User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 5 out of 41

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 20, 2021
    10
    A heartbreaking, but necessary watch, and a loving tribute to a lost generation. While it effortlessly balances the darkness with lighter moments (delivered by an absolutely flawless cast), the mini-series progresses similar to that of a horror film, as we watch the insidious illness make its mark. The creators handle the heaviness of the topic with care, and allow us to truly step intoA heartbreaking, but necessary watch, and a loving tribute to a lost generation. While it effortlessly balances the darkness with lighter moments (delivered by an absolutely flawless cast), the mini-series progresses similar to that of a horror film, as we watch the insidious illness make its mark. The creators handle the heaviness of the topic with care, and allow us to truly step into the lives of the fully-fleshed characters who we truly come to care for. Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2021
    10
    This show emotionally ruined me. Like I may actually need therapy. It's a masterpiece. Anyone who has been affected by HIV is obligated to watch, the best retrospective on the crisis that we're likely to ever get.
  3. Feb 18, 2021
    10
    Nunca chorei tanto com uma série igual foi com essa, vai muito além de falar sobre a AIDS, passa uma mensagem muito linda sobre amizade e família.
  4. Mar 14, 2021
    10
    If ever there was a heartfelt relatable portrayal of the beauty within the community and the haste with which the AID’s epidemic shattered their dreams, this movie was successful in making me feel every emotion from happiness to pain. Throughout I fell in love with each character so beautifully diverse and so wonderfully acted. This movie will transcend time in it’s magnificent story wellIf ever there was a heartfelt relatable portrayal of the beauty within the community and the haste with which the AID’s epidemic shattered their dreams, this movie was successful in making me feel every emotion from happiness to pain. Throughout I fell in love with each character so beautifully diverse and so wonderfully acted. This movie will transcend time in it’s magnificent story well told. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2021
    10
    Another classic by creator Russell T Davies. A must see mini-series that you'll never forget.
  6. Feb 22, 2021
    10
    An instant classic. Capturing both the exuberance of youth and the tragedy of the AIDS epidemic through the eyes of a group of friends over a decade. Superb.
  7. Feb 23, 2021
    10
    This show will break your heart. The characters and their relationships are so precious. I found the acting great. It’s easy to see where the storyline is going but it is important for young people that didn’t live through these times to hear the stories. This mini series deserves to be seen by so many more people.
  8. Feb 18, 2021
    10
    I am normally pretty allergic to hyperbole, but having watched this whole series twice, I honestly think it might go down as one of the best pieces of TV drama ever made. It's everything that you would hope TV would be - passionate, surprising, angry, clever, funny, and just unbelievably moving. The portrayal of 80s Britain (in which I was a teenager) is so on the money, it makes youI am normally pretty allergic to hyperbole, but having watched this whole series twice, I honestly think it might go down as one of the best pieces of TV drama ever made. It's everything that you would hope TV would be - passionate, surprising, angry, clever, funny, and just unbelievably moving. The portrayal of 80s Britain (in which I was a teenager) is so on the money, it makes you realise how lazy most 80s set drama is. This is surely Russell T Davies's masterpiece. It's been an enormous critical and cultural hit in the UK, I really hope it does the same in the US. It deserves to be seen by as wide an audience as possible. Those poor boys and their bright lives cut so short. What a testament to them all this is. Expand
  9. Mar 12, 2021
    2
    Tried this show because it had high ratings, but i couldn't get through the first episode. Felt like it was trying to make you as uncomfortable as possible. If i wanted to watch a 10 minutes grimy sex montage I'd go on pornhub...
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Feb 26, 2021
    100
    The show is about people, not positions, but it’s about people who learn the price of taking a position, a stand, as well as people who pay the higher price of not doing so. All this without cant and speechifying. Plus it’s really funny and truly moving. Bravo.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Feb 26, 2021
    100
    Alexander and West, especially, are gifted climactic arias brimming with heart-rending poignance and righteous clarity. Still, there’s something about It’s a Sin that feels summative, as if this is the work that Davies has been building to since he broke out of his own creative closet over two decades ago. And we’re all the richer for his effort.
  3. Reviewed by: Kaveh Jalinous
    Feb 22, 2021
    75
    Even genre-bending as much as it does would normally be a challenge, but It’s A Sin pulls it off through its smart script and its brilliant performances.