Season #: 4, 3, 2, 1
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
Watch Now

Where To Watch

Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Vikram Murthi
    May 4, 2016
    91
    The fourth season effectively channels the raw vitality of WTF’s early days, when Maron was trying to dig his way out of a hole by embracing the world around him instead of pushing it away.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    May 4, 2016
    83
    The results are two episodes that feel tonally right in line with their predecessors, but fresher to the TV landscape. They're not particularly funny, nor are they all that insightful, but they do give us an honest character study unlike any other.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    May 3, 2016
    83
    This theoretically grim material [addiction], but the real-life Maron transmutes it into gold. [6 May 2016, p.51]
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    May 3, 2016
    80
    Maron may not delve that deeply [into substance abuse]--by Episode 2 of the new season, Marc is showing signs that he’s the same irksome guy in rehab that he was before. But if nothing else, the premiere does effectively, yet comedically, show two truths of substance abuse: Addicts need enablers who fuel their problem, either deliberately or inadvertently, and most need someone to intervene to help them climb out of the pit.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian P. Kelly
    May 3, 2016
    80
    Marc still has all the bite he did in the past, still doesn’t suffer fools gladly, and still neurotically struggles with pride, masculinity and maturity; all this tinged with a new sadness that comes after a fall from success. For those who don’t know the show but appreciate comedy that doesn’t shy away from reality’s occasional harshness, add Maron to your watchlist.
  6. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Apr 29, 2016
    75
    As an artist, Maron appears to relish the idea of breaking his fictional self off from a path paralleling his own. In the two episodes screened for the press, Maron reveals a newfound presence as an actor, deepening the punchlines, which are almost entirely at his expense.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Apr 29, 2019
    10
    Already the most unflinchingly autobiographical dramedy ever to grace the half hour format, with this season MARON has transcended from mereAlready the most unflinchingly autobiographical dramedy ever to grace the half hour format, with this season MARON has transcended from mere diverting entertainment to sheer art. Surreal sidetrips accent one man's journey from oblivion to back to the land of nerve shattering sobriety, under the sure hand of someone who's made the trip firsthand. Full Review »
  2. Feb 12, 2017
    10
    Maron on a whole never really did much for me, it was entertaining enough to watch, but it's a slow burner, it took 2 and a half seasons toMaron on a whole never really did much for me, it was entertaining enough to watch, but it's a slow burner, it took 2 and a half seasons to get some buzz and real laughs going. That said, I love Marc's comedy and podcasting work, but the show felt a bit too narcisstic, ego-filled and meta-showbiz to really enjoy watching. i.e. We get that you are a successful comedian, hence the show sharing your name, so now what? However, the end of the 3rd season and the final season of Maron is actually quite brilliant and beautiful. The drama, raw human connection and vulnerability outshine the laughs here but that is totally okay. I think Marc did an incredible job at channeling his addiction and recovery into something refreshing for the fictionalized-Maron to work through. I mean he went step-by-step, only someone who has walked the walk can portray active addiction and the ego-crushing humility and recovery that follows with such honesty and irreverence. I get it, I mean this hit so close to home, it was incredibly discomforting to watch, in a very very good way. Maybe you had to have been there to really connect with this season, but I think he nailed it. Way to end on a high note Marc. I also thought it interesting that although recovering from opiates, Marc continued to identify as an alcoholic and go to AA meetings, rather than NA, but it makes sense given his history. p.s. I have never written a review before, but seeing as the only other User Review was a paltry "2" for this season, I just had to share, especially since Marc really isn't that bad of an actor. Full Review »
  3. May 31, 2016
    2
    I'm a huge WTF podcast fan having listened to every 700+ episodes so it pains me to say season 4 is simply no funnier than the previous 3. TheI'm a huge WTF podcast fan having listened to every 700+ episodes so it pains me to say season 4 is simply no funnier than the previous 3. The issue is you can see Marc trying to act. He's not an actor and the writing is just not that great. Disappointed. Full Review »