• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 6, 2020
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 12, 2020
    90
    That's the key to Next: the vastness and invisibility of an enemy that's woven itself into our world with insidious intent, not unlike Joe McCarthy's communists or Don Siegel's pods.
  2. 83
    Clever, a bit frightening and a whole lot of fun, “Next” is a show that wonderfully balances our own trepidations when it comes to technology with deft storytelling.
  3. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 9, 2020
    80
    Slattery elevates the pulp melodrama with crisp, ironic detachment. [12 - 25 Oct 2020, p.9]
  4. Reviewed by: Aaron Barnhart
    Oct 7, 2020
    80
    I thought it was great. Lively writing in an entertaining, network-quality serial thriller about artificial intelligence running amok. John Slattery — pitch-perfect casting.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Oct 5, 2020
    75
    The techno-thriller plot is suitably involving, but it’s the evolving relationships between the characters that really have us keen to see what happens next on “neXt.”
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Greene
    Oct 6, 2020
    67
    It’s surprising “neXt” ends up with as much potential as it has. Clearly, no one has any idea what the coming months will bring, so the more that “neXt” sticks to what it can control, the better off it should fare.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 13, 2020
    65
    So far, "NEXT" is kind of cool too. But the real challenge will be in sustaining this battle of humans against a machine, without taking a turn that careens off a cliff.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Oct 14, 2020
    6
    This was not the documentary about the British High Street shopping chain I was hoping for. Nor, disappointingly, is it based on the MichaelThis was not the documentary about the British High Street shopping chain I was hoping for. Nor, disappointingly, is it based on the Michael Crichton book of the same name. It kind of fits into a fluffy, disposable, tv scifi genre where it'll be okay for one series and then get cancelled in the middle of season 2. I quite enjoyed it. I hid my Alexa speaker in the cupboard afterwards! Full Review »