• Network: Disney+
  • Series Premiere Date: May 4, 2021
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7

Where To Watch

Sign up for

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Christian Blauvelt
    May 4, 2021
    83
    For completists then, “The Bad Batch” is essential. For everyone else? Its first 71 minutes provide an engaging, thoughtful, expertly animated story. But it’s a story that’s still just clearing its throat.
  2. Reviewed by: Joel Keller
    May 4, 2021
    80
    There is some goofiness to the show, especially Wrecker’s desire to “blow stuff up,” but The Bad Batch feels like a worthy spinoff to the very popular Clone Wars series.
  3. Reviewed by: Rafael Motamayor
    May 4, 2021
    75
    It’s too early to say whether we really needed to see the immediate aftermath of the end of the Clone Wars, and whether “The Bad Batch” is the right show to tell that story, but things look promising after the first episode.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    May 4, 2021
    70
    “The Bad Batch” is an animated series that seems unlikely to make the same kind of waves as the hit that gave the world Baby Yoda/Grogu, but should satisfy the hardcore fans.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 4, 2021
    65
    A fun if not particularly distinctive "The Clone Wars" extension. Built around a small band of renegade clones, the "Rebels"-like feel doesn't break the mold, even if its characters did.
  6. Reviewed by: Jack Seale
    May 4, 2021
    60
    They are probably not enough to make you feel the “fourth” and celebrate Star Wars Day if you weren’t planning to, but they just about earn their space.
  7. Reviewed by: Niv M. Sultan
    May 7, 2021
    38
    The series feels like it’s simply going through the motions, biding its time until the Jedi and other big names show up. Like countless clone troopers, The Bad Batch fails to distinguish itself.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. May 5, 2021
    8
    Very interconnected with the Clone Wars Finale and Revenge of the Sith, it's cool to see how the bad batch handled and thought about order 66Very interconnected with the Clone Wars Finale and Revenge of the Sith, it's cool to see how the bad batch handled and thought about order 66 and the rise of the empire. Aswell as Kamino. Great start to the show, can't wait for more. One thing that weirded me out (clone wars sometimes had this problem too) The young padawan we meet at the beginning, looked 17ish, but he sounded like a 30-year-old smoker, it throws me off a little, but overall still a really cool show. Full Review »
  2. May 5, 2021
    9
    The Bad Batch is a very well thought-out and intriguing addition to the Star Wars: The Clone Wars series. I believe that later episodes couldThe Bad Batch is a very well thought-out and intriguing addition to the Star Wars: The Clone Wars series. I believe that later episodes could make an exciting series Full Review »
  3. May 5, 2021
    8
    As seen only the first episode, I can say they established a good plot with interesting characters. I'm looking forward for other episodes.