CBS | CBS All Access | Paramount+ | Release Date: September 24, 2017
3.2
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 477 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
113
Mixed:
42
Negative:
322
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this TV Series
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
mongz79Jan 8, 2021
This show is trash. It's amazing to me, and most of the fans, that something this poor can keep being greenlit for another season. Unbelievable.
15 of 16 users found this helpful151
All this user's reviews
3
M_SalgadoDec 1, 2020
Just bad characters in general. The main character is simply unbelievable as a Starfleet officer. She would never make it to commander as almost every episode she disregard and disobeys direct orders. The ship doesn’t feel real like the TNGJust bad characters in general. The main character is simply unbelievable as a Starfleet officer. She would never make it to commander as almost every episode she disregard and disobeys direct orders. The ship doesn’t feel real like the TNG or others felt. Action sequences from DS9 were better, even with the limited tech of the time. Show throws emotional crisis all the time so there is NO time for even a tiny moment to humanize those characters. I try really hard to like it, but could not. Expand
15 of 16 users found this helpful151
All this user's reviews
1
dramaticwordsJun 26, 2020
Dumbed-down version of a formerly great franchise. Plots and character motivations make no sense. Continuity is nonexistent. So much money wasted on such bad storytelling.
15 of 16 users found this helpful151
All this user's reviews
0
Bajingo12May 28, 2019
Just terrible writing, I'm not sure who thought these scripts were good they must have been on bath salts. The forced attempts to illicit emotions from the audience and 'time crystals' pseudo science just make this the worst attempt at a StarJust terrible writing, I'm not sure who thought these scripts were good they must have been on bath salts. The forced attempts to illicit emotions from the audience and 'time crystals' pseudo science just make this the worst attempt at a Star Trek series ever likely to exist. Expand
34 of 37 users found this helpful343
All this user's reviews
0
oboe_dawnFeb 4, 2020
Ultimately, STD is an ugly, mean-spirited, shadow of the source material it's the parasite of. Written by incompetent hacks who can only work in "Safe Spaces," produced by a bevy of inept morons who fool themselves into thinking they've gotUltimately, STD is an ugly, mean-spirited, shadow of the source material it's the parasite of. Written by incompetent hacks who can only work in "Safe Spaces," produced by a bevy of inept morons who fool themselves into thinking they've got the next MCU in their hands, and a champion of malignant characters who are praised and rewarded for their selfish, destructive, and nonsensical behaviour, this program only serves to show how despicable and stupid humans can be and still somehow survive.

The season starts with a man dying because he dared to disagree with the god known as Mikey Spock. She then proceeds to neuter Cpt. Pike, then carries his gonads around in her purse. The season ends with a primitive flying a fighter craft and an admiral biting the big one because she can't be bothered to open a door! Because Girl Power? Nebula the Robot Woman sums up this entire show with a single line: It's all about you, Mikey Spock. The ineptitude is rotten throughout the show, in this mega-advanced technological society people do not understand how DNA works (nuclear or mitochondrial, they got it wrong--Dr. Little Ricky, when he's backtracking, starts to try and cover the writers' butts by saying Mikey Spock has the same mitochondrial DNA and can be the only match to their mystery subject, that's a possibility, but not true. There are only so many human mitochondrial haplotypes and it is entirely possible that one of the other crew members of African descent could have the same mitochondrial DNA.) But then, what do you expect from the people who brought you sonar in space, shooting stars in the absence of atmosphere, and an AI that wants to become an AI even though it's aware and already an AI?

"I Leik Sighance." --Lt. Spork of the USS Enter-at-your-own-risk-BoobyPrize

CBS, why must you destroy the most beloved character in the entirety of the Star Trek universe? What kind of sick satisfaction are you deriving from this? What did Mr. Spock ever do to you to warrant turning him into a moronic, leather-wearing, brain-damaged, whinging, hysterical clairvoyant? Grinding Spock into the carpet so he can be rescued/saved/whatever by Princess Mike only serves to make you look bad, CBS. Turning Amanda Grayson into an ice-hearted harpy who can only express love for Mikey Spock while neglecting her own son was a rotten move. You've taken an intelligent, compassionate, witty woman and distilled her into a sour-faced, vacuous, vicious twit who is too moronic to understand how diplomatic immunity works despite being the wife of a diplomat. Sarek, a confirmed supporter of unprovoked violence and genocide (as per Season 1) continued his complete de-evolution from stern, distant, aloof dad to Spock, into a man whose heart is shattering because he was a Bad Daddy to the stray cat he dragged home two decades ago. There was only room for one child in Sarek's life, and it certainly wasn't his son. When the audience finally gets an explanation as to why this is the case, we learn that the Ambassador thinks his kid needed to learn empathy, because his wife was a frigid shrew and he refused to build a relationship with Spock, so he installed an adopted sociopath into his home instead. Pay close attention and it's pretty obvious that this clap-trap, Mary-Sue-led, lazy-writing marathon of idiocy is set in the JJ Abrams Trek universe. It's the only context in which this show makes even the slightest modicum of sense. STD is the 2009 Prime timeline, that breaks off into the Kelvin, that's going to give us the new Picard show, because Picard is taking place after the destruction of Romulus, as per JJ and the Countdown prequel comic. This also means that Picard is set in the same JJ universe as the reboot movies, STD, and whatever else CBS tries to hawk at us. The story-telling, characters, ships, tech, lighting, clothes, smarmy attitude, 'splosions!, pew-pew-pew, blow things up and ask questions later style are completely incongruous with the TOS/TNG universe. These two visions of the future are chalk and cheese served with a side of oil and vinegar.

I can honestly say that when I was a moody teenager, I was one of those kids to whom TOS meant the future was worth looking forward to and worth sticking around for. Mr. Spock showed that while it's hard to be different, it's absolutely possible to thrive in the face of adversity. That's no longer the case. In order for someone like Mr. Spock to make it in this world, he had to have a better version of what his father wanted him to be taking him by the hand and dictating his life to him, even to the point of choosing his future friends. Watching ST: Discoteque was like witnessing the drawn-out death of a dear friend as they were consumed from the inside out by an aggressive cancer.

The Great Bird of the Galaxy is spinning in his grave.
Expand
22 of 24 users found this helpful222
All this user's reviews
0
coffiJun 28, 2019
Jesus **** Christ this show is dog **** It's like a horrible soap opera that is terribly written and it couldn't be further from what Star Trek was when it was good. It's a mess that morons are going to lap up. The writers of this show can goJesus **** Christ this show is dog **** It's like a horrible soap opera that is terribly written and it couldn't be further from what Star Trek was when it was good. It's a mess that morons are going to lap up. The writers of this show can go **** themselves. Expand
31 of 34 users found this helpful313
All this user's reviews
0
ElliotAldersonNov 27, 2019
One of the worst shows I've ever had the displeasure of watching. There are scenes that you think that you are watching a porn parody or a comedy skit in Comedy Central because of the wooden acting and the terrible script of this show. ThisOne of the worst shows I've ever had the displeasure of watching. There are scenes that you think that you are watching a porn parody or a comedy skit in Comedy Central because of the wooden acting and the terrible script of this show. This show follows the old CW template: Wokeness, bad CGI, wooden acting, politically correct humor, terrible script and stock music. It's a disrespect and blasphemy against the original Star Trek. And it makes me even sadder that the brain dead fanbase accepted it. They even put "Infinite Diversity" in their subreddit to support this terrible show. Expand
26 of 29 users found this helpful263
All this user's reviews
1
BarnyOct 31, 2019
This show is the lovechild of a dumpster fire and a train wreck. Just like any monstrosity of its kind, it should not have seen the light of day, yet being allowed to breathe. This is unadulterated worthless rubbish mix. The only positive isThis show is the lovechild of a dumpster fire and a train wreck. Just like any monstrosity of its kind, it should not have seen the light of day, yet being allowed to breathe. This is unadulterated worthless rubbish mix. The only positive is the special effects, costumes and scenery are properly executed: 1 point for that, zero for everything else. Expand
17 of 19 users found this helpful172
All this user's reviews
1
SailorSonicJul 14, 2019
This show was terrible! The characters and the writing are the worst. It's like they don't even care. I just can't understand why this is being reviewed positively by journalsts/movie critics! What a shame. This was an opportunity forThis show was terrible! The characters and the writing are the worst. It's like they don't even care. I just can't understand why this is being reviewed positively by journalsts/movie critics! What a shame. This was an opportunity for really good television that was wasted. Expand
33 of 37 users found this helpful334
All this user's reviews
1
DieHummelJun 15, 2019
Not Star Trek. Bad writing and acting are just the cherry on the top. The biggest problem is the complete overhaul of everything. The Klingons design was changed completely, the Klingon society was changed completely, star fleets philosophyNot Star Trek. Bad writing and acting are just the cherry on the top. The biggest problem is the complete overhaul of everything. The Klingons design was changed completely, the Klingon society was changed completely, star fleets philosophy seems to be non existent. The Klingons for example never cared about dead body's because they see them as empty shells that once inhabited the soul of an honorable warrior but now the dead bodies are so important to them that they build a ship out of their coffins (first episode).

The caracters are mostly confined to a single trait like the gay or the chubby one or the strange one. Star Trek was always about humanity, the crew and how the crew works together to solve their problems. This series is about a woman that was raised by vulcans in the vulcan way but doesn't act vulcan in the slightest. The fact she has a male name can also be distracting but that's just a side note. Every little bit of the story is the same generic stuff we see in movies every year. Main character has an idea but nobody listens and does something different and after that fails all praise the main characters idea.

This is not Star Trek and it will never be. I do not think the writers or actors have ever seen Star Trek and I am sad that my review has to be this bad because I really am a die hard fan and even own all the DVDs of the other Star Trek series.
Expand
31 of 35 users found this helpful314
All this user's reviews
2
PavelHMay 19, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let's start with the good:
Good Visuals

Now to the bad:
It's a mixture of fanfiction, bad writing, superheroes and social justice. Sounds like Captain Marvel and the new Batwoman? Yeah, Holywood isn't very creative nowadays. So what do you get if you buy the DVD or decide to stream it? Main character is Michael Burnham, she's the best at everything, she's the best Vulcan that's not a Vulcan, she begins and ends the Klingon War, one of the biggest events in ST history, she's the only person who can understand the Tartigrade, she breaks up the whole Terran Empire in the Mirror Universe, she instantaniously resolves any problem thrown at her, she can speak alien languages nobody else can on the ship, she teleports a church 50000 light years away, she creates a time suit and jumps back and forth in time, she creates a time wormhole, she pushes the ship 900 years into the future, she resolves Spock, Sarek and Amanda's problems whenever they need it. Thing is, Star Trek is supposed to be a futuristic vision of humanity, going into deep space, meeting aliens, alies and enemies, handling unexplained phenomena, some of those aliens can literally destroy humanity in several years so they have to think of ways of defeating them and handling the losses of loved ones in some cases, it's not supposed to be a superhero movie. But OK, so it's a superhero movie, is it any good? Well, no, it's awful. The dialogue is awful, there's love triangles, crying in nearly every episode, personal relationships sometimes fill in 1/2 of the episodes or more. So you think, well it could be good if the characters are interesting or have interesting backgrounds or for example their reason why they came aboard Discovery - again not in this Quadrant of the galaxy. Michael Burnham sucks about 80% of the character development time so you're supposed to care about these other main characters that didn't even have names until Season 2? Some of them die and their deaths are about as emotional as the deaths of the extras in movies. In summary, it's a superhero movie with bad dialogue, soap opera elements and uninteresting characters. It's Star Trek in name only, if you're a fan of the previous series, don't watch it, they screw the canon and don't pay homage to the idea of Star Trek - a bridge crew exploring space and working together to solve mysteries. Don't bother.
Expand
29 of 33 users found this helpful294
All this user's reviews
2
SpiralusMay 24, 2019
I immediately stopped watching this in the second episode when one of the characters ran onto the bridge, not really in an emergency situation, still wearing sickbay scrubs and told the pilot that she needed to, "Go in a circular orbit. LikeI immediately stopped watching this in the second episode when one of the characters ran onto the bridge, not really in an emergency situation, still wearing sickbay scrubs and told the pilot that she needed to, "Go in a circular orbit. Like do a donut in a space ship", adding, "it'll be awesome".
That should be all you need to know about this dumpster fire of a show. If you're dumb enough to not understand why that line is problematic, maybe you can get a job writing for Star Trek: Discovery.
Expand
34 of 39 users found this helpful345
All this user's reviews
1
Razrback16Jan 10, 2020
I tried to give this a chance but it's just bad. The story is terrible, constantly violating existing canon, and full of woke politics. No thanks. I strongly recommend against it.
18 of 21 users found this helpful183
All this user's reviews
1
druout1944Sep 13, 2019
Worst tv show I have ever seen. Sad days for Star Trek when the franchise is sacrificed on the altar of SJW stupidity.
23 of 27 users found this helpful234
All this user's reviews
0
PhaethonasDec 29, 2019
As a Star Trek show it gets a zero (0)! It lacks everything Star Trek had; It lacks the optimism of Trek, it lacks the stories with social and political commentary that Trek had, it lacks the sense of awe going forward into the future, itAs a Star Trek show it gets a zero (0)! It lacks everything Star Trek had; It lacks the optimism of Trek, it lacks the stories with social and political commentary that Trek had, it lacks the sense of awe going forward into the future, it lacks the message of peace and cooperation, it lacks the love for science. Basically "Discovery" is the opposite of Trek. The show ridicules the message of peace during season 1 and at one time a character said; "the sound is even broadcasted into space". And yes, that is a direct quote! So, science? Nah, basic concepts of it are thrown out of the airlock. Then we have a Starfleet officer that mutineers and attacks her captain, friend and mentor and she starts a war cause "it is the logical thing to do"!! On top of that the show is full of people screaming at each other and at times it gets gore!

At both seasons the stories revolved around the crew saving the galaxy. There weren't any thought provoking stories like the ones we were used to at TOS, TNG, DS9, even at VOY and ENT. The enemies were one dimensional as if written by teenagers. All in all it is about the phasers, the lens flare and showing their CGI budget.

As a sci-fi show it gets no more than 4. It has terrible writing; The characters are one dimensional, uninteresting and annoying at times (especially the protagonist). The stories are uninspiring, rushed, badly written and at times it feels like a CW show where everything just stops in order for someone to talk about their feelings. It has terrible acting (with the exception of Anson Mount at season 2), where every (other) actor has two facial expressions; 1) normal - wood mode and 2) angry - screaming mode. Directing wise it is one of those shows where the camera rotates the whole time cause....I have no idea why "directors" do that. Production wise it could have been good (it has the budget) but the show has changed numerous show-runners, it has 20+ producers (!!) and the people behind the show have stolen someone else's idea which resulted at CBS and Netflix to be sued for it!

Discovery is not worth of the title "Star Trek".
Expand
17 of 20 users found this helpful173
All this user's reviews
1
DunaroteMay 15, 2019
The purpose of this show is push a certain propaganda and to match the political situation in the US. The writing and casting in this show is horrible. The asian lady cannot even speak english properly. I'll give it 1 star because of goodThe purpose of this show is push a certain propaganda and to match the political situation in the US. The writing and casting in this show is horrible. The asian lady cannot even speak english properly. I'll give it 1 star because of good directing and visuals. Expand
30 of 37 users found this helpful307
All this user's reviews
0
dermacMay 31, 2019
Except for the name this has nothing to do with star trek. The agenda pushing ruins what's left of the show.

If you are looking for something that actually feels like star trek I recommend watching the Orville. /edit: the show manages
Except for the name this has nothing to do with star trek. The agenda pushing ruins what's left of the show.

If you are looking for something that actually feels like star trek I recommend watching the Orville.

/edit: the show manages somehow to become even worse.
Expand
29 of 36 users found this helpful297
All this user's reviews
2
brstilsonJan 16, 2022
It's difficult to criticize Discovery without being lumped in with those of a certain political bent who have more of a problem with the cast of the show than its' actual content. Too often these reviews are saturated with politicalIt's difficult to criticize Discovery without being lumped in with those of a certain political bent who have more of a problem with the cast of the show than its' actual content. Too often these reviews are saturated with political dog-whistles and trigger phrases that stop thoughts and flare emotions.

The top criticism of the show is its' "woke"ness. This often means there's an objection to the inclusion of LGBTQ+ characters, such as Commander Stamets and Dr. Culber (who are gay and in a relationship with one another), Adira Tal (non-binary), or Gray (transgender). Too often the complaint is that the status of these characters is "shoved" down our "throats." But in my watching of the series so far, I don't really find this to be the case. If you were to apply the same standards to the aforementioned characters that is commonplace among cis-het couples throughout the history of the franchise, there really isn't much exploration of these relationships at all. Adira's non-binary status is touched upon once, and then never brought up again. Gray's gender transition isn't even openly commented on by any of the crew, which is what one should expect from a modern iteration of a progressive franchise like Star Trek. They are showing us what civilization looks like when we've moved past these hangups.

None of this is what makes Discovery bad. What makes Discovery bad is that it presents us with heroes who are irresponsible, immature, and mentally unstable; people who in any realistic storyline would be woefully incompetent at any task they were charged with. Yet, somehow, despite having all the professionalism of a teenage McDonald's crew, they always magically come up with impossibly complex and difficult answers when it's crunch time. The message of Star Trek: Discovery is simple: be as lazy and unprofessional as you want, because at the last minute you'll magically become a productive member of society and everything will be all right.

The amount of unprofessional talk-back and sass the crew gives the Captain and other superior officers makes this Trek fan want to throw them all in a boot camp with Edward Jellico for a week. It's abundantly clear this current generation of Hollywood writers has never had to maintain professionalism in their lives for any reason. Because they seem wholly unable to write characters who behave this way. Compare Michael Burnham to Jean-Luc Picard, Kathryn Janeway, or Benjamin Sisko and what you'll see is a child in a room of adults. What Discovery misses is toughness, grit, and calm in the face of danger. Burnham falls apart emotionally almost every episode, her "whisper-crying" becoming a meme in of its' own right.

And that's really the crux of the problem: Discovery is childish. It is a childish story, written by childish writers to appeal to a childish audience. The intensity in every scene is turned up to 11. Every character is exceedingly and irritatingly melodramatic. Every line delivered as if it's the most profound thing ever said in the universe.

In the music world, there is a thing called "dynamic range." Put simply, it's the difference between quiet and loud parts of a song. Many audio engineers will tell you about an ongoing "loudness war" in pop music where every track is mastered louder and louder, at all the same level. The results are recordings with little to no dynamic range, which means songs that are popular for a few weeks or months, then forgotten forever. Why? Because when everything is loud, loud ceases to exist. When everything is special, nothing is. When everything is melodramatic, there is no tension. Discovery, in making almost if not every scene intense, loud, and melodramatic, has actually accomplished the opposite in creating an exceedingly boring television program. Everything is loud. Everything is dramatic. And therefore, nothing is. It's a painting where the artist keeps dumping gallon after gallon of color after color until it's become a massive dark gray rectangle. It's written and produced by people who don't understand the concept of "less is more," and that the space in between the lines, or the notes, or the grandiose speeches matters, too. Instead, we're subjected to a Starfleet crew of narcissistic, self-congratulatory, immature teenagers who never have to suffer a single consequence for their actions. A crew who in real life wouldn't last a day running a Wendy's, let alone a futuristic starship. After watching this for 3 and 1/2 seasons, I still don't buy it, and I don't think I ever will.
Expand
10 of 10 users found this helpful100
All this user's reviews
0
StevenDMar 8, 2022
At first it looked nice, the aesthetics were enticing and it seemed like they were attempting to make something true to the series. The first season wasn't great but it wasn't that terrible so you would have been forgiven for thinking itAt first it looked nice, the aesthetics were enticing and it seemed like they were attempting to make something true to the series. The first season wasn't great but it wasn't that terrible so you would have been forgiven for thinking it showed promise.
Then you get to the second season, and so on. Every time the series looked like it would be capable of shining it went further down and became the opposite of what any fan of the franchise wanted.
I checked out at around the time there was sobbing in almost every episode of the season which made even the most syrupy soap opera yell GET A GRIP.
But hey, I'm still young, and 2060 is not that far away. Maybe when I'll be in my 70s I'll have the chance of experiencing a new good StarTrek series once it passes into public domain.
Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
1
crystal-oMar 16, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Star Trek Discovery is overrated. The show started well in s 1&2 with Burnham background and connection with Spock etc., Then the search of the cause of the burn intensified, in season 3 all the building stories just collapsed to find out the cause of the burn is a scared kid?!? Wtf!! The writers dropped all kinds of Easter eggs and connections to The OG, TNG, VOY, DS9 but so disappointing to find out it is actually far away story from previous treks. It's a click bait and I'm still clicking LOL

That's my opinion despite too much acting for Burnham character.. or not? (My friend said it happened in The Walking Dead as well? I dunno)

Season 4 started with another mystery of DMA, that scene with Burnham on the bridge by herself mimics the scene of Janeway in year of hell, but actually for me just a poor copy. Shhgg. I just want this to stop, really, because I'll still have to watch to see if any references to the previous shows. :/
Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
0
IsogenicMar 19, 2022
Star Trek Discovery is one of the worst Star Trek series or TV shows ever made. It should not have the honorary title of Star Trek next to it. It is not Star Trek. I am all for equality and giving representation to LGBTQ community which IStar Trek Discovery is one of the worst Star Trek series or TV shows ever made. It should not have the honorary title of Star Trek next to it. It is not Star Trek. I am all for equality and giving representation to LGBTQ community which I feel star trek has greatly underrepresented in the past. However, Star Trek was always about hope for the future and what mankind can aspire too. Which in the past star trek series racism and internal strife was nonexistent. A world or ideal which I would love to live in, like Star Trek TNG. Star Trek Discovery is not a world I would like to live in. Discovery has internal conflict and a pessimistic ideal of human beings and other species. It is absolutely, not about science or math which some charters have stupidly stated “I love science or math is cool” Like the audience is a bunch of dumb 6 graders. It has become Star Wars. Shoot first and ask questions later, explosions, and action scenes. Star Trek Discovery is another version of Star Wars, which is a scifi fantasy. At least in TNG they had technical advisors that would provide scientific theories or ideas of technologies which could happen in the future. Which made the idea of Star Trek TNG a possible future we could live in. Past Star Trek series had a cerebral type of storytelling. Stories that made people think and ask questions and discuss with friends or even taught in college level classes. Discovery has none of that. I can go back to TNG and enjoy the episodes as I once did when I first saw them as a teenager. Discovery has none of the nostalgia Star Trek has. It has non memorable characters or stories. I believe this series will be forgotten and not remember fondly. The only reason I believe it continues is because some Star Trek fans wanted Star Trek back after a long hiatus. I will admit I was so excited about Star Trek coming back. However, the Discovery has destroyed the vision of Star Trek and what it represents as it has been quoted in previous Star Trek show of why we don’t use money in the future. “We work to better ourselves and the rest of humanity” Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
0
MGdawgMar 20, 2022
Season 5 is literally government propaganda. No matter what side you're on, you should be scared how the government manipulates the general population. Imagine if they casted Ted Cruz instead of Stacey Abrams.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
2
GregnatorMar 17, 2022
The season started off interesting enough. This season, just like the previous one establishes a clear path to what the story of the season is within two episodes. While there are moments that will make the real trekkies (if they're stillThe season started off interesting enough. This season, just like the previous one establishes a clear path to what the story of the season is within two episodes. While there are moments that will make the real trekkies (if they're still watching) pretty happy, but this all falls short within moments.
This season feels like the writers tried to make it more "Star Wars" esque rather than Star Trek.
But this season's finale is a HUGE political message as there is a Cameo of Stacey Abrams, which is a well known divisive and racist Democrat who is running, and they promote her and with this, the show blatently admits they are political and they HATE anyone who doesn't agrees with them.

It is sickening how they have butchered Star Trek and turned it into a "Vote Democrat or you're a bigot" show, which is so shameful as Star Trek was about tolerance, respect, exploration, diplomacy and acceptance. I have no idea how the writers managed to destroy everything the show stood for, and turned it into a bigoted hate fest that creates plotholes every episode. Shameful
Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
0
WayTooBadMar 21, 2022
Imagine bringing a rightwing politician instead. The uproar would be unending.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
1
WihglahJul 6, 2022
Utter cringe fest. Emotionally broken characters crying at every opportunity. Zero character development or growth. Almost the entire cast is has a litany of psychological problems, any of which should prevent them using heavy machinery letUtter cringe fest. Emotionally broken characters crying at every opportunity. Zero character development or growth. Almost the entire cast is has a litany of psychological problems, any of which should prevent them using heavy machinery let alone being responsible for saving the Galaxy. Completely unbelievable. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
4
indieinsightsJan 7, 2023
As a Star Trek fan for 20 years, I have to say that I do not like Discovery. I tried to like it, hard, but it didn't work for me. I believe it has to do with the lack of actual scientific discovery, Star Trek lore, and the lack of episodicAs a Star Trek fan for 20 years, I have to say that I do not like Discovery. I tried to like it, hard, but it didn't work for me. I believe it has to do with the lack of actual scientific discovery, Star Trek lore, and the lack of episodic writing known from the past series. I see what they do and why they are doing it, but this is not what Star Trek stands for, in my opinion. Instead of focussing on the strengths of the Star Trek narrative and universe, they seem to be too influenced by modern generic Star Wars films and series, and cheap and commercially unsuccessful fantasy series of recent years. The latter is worth mentioning, I guess, because it is astonishing how many generic fantasy series bombed commercially recently, and it looks (without googling it) that Discovery's team is either part of those teams, or at least influenced by it. But I will rewatch it in a few years. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
0
FourDuggleApr 9, 2022
What the heck did I just watch? My God... Every negative review here is right.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
0
BalornMay 1, 2022
Discovery is just stupid, season 3 was when it lost its way and season 4 is an insult to the Star Trek universe. In the first episodes, there is combat, they get damaged and have flames coming out of the walls, in little puffs, and no one isDiscovery is just stupid, season 3 was when it lost its way and season 4 is an insult to the Star Trek universe. In the first episodes, there is combat, they get damaged and have flames coming out of the walls, in little puffs, and no one is worried and there is no lasting damage, then after combat damage, there are what looks like rocks on the floor and no visible damage to the ceiling or a reason why there are rock like things on a spaceship. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
WeidenwieselSep 24, 2022
Compare this show to DS9.

DS9 had: - A diverse cast - Racist and discriminating topics - Basically a race war between two factions - Religious topics - Strong female characters. and it was AMAZING. Why? Because you never felt like there was
Compare this show to DS9.

DS9 had:
- A diverse cast
- Racist and discriminating topics
- Basically a race war between two factions
- Religious topics
- Strong female characters.
and it was AMAZING.
Why? Because you never felt like there was someone preaching an ever-present MESSAGE to you. You never felt like the diversity even mattered at all, which is HOW IT SHOULD BE.
What DS9 managed to do, is get the audience THINKING FOR THEMSELVES (yes i know sounds radical if you look at shows nowadays) about those topics. Wonder, over many episodes and seasons, what the characters true motives really were, who was truly evil and not and experience true character development through the show.


And then this piece of sh()it.
Constant, ever-present preaching of political/diverse/feminist agendas is all this nightmare of a show is all about.
They don't want us to think about hard topics anymore, nooooo, we're supposed to swallow THE MESSAGE. Look, a white klingon who is evil, look a gay mechanic, whos only redeeming quality is that he is gay, look, a Karen main character who is always right even though she is a **** to everyone but because shes a woman its okay, and look, all the men in this show are basically stupid. LOOK! WOMEN GOOD MEN BAD! AND IF YOU DON'T AGREE YOU'RE A TOXIC MALE!


F()ck you CBS.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
Bearded_ChampMay 3, 2022
JJ Abrams: I completely destroyed Star Wars...
Kurtzman: Hold my beer......
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
Jones76Aug 7, 2022
More a rating than a review... I found it ok for the first seasons, probably most for the addition of Anson Mount as Captain Pike and some really good space battles. But even during these "good times" many episodes were pure cringe. AfterMore a rating than a review... I found it ok for the first seasons, probably most for the addition of Anson Mount as Captain Pike and some really good space battles. But even during these "good times" many episodes were pure cringe. After Anson left and they made they're time jump, it is only cringe. Had to quit watching it, essentially ruins a once great franchise. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
D_A_VApr 23, 2022
A film about space, science fiction means you need to focus on theories, concepts, their disclosure - in the last 3 and 4 parts there was an opportunity for graphics and some scientific ideas, but the whole series is saturated with stupidity.A film about space, science fiction means you need to focus on theories, concepts, their disclosure - in the last 3 and 4 parts there was an opportunity for graphics and some scientific ideas, but the whole series is saturated with stupidity. The series turned into a story about just one African-American woman and her difficult relationship with her parents, brother and foster parents, lover. I felt like I was on one of those shows about family relationships, and not about science, philosophy, physics, mathematics, biology, chemistry, astronomy. This film does not arouse in us, the audience, the desire and desire to learn and explore space. Why does the protagonist's lover allow himself to do what he wants (breaks into meetings of representatives of entire planets and gives them permission to continue the meeting, although he is nobody, why everyone huddles in rooms on the ship, 2 in cabins, and this lover is allowed to live on a healthy ship parked inside the hangar with personal pets that none of the other crew members have, everyone tries to follow the rules, and this lover does what and when he wants, behaves like the owner of everything and everyone). There are many contradictions in different series. The main character always says that she cares about most or the entire team, but in fact she betrays and exposes everyone, even the galaxy, to danger, shock, destruction for the sake of herself and her lover. There would never have been such inadequate people either in science, or in space, or when making important general decisions, or in command; such people should not be allowed to take up arms. This series teaches you to look for excuses for
criminals: theft, murder, destruction, betrayal; put their personal interests and desires above the general ones. This series caused anger, rage - I hope that it was not created for this. For all 4 seasons, only a few characters were interesting (Michelle Yeoh Chu-Kheng for example), which were pleasant to watch and this is not the main character and not her African-American lover. Why were fat, clumsy, barely able to walk and barely breathing, with a stomach larger than a breast, women made commanders over pilots (pilots must be physically and mentally in perfect condition to make decisions, instantaneous reactions)?
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
ZroFoxJul 24, 2022
In a world that is obsessed with this side vs that side, we get this. STD is not good, it's not Star Trek, it's like ubisoft and the name Tom Clancy, it is meaningless. The focus of this show is nothing to do with Star Trek, more to do withIn a world that is obsessed with this side vs that side, we get this. STD is not good, it's not Star Trek, it's like ubisoft and the name Tom Clancy, it is meaningless. The focus of this show is nothing to do with Star Trek, more to do with something else. Hopeless dialogue, disingenuous 'heroes', and nonsensical story lines. I watched all of the episodes up to the end of S04 and it just got worse and worse. Not Star Trek. Bad acting (other than Saru)and a Captain that has no soul, no spirit and apparently can do everything on her own. Pity Janeway wasn't so talented. There is way more wrong with this show that i want to go in to, but the many negative reviews on here sum it all up as it is, and saves me from being labeled right wing or some such nonsense. It's a bad show and 100% not Star Trek. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
JaynolinJul 24, 2022
Discovery is a terrible show and by far the worse Star Trek ever made. The show is all over the place, just like the characters. Be perpared to witness deep emtional crying converstaions about every 5 minutes in the show. The ship could beDiscovery is a terrible show and by far the worse Star Trek ever made. The show is all over the place, just like the characters. Be perpared to witness deep emtional crying converstaions about every 5 minutes in the show. The ship could be crashing but lets stop and have a 5 minute emtional speech about it by Burnham. Burnham is the worse character in the show by far. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
1
dogboyMay 24, 2022
I will give this show a 1/10 rating purely for the first season being decent. From there it goes downhill so badly it becomes unwatchable. Everything wrong with Hollywood can be summed up by this show. Woke, pandering to minorities,I will give this show a 1/10 rating purely for the first season being decent. From there it goes downhill so badly it becomes unwatchable. Everything wrong with Hollywood can be summed up by this show. Woke, pandering to minorities, cringeworthy storylines and ruining a beloved franchise through bad writing and terrible characters. There were some great ideas in this show that were so poorly executed I just couldn't keep watching it. I learned to hate the main character so much I don't think I have ever hated a tv show character as much. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
daredevil23Aug 13, 2022
As a life long trek fan it pains me to write this....

In one episode, the president of the federation tells Burnham that one "cannot defeat the mathematics of loss". Burnham replies we have until now; the president cautions, "So you are
As a life long trek fan it pains me to write this....

In one episode, the president of the federation tells Burnham that one "cannot defeat the mathematics of loss". Burnham replies we have until now; the president cautions, "So you are immune to failure?" and then (the script writers ignore this sage advice and proceed) in *every* episode afterwards amp up the risk(s) such that the crew and ship are in constant imminent danger of death and yet *always* snatch victory from the jaws of death. |
It would be like an emotionally unstable Picard fighting the Borg in every episode/season and ultimately defeating them every time... YAWN!
|
It is infuriatingly boring knowing (that unlike Game of Thrones) the main characters will never expire. So one watches and waits for the miraculous reveal which will allow this comedy/tragedy to survive for another successive installment.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
theirrelephantsAug 21, 2022
A star trek show written by people who have never watched star trek.

I'm glad roddenberry isn't alive to see this.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
jyphelSep 7, 2022
Can someone eradicate Michael Burmhan from the entire timeline of Star Trek; the worst character of Star Trek universe, and instead of Starc Trek they should have call it theIncredible Marvelous M.Burmhan Discovery....

Without this character
Can someone eradicate Michael Burmhan from the entire timeline of Star Trek; the worst character of Star Trek universe, and instead of Starc Trek they should have call it theIncredible Marvelous M.Burmhan Discovery....

Without this character the serie should be a 7/10, but dont miss with main character, they define the serie, what a waste.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
MikeTheHumanMay 14, 2022
A show that looks nice but is maybe the dumbest show on modern television, streaming or otherwise. Hateable characters, depressing tone, stupid plots and dialogue, and an ever-pervading self importance that makes this pretty much unwatchable.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
aaw0611May 22, 2022
They took Star Trek and tried to get too progressive with it. A lot of the charm and entertainment value was lost in the effort to be "politically correct"
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
MrG12345Jun 7, 2022
I love Star Trek. I have for decades and have watched every series and every movie. Of them all, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine was by far the worst series with Star Trek: The Next Generation the best. Star Trek: Discovery joins my list secondI love Star Trek. I have for decades and have watched every series and every movie. Of them all, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine was by far the worst series with Star Trek: The Next Generation the best. Star Trek: Discovery joins my list second to last just above Deep Space Nine. Why? The acting and plot is like watching an old time 'B' movie. Captain Burnham breaks into tears for practically no reason, the character of Sylvia Tilly is loose and unformed throughout the series with her being a hero in one episode and dysfunctional in another. And then there's the gay love scenes. Is that really necessary in any STAR TREK series? I hope it doesn't come back for another season (but I heard it will) but rather hope the studio but time and money into Star Trek: Picard and Star Trek: Strange New Worlds - two very good new series. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
bjmetacriticJun 16, 2022
This is Star Trek in name only. As a standalone Sci Fi series it might have worked, but almost nothing about tone, pace, or characters in this show is true to Star Trek.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
greaterideaJun 26, 2022
This is Millennial Star Trek: Everyone cries, everyone gets what they want, everyone's mom shows up to save the day, and everyone gets a trophy.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
DeralacJul 11, 2022
While this show is better than Discovering Star Crap and Pisscard, it doesn’t get credit for being less offal than what’s usually flushed out of Septic Hideout. A little less rotten than stinking garbage swill is still smelly. It’s 100% theWhile this show is better than Discovering Star Crap and Pisscard, it doesn’t get credit for being less offal than what’s usually flushed out of Septic Hideout. A little less rotten than stinking garbage swill is still smelly. It’s 100% the writing. The cast is clearly doing the best they can with the horrid script they are given. Kurtzchild is immature and incompetent. It’s pathetic when a fool who isn’t competent to create can only soil someone else’s work. Jar Jar Abrams held Star Trek down while Kurtzchild ripped it guts out. Star Trek has been defiled, decimated and destroyed. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
JackalsonAug 4, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The orville or galaxy quest are closer to star trek than discovery. DISCOVERY is a parody full of bad characters Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
GrahamSteiner44Sep 5, 2022
I'm no big Star Trek fan or anything, but compared to previous offerings, this show is not good. The writing is almost infantile, the acting performances poor, and the 'woke' narrative just a little vomit inducing. All I see here, Is changeI'm no big Star Trek fan or anything, but compared to previous offerings, this show is not good. The writing is almost infantile, the acting performances poor, and the 'woke' narrative just a little vomit inducing. All I see here, Is change for 'politically motivated' change sake, and a distortion of historical detail, to perhaps just justify the writers existence. There's no heart beat to this show. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
KnickerlessMay 26, 2022
The first two seasons were very much okay, even though there were many inconsistencies and it is a bit too violent and dark for star trek and it broke the Klingons. The third season just became something strange full of cringe moments. It'sThe first two seasons were very much okay, even though there were many inconsistencies and it is a bit too violent and dark for star trek and it broke the Klingons. The third season just became something strange full of cringe moments. It's basically deus ex machina meets Mary Sue, and a bunch of superfluous nonsense, and I'm not at all talking about the virtue signaling. The characters have forgotten who they are and the ends of the storylines make no sense. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
njones33Jan 22, 2023
Next Gen inspired a generation. If Discovery is a re-visualisation of our future, we should have stayed in the trees.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
compaysegundoAug 31, 2020
Discovery has really nice effects and the inscenation is great. But the characters are mostly terrible and the story develops after a pretty nice start insanely bad.

Furthermore it is really a product of terrible social correctness as
Discovery has really nice effects and the inscenation is great. But the characters are mostly terrible and the story develops after a pretty nice start insanely bad.

Furthermore it is really a product of terrible social correctness as (colored) women are the heroes, (white) men are the bad guys or just idiots. That Star Trek ever carried a message for social justice means not that you have to stick the middle finger in the face of people like in this series. The main character is a boring superhero black woman which is just the best in everything and the whole universe seems only be there for her. The second important character is of course a brillant homosexual, the only white man which behaves brillant and brave and is a "good". The dialogs are terrible and mostly flat. There is not one remarkable character in the series.
Expand
14 of 15 users found this helpful141
All this user's reviews
0
tsnglecDec 4, 2019
doesn't feel like star trek at all. you guys need to go back the Rick Berman style of story telling. It's all flash with no substance.
14 of 15 users found this helpful141
All this user's reviews
1
Mighty_moose416Oct 25, 2020
Its still terrible. Hopefully this season will be the last and we can just forget it existed
14 of 15 users found this helpful141
All this user's reviews
0
DexEngineerNov 4, 2020
What a waste of opportunity. Politics destroys fun. This is actually not Star Trek. This is propaganda. But... there is positive side here... Hollywood is going to destroy itself. Who cares.
13 of 14 users found this helpful131
All this user's reviews
3
dr_zoidberg590Apr 23, 2021
Unwatcheable and not star trek. Starfleet bridge officers squabble like school children, the only colours are orange and turquoise, doesn't understand philosophy, no intellectualism, no pacing or confidence in the directing. A sad testementUnwatcheable and not star trek. Starfleet bridge officers squabble like school children, the only colours are orange and turquoise, doesn't understand philosophy, no intellectualism, no pacing or confidence in the directing. A sad testement to the producers lack of understanding of Roddenbury, taking advantage of him not being around to say no. Expand
13 of 14 users found this helpful131
All this user's reviews
2
Redleg1971Jan 29, 2021
OMG. Where to start? What a ridiculous TV series! It goes against everything Roddenberry stood for. Terrible stories. That's all I can muster. If you're a true Trek fan, don't bother watching, it'll just piss you off.
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
1
jlcvtNov 26, 2021
This show could of been good, but it just keeps get worse. Not sure what is worse the writers or the actors.
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
0
KTLeanderNov 18, 2020
Its utterly stupid, childish and not Star Trek. Even Picard is better and THAT is saying something.
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
1
R_LEE_ERMEYApr 6, 2021
I never seen so much crying and over emotional tripe in my life. The only reason they received a 1 is because of the special effects/wardrobe people. Abolutely TERRIBLE writing. Terrible casting (except for Seru, Pike and whats her name)I never seen so much crying and over emotional tripe in my life. The only reason they received a 1 is because of the special effects/wardrobe people. Abolutely TERRIBLE writing. Terrible casting (except for Seru, Pike and whats her name) See that? I can't even remember the characters names after 3 seasons!! The over the top homosexuality and transgenderism sticks out like a sore thumb almost as if they are trying too hard. The overly emotional and pontificating dialogue is 100% not Star Trek. Gene Roddenberry is rolling in his grave. SHAME on you!

You better not screw up the Pike series as badly as you have this one.
Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
0
WestCoastSunsetFeb 3, 2021
All the characters have 1 defining characteristic that is so all consuming you wonder how they get their jobs done. Canon is regularly redefined or ignored outright to suit the episode(s). Story plotlines are consistent, but quite a bitAll the characters have 1 defining characteristic that is so all consuming you wonder how they get their jobs done. Canon is regularly redefined or ignored outright to suit the episode(s). Story plotlines are consistent, but quite a bit larger than life. Scripts are contrived in the service of Race/Gender Representation rather than just good story telling. Action, usually involving space battles, are very overdone. The enemy always seems stronger, almost too strong for the protaganists to overcome. Not realistic or thought provoking at all. The show follows Viacom's other offering Picard, in that it tends to rehash plots from other Star trek shows, which I can only intepret as a lack of originality. I won't be watching the new season. Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
0
End3rW1gg1nJan 15, 2021
As a life long Trekkie, I desparately wanted to like this show, but aside from the special effects, it has no redeeming qualities. This is not Star Trek. It's an insult.

The show needs to be cancelled immediately, the creators need to
As a life long Trekkie, I desparately wanted to like this show, but aside from the special effects, it has no redeeming qualities. This is not Star Trek. It's an insult.

The show needs to be cancelled immediately, the creators need to apologize to all the fans and resign.

What an embarassment!
Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
2
kpaulNov 7, 2020
So, now we know having no characters with no flaw and illogical plot points makes for awful watching. Having actors because of their gender and sexuality rather than their skill makes for awful performances.
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
1
KabindasOct 20, 2020
The most cringe tv series ever. And the 3rd season continues with that... what a waste of time.
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
0
SebLacOct 22, 2020
Being a huge Star Trek Fan, I thought ENT was the worst Star Trek reboot but I was wrong. Discovery is. Now we are into Season 3 and still, I can not understand why this Michael Burnham has to cry constantly. Wasn't she supposed to be raisedBeing a huge Star Trek Fan, I thought ENT was the worst Star Trek reboot but I was wrong. Discovery is. Now we are into Season 3 and still, I can not understand why this Michael Burnham has to cry constantly. Wasn't she supposed to be raised on Vulcan? Heck, even for a woman she is crying far too much (and overacting) not to mention as a supposed to be bad ass starfleet officer. Bad acting, bad casting and the show should be renamed as ST Space Oprah. Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
2
SciPhiJournalJan 25, 2021
Alas, as someone who grew up on Voyager and Deep Space Nine, this just broke my heart. The ad nauseam moralising and posturing is worse than even in ST:Picard, which already overdosed on it. This whole stale train-wreck of a wanna-be spaceAlas, as someone who grew up on Voyager and Deep Space Nine, this just broke my heart. The ad nauseam moralising and posturing is worse than even in ST:Picard, which already overdosed on it. This whole stale train-wreck of a wanna-be space fantasy has little in common with the original libertarian spirit of Star Trek. 2 out of 10 for the two watchable characters who helped our household make it to the end of season 1 (where we just gave up): Captain Lorca and Empress Philippa. Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
3
koyotNov 11, 2020
Every episode is like the creators wanted to get an Oscar. Wokeism, tokenism, virtue signaling - you can all find it here. The makenosense dialogs and cringe. The story is not bad - I can say that I like it. Some of the main characters areEvery episode is like the creators wanted to get an Oscar. Wokeism, tokenism, virtue signaling - you can all find it here. The makenosense dialogs and cringe. The story is not bad - I can say that I like it. Some of the main characters are not likable and you want them dead, some have nothing special to offer yet are promoted. Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
4
BishBashBoshSep 28, 2020
Absolute trash.
Pros... Visually it's great. However, special FX for television are becoming more and more brilliant it's not like it stands out from the crowd. Anson Mount as Pike, brilliant. Cons... Everyone and everything else.. That Yum,
Absolute trash.
Pros... Visually it's great. However, special FX for television are becoming more and more brilliant it's not like it stands out from the crowd. Anson Mount as Pike, brilliant. Cons... Everyone and everything else.. That Yum, yum line was just.... Dire I've watch both seasons can't stomach another one. Beam me up Scotty.
Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
0
dancodanNov 15, 2020
I’m a life long fan of the series, watched every episode ever created. I had high hopes for Discovery but even though I really tried to like it I eventually had to admit to myself that this is not Star Trek. This is a political statement.I’m a life long fan of the series, watched every episode ever created. I had high hopes for Discovery but even though I really tried to like it I eventually had to admit to myself that this is not Star Trek. This is a political statement. Where it lacks in writing and a good story it more than enough makes up with PC culture. It’s not often they allow a white male on the cast, and when they do you can be sure that he is the bad guy.
The writing is forced and dull, often dumbed down and overly dramatic. Often we can see an entire room of characters just crying while violins are going crazy in the background for no apparent reason. It’s an emotional, sentimental jibberish which doesn’t come close to the previous series.
Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
2
FalrinthNov 27, 2020
While im a big fan of Star Trek, had high hopes and excitement with the references i cant enjoy it as much as previous series (any of them). I just cant stop noticing how it is more of political/ideological propaganda/crusade wrapped in aWhile im a big fan of Star Trek, had high hopes and excitement with the references i cant enjoy it as much as previous series (any of them). I just cant stop noticing how it is more of political/ideological propaganda/crusade wrapped in a sci-fi cover that turns out to be just high budget VFX with mediocre, single plot. I wouldnt mind the variety (its a sci-fi show!) but this feels like aggresive political correctness promotional video. Its just weird to watch when at every step you get another dose of correctness, especially with shallow, cliche characters that makes it even more apparent.

I dont mind variety, but someone there took it to the heart much more than Star Trek itself. They focused on that "social justice", feminism and lgbt promotion to such drastic degree, that they have lost the essence. Star Trek seems to be just a taken over background to political and ideological preaching, and that is not entertaining.
Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
0
Davtom88May 9, 2020
Another season of awful writing and mostly mediocre acting. It's hard to tell with shows like this if the acting is bad or is it bad writing combined with bad directing. I think its a little of both, or maybe a lot of both. The writing forAnother season of awful writing and mostly mediocre acting. It's hard to tell with shows like this if the acting is bad or is it bad writing combined with bad directing. I think its a little of both, or maybe a lot of both. The writing for sure is true garbage. Unconnected drivel, plot lines started and dropped, unjustified character choices and arcs, UGH, just terrible. The whole finale was weird pseudo science speak with the character just saying sifi garbage dialog to try to make some kind of sense of a terrible plot line and some how try to justify what moronic story the writers hobbled together. Awful, awful, garbage. Not Star Trek , barely SiFi definitely terrible writing. I'M DONE. Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
3
Alternative4Nov 14, 2020
The story is just so incredibly disappointing, its like Kurtzman thought the entirety of Star Trek was pseudo science and lazer ship battles. Like Star Trek can have a different tone to it as in a darker tone but the story has to be coherentThe story is just so incredibly disappointing, its like Kurtzman thought the entirety of Star Trek was pseudo science and lazer ship battles. Like Star Trek can have a different tone to it as in a darker tone but the story has to be coherent and should hold true to what the OG creator wanted which was to at least stick as close to concrete physics principles. Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
0
QuadrapoleDec 8, 2021
My God, what have they done to the star Trek series that I loved as a kid? Old Trek (TNG, ds9, Voyager) showed what a civilized utopian society that values the freedom of alien cultures. It presents interesting situations where there's noMy God, what have they done to the star Trek series that I loved as a kid? Old Trek (TNG, ds9, Voyager) showed what a civilized utopian society that values the freedom of alien cultures. It presents interesting situations where there's no right or wrong choice. Life isn't black and white, but grey. New Trek is absolute garbage that just seems like the present society with more technology. The crew is crass, vulgar and has the emotional control of kindergarten. They are childish and immature. The plot is simplistic and shallow. Progressive politics ruined star Trek. Get woke, go broke Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
1
JoergblnJan 22, 2022
I am a Star Trek fan for more an 40 years. Discovery brought that to an end. This is not a spaceship, that's a mental hospital in outer space. You just can't sugarcoat a horrible story with special effects.
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
1
BobbyJet11Oct 20, 2020
Gene Roddenberry would not have approved of this excuse for a Start Trek series.... And if Frakes is a true follower of Roddenberry's work he must struggle with trying to direct this garbage. I tried hard to give it the benefit of the doubtGene Roddenberry would not have approved of this excuse for a Start Trek series.... And if Frakes is a true follower of Roddenberry's work he must struggle with trying to direct this garbage. I tried hard to give it the benefit of the doubt thinking it would get better but I'm done with this show. Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
0
exsupNov 13, 2020
After all the Years of Star Trek we get the opportunity to create a great series with up to date FX effects and realistic locations, but what do we get?? we get a ship full of whinging cry babies, we get a peculiar kind of speech from theAfter all the Years of Star Trek we get the opportunity to create a great series with up to date FX effects and realistic locations, but what do we get?? we get a ship full of whinging cry babies, we get a peculiar kind of speech from the characters a kind of fast speak that is hard to grasp and understand, we get a plot that seems to be made up on the way. In all we get a some kind of political correct script with all characters heading for the safe room when someone hurts there feelings. Star Trek this is not. I have just started watching series three and after a glimmer of light in series two I am afraid I will have to pull the plug as this is just utter trash, badly written and badly produced. Netflix please do us all a favour and end the nightmare now. Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
0
DquotaNov 26, 2020
I will let William Shakesman summarize this show for you dear reader. It is a tale told by idiots, full of sound and fury. Signifying nothing.
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
1
metauser987Aug 9, 2021
This show is NOT star trek. The characters are poorly written and the writers have no idea what a "strong female character" is. They should look to Ripley from Aliens or Janeway from Voyager, or Sam from Stargate to see a well writtenThis show is NOT star trek. The characters are poorly written and the writers have no idea what a "strong female character" is. They should look to Ripley from Aliens or Janeway from Voyager, or Sam from Stargate to see a well written female character that have actual character development. These female characters show independence, strength, and intelligence by actually working WITH their male counterparts instead of knocking them down or seemingly solving any issue by a miracle (see Mary Sue effect). Not to mention the fact some of the situations on the show are just horribly inaccurate: I mean ENSIGN Tilly becoming First Officer!!!??? In what world would an ENSIGN (who has no command training or command authority) become FO in charge of hundreds of people?!? Are they saying there are no other Qualified LT or LT Commanders on board? And the reason they give is that Saru only "trusts Tilly". Well newsflash, command authority should be given to officers who EARN it, who are QUALIFIED and yes, to someone who you trust. Again are they saying no other LT or LT. Commander rank officers fit this bill? Ridiculous. Also some of the other plots just don't pan out or make sense. Case in point: The Burn. The whole last season was a question of what caused the burn?! Was it an alien species? 8472? Q? Some unknown, powerful force? No, At the end it turned out to be caused by a temper tantrum by a child! Like WTF?

The "writers" (if you can call them that) should look to TNG and DS9 for how Star Trek should be written. There's nothing wrong with bringing Star Trek into the 21st Century. More action and pew pew is fine. Hell even lens flare is OK (in moderation). New characters and stories are welcome, BUT only if they are good, make sense, and have compelling, realistic, relatable characters.
Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
0
JeDiTVNov 2, 2021
I wasn't woke and submissive enough to be able to stand watching enough episodes to appreciate this cinematic masterpiece. You need new viewers because we're not giving it anymore. I'll cross Star Trek off my list.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
2
tagginondawalJul 20, 2020
The show seems to feel....bland. It feels that it could have to potential to be a good Star Trek show, and maybe it could, but they rewrote canon, and in reality, that one part where Michael is insubordinate toward her commandingThe show seems to feel....bland. It feels that it could have to potential to be a good Star Trek show, and maybe it could, but they rewrote canon, and in reality, that one part where Michael is insubordinate toward her commanding officer...Really? Some may sir "hurr durr Kirk did that!" He was a Captain. He would have a little more leeway. He was the head of the ship, he could do that. Michael is a second in command. She attempted to take over the ship. WTF? I feel she should have been court martialed for that. The writing is okay, the flow of the show is okay, but honestly, it doesn't feel like Star Trek. I'll take the Orville over this, thanks. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
0
fightbackpJan 24, 2021
What a total train wreck!!! I've never seen such a bad series in my whole life!! Hollywood and Disney love ruining franchises as they have done with Ghostbusters, Star Wars, Terminator and now Star Trek! I have more fun doing homework andWhat a total train wreck!!! I've never seen such a bad series in my whole life!! Hollywood and Disney love ruining franchises as they have done with Ghostbusters, Star Wars, Terminator and now Star Trek! I have more fun doing homework and reading a boring book than the new Star Trek. I actually made me feel sick in my stomach cause it's that bad. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
0
zexxxNov 5, 2020
Thoughtless story with senseless and awkward dialog. the best thing about this show were the episodes with captain pike in s02. they didn't make more sense but they felt like Star Trek more than anything in that show. something needs toThoughtless story with senseless and awkward dialog. the best thing about this show were the episodes with captain pike in s02. they didn't make more sense but they felt like Star Trek more than anything in that show. something needs to change with this whole action-comedy-lightspeed silly shows and movies. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
0
BlissettlutherOct 19, 2020
STD is embarassing. Confused storytelling, bad action and trite carachterization. Video games plot stories (That's really what plot here feels like ) are much more interesting. Season 3 premiere reached rock bottom, I'm sad to see Star TrekSTD is embarassing. Confused storytelling, bad action and trite carachterization. Video games plot stories (That's really what plot here feels like ) are much more interesting. Season 3 premiere reached rock bottom, I'm sad to see Star Trek end up like this. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
0
PickleRick123Oct 19, 2020
I can't get into this show. I tried I really tried but the writing is so bad that it is painful to watch. The story doesn't make any sense and I feels like a generic sci-fi show and NOT star trek. One character spock says a line "I likeI can't get into this show. I tried I really tried but the writing is so bad that it is painful to watch. The story doesn't make any sense and I feels like a generic sci-fi show and NOT star trek. One character spock says a line "I like science". If that is not the definition of bad writing I don't know what it. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
2
BuddyCasinoJan 8, 2021
This is the culmination of many years of decline since ST:TNG. The production values are good, thus two points, and there are a few good main characters (Cpt Pike, the asian lady) but otherwise it is a complete cringe-fest with terribleThis is the culmination of many years of decline since ST:TNG. The production values are good, thus two points, and there are a few good main characters (Cpt Pike, the asian lady) but otherwise it is a complete cringe-fest with terrible writing and plot holes in the size of a borg cube. Michael Burnham has to be the least talented actress ever to command a federation vessel. This show appeals to SJWs and nobody else. The political undertones are unsubtle and lead to fake writing and dialogue all the time. The show has its moments, but in between, its mostly hate-watching. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
1
AlphaheroJan 22, 2021
Good: visual effects, sounddesign.. Camera.. Interesting setting and startrek franchise..

So what could go wrong? Everything is about one main character. Constant political correctness in your face. No man on the entire ship. Very sad Please stop..
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
0
Stargazer1986Mar 29, 2021
Season 1-2 we’re ok. They messed up many things. But both were watchable. The whole burnham plot was ok. Until it was just a show about her and not ST. S3 it’s simply painful to watch. The script feels as if it was written by a teenager whoSeason 1-2 we’re ok. They messed up many things. But both were watchable. The whole burnham plot was ok. Until it was just a show about her and not ST. S3 it’s simply painful to watch. The script feels as if it was written by a teenager who barely knows writing. The story lines are dreadful, lazy and are overly focus on gender, race, feminism. I fast forward so many times because It was just unbearable. I hope they do not make another season. It’s simply TERRIBLE!! Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
0
AverageJoe20May 11, 2021
why is this even called star trek? i wanted to like it so bad but everything about this show is terrible. they should really keep identity politics out of tv. This is activism and woke politics not star trek. cringeworthy
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
1
HenriavNov 15, 2021
This is probably the worse Star Trek ever made. Woke writers and a sad departure from the spirit of Star Trek. Don't waste your time watching this garbage. The only thing to say that is positive is the special effects were good.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
0
ThadbranNov 25, 2021
Lacking a lot of substance - gets worst as the series drags on . Utterly disappointing
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
1
wonderchadJan 26, 2022
Thanks God, this nightmare is over.
Next time, well, I hope there won't be one, that the writers will be inspired by ST DS9 to write.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
0
wallabiJul 28, 2019
+10 for special effects -10 for everything else +10 for it being star trek (christopher pike counts as it being star trek, even if he is not allowed to be a captain the entire time because the captain is no longer the main star) -10 for every+10 for special effects -10 for everything else +10 for it being star trek (christopher pike counts as it being star trek, even if he is not allowed to be a captain the entire time because the captain is no longer the main star) -10 for every thing else equals a 0 score because if you go into this show for it being 'star trek' its absolute garbage, as a generic action packed sci-fi in space show, its still garbage. Expand
14 of 16 users found this helpful142
All this user's reviews
0
dougal83May 1, 2020
It looks nice but I watched for Star Trek and subsequently stopped watching. Managed to watch 6 eps but it's utter crap. Not sure about the basis of the "warp" tech either... utter fantasy whereas actual Star Trek universe borrowed fromIt looks nice but I watched for Star Trek and subsequently stopped watching. Managed to watch 6 eps but it's utter crap. Not sure about the basis of the "warp" tech either... utter fantasy whereas actual Star Trek universe borrowed from real world theory (ie force fields etc). It's just crap... I opted to watch Farscape instead, fantasy done right. Expand
14 of 16 users found this helpful142
All this user's reviews
0
Blahblah698Mar 3, 2020
Pointless pos show. Acting horrible, story horrible. Too much emphasis on gay relationship. Too much sex. Changed the Klingons looks too much. No creativity, awful.
14 of 16 users found this helpful142
All this user's reviews
0
heloheNov 25, 2021
It is like every season, the writers make a bet about how much worse they can make the show without anything happening. Season 4 now tops it with everything: Bad acting, stupid story, bad science, boring characters, too much lens flares,It is like every season, the writers make a bet about how much worse they can make the show without anything happening. Season 4 now tops it with everything: Bad acting, stupid story, bad science, boring characters, too much lens flares, boring action instead of any meaningful philosophical story, bad sound effects,... Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
2
radixlecti84Nov 25, 2021
I wish they would cancel this terrible show. I am not bothered by the change of aesthetics so much as the change of tone.

The original shows (TOS,TNG,DS9,VOY) were filled with cartoonish characters in ridiculous rubber prosthetics however
I wish they would cancel this terrible show. I am not bothered by the change of aesthetics so much as the change of tone.

The original shows (TOS,TNG,DS9,VOY) were filled with cartoonish characters in ridiculous rubber prosthetics however the writing and delivery of scenes made them 100x more relatable and believable. Interactions between the crew, the constant bickering, the constant melodrama feel like this should be a show about sassy teenagers, not a wistful look towards the future. These dreadful "moments" that interject each episode every 10 minutes are a sure sign that they don't have enough actual script to fill the episode. The old shows could take 40 minutes and deliver you a complete story with a beginning, middle and end and wrap it all up with as a moralistic lesson or cautionary tale. There was levity in the old shows and the characters had depth. For example, Picard was a disciplined and reserved man, throughout the show you got the feeling he was very career orientated, which is something that comes up multiple times in his distancing himself from his crew and potential romantic relations, that consistency in his writing made those moments where his demeanor cracks all the more enjoyable (his dispair at captain picard day, his frustration at the fact nobody else makes "ships in a bottle", his romantic entanglement with an art theif). Meanwhile we have Burnham, she doesn't play by the rules, and she can go from lecturous high roading to childish melodramatic drama. Compare the two captains relationships with their brother. I know from watching TNG that Picard has a complex relationship with his brother, they have very different outlooks on life with one being a starship captain and the other wishing to stay firmly planted on earth carrying on the families tradition at their winery. It's a battle between tradition and duty mixed in with some old fashioned sibling rivalry. Robert believes John Luc turned his back on his family, yet when Jean-luc is traumatized by his experience with the Borg, he turns to his brother for support.

Meanwhile, I can't remember a solitary thing about why Burnham doesn't get along with Spock. It feels like they leant onto revisionist history (spock suddenly having a half sister) just because they wanted to create a tenuous link between the new and the old and play of the shows prior success.

This show is lazy and lacks imagination.
Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
2
RoqueNEJun 14, 2021
Cringy soap-opera in space with a annoying main cast and constant emotionally overloaded partnership quarreling. If Burnham is not crying right now she either ignores orders and does what she wants or solves unsolvable problems thatCringy soap-opera in space with a annoying main cast and constant emotionally overloaded partnership quarreling. If Burnham is not crying right now she either ignores orders and does what she wants or solves unsolvable problems that apparently only she is capable of solving. Doug Jones's Saru is one of the few bright spots in this trainwreck of an embarrassing rip-off of Star Trek. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
0
Simon_SaysApr 5, 2021
Malon antimatter waste. Best left untouched like the rest of the recent of anti-trek "nu trek" ADHD Kurtzman crapola.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
0
sabrose1020Dec 17, 2021
The show insults the viewer in many ways. Unlikeable characters, SJW principles outweigh story development, character development, logic and entertainment value. I feel very sorry for Anson Mount being a part of this abomination. He is aThe show insults the viewer in many ways. Unlikeable characters, SJW principles outweigh story development, character development, logic and entertainment value. I feel very sorry for Anson Mount being a part of this abomination. He is a fine actor .I am sure he had to take a long shower to rid himself of the stench of this show. It takes talent however to assemble this many physically unattractive actors on one show. It takes hubris to shove this show down the throats of an unwilling audience and push its immense failure for 4 seasons. I haven't watched season 4 even though I have Paramount.I did watch much of the first 3 seasons. It was sort of like watching a car wreck. I would watch Season 4 if they had the Mystery Science theater 3000 guys writing ongoing commentary during the show. That is what it deserves. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
1
steelreviewssDec 5, 2021
Low effort cash grab. Again.
Pseudo diversity is front and center again, good writing is lacking.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
2
ajewoMay 16, 2021
Star Trek: Discovery is primarily about fast-paced action and one big mystery plot for each season rather than episodical mystery, exploration, ethical or social issues. The episodes are not very memorable, unlike other Star Trek series.Star Trek: Discovery is primarily about fast-paced action and one big mystery plot for each season rather than episodical mystery, exploration, ethical or social issues. The episodes are not very memorable, unlike other Star Trek series. Discovery is a gritty, non-optimistic version of Star Trek with prequel continuity issues, e.g., the Klingon makeover is just unnecessary, holograms, or the "instant everywhere" spore drive. However, some issues will be reverted in the second season.
If you start to think about the plots for a minute, you will often find many issues that do not add up. Some episodes are so packed with "stuff" and contradictions that I didn't even care to follow the plot in a logical sense anymore. The voice-over pathos inspired by the JJ Abraham movies is just another empty element. And most of the characters are shady (especially in the first season) and unlikable. Some characters become charicatures. Michael Burnham, for example, is supposed to be the hero of the series, but since she's not the captain of the Discovery, she's not in a position to make the big decisions, yet she has all the answers and rebels without consequence (because she's always right in the end). As for the production, the series is well done. There are annoyingly overused light glares in the first two seasons, but the costumes, masks, and visuals are very good at movie level. All in all, I wish they had invested the budget in better scripts, stories, and dialogues written by actual science fiction authors.
I recommend watching the earlier Star Trek series, The Expanse, or The Orville instead.
Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
1
j0hnnjOct 10, 2021
Building up a consistent universe can't be done if fashion political views shared by autors in the real life society change everything in the story, the spirit of your fiction.

Discovery is poorly written, protagonists are superhumans, a
Building up a consistent universe can't be done if fashion political views shared by autors in the real life society change everything in the story, the spirit of your fiction.

Discovery is poorly written, protagonists are superhumans, a little bit dumbs - but I supose that scenarist could do better - but they can do anything. antagonists are bads stupids and ugly.

The story TL;DR version is: "Trumpists are klingons, klingons are bad, we are good, we kill bad". From an entire neutral pov, this story make no sense compared to the olds star trek. You feel that this show promotes a new wave racism and not diversity.
Every body good is a female, every white male are bad and/or coward and/or stupid except if they are gay.

1 point for the design that is good, people doing the visual effect are the only one that deserve to be paid for this show.
Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
0
Wehmut1701Nov 17, 2021
This is a silly show which embraces dumbass action and other visuals. They try to do Star Wars within Star Trek and by that they are destroying Star Trek.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews