Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
Watch Now

Where To Watch

Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    Feb 21, 2017
    100
    Television sports its fair share of important, engaging entertainment. But Planet Earth II might be the only show that checks both boxes for everyone: It’s the revival we want and the revival we need.
  2. 100
    Nearly every frame of it is about strengthening our ability to connect individual experiences with bigger, more universal outlines. It is the rare message that’s both pointed and strikingly understated, which, right now, feels like a balm.
  3. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Feb 17, 2017
    100
    [The cameras'] sophistication and that of their operators are able to capture animals, their behavior and their habitats with an intimacy previously unimaginable, and breathtaking. With all due respect, Planet Earth II leaves its ancestor in the dust. And seas. And mountains. And jungles.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 17, 2017
    100
    Planet Earth II is on another level. The BBC Natural History Unit has really outdone itself. This documentary is a truly sublime accomplishment, an epic achievement that everyone should watch.
  5. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 17, 2017
    100
    Prepare to reattach those jaws once again. Spectacular. What else?
  6. Reviewed by: Sonia Saraiya
    Feb 16, 2017
    100
    An exquisitely rendered documentary of the natural world. ... As a show, it is masterful work. As an instrument of love and affection for the multitudes of life on this fragile world, it is indispensible.
  7. Reviewed by: Joseph Falcone
    Feb 14, 2017
    100
    Elevated by Hans Zimmer and his team’s grandiose musical accompaniment, and bolstered by unrivalled footage obtained with the utmost preparation, care, and skill, Planet Earth II is a more than worthy successor to the extraordinary 2006 BBC production.
  8. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 17, 2017
    90
    Because absolutely everything here is beautiful to behold and the wild lands pictured seem so vast and untrammeled, the overall impression Planet Earth II leaves is that things might be more or less fine.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 16, 2017
    90
    Planet Earth again provides a pretty spectacular view from almost every angle.
  10. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Feb 17, 2017
    80
    [David Attenborough] has eschewed the soapbox in favor of subtlety. This program (the series producer is Tom Hugh-Jones) does, too, for the most part.
User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 179 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 179
  1. Feb 18, 2017
    10
    'Planet Earth II' is perfection. A masterful display of filmmaking. The best experience of television I had in my entire life. Please 2017,'Planet Earth II' is perfection. A masterful display of filmmaking. The best experience of television I had in my entire life. Please 2017, don't take David Attenborough, he should be immortal! Full Review »
  2. Feb 25, 2017
    10
    Incredible show. Phenomenal nature documentary, the gold standard in nature shooting. It takes a decade of filming and it shows. In every wayIncredible show. Phenomenal nature documentary, the gold standard in nature shooting. It takes a decade of filming and it shows. In every way it is a must watch. Full Review »
  3. Apr 15, 2017
    8
    Excellent documentary. Not as epic as the first, The one thing I found highly disappointing is the music soundtrack. It feels like I'mExcellent documentary. Not as epic as the first, The one thing I found highly disappointing is the music soundtrack. It feels like I'm watching Ridley Scott's the Gladiator or something in the vein of Bay's Transformers films. Unfitting musical score, otherwise beautiful documentary. Give it a rent. Full Review »