• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2007
Season #: 2, 1
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 42
  2. Negative: 14 out of 42

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. SA.
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    Well written, honest and frank. Maybe critics and audiences are not receptive because it reflects in their own lives their own problems. Shows like this are meant to stimulate and engage the audience and it succeeds! Good job HBO... another winner in the likes of "Six Feet Under."
  2. HannahF.
    Sep 10, 2007
    8
    A great window into intimacy and relationships.
  3. Debbi
    Oct 1, 2007
    3
    HBO has sunk to a new low with this show. Not only are the characters boring and the story lines uninteresting, but the sex scenes are nothing but uninspired filler to masque the lack of talent and imagination in the script and the characters.
  4. KarenL.
    Sep 10, 2007
    1
    bland stories - awful sex - no romance - no fun - completely lost interest after 10 minutes of painful television.
  5. MichaelT
    Sep 13, 2007
    6
    Awkwardly Heartbreaking or Heartbreakingly Awesome?
  6. PeterL.
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    What a sad little show -- a romance novel gone mad. I've seen more engaging plots in a porn flick, and there's nary a shred of humor. The "weighty" scenes about the relationships are merely a device to get to the next display of copulation. Whether it's a genuine portrayal of sexual intimacy or not, the series has little to do with love, and should be more aptly named, What a sad little show -- a romance novel gone mad. I've seen more engaging plots in a porn flick, and there's nary a shred of humor. The "weighty" scenes about the relationships are merely a device to get to the next display of copulation. Whether it's a genuine portrayal of sexual intimacy or not, the series has little to do with love, and should be more aptly named, "Tell Me You ..." oh, you fill in the blanks. Expand
  7. MartinS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    6
    The problem I find with this show is that I dislike all of the characters. There's all a bunch of overbearing yuppy prats. Frankly I think there are enough shows that deal with upper middle class angst. I find it hard to feel sorry for these people.
  8. Cesar
    Jun 2, 2008
    0
    Awful show. The acting is below average due to the high amount of people whining, arguing, complaining, or just being weird. The sex factor is so overused throughout the season, it's completely inescapable! The nudity is inescapable! The sexually explicit scenes are inescapable. The therapy scenes are, from what we know, the main plot. But unfortunately, they're so boring, no Awful show. The acting is below average due to the high amount of people whining, arguing, complaining, or just being weird. The sex factor is so overused throughout the season, it's completely inescapable! The nudity is inescapable! The sexually explicit scenes are inescapable. The therapy scenes are, from what we know, the main plot. But unfortunately, they're so boring, no one can be inspired by them to make a TV show of his/her own. All of a sudden, they're comes sex. It's almost like a pornographic drama show, which isn't such a good mixture. These scenes are just disgusting. I mean, there's an episode in which Caroline's breasts grow, and Palek is told to feel them. Jamie and Hugo make up in the sixth or seventh episode, and it's all thanks to sex! You have to have a strong stomach for them. HBO, if you're making a second season, please make it the opposite of what I said just now. Expand
  9. gordonw.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    A refreshingly honest show; deals with problems that many couples face at one time or another in their relationship.
  10. RussE
    Nov 4, 2007
    2
    Had potential but moves so slow that you stop caring what happens. They whine, cheat, lie and the sex is as stilted and uncomfortable as their emotional lives. The lack of joy and resolution of any of this marital turmoil will make this show fail. To the one couple: have sex already!
  11. Kate
    Oct 18, 2007
    9
    A brutally honest look at relationships. I've become genuinely engrossed in the characters, despite their self absorption. The masturbation scenes I can do without.
  12. TenzinS.
    Oct 9, 2007
    1
    The first show sparked interest, but by the middle of the second show it had already deteriorated into a pile of shit. Who cares about a bunch of whiny, pathetic, useless, bleak yuppa zoid mush brains. If you want to boost the ratings, bring in Al Qaeda, otherwise, please cancel immediately.
  13. MoL
    Sep 10, 2007
    4
    This show dies by its writing and lives by its look. Every camera angle, every scene, every lighting arrangement, every thing visual about this show works. And it works well. The moments are always intimate feeling, so much so that, even when characters are not having sex, you feel like you're watching something just as, if not more private. The problem is the writing. Bad writing. This show dies by its writing and lives by its look. Every camera angle, every scene, every lighting arrangement, every thing visual about this show works. And it works well. The moments are always intimate feeling, so much so that, even when characters are not having sex, you feel like you're watching something just as, if not more private. The problem is the writing. Bad writing. Horrendous writing. All the lines are predictable. All the situations are pointless and goofy in their pretension. If more effort was put into shading the characters, into giving the talented actors/actresses something to say, or into just making an interesting story, this would be the best show on TV. But, alas, it isn't. Expand
  14. Diane
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    excellent!!!
  15. JG
    Sep 10, 2007
    2
    Only good part is the nudity...i mean the topics are so dumb, overblown. Guy whines when his wife wants to have sex with him because he wants to be looked at as more than a "sperm machine"??? Come on!!!!! Uggg this along with John from Cincinati is a huge blackeye for HBO. DOn't get me wrong i love HBO and give every show a chance...but this is bad. Showtime is kicking HBO around in Only good part is the nudity...i mean the topics are so dumb, overblown. Guy whines when his wife wants to have sex with him because he wants to be looked at as more than a "sperm machine"??? Come on!!!!! Uggg this along with John from Cincinati is a huge blackeye for HBO. DOn't get me wrong i love HBO and give every show a chance...but this is bad. Showtime is kicking HBO around in terms of shows these days...Brotherhood, californication and even weeds are the best shows on the movie channels now...HBO PULL IT TOGETHER!!! Expand
  16. JK
    Sep 11, 2007
    2
    Across the board, all of these characters are insufferable bores, and I couldn't care less what happens to them in couples therapy. Not even the prosthetic genitals will make me tune in for the second episode.
  17. [Anonymous]
    Sep 12, 2007
    8
    Such a compelling show, can't wait to see what will happen next
  18. JohnS.
    Sep 12, 2007
    3
    I don't see this show making it past a season at best. And I know for sure it won't be HBO's next great hit. The characters are fairly boring and unlikable on the whole. It's basically a bunch of rich good looking white people crying/whining about their problems which all relate back to sex. The sex scenes are boring which is probably the most realistic part of the I don't see this show making it past a season at best. And I know for sure it won't be HBO's next great hit. The characters are fairly boring and unlikable on the whole. It's basically a bunch of rich good looking white people crying/whining about their problems which all relate back to sex. The sex scenes are boring which is probably the most realistic part of the entire show. But the nudity won't be enough to keep viewers captivated. Expand
  19. Carey
    Sep 15, 2007
    0
    The worst HBO show I have ever seen. HBO stick to investing in the programs people want like ROME or DEADWOOD. We will cancel if this is what HBO is now going to behind their name.
  20. EmilyP.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    Yes, the show can be upsetting, but that's part of why it's so good. The characters have many layers, and cannot be easily defined. That's hard to come by on most shows these days. It's refreshing. I love how real the show is and I feel like I'm going through therapy with them. They do a great job of showing the many levels of relationships and how they can be so Yes, the show can be upsetting, but that's part of why it's so good. The characters have many layers, and cannot be easily defined. That's hard to come by on most shows these days. It's refreshing. I love how real the show is and I feel like I'm going through therapy with them. They do a great job of showing the many levels of relationships and how they can be so painful and so wonderful at the same time. Expand
  21. JamieN.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    This show isn't for everyone, but I feel its realistic look at relationships in trouble is worth a look or two for anyone. Its mostly going to appeal to girls, because its a show about emotion, not just sex. Oooo, feelings. Thats a tough one.
  22. Jaleesa
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Honest. Raw. Beautiful.
  23. KK
    Sep 15, 2007
    8
    This is a show about how couples use sex to avoid confronting real relationship issues. The sex and nudity is there to illustrate this point, not to support any romantic story arc. If you want romance, go somewhere else. TMYLM is graphic and uncomfortable to watch at times, but interesting.
  24. CG.
    Sep 18, 2007
    0
    I can't believe how much this sucks. After only after 10 minutes I had to change the channel out of irritation. Writing sucks, production sucks actors/actresses suck...what a waste of subscribers money.
  25. MikeA
    Sep 26, 2007
    8
    I am hooked! This show is flawed and much of what has been said about its flaws is true. That said, I look forward to each episode. A smart, neurotic guilty pleasure.
  26. JACK
    Sep 26, 2007
    4
    The show proves that women are crazy and can only get along with gay men.
  27. JoshlynH.
    Sep 22, 2008
    2
    It's depressing but also too contrived. Having to have the token lesbian sex scene thrown in there, was just the end for me. I guess I don't understand why these people can't communicate better! Is that the point? It's sort of boring and slow. I'm really trying to like it but by the end of the show, I'm annoyed by the whole thing.
  28. David
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Excellent excellent excellent. The characters are not unlikable - they are real. There is real pain and real joy and real closeness and real, unbreachable distance. Compare this to Brothers and Sisters, which despite the genius of Sally Field and Calista Flockhart (and all of them), offers us characters who are among the most unpleasant, angry, selfish, bitter, pathologically narcissistic Excellent excellent excellent. The characters are not unlikable - they are real. There is real pain and real joy and real closeness and real, unbreachable distance. Compare this to Brothers and Sisters, which despite the genius of Sally Field and Calista Flockhart (and all of them), offers us characters who are among the most unpleasant, angry, selfish, bitter, pathologically narcissistic denizens of hell's bottom level whose sole joy is to visit suffering on every other living creature within the camera's range. "Tell Me" is the real deal. Expand
  29. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    I don't understand why this show got such low ratings. I am a young man, never married, but still loved this show. The acting is the most incredible I have seen in any TV show (and few movies top the acting). The issues are interesting and every person in a long term relationship will identify with. The ending might have been a bit too cliche; could have ended more realisticly... butI don't understand why this show got such low ratings. I am a young man, never married, but still loved this show. The acting is the most incredible I have seen in any TV show (and few movies top the acting). The issues are interesting and every person in a long term relationship will identify with. The ending might have been a bit too cliche; could have ended more realisticly... but that's besides the point. Expand
  30. Dec 3, 2017
    1
    It's so hard to get interested in this show as most of the characters are either so unlikeable or pathetic. The writers appear to keep relying on long boring sex scenes because they don't seem to be able to think of any way to develop the story. I've watched 90% of the first episode and so far, only one couple has had a 5 minute appointment with the therapist.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. Tell Me is an incisive drama, but it's not an easy commitment.
  2. 20
    Yes, [the sex is] all very realistic, but not very hot, thanks to the fact that these are grouchy, humorless people whom we'd rather see hitting each other in the head with two-by-fours.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    In short, if you come for the sex, you'll only stay for the characters, and those represent an intriguing but decidedly mixed bag.