• Network: SHOWTIME
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 27, 2020
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28

Where To Watch

Buy On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Richard Lawson
    Sep 25, 2020
    30
    All the cornball dialogue, heavily conveying its intent like a mallet over the head. ... You could certainly watch it on Sunday night. Though I can’t for the life of me imagine why you would want to.
  2. Reviewed by: Judy Berman
    Sep 24, 2020
    30
    American politics is so preoccupied with the participants as characters and partisans. Comey doubles down on that unfortunate tendency. ... You could argue that, as a drama, Comey’s chief purpose is to entertain rather than inform. But by that metric, its dull think-piece monologues, expository dialogue and long scenes of people in suits arguing in boardrooms are even less successful.
  3. Reviewed by: Daniel D'Addario
    Sep 1, 2020
    30
    The movie bends and strains to accommodate Comey’s showy displays of duty and righteousness. ... Gleeson is at once the best and worst thing about “The Comey Rule,” uncannily evoking the president’s aura of menace and doing so while pushing his performance past a bizarre sheath of makeup that misses the mark. ... This series fails to find anything provocative or narratively rich in Comey’s dismissal from government. ... Self-satisfied, inert.
  4. Reviewed by: Liam Mathews
    Sep 14, 2020
    20
    It posits that Comey is an imperfect but decent man who did what he thought was right and whose biggest flaw is an outsized ego. ... But the show fails to adequately contextualize Comey's mistakes, which are institutional rather than just personal. It's a failure as an attempt to clarify recent history, made worse by a series of artless creative choices.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Sep 29, 2020
    0
    This was very boring and poorly written. I would not recommend this to anyone unless you want to fall asleep. Skip it!
  2. Sep 28, 2020
    9
    I didn't think I would be able to get into this show because of the depressing topic, but I am glad I did. It was well acted by both JeffI didn't think I would be able to get into this show because of the depressing topic, but I am glad I did. It was well acted by both Jeff Daniels as James Comey and Brendan Gleeson as the President as well as the rest of the ensemble cast. The story was well told and showed me aspects that I was not aware of. It was pretty long, but it had a good pace and was well written. Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2020
    6
    The Comey Rule tries way too hard and edgy as Adam McKay's Vice that it turned out to be a drag after a few hours. However, there are a coupleThe Comey Rule tries way too hard and edgy as Adam McKay's Vice that it turned out to be a drag after a few hours. However, there are a couple laughs I did not expect to get out of after seeing this and I did enjoyed some parts of it. And let's admit it, the actor that portrayed Donald Trump is hauntingly good and the makeup in this show is top notch no doubt about it. Well, let's see what 2020 holds till the elections comes out that could end up good for a change or bad. Full Review »