• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 5, 2019
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Apr 4, 2019
    100
    Do absolutely watch this brilliant and educational series on the biggest TV you can, but do not lose sight of the fact that this isn’t just about entertainment. It is not historical documentation, and hopefully never will be. It is a vital, living reminder of the extraordinary beauty of our world as well as a desperate call to action. Watch, enjoy, and help.
  2. Reviewed by: Sonia Saraiya
    Apr 12, 2019
    95
    A painfully beautiful eight-hour experience, bewitching in its loveliness and diversity even as it agitates, relentlessly, for human action against climate change.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Apr 1, 2019
    91
    Gently sounds the global-warming alarm bell while hypnotically guiding us from the skyscraper-size Arctic ice caps to the cruel hunting grounds of the Serengeti to the deepest, darkest depths of the ocean's midnight zone. [5/12 Apr 2019, p.89]
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Apr 10, 2019
    90
    It’s awe-inspiring and easy on the eyes. ... Images used not just for the emotional gee-whiz factor but for dry commentary and damning visual irony. And it all builds to a series-ending sequence — I’m not used to saying “spoiler alert” for nature films, but I feel I should here — that I suspect will haunt me for a long time.
  5. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    Apr 5, 2019
    83
    Our Planet offers all the stunning imagery you’ve come to expect from these documentarians, but its attitude may surprise you. Individual entries feel a little less memorable because of it. The light, comic touches that made for lovely little moments in “Planet Earth” are overshadowed, if not spoiled entirely, by the traumatic lessons put front and center.
  6. 80
    It’s the stylistic ordinariness of the production that ultimately makes it such a punishing viewing experience. Much of the series is built around the rope-a-dope maneuver of drawing you into the stories of individual animals through blatantly anthropomorphized filmmaking and narration (one of the orangutans is even identified as “Louie”), then dropping the expected, awful news that they’re being wiped out by poachers, pollution, population sprawl, and climate change.
  7. Reviewed by: Caroline Framke
    Apr 5, 2019
    80
    Every time Attenborough pivots from a pleasant description of how some animals live and love in the wild to how they’re living on borrowed time, it’s a jarring transition as excruciating as it is refreshing.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 53
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 53
  3. Negative: 4 out of 53
  1. Apr 6, 2019
    10
    this show is gorgeous, the camera quality and the cinematography is fantastic and who doesnt love David Atenborough ?
  2. Apr 8, 2019
    10
    Astounding, and humbling. I've seen many many nature documentaries, including all the Attenborough one's from the BBC, and this one had someAstounding, and humbling. I've seen many many nature documentaries, including all the Attenborough one's from the BBC, and this one had some noticeable improvements. Some of the action shots with multiple subjects all interacting with each other at the same time was incredible, and it wasn't just one of these shots, they just kept coming all the way through the 8 episodes. What an amazing, and beautiful natural world we have been blessed with. Full Review »