• Network: Disney+
  • Series Premiere Date: May 4, 2021
Season #: 2, 1
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
Watch Now

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Christian Blauvelt
    May 4, 2021
    83
    For completists then, “The Bad Batch” is essential. For everyone else? Its first 71 minutes provide an engaging, thoughtful, expertly animated story. But it’s a story that’s still just clearing its throat.
  2. Reviewed by: David Craig
    Dec 2, 2021
    80
    The story and setting show a lot of promise, so if the writers can strengthen their core characters over the next few episodes, then this series could well hold its own with the best from Lucasfilm Animation. That said, if you never quite got on board with The Clone Wars or Rebels, there probably isn’t much here to win you over.
  3. Reviewed by: Joel Keller
    May 4, 2021
    80
    There is some goofiness to the show, especially Wrecker’s desire to “blow stuff up,” but The Bad Batch feels like a worthy spinoff to the very popular Clone Wars series.
  4. Reviewed by: Rafael Motamayor
    May 4, 2021
    75
    It’s too early to say whether we really needed to see the immediate aftermath of the end of the Clone Wars, and whether “The Bad Batch” is the right show to tell that story, but things look promising after the first episode.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    May 4, 2021
    70
    “The Bad Batch” is an animated series that seems unlikely to make the same kind of waves as the hit that gave the world Baby Yoda/Grogu, but should satisfy the hardcore fans.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 4, 2021
    65
    A fun if not particularly distinctive "The Clone Wars" extension. Built around a small band of renegade clones, the "Rebels"-like feel doesn't break the mold, even if its characters did.
  7. Reviewed by: John Nugent
    Sep 20, 2021
    60
    A solid continuation of the Star Wars Filoni-verse. Clone Wars fans will be delighted, but there’s promise of a more ambitious show yet to follow.
  8. Reviewed by: Jack Seale
    May 4, 2021
    60
    They are probably not enough to make you feel the “fourth” and celebrate Star Wars Day if you weren’t planning to, but they just about earn their space.
  9. Reviewed by: Niv M. Sultan
    May 7, 2021
    38
    The series feels like it’s simply going through the motions, biding its time until the Jedi and other big names show up. Like countless clone troopers, The Bad Batch fails to distinguish itself.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 44
  2. Negative: 8 out of 44
  1. May 7, 2021
    3
    Basic. Boring. Banal. The Bad Batch is a weak effort all around. I'm sure fans of the Clone Wars series will like it but it lacks fun,Basic. Boring. Banal. The Bad Batch is a weak effort all around. I'm sure fans of the Clone Wars series will like it but it lacks fun, excitement, and a reason for existing other than to continue cashing in on the star wars property. The 70 minute first episode drags so long; after 11 minutes i checked the time because i was certain it was bound to be over soon, alas, it went on and on and on. At one point it felt like it'd be a spin on TMNT in the star wars universe, but I don't have the constitution to sit through more to see if that's true. The animation is so boring and drab. It has the energy of the worst parts of the prequel movies with, somehow, an even worse script. Full Review »
  2. May 5, 2021
    8
    Very interconnected with the Clone Wars Finale and Revenge of the Sith, it's cool to see how the bad batch handled and thought about order 66Very interconnected with the Clone Wars Finale and Revenge of the Sith, it's cool to see how the bad batch handled and thought about order 66 and the rise of the empire. Aswell as Kamino. Great start to the show, can't wait for more. One thing that weirded me out (clone wars sometimes had this problem too) The young padawan we meet at the beginning, looked 17ish, but he sounded like a 30-year-old smoker, it throws me off a little, but overall still a really cool show. Full Review »
  3. May 9, 2021
    8
    First thing to know is that this is basically just The Clone Wars Season 8, but I was expecting that long beforehand so no disappointment, butFirst thing to know is that this is basically just The Clone Wars Season 8, but I was expecting that long beforehand so no disappointment, but if you disliked The Clone Wars or haven't watched it this might not be your cup of tea. The plot is promising, but I can understand why some think the exposition is dry or empty. Most of the characters are fine, with one or two being pretty annoying. This improved with the second episode though, but I can't tell if this is just because characters were taken to the extreme for 1st episode introductions, or if it's just that they didn't get as much screen time in the 2nd episode. I anticipate my score will go up once the show finds its rhythm. It's enjoyable, but not the best I've seen from Filoni. Full Review »