• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2017
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Terry Terrones
    Sep 22, 2017
    91
    You'll want to root for Alex because he's incredibly relatable. ... Me, Myself and I is funny yet touching. Easily my favorite new comedy in years, this series might just be the "This is Us" of sitcoms.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 23, 2017
    80
    A funny, charming, and optimistic tale of rolling with the punches.
  3. Reviewed by: Alex McLevy
    Sep 25, 2017
    75
    The jokes are more bemused chuckles at this point, but the promise is there. Me, Myself, & I already feels like a comforting sitcom, easily digestible and warmly diverting. If enough people discover it, the series will have already cleared the first hurdle: We’re happy for another installment.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 25, 2017
    75
    Good-hearted, a little too cloying, and the story flow needs polish. Of the three new CBS comedies this fall, this is the most promising.
  5. Reviewed by: Lorraine Ali
    Sep 25, 2017
    70
    It approaches family life in a fashion similar to that older Bryan Cranston family series: with warmth, a little cynicism and a great sense of humor. Moynihan, who rose to prominence on “Saturday Night Live,” anchors the show, largely because of his knack for playing the tragically average guy with humor and compassion. The young Riley isn’t as compelling, at least in the pilot episode, as his stepbrother (Richards). ... Larroquette makes the senior Alex just as likable, and almost as funny, as Monihayn’s Alex.
  6. Reviewed by: Melanie McFarland
    Sep 25, 2017
    70
    The plot of the Me, Myself & I pilot has a neat, muss-free poignancy to it that’s probably goosed by a decent soundtrack. (The inclusion of a track by the Flaming Lips is a nice touch in this regard.) The cast is enjoyable as well, particularly Brian Unger as Alex’s sage stepfather, Jaleel White as his loyal friend, and Sharon Lawrence, who pops up as Alex’s crush in 2042. All told, the premiere is solid from stem to stern.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 25, 2017
    70
    It’s an interesting conceit to follow one character at three points in his life every week and see how things that happen in one era influence another. It also seems like quite a juggling act for the show’s writers. Time will tell how they manage to maintain it on a weekly basis.
  8. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 25, 2017
    67
    The stories move briskly and come together in a surprisingly emotional finish. “Me” is smart enough to realize you can’t exist on brains alone. You need a little heart.
  9. Reviewed by: Kelly Lawler
    Sep 22, 2017
    63
    It’s high concept is fun but hard to sustain. ... But if it focuses on its strong stars, the logistical leaps will be easier to smooth over. The series just has to, well, listen to itself.
  10. 60
    Me, Myself & I is mostly endearing, and it wins bonus points for adopting a structure you don’t see every day. But at the same time, the middle-aged and senior-citizen versions of Alex serve as human narrative markers, removing a certain amount of suspense from the story.
  11. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 25, 2017
    60
    Takes a rather tired conceit and makes it reasonably fresh.
  12. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 21, 2017
    58
    Me, Myself & Irene appears to have boxed itself in. The opening episode is pleasant enough to watch, although not really very amusing. But the prospects for a sustainable series seem highly limited by all that unfolds here.
  13. Reviewed by: Sonia Saraiya
    Sep 22, 2017
    50
    Structurally, it’s an interesting approach, but ultimately a flawed one. It’s hard to invest too much in any particular timeline when we can see the origins, or the end result, in one of the other timelines. ... Still, Moynihan and Larroquette are charming enough, and threads about parenting, dreams, and basketball could make for a warm, if not particularly funny, family sitcom.
  14. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 21, 2017
    50
    The pilot episode skips back and forth from one Alex to another like a three-way tennis match, making it challenging to get a purchase on the half-hour sitcom in one sitting. Added to that is the fact that you never quite shake the idea that there’s no way Grazer would age into Moynihan, or either of them would age into Larroquette.
  15. Reviewed by: Austin Trunick
    Sep 26, 2017
    40
    A wonky framing device, where Moynihan fills in gaps in the storylines directly to the audience, is given no explanation as to why it's even there, or who he's talking to; you're left to suspect that the writers couldn't figure out a more organic way to clue viewers in on why these scenes are being show to them.
  16. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Sep 25, 2017
    40
    The tiered narrative of Me, Myself & I offers a lot of distractions, but whatever ambitions it has, the execution fails to benefit the show in terms of comedy or heart and if it's not doing those things, what you're left with is a show with a very fine cast and an empty gimmick.
  17. Reviewed by: Margaret Lyons
    Sep 25, 2017
    20
    The story here is emotionally hollow, and wrongly convinced that Alex is somehow an underdog.
  18. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2017
    10
    Smarmy comedy. ... If you’re wondering how Moynihan winds up looking like Larroquette, let me assure you, this show has bigger problems than that.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Sep 26, 2017
    8
    I really don't get the poor reviews of this show I watched the first episode and I really enjoyed it I laughed and had fun I thought it was aI really don't get the poor reviews of this show I watched the first episode and I really enjoyed it I laughed and had fun I thought it was a sweeet comedy and was very enjoyable I really hope the sweet relationship between the young Alex and his crush continues to blossom in a nice way 'him getting choked was hilarious though and I cant wait to see more of it Full Review »
  2. Nov 1, 2017
    5
    Based on the promos, I didn’t want to like this show but it is growing on me. Like the kid, like JL as the old guy, and even like the twoBased on the promos, I didn’t want to like this show but it is growing on me. Like the kid, like JL as the old guy, and even like the two versions of the daughter. Just bothered by the middle age guy. He plays so pathetic that it is hard to believe that kid turned into him and then got better in the future. Again there is something about this show that makes me want to watch, but the casting for the main character is off.

    Addendum- being pulled from the schedule after just 6 episodes were aired. Remaining produced episodes might be shown as filler later in the year or during the summer.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2017
    10
    What a great show! I will not miss it! Incredibly well done - the jumps from today, the past and the future are seamless. It’s the kind ofWhat a great show! I will not miss it! Incredibly well done - the jumps from today, the past and the future are seamless. It’s the kind of show that makes me smile. It’s not slick and I like that. I can relax and take it in and just enjoy. I think the concept makes for endless plot possibilities. It’s not a one trick pony (which I found Sheldon to be). All of the cast without exception are perfect. It’s just so much fun. I so enjoy the interaction between young Alex and Darryl and grown up Alex and Darryl - they’re very cool together. Fun. Real. And the same with Justin. It’s really gratifying to see how these kids grew to be adult versions of their childhood/authentic selves. And Alex with Ron - always touching and special. Future Alex makes me smile - to know he’s still working on getting there but in a more confident way because his life experiences have shown him how. I love this show and hope it’s given a chance just to be. That’s what this show is - people just being. Throughout their lives. For me it’s a 10. Full Review »