, 2013
    100
    A wonderful hour that's fresh and funny. [4 Oct 2000, p.C08]
  2. Newark Star-Ledger
    Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 10, 2013
    100
    Nothing short of a TV miracle: a family show that's sweet, but not too syrupy, bitingly funny, but not mean-spirited and fun for viewers of all ages, without appealing to the blandest common denominator. [5 Oct 2000, p.37]
  3. St. Louis Post-Dispatch
    Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Jun 10, 2013
    100
    Insightful, intelligent and very, very funny, the WB's Gilmore Girls is the best not-quite-drama, not-quite-comedy of the new television season. [5 Oct 2000, p.F6]
  4. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jun 10, 2013
    100
    Hip, clever and hilarious...A sparkling little character study, quirky comedy, relationship drama and all-around delight. [5 Oct 2000, p.B43]
  5. Miami Herald
    Reviewed by: Terry Jackson
    Jun 10, 2013
    100
    Gilmore Girls is by far the most entertaining comedy-drama on the fall schedule and it should appeal to both The WB's core teenage audience and their parents; it doesn't talk down to either side of the age divide. [5 Oct 2000, p.1E]
  6. The Hollywood Reporter
    Reviewed by: Ray Richmond
    Jun 10, 2013
    100
    Gilmore Girls is a genuine gem in the making, a family-friendly hour burdened by neither trite cliche nor precocious pablum. It is as fresh and real as "Dawson's Creek" is stale and contrived. In the process, it re-energizes the 8 o'clock hour with a bracing burst of heart. [5 Oct 2000]
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Lipton
    Jun 27, 2013
    91
    The season's nicest surprise.
  8. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 13, 2013
    91
    Such a nice surprise: A sharply written show about a mother-daughter relationship filled with vibrant emotions instead of cheap sarcasm.
  9. Houston Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Ann Hodges
    Jun 10, 2013
    91
    Gilmore Girls has got something - maybe just what it takes to grow on you. [5 Oct 2000, p.4]
  10. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Jun 10, 2013
    90
    It's a touching, funny, lively show that really does appeal to all ages.
  11. Kansas City Star
    Reviewed by: Aaron Barnhart
    Jun 10, 2013
    90
    I liked this show immediately...A delightful, well-designed show from start to finish. [5 Oct 2000, p.E1]
  12. Baltimore Sun
    Reviewed by: David Zurawik
    Jun 6, 2013
    90
    One of the most pleasant surprises of the new season. [5 Oct 2000, p.1E]
  13. New York Post
    Reviewed by: Adam Buckman
    Jun 10, 2013
    88
    Where most of the new shows I've been forced to sit through lately do just about everything wrong, Gilmore Girls gets most of the fundamentals right, especially the acting and writing. [5 Oct 2000, p.95]
  14. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Chuck Barney
    Jun 6, 2013
    88
    Gilmore Girls is brimming with fine performances all around, but the keys, of course, are its two leads. The appealing Graham has endured her share of TV flops ("Townies," "MYOB" and "Conrad Bloom"), but now she appears to have the kind of material that will allow her comic talents to shine. Meanwhile, Bledel is a promising newcomer with an intriguing round face, expressive eyes and a gift for deadpan retorts. [5 Oct 2000, p.D01]
  15. Seattle Post-Intelligencer
    Reviewed by: John Levesque
    Jun 10, 2013
    83
    At times tonight, The WB's new Gilmore Girls will be well worth watching, easily the most arresting show of the young season. At other moments, it will make you wince at its unrelenting cuteness, an overeager poseur trying hard to impress. Please be patient. Next week's episode tempers the sweet with a little more savory, achieving a charming balance that promises to fill our Thursday nights this fall with an achingly on-point homage to mother-daughter relationships. [5 Oct 2000, p.E1]
  16. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Jun 10, 2013
    80
    An amusing, highly promising light drama from the WB about mother-daughter bonding that is tender, warm and loving in a natural way without heaping on the schmaltz. [4 Oct 2000, p.F1]
  17. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 10, 2013
    80
    It's edgier than "7th Heaven," but not so edgy that parents will be turned off. It also expands the definition of a family and realistically shows the complexity of intergenerational relationships. [5 Oct 2000, p.D-6]
  18. Orlando Sentinel
    Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Jun 10, 2013
    80
    The comedy is diverting enough, but the poignant drama makes Gilmore Girls special. This series may not fit conventional expectations for family drama, but the show succeeds on that turf anyway. Isn't that what television desperately needs: more family programming? [5 Oct 2000, p.E1]
  19. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 10, 2013
    75
    That's a lot of eccentricity for one hour, but Gilmore Girls never loses its even, humorous keel or its unforced warmth. There are clever lines, to be sure (Michel, ignoring Lorelai: "To me, you are the teacher in the Charlie Brown cartoons"), but they seldom turn nasty and never seem out of character. [5 Oct 2000, p.1D]
  20. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: Eric Mink
    Jun 10, 2013
    70
    Gilmore Girls occasionally feels a bit too glib for its own good, with pacing sometimes a tad frantic for a one-hour family drama. Those quibbles aside, it's a welcome addition to prime time, and one of the best of this fall's crop of new series. [4 Oct 2000, p.100]
  21. Reviewed by: Ron Wertheimer
    Jun 10, 2013
    70
    A likable if lightweight not-too-dramatic series.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 78
  2. Negative: 6 out of 78
  1. Jul 31, 2018
    9
    Gilmore Girls Review:

    When I first began Gilmore Girls, I was skeptical. It moved too slowly - life in Stars Hollow - and by reflection,
    Gilmore Girls Review:

    When I first began Gilmore Girls, I was skeptical. It moved too slowly - life in Stars Hollow - and by reflection, the girls’ lives. It felt atypical, misplaced, and not synchronious with the real world. Slowly, I was pulled into the world of troubadors, nights spent on couches in the GIlmore house, walking the sandstone hallways of Chilton and Yale — seeing the world through Rory’s eyes, and at the same time, observing her aside. It got me, in its subtly concealed understanding of family dynamics, relationships, and friendships. People in the show became more animated and believable, not just falling back on their familiar idiosyncracies, but in their roughness and shortcomings. The show grew on me, as I watched, enveloped in the warmth of the Gilmore house but also the simplicity and characteristic warmth of Rory’s life. I could revel in the family altercations at Friday night dinner, the scares of attending a private university, and the difficulties of having a relationship and balancing that with true and loyal friends. Ultimately, the show gave me a safe haven, an alternate depiction of life, despite its somewhat pictorial absurdities, and lessons the lengths to which Rory will go to keep family and dreams close by. The revival of the show wasn’t perfect - as people often are - but more importantly, life often isn’t. Rory’s epistles from naivety to maidenhood are as trying with reality as they are sympathetic to our dreams.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 3, 2017
    10
    I love Gilmore Girls! It's one of my favorite show of all time. I first heard about it when it came to Netflix, so I'm part of thatI love Gilmore Girls! It's one of my favorite show of all time. I first heard about it when it came to Netflix, so I'm part of that generation. I love the fast paced and quick witted dialogue the show has. That is just one of the elements the show has. The mother-daughter duo that are more like best friends is great. Their chemistry works so well together. The town of Stars Hollow is probably my favorite part because I love that town! The quirky characters, the festivals every month, Luke's Diner, Ms. Patty's Dance Studio, the town gazebo, Taylor Dosee. I love it all! The boys on the show are probably the best part! Dean, Jess, Logan. My favorite boy was Jess. Even though he was a bad ass he was so sweet to Rory and he was interested in reading and writing and almost more into the pop culture references that went over Dean's head. I love Richard and Emily Gilmore. Their chemistry on the show is one I will never forget. Emily's insults made me laugh. Whenever Richard entered a room, I felt his presence. He was definitely in the revival. I love Paris Gellar. She and Emily Gilmore were probably the two most intimidating characters on the show. I love Luke Danes. His presence on the show and his chemistry with Lorelei is one that I will always remember and one that is always goals. The small elements on the show I loved as well. The coffee addiction, pop tarts, Chinese food, pizza, movie nights, studying, a weekend in Stars Hollow, reading, the town gazebo, Luke's Diner, the library. I love it all! I couldn't wait for the girls to be back in the revival and was incredibly happy with it. Amy Sherman-Pallidino, you did a great job. I will always appreciate you. You're amazing in what all you do. I love Sookie St. James, played by the wonderful Melissa McCarthy. I love Jackson. I love Lane. She was a such a good friend to Rory and Lorelei was basically like a second mother to her. I love Lane's band. I love Mrs. Kim, even though she's super scary. I love Ms. Patty. I love Babette and Mori and their cat and their gnomes. I love Luke's sister Liz. I love her husband TJ. I love all of Lorelei's men. Christopher, Max, Alex, Jason, and Luke. Luke was the best guy for her though, just saying. I love when Rory goes to college and experiences new things like love, classes, and realizes it's very hard. I love the episode of when she comes home to talk to her mom, but can't find her. She ends up getting comforted by Dean. Lorelei has a breakdown to and ends up getting comforted by Luke. All the first times that happened in this show to both girls. I love Kirk. Kirk is the best character and he's so funny. I wish there was a Kirk where I lived. My favorite characters though are Lorelei and Rory Gilmore. The two leading ladies of the show. Their chemistry with each other is amazing and make me laugh after I've had a bad day. Thank you for listening to my long ass review of the best show ever! Full Review »
  3. Dec 16, 2016
    0
    This show is about a woman with a rich upbringing that hates her parents not because they beat her but because they insisted on theirThis show is about a woman with a rich upbringing that hates her parents not because they beat her but because they insisted on their upbringing...poor Lorali. Rory is a spoiled nerd that has to have things her way, sleeps with married men and ends up doing nothing with her life. Great show! Full Review »