• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 21, 2018
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 250

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 17, 2019
    3
    Bravo to anyone who was able to commit the time. Me, I cannot commit to something that takes 3 HOURS to begin its story. Sorry, this might have been good but I just didn't care after the first few episodes.
  2. Jan 15, 2019
    3
    This is one of the worst TV shows of this year.
    If you would replace Emma and Hill with random people, this would be a consensus. But they both put up incredibly good performances and this gives the show a false sense of credibility
    The show tries to appear smart by creating an absurd world and factor in the mental disease. These, in fact, are just baseless constructs in a desperate
    This is one of the worst TV shows of this year.
    If you would replace Emma and Hill with random people, this would be a consensus. But they both put up incredibly good performances and this gives the show a false sense of credibility

    The show tries to appear smart by creating an absurd world and factor in the mental disease. These, in fact, are just baseless constructs in a desperate attempt to add substance to this mess.
    It looks low budget (allegedly is a deliberate thing, but it just looks bad since there is no deeper reason to adopt the style), the camera angles are "deliberately" bad, secondary characters make no sense, sound effects are generally lacking thus the atmospheric feel too.

    So if you watched it, you are confused by how horrible it was, but feel the peer pressure to say it was fine or to appear smart, please don't give in. It looks silly
    Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2018
    2
    Maniac is that kind of show where we hope that it will get better but it never becomes any better. Jonah and Emma have nothing to do at all. They have no scope to act . The premise is silly and the whole series is a snooze fest. This ones better to avoid
  4. Sep 28, 2018
    3
    Meh, didn't meet expectations. The bits in reality was intriguing, but it was broken apart by a majority if really stupid and long-winded "fantasy" parts. Thought it would be about confusion of what reality was, but this TV show was not about that.
  5. Sep 24, 2018
    3
    Maniac is unfortunately a pill that's very difficult to shallow. The cast is what makes it a wee bearable.
  6. Sep 22, 2018
    2
    Am I missing something here? With all of the positive reviews I mean? I am a huge sci-fi buff and I’m pretty sure that they advertised this as this type of genre. It’s slow and boring at times, and by the 3rd episode I found myself forwarding the episodes just to get through to where the 2 main characters came too. It’s weird, and I don’t have that need to power watch the entire series.Am I missing something here? With all of the positive reviews I mean? I am a huge sci-fi buff and I’m pretty sure that they advertised this as this type of genre. It’s slow and boring at times, and by the 3rd episode I found myself forwarding the episodes just to get through to where the 2 main characters came too. It’s weird, and I don’t have that need to power watch the entire series. I’m super disappointed in this show as Netflix promoted it to be something it’s not. Five episodes in and I’m ready to shut it down. It’s almost like it can’t figure out if it’s a sci-fi, drama, comedy, or scary. The show is very confused, as am I. Skip this one and watch Altered Carbon instead. :( Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2018
    3
    Wanted to love this so much because of the original. But the performances just did not hit home at all. Jonah Hill in particular was not in the same realm as any of his cast, and it was difficult to watch. No chemistry with Emma (whose performance was fairly solid). If you want to beat the original version (which was phenomenal), it had better be insanely good. And it doesn't come close atWanted to love this so much because of the original. But the performances just did not hit home at all. Jonah Hill in particular was not in the same realm as any of his cast, and it was difficult to watch. No chemistry with Emma (whose performance was fairly solid). If you want to beat the original version (which was phenomenal), it had better be insanely good. And it doesn't come close at all. Disappointed. Expand
  8. Sep 21, 2018
    1
    I was excited about this due to the casting but...it's a huge miss. Emma Stone is fine in it. But Jonah Hill is NOT a serious dramatic actor. He sucks the life out of the whole series. If they would have went with someone more dramatically inclined, the show could have been easier to get through. Overall, a muddled, slow moving and sadly, pointless, series. I got through the whole thingI was excited about this due to the casting but...it's a huge miss. Emma Stone is fine in it. But Jonah Hill is NOT a serious dramatic actor. He sucks the life out of the whole series. If they would have went with someone more dramatically inclined, the show could have been easier to get through. Overall, a muddled, slow moving and sadly, pointless, series. I got through the whole thing and wasn't sure what it was supposed to be about. Skip this one! Expand
  9. Sep 27, 2018
    0
    Full of Annoying. Unnecessary brutal scenes (they just put brutal scenes to avoid boring themselves ), and annoying scenes and sounds. Why the laboratory keeps change light in Red, Green, Blue? am I watching Teletubbies?
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Haigis
    Sep 28, 2018
    63
    The conclusion of Maniac is only slightly ambiguous, and testifies clearly to the simplified truth that embracing human connectivity opens a person up to the power of healing. This saccharine conclusion fits the series, which, while impressive for its detailed and certainly imaginative world building, rarely dares to truly confound its audience--or challenge us with an assessment of mental health that doesn’t amount to hallmark sentimentality.
  2. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 21, 2018
    70
    For better and worse, it’s like a psychedelic Hallmark card: gorgeous, clever, weird, but maybe you’ve heard the sentiment before.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 21, 2018
    80
    This 10-episode limited series is fascinatingly trippy, just this side of the even trippier “Legion.” ... The acting is, as expected, potent, with Gabriel Byrne and Sally Field also onboard, and the visuals are transporting.