• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 7, 2020
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 61
  2. Negative: 17 out of 61

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 8, 2020
    7
    There was no reason for them to abandon the horror and suspense of the HQs for the series, because there are series like Stranger Things, which is watched by many of all ages. But it's an ok series.

    There are holes that scream in your face, apart from key upgrades that don't make sense, that's why in the second season I expect an improvement in the script - Poh, the series is produced
    There was no reason for them to abandon the horror and suspense of the HQs for the series, because there are series like Stranger Things, which is watched by many of all ages. But it's an ok series.

    There are holes that scream in your face, apart from key upgrades that don't make sense, that's why in the second season I expect an improvement in the script - Poh, the series is produced by Joe Hill himself - and even if it's 10% of horror that the comic book series has. For the rest I was satisfied, for the kinsey, Nina, Tyller ... and of course the Bode, but mainly the Dodge.

    An ok series for those who read the comics and a great one for those who haven't read it yet.
    Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2020
    9
    Perhaps a bit more juvenile than I'd like, but when compared to other comic-driven Netflix shows, this one is excellent in acting, character, story and dialogue. As good, if not better than Stranger Things, this may be the new crown in the Netflix fantasy genre.
  3. Feb 10, 2020
    9
    I will be up front and say, that if you came from the comic, and are expecting a direct port, you are going to be dissapointed. Coming into it with a fresh mind, and thinking of it as the first successful show to be created on this, it is great. They turned the mature content of the comic down from 100 to about 30...but I think they still do a great job of showing the Locke family, andI will be up front and say, that if you came from the comic, and are expecting a direct port, you are going to be dissapointed. Coming into it with a fresh mind, and thinking of it as the first successful show to be created on this, it is great. They turned the mature content of the comic down from 100 to about 30...but I think they still do a great job of showing the Locke family, and the impact the different keys have on them. I would definitely recommend watching. Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2020
    9
    A really good story with a lot of mysteries and good characters.
    Comic based - fantasy - teen drama - solid back story - Binge worthy.
    A must watch!
  5. Feb 8, 2020
    7
    Good adaptation but lacking the darkness of the comics. It is a family friendly fantasy/mystery show which is well made. But it is more satisfying to watch when they find and learn about the keys than the final conclusion. Its a good fun show to watch, Netflix did nothing wrong there. If you like magic and mystery with a little bit of harry potter vibes its a show for you! But i wished itGood adaptation but lacking the darkness of the comics. It is a family friendly fantasy/mystery show which is well made. But it is more satisfying to watch when they find and learn about the keys than the final conclusion. Its a good fun show to watch, Netflix did nothing wrong there. If you like magic and mystery with a little bit of harry potter vibes its a show for you! But i wished it was a little bit more horror and darker! Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2020
    9
    great series i wish next season will be like this season thanks Netflix...
  7. Feb 9, 2020
    7
    If you enjoyed Stranger Things, you should enjoy it too, even if in my opinion it is not as good.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Ashlie D. Stevens
    Feb 7, 2020
    60
    "Locke & Key" is worth it in the end if you can push past the parts that are uneven and a little messy.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Cumming
    Feb 7, 2020
    40
    The cast and script and direction and production are all as glossy you’d expect from a production like this. But it is frustratingly safe, at once too much and not enough. If Netflix won’t take a risk, viewers shouldn’t be expected to, either.
  3. Reviewed by: Jacob Oller
    Feb 7, 2020
    53
    Locke & Key may mete out its genre goofiness over the course of a slump-filled first season, but if you want more than morsels to sustain you, there are plenty of similarly-toned shows without the barrier to entry.