Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Joel Keller
    Feb 7, 2020
    90
    Not only is it funny, but it sets itself up from the first minute as the next great workplace comedy, one that even gamers will like.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Feb 6, 2020
    90
    Is in league with some of TV’s best. It’s a smart, energetic series that contains what may be the most important element in a successful comedy: an alchemical ensemble of characters, each one as curious and distinct as the next.
  3. Reviewed by: Caroline Framke
    Feb 4, 2020
    90
    It would be enough for “Mythic Quest” to be funny, and it is. But in taking on the complex, under-examined world of video gaming, the creative team gave themselves a rich area in which their wild, clever, selfish characters can bounce around unlike any other currently on TV.
  4. Reviewed by: William Hughes
    Feb 6, 2020
    83
    Mythic Quest is funny. And Mythic Quest is capable of real feeling. The show’s biggest demerit, then, is that it can’t seem to find a way to be both at the same time; rather, it frequently feels like a tag-team match between its two sensibilities, with comedy doing the heavy lifting for the vast majority of that time. But that disjointed feeling isn’t enough to sabotage all the things Mythic Quest actually gets right.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Surette
    Jan 31, 2020
    75
    It's the common sense to make jokes that gamers would make about games rather than jokes that non-gamers would make about gamers that keeps Mythic Quest harmonious.
  6. Reviewed by: Niv M. Sultan
    Jan 31, 2020
    75
    The first half of the season leverages these characters less as nuanced people than as bundles of eccentricities. ... The second half of the season more deeply examines the ambitions and fears of its characters, as well as the video game industry’s power dynamics. ... Though the episode [“A Dark Quiet Death”] is self-contained, it infuses the rest of the season with subtle weight and sympathy.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 6, 2020
    72
    In its first couple of episodes “Mythic Quest” carves out its own niche, mining comedy from the specific realm of video game creation. A sociopathic intern who worships the boss, in particular, offers consistent laughs.
  8. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Feb 7, 2020
    70
    Though the characters are ill-tempered, the show comprises generally good-natured tales of competing egos and angry compromises.
  9. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Feb 5, 2020
    70
    Ultimately, I think I ended up feeling positive about Mythic Quest: Raven's Quest despite thinking the show is very hit-and-miss on an episodic level. It's not consistent, but it's already trending in the right direction in a story that, unlikely It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, features characters who can and should grow.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 47
  2. Negative: 14 out of 47
  1. Feb 9, 2020
    9
    I loved it. The story structure is great. The characters are well developed. You for a second almost forget about Cricket. In the pantheon ofI loved it. The story structure is great. The characters are well developed. You for a second almost forget about Cricket. In the pantheon of shows that have come out from ASIP minds, this one has been my favorite (sorry AP.BIO I still love you) I'm an older gamer in my thirties, and I thought the plot was on point. Don't listen to the stupid trolls about PC culture. Does the show tackle tackle women in gaming? Yes. They do it well, and its dumb to think a show wouldn't take on topical ideas. Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2020
    10
    How is it possible that those guys are so triggered every time a series has more than 2 female Characters?
    This show is not "woke". The
    How is it possible that those guys are so triggered every time a series has more than 2 female Characters?
    This show is not "woke". The development team in this show has 2 female developers and the rest are all male. The show is far from being "woke". I sense a lot of Always Sunny in Philadelphia Vibes.

    Well, enough of that, i can really recommend it, it just feels like a mashup between Silicon Valley and Always Sunny. The characters are great and even if not everything is quite accurate about the game industry, most of it is authentic. I hope Apple+ will keep this series, its the first one i really liked on their Service.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 7, 2020
    10
    I really enjoyed it! Wasn't sure going into it what I'd think, but it really won me over. The first half of the season is a typical officeI really enjoyed it! Wasn't sure going into it what I'd think, but it really won me over. The first half of the season is a typical office comedy with a really fun to watch dynamic between the characters and a cool setting of video games. Then there's a really well done episode halfway through that is like a good mini-movie, very good quality. Kind of dramatic. Then everything after that point seems to be this great balance of comedy and emotion, and that's where the show really shines. It's a great first season and am looking forward to watching more! Full Review »