• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 6, 2020
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 2, 2020
    50
    Slattery is fine in this bland AI thriller.
  2. Reviewed by: Josh Bell
    Oct 1, 2020
    50
    Despite its timely trappings, Next works best as an empty-calorie thriller, with plot points that only hold together if you don’t think about them too much.
  3. Reviewed by: Caroline Framke
    Oct 1, 2020
    50
    “Next” finds smart ways to illustrate the full breadth of neXt’s capabilities. ... In these moments, “Next” becomes a surprisingly effective horror thriller, with each episode finding new ways to convey just how catastrophic this technology could be. It’s a shame, then, that “Next” isn’t this streamlined throughout. In its attempts to flesh out the world and characters it’s portraying, the show keeps throwing in more complications and backstory that threaten to swallow the rest of the stories whole.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 1, 2020
    45
    The plotting is similar to “Little Shop of Horrors.” Just sub in a digital assistant for the talking plant (and remove songs). When the concept gets stretched to become a series, it loses steam fast.
  5. Reviewed by: Joel Keller
    Oct 6, 2020
    40
    Slattery’s presence makes it a watchable mess.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Surette
    Oct 6, 2020
    40
    If it's a crazy artificial intelligence series you're looking for, hunt down Person of Interest, which at least figured a way to give its maniacal machine a personality and relatable decision making progress. Next is too much artificial, not enough intelligence.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Oct 6, 2020
    40
    Ultimately, when it’s not deadly dull, “Next” just doesn’t make sense.
  8. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Oct 6, 2020
    40
    The best thing I can say about NEXT is that it moves breathlessly, building momentum in 24 fashion. ... By the time the series gets to its third or fourth episodes, the writers seem to have run out of ways to make inanimate objects scary and the bad guys are people basically brainwashed by the AI into going after our heroes. ... Nothing here is smart enough to stick. It's a distraction cosplaying as prescient.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Oct 14, 2020
    6
    This was not the documentary about the British High Street shopping chain I was hoping for. Nor, disappointingly, is it based on the MichaelThis was not the documentary about the British High Street shopping chain I was hoping for. Nor, disappointingly, is it based on the Michael Crichton book of the same name. It kind of fits into a fluffy, disposable, tv scifi genre where it'll be okay for one series and then get cancelled in the middle of season 2. I quite enjoyed it. I hid my Alexa speaker in the cupboard afterwards! Full Review »