• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 7, 2016
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18

Where To Watch

Buy On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 7, 2016
    10
    My now all-time favorite movie is the 2007 film version of Hairspray. I love the era and the concept against discrimination. I eagerly anticipated the Hairspray Live TV version airing on NBC 12/7/2016. I watched tonight and was very pleased. Most of the songs from the movie were used plus ones that I understand were cut from the film. The order of events was different from the movieMy now all-time favorite movie is the 2007 film version of Hairspray. I love the era and the concept against discrimination. I eagerly anticipated the Hairspray Live TV version airing on NBC 12/7/2016. I watched tonight and was very pleased. Most of the songs from the movie were used plus ones that I understand were cut from the film. The order of events was different from the movie as well. However, as a musical performance it was excellent. My favorite number was "Timeless". I do have to wonder how Harvey Fierstein had such a convincingly realistic cleavage in the final song and dance number. LOL. Overall, an excellent and very enjoyable performance by all. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2016
    10
    Unlike some of the previous live TV musicals, this one had a cast overloaded with experienced Broadway talent. The period art direction and costumes are dazzling, practically every song is a winner, the jokes are plentiful, and the message of acceptance is powerful. This was by far the best live musical of the past few years, and sets a standard that will be hard to beat.
  3. Dec 10, 2016
    10
    This may be now my favorite musical. Casting is great, scenarios are great, everything's just splendid! It did not disappoint my expectations although some few minor problems they have encountered. 10/10
  4. Dec 23, 2016
    10
    NBC FINALLY HAS GOT IT RIGHT THIS WAS BY FAR THE BEST LIVE MUSICAL THEY HAVE AND TV HAS PRODUCED. I don't have the musical movie to compare too however I have never seen the musical period. What did I think of the musical and the cast? the cast was perfect. This musical was everything grease live strides to be. Better leads an excellent soundtrack a near perfect supporting cast anNBC FINALLY HAS GOT IT RIGHT THIS WAS BY FAR THE BEST LIVE MUSICAL THEY HAVE AND TV HAS PRODUCED. I don't have the musical movie to compare too however I have never seen the musical period. What did I think of the musical and the cast? the cast was perfect. This musical was everything grease live strides to be. Better leads an excellent soundtrack a near perfect supporting cast an excellent story, well written characters, fantastic moral messages and even better energy in the dancing and choreography, wow was I surprised. Kristen chenoweth did fantastic as the villain Velma von tussle and her daughter amber von tussle played by Dove Cameron were a perfect evil mother and Daughter couple. Newcomer Maddie Baillio was absolutely wonderful as Tracy turnblad. Harvey Fierstein was great as the cross dressing mom. I thought the two had great chemistry together. Derek Hough was incredibly good as the Charismatic tv host of the Corny Collins show. Jennifer Hudson was an excellent singer and an equally excellent actress. I thought it was ironic that she is a celebrity playing a celebrity. The combination of her stage presence energy voice and acting were out of this world. The only cast members I thought were miscast was ariana grande as penny and Garrett Clayton as Link Larkin. The two suffered from the problem of having zero chemistry With their lead counterpart. Ariana sang way too quietly and had zero stage presence. Garrett Clayton had good stage presence when he was not talking but I felt he did not deliver enough emotion when his character had to. Over this is easily the best live musical has ever produced and has set the bar very high for future live musicals. Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2016
    10
    I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!
    I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I
    I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!
    I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!I rlly love this version, I rlly loved!!
    Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2016
    10
    A musical show Live! It's great to see such amazing show Live filled with happiness and joyful music. This show is a must to see. Although they seem to have a problem with the mic, but it's just minor.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Bethonie Butler
    Dec 8, 2016
    70
    It wasn’t perfect, but everyone seemed to be having a good time.
  2. Reviewed by: Kevin Fallon
    Dec 8, 2016
    80
    This, folks, was a very good production of Hairspray!
  3. Reviewed by: Vicki Hyman
    Dec 8, 2016
    50
    Uneven performances and technical issues stopped the show connecting with viewers like 2015's superior "The Wiz."