• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 23, 2021
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13

Where To Watch

Buy On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Terry Terrones
    Feb 23, 2021
    83
    Well-crafted and with a cinematic feel, this series could be the catalyst to reignite The CW’s superhero empire.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Webb Mitovich
    Feb 10, 2021
    83
    Superman & Lois works. And oftentimes it is quite wonderful.
  3. Reviewed by: Megan Vick
    Feb 23, 2021
    80
    Overall, the complaints against the first handful of episodes screened for critics are small compared to Superman & Lois' strengths. It is an alluring first step into a new frontier and might be just the ticket to infuse some new energy into the Arrowverse.
  4. Reviewed by: Liz Shannon Miller
    Feb 23, 2021
    75
    In some ways, the fact that Superman & Lois feels very different from the shows that have come before it is one of its strengths, and its inherent heartfelt sincerity brings with it a lot of promise; promise it may be able to live up to.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Feb 22, 2021
    75
    At least in these early stages, “Superman & Lois” is far more compelling as a domestic soap opera than a superhero adventure.
  6. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Feb 16, 2021
    75
    I enjoyed a lot of things about the premiere, even if one final twist left me baffled. The second episode offers promising routes forward — and bends the larger serialized story in a dispiritingly familiar direction.
  7. Reviewed by: Joel Keller
    Feb 23, 2021
    70
    It doesn’t look like it’s going to follow the traditional path that other Superman series have, and that’s just fine with us. Just as we like seeing Clark and Lois as harried parents, we’re also happy to see Superman battle some different enemies for a change.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 23, 2021
    70
    Superman & Lois was plucked from the ribs of the current crop of the CW's DC superhero dramas, but its strongest connection is to an earlier series, the long-running "Smallville." Adding a family/coming-of-age component to the Man of Steel's mythology, the show cleverly ties into the deep roots of the franchise, at least initially proving you can go home again.
  9. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 18, 2021
    70
    It’s hard to judge from the pilot and a second episode what the balance of superheroics/teen troubles will be on a weekly basis, but if The CW insists on making more superhero shows at least this mashup of past Superman TV shows gets off to a rousing enough start.
  10. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 25, 2021
    50
    This terribly earnest drama skips past the romance and honeymoon period to more domestic concerns, often moving slower than a spent bullet. [1-14 Mar 2021, p.9]
  11. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Feb 23, 2021
    50
    I'm genuinely appreciative that somebody came up with something resembling a new angle. Next step? Making said angle into a good TV show.
  12. Reviewed by: Melanie McFarland
    Feb 24, 2021
    40
    The struggle is to find something beyond tights and flights to get us to invest in the middle-ages, middle-America Kent-Lane clan after they relocate from Metropolis to Smallville.
  13. Reviewed by: Caroline Framke
    Feb 19, 2021
    40
    But for all the logical storylines and character journeys that “Superman and Lois” includes, it nonetheless lacks the spark to make any of it very interesting. Despite solid efforts from Tulloch, Garfin, and especially Elsass to bring life to their stiff scenes, these Kents feel more stuck than striking.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Feb 24, 2021
    9
    The first episode feels more like a movie than a TV show with well directed cinematics, capturing much of what made Man of Steel great withoutThe first episode feels more like a movie than a TV show with well directed cinematics, capturing much of what made Man of Steel great without suffering from its flaws. It focuses more on the family drama than the cookie cutter action of the other CW shows and it's all the better for it.

    I just hope the show continues this style of heart felt drama, and pray it doesn't degrade into the TV Sitcom-esque feel of shows like Flash and Supergirl.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 26, 2021
    10
    I just watched the first episode and the feeling is hard to describe. The music, acting and cinematography made me feel... nostalgic forI just watched the first episode and the feeling is hard to describe. The music, acting and cinematography made me feel... nostalgic for something that has yet to happen, if that makes sense.

    Performances by Hoechlin and Tulloch were good, as expected. Less expected but extremely welcome were the performances of Jordan Elass and, especially, Alex Garfin. I feel we are all accustomed (and kind of tired) of the stereotypical "angsty teen" characterisation, but I believe these teens have something... different. I will hold further judgement until I see more of the show.

    The setup is a fresh and the different telling of the story of Superman, is actually a welcome change. I feel the same way I felt coming out of Spiderman: Homecoming, thanking I didn't have to watch Uncle Ben die yet again. I believe this new (to TV) storyline will no doubt bring us interesting and engaging conflicts and ideas that will make for a different kind of experience.

    Finally, I'd like to praise the cinematography and special effects, which were incredibly good, especially considering how much I hate some other special effects by other CW shows such as Supergirl which has, in my opinion, the worst of all. Let's thank the good people at HBO for helping out with the budget.
    And of course, Dan Romer's soundtrack left me breathless. While I still believe that nothing tops John Williams' "The Planet Krypton" and the Superman Theme, the music was a highlight for this overall great start to this new series.

    I hope the quality is maintained throughout the show's run, and that we get many, many seasons of quality TV.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 27, 2021
    8
    The story is obviously good, but if it's another land. then it will be a shame. I do not want. I want everything to happen in one place.