• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 13, 2017
Season #: 2, 1
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ed Power
    Jan 3, 2020
    100
    The series fascinates rather than unsettles. Yet the picture it paints of Manson, Rader and the rest is never glib. It’s a remarkable achievement and one of those rare “binge-watch” shows that lives up to the billing. You really will want to snaffle it down in one sitting.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Kline
    Aug 19, 2019
    100
    Penhall and Fincher diligently avoided romanticizing or mythologizing [the serial killers], instead exposing the mundane grotesqueries of their pathetic, broken natures—the petty resentments, the self-deception, the delusional narcissism, the sexual and social impotence. Season 2 carries on in the same vein, but with a breathtaking urgency largely missing from the more ambling first season.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Aug 16, 2019
    100
    The long-awaited second season of David Fincher’s “Mindhunter” affirms the program as Netflix’s strongest drama. Even more ambitious and mesmerizing than the first season.
  4. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    Aug 19, 2019
    91
    “Mindhunter” is deeper, richer, and more affecting this go round, even as it steers away from studying proven killers.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Aug 15, 2019
    90
    Atmospheric and chilling as ever – generally without being gory beyond clinical crime scene still photos – “Mindhunter” remains one of the current era’s best series. ... Season two widens its lens to give each of the three lead characters more equal footing.
  6. Reviewed by: Jack Seale
    Dec 3, 2019
    80
    Mindhunter gets out of sleuth-cliche jail through our fascination with the real cases it dramatises: those who have devoured the BTK and Atlanta cases via true-crime podcasts and Wikipedia binges ought to appreciate the lurid creepiness of the former and the elusive oddness of the latter. It’s all a quality guilty thrill.
  7. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Aug 28, 2019
    80
    The show’s narrative is more cohesive this season, too. The team is driven to collect more data from the killers because the so-called Atlanta Child Murders are unfolding and they want to help out with their newfangled profiling. It’s all very, very dark, which for me is very, very intriguing.
  8. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Aug 20, 2019
    80
    Despite that nearly two-year gap, David Fincher’s drama about FBI agents probing the psychology of serial killers immediately and skillfully manages to worm its way back into our heads, practically commanding us to binge all nine episodes in a sitting or two.
  9. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 19, 2019
    80
    The soul-crushing dread that comes from looking into an abyss and realizing that you may never comprehend its nature is vividly felt in the performances of Groff, Torv and especially McCallany, who is phenomenal as a morally upright man struggling to maintain his composure, and sanity, in the face of unspeakable inequity. It’s an endeavor that, in season two, only grows more difficult, as threats emerge around every corner—and outside every unlocked back door.
  10. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Aug 15, 2019
    80
    It's a confident and tantalizing return.
  11. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Aug 16, 2019
    75
    When it finally gets going — and that would be Episode 3 — Season 2 of the Netflix series “Mindhunter” finds some resonance by delving into one of the most notorious 20th-century serial killer cases — the Atlanta child murders of 1979-81. At least 28 children, adolescents, and adults were killed.
  12. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Aug 19, 2019
    70
    The series continues to look amazing and feel unnerving throughout. But if we keep following this story deeper into the techniques that Ford, Tench, and Carr are developing, Mindhunter is eventually going to land in the same narrative territory already covered extensively by all the movies and TV shows inspired by the real version of this work. While it mostly hangs together for now, there are already more signs of strain than there were back in 2017.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 162
  1. Aug 20, 2019
    4
    very underwhelming, a real let down after season 1. It seems that the characters are overwritten and oversimplified at the same time. Thevery underwhelming, a real let down after season 1. It seems that the characters are overwritten and oversimplified at the same time. The clichéd American Hollywood tropes that had mostly evaded season 1 appear everywhere to pander to 21st century neuroses that didn't exist in the 80's (lesbianism, oversimplification of racial tensions, even work/life balance etc...) Dr. Carr is a particularly annoying and implausible psychologist, delivering self-assured yet naive ad-hoc scientific verdicts based on razor-thin evidence and sample size, whereas psychology is the scientific field where doubt and prudence should be at the center of every observation. Full Review »
  2. Aug 18, 2019
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I really hate to give this a 6 because I love the show and I loved certain parts of Season 2 but when it ended I was so unsatisfied I had to write this immediately. The whole Atlanta thing got dragged on way to long. They made it a show where they leave everything they built behind to focus on Holden and Tench getting stonewalled every direction they go. That in itself was frustrating because they finally made progress. I still love the show and will rewatch the Manson episode and some others which I really enjoyed.

    Edit: I changed my mind a bit after sleeping on it. Good season and I still love the show but I just feel they could of taken what they built in season 1 and went to new heights with S2
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 18, 2019
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Warning: Some spoilers

    This season was really disappointing. I was expecting them to do a lot more with developing Holden's character, especially the way the first season ended. Instead, they spent a lot of time on Tench and his family(which wasn't that interesting), and on Wendy and her new relationship(which wasn't interesting at all). They seemed to take the focus off of multiple cases, and instead focused most of the second season on one case, which was a mistake. I was astonished at how little time they spent on Manson. It seemed like a huge missed opportunity. But the worst decision by far, was to barely have Kemper in the entire 2nd season, and he's basically an afterthought at that. The way the first season ended, it was prime for them to continue to develop Kemper and Holden's odd relationship. For me, I enjoyed the first season so much, because it spent the most time on Holden, who is brilliant, and his forays into communicating and developing relationships with serial killers. The second season, he's not the lead character, and we are forced to follow Tench dealing with a serious, but boring home life,along with following Dr. Carr and her new relationship. I guess I'm confused as to why the show is based on the minds of serial killers, but so much time is spent on the mundane and trivial relationships that could be in almost any drama. Where is the mind hunting? I hope for the 3rd season, if the 2nd season is successful, it returns to the formula that made the first show a success in the first place.
    Full Review »