Season #: 24, 23, 22, 21, 1
User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 144
  2. Negative: 92 out of 144
Watch Now

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 31, 2016
    3
    A HUGE step down from Jon. So now we have a good portion of every night that used to be a fun, and informative time, turned into a racist **** show along with Larry Wilmore. CC has dropped the ball. No longer can I watch this racist crap they force on us. Let me know when South Park is on. I'll come back. Such a waste...
  2. Apr 21, 2016
    2
    Trevor makes things less funny. Think about that for a moment... he does the exact opposite of what he's supposed to do as a host.

    At times, I'll laugh at a clip they're showing, then when Trevor goes to add his witty comment, the laughter in the room stops. Every time. Because it feels like he's just reciting lines. It's pretty bad when Daniel Tosh does a better job of delivering
    Trevor makes things less funny. Think about that for a moment... he does the exact opposite of what he's supposed to do as a host.

    At times, I'll laugh at a clip they're showing, then when Trevor goes to add his witty comment, the laughter in the room stops. Every time. Because it feels like he's just reciting lines.

    It's pretty bad when Daniel Tosh does a better job of delivering his lines on his sub-par show.
    Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2017
    0
    How much longer is this racist P.O.S. going to be allowed to run this once brilliant show into the ground? Nothing but the same old Trump jokes (sorry loser) and his rants about white people. Maybe if they move this show to BET it would have an audience. Trevor is the poster child that proves blacks can be racist. I refuse to watch any more, and advertises should seriously consider whereHow much longer is this racist P.O.S. going to be allowed to run this once brilliant show into the ground? Nothing but the same old Trump jokes (sorry loser) and his rants about white people. Maybe if they move this show to BET it would have an audience. Trevor is the poster child that proves blacks can be racist. I refuse to watch any more, and advertises should seriously consider where they spend their money - I tend to ignore their products just because of the blatant hate speech that he spews every show. It is no longer funny, accurate, or entertaining. Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2015
    1
    Sounds like words written for jon stewart coming out of some puppets mouth. The guy comes across a a major dick. I watched the other night because Rachel Madow was on. Completely underwhelming.
  5. Dec 14, 2016
    0
    This show needs to move to BET. Most of the guests are black. What demographic are they going for? Too bad, I used to love watching the Daily Show now Tosh.O is the best on CC
  6. Jun 7, 2017
    0
    Trevor makes me want to puke. Not funny another guy just hurling insults and calls it comedy. Canned laughs. John Stewart was way better. I'd rather watch paint dry, talentless hack. Take some lessons from Daniel Tosh now he's funny.
  7. Aug 31, 2017
    0
    I tried to give the new host a chance but hes just... Not Funny. His timing with jokes always seems "off". Jon Daily was a fantastic host and stressed that The Daily Show was comedy and not "news", but now all it is propaganda one-sided crap. Very disappointed with The Daily Show's Trevor Noah, he doesn't seem like a bad person and I'm sure a lot of the blame lies with the show's writersI tried to give the new host a chance but hes just... Not Funny. His timing with jokes always seems "off". Jon Daily was a fantastic host and stressed that The Daily Show was comedy and not "news", but now all it is propaganda one-sided crap. Very disappointed with The Daily Show's Trevor Noah, he doesn't seem like a bad person and I'm sure a lot of the blame lies with the show's writers and behind-the-scenes people but it's just not the same and so low in quality. The only time i turn it on is to see how long i can cringe at Trevor and the show before changing the channel or turning the tv off. Typically 2.5 minutes. Expand
  8. Nov 9, 2018
    0
    Just not an even remotely funny guy. I really tried to watch him when he took over but never was able to make it through a full show. He uses politics as a crutch to pander to the masses and just doesn't have that individuality that you'd expect from a funny talk show host.
  9. Dec 13, 2018
    0
    This show has become nothing but 30 minutes of hatespeech. Im not a trump fan but boy am i not interested in this repetitive garbage. Not funny, not clever...nothing...also why can white people be put down over and over and thats fine but if i white male did this kind of thing it would be inherently racist.. get lost, comedy central you are failing.
  10. Nov 30, 2020
    0
    This is what bothers me most about him...He's not funny, he's a racist and who is this guy to come to America from South Africa, only to criticize Americans, our government and our president? What's even worse is we have to see his smug, elitist attitude on every freaking channel you turn on. He should be grateful instead of hateful. I know I am not the only one when I say I will NEVERThis is what bothers me most about him...He's not funny, he's a racist and who is this guy to come to America from South Africa, only to criticize Americans, our government and our president? What's even worse is we have to see his smug, elitist attitude on every freaking channel you turn on. He should be grateful instead of hateful. I know I am not the only one when I say I will NEVER watch that racist show again. Expand
  11. Jan 30, 2021
    0
    Trevor Noah just isn't funny. Comedy Central pushes this guy like he's some genius. How he still has a job is beyond me.
  12. Dec 14, 2016
    0
    Thank you Noah! An honest, liberal, tool not afraid to unleash childish tirades of ignorant mouth foaming hate. Noah do you know you are an indeterminate race Howdy Doody? A puppet controlled by 1%ers and members of the establishment (Clue: Establishment means Leftist Obama Bernie Hillary supporters. The member of the Establishment controlling the Dance of Noah don't know a Worker'sThank you Noah! An honest, liberal, tool not afraid to unleash childish tirades of ignorant mouth foaming hate. Noah do you know you are an indeterminate race Howdy Doody? A puppet controlled by 1%ers and members of the establishment (Clue: Establishment means Leftist Obama Bernie Hillary supporters. The member of the Establishment controlling the Dance of Noah don't know a Worker's revolution when they see one. Noah, stay warm on the democrat plantation. Your masters are paying large for you. Expand
  13. Jan 17, 2018
    0
    A former friend of mine showed me episodes of The Daily Show with Trevor Noah. Noah tries too hard to be funny. He is biased and racist, yet he complains about racism against blacks. The most annoying aspect is the fact that Noah is a liberal propaganda poster boy. Very sad that there are people who actually like this garbage. Maybe the show's name should change to "The Daily PropagandaA former friend of mine showed me episodes of The Daily Show with Trevor Noah. Noah tries too hard to be funny. He is biased and racist, yet he complains about racism against blacks. The most annoying aspect is the fact that Noah is a liberal propaganda poster boy. Very sad that there are people who actually like this garbage. Maybe the show's name should change to "The Daily Propaganda Circus with Trevor Noah". Expand
  14. May 6, 2018
    0
    This show sucks … Trevor Noah is just a token …. He isn't funny and he is an extreme racist.... but yet he'll accuse of others of being racists. Comedy Central really struck out with him and the Canadian Prostitute, Samantha Bee.
  15. Jul 26, 2018
    2
    I watched Trevor Noah do stand-up a fair bit before he started The Daily Show. He was pretty decent, definitely an up and comer. That being said... Oh my *god*, what the £$@% did those bastards do to him?
    The material spewing out of his mouth is so hacky I can scarcely believe its his voice I'm hearing Please go watch some of his old stuff, this is *not* his stuff. They took a young,
    I watched Trevor Noah do stand-up a fair bit before he started The Daily Show. He was pretty decent, definitely an up and comer. That being said... Oh my *god*, what the £$@% did those bastards do to him?
    The material spewing out of his mouth is so hacky I can scarcely believe its his voice I'm hearing Please go watch some of his old stuff, this is *not* his stuff. They took a young, talented comedian and turned him into grey mush.
    Please don't blame him too much, its the talentless writers and producers behind him with an agenda to push.

    As for the show itself... lets be real here, it wasn't that funny even when Jon Stewart was doing it. Can politics be made to be funny? Sure. Do they succeed here? *No*.
    When I watch this I get the same queasy feeling I get whenever I see Fox News. There is a reason why Bill O'Reilly and Jon Stewart had a public debate a few years back; they were in the same business. The pandering from both shows is palpable and although its despicable when Fox do it behind the guise of news its somehow more insidious when The Daily Show tries to masquerade it as comedy.
    Expand
  16. Aug 9, 2018
    0
    See, the biggest problem here is that Trevor Noah is objectively not funny. And yet, comedy central loves him and won't get rid of him. Hmm, I wonder why. I can watch any epsidoe of this show and it's the exact same thing. It's videos of Donald trump 24/7. Do you have any other material? When trump is no longer president, will you have any material at all? I can watch an entire episode ofSee, the biggest problem here is that Trevor Noah is objectively not funny. And yet, comedy central loves him and won't get rid of him. Hmm, I wonder why. I can watch any epsidoe of this show and it's the exact same thing. It's videos of Donald trump 24/7. Do you have any other material? When trump is no longer president, will you have any material at all? I can watch an entire episode of this show stone faced because it's simply not funny. Expand
  17. Nov 12, 2018
    0
    Trevor Noah makes Jimmy Fallon look intelligent, Saturday Night Live seem well-written, and Tyler Perry appear funny. In a wasteland of late-night abortions, Trevor Noah stands out as a true testament of how little talent it requires to host a show in the 21st century. If the CIA ever needed to torture prisoners, turning on Trevor Noah would be a last resort.
  18. Feb 15, 2021
    0
    This man makes me want to jump off a cliff. His commercials are physically painful to watch. I’m begging please take him off NOW.
  19. Feb 22, 2021
    0
    I was intrigued after seeing several promos for The Daily Show featuring Noah. I couldnt believe that the show that once featured Craig Kilborn and Jon Stewart now was headed by this. After seeing a few of these promos I thought that this was a joke, that there was no way this was considered funny and that his awfulness was the joke. Not even close. Not only are the jokes awful, whichI was intrigued after seeing several promos for The Daily Show featuring Noah. I couldnt believe that the show that once featured Craig Kilborn and Jon Stewart now was headed by this. After seeing a few of these promos I thought that this was a joke, that there was no way this was considered funny and that his awfulness was the joke. Not even close. Not only are the jokes awful, which arent entirely upon Noah as he isnt the only writer, but my god his delivery. He makes Samantha Bee look like George Carlin with the way he delivers these "jokes". Only watch this show if you have a morbid curiosity and want to torture yourself. Although on the bright side, this show does provide an opportunity for a unique drinking game. Take a drink every time a funny joke is told. Perfect for recovering alcoholics. Expand
  20. Jan 24, 2021
    0
    I've actually searched the internet to find out how I can complain about all of the Trevor Noah commercials that I constantly see on TV. This person has NO redeeming qualities whatsoever. EVERY commercial and bit he has is about how he hates President Trump. Now that President Trump is out of office, he's actually talking about our divisiveness... that people like HE helped cause on an allI've actually searched the internet to find out how I can complain about all of the Trevor Noah commercials that I constantly see on TV. This person has NO redeeming qualities whatsoever. EVERY commercial and bit he has is about how he hates President Trump. Now that President Trump is out of office, he's actually talking about our divisiveness... that people like HE helped cause on an all too regular basis!!! Jon Stewart was funny and topical. Trevor Noah has no talent, relying strictly on his race and hatred as a substitute for talent or comedy. Expand
  21. May 16, 2018
    0
    If you are unintelligent then you will love the garbage on this unfunny show.
  22. Jun 10, 2020
    0
    Racist, unfunny, and the review bots cant even keep up to stop the ratings from tanking.
  23. Sep 8, 2020
    0
    This guys commercials are ruining Comedy Central for me, not funny and it’s always something about mocking trump. I’m not a trump supporter but this guys commercials alone make me want to vote republican this year.
  24. Oct 11, 2020
    0
    This show sucks. I've never watched 1 episode since John Daily quit. I do get plenty just from the commercials. This guy is so pathetic. Just more liberal BS from someone with no talent. He just repeats the rhetoric some liberal wrote for someone with no talent.
  25. Oct 22, 2020
    0
    I just don’t get how this show still airs so boring. I feel nobody watches it I feel somebody powerful is paying to keep this awful show alive. It makes you feel shamed for being a white American. If this show was showed to 100 people 100 out of a 100 people would agree this is show is the worst show on tv. Just so confused how it even makes money to stay on tv I can’t imagine any personI just don’t get how this show still airs so boring. I feel nobody watches it I feel somebody powerful is paying to keep this awful show alive. It makes you feel shamed for being a white American. If this show was showed to 100 people 100 out of a 100 people would agree this is show is the worst show on tv. Just so confused how it even makes money to stay on tv I can’t imagine any person would enjoy it even if they had the same political views as him. Another robot feeding me information. Expand
  26. Nov 4, 2020
    0
    Absolutely terrible dont waste your time what a step down...please move onnnnnnnn.
  27. Nov 14, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. All he does is talk crap about the president of the United States and its shameful, I don't care what you think about Trump hes still the president. Expand
  28. Nov 15, 2020
    0
    It's almost as if racist Trevor is trying to ironically be as unfunny and politically unhinged as possible, and yet, it's not ironic -- it's just extremely cringey.
  29. Jan 23, 2021
    1
    Definitely a democratic. Not funny at all and I will never watch again. Spokesperson should be neutral when it comes to politics.
  30. Jan 28, 2021
    0
    Still a massive letdown to this day, hopefully they can find somebody to replace him soon.
  31. Feb 3, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An uninformed and unfunny show hosted by a racist piece of crap. This unwatchable show has zero redeeming qualities. Expand
  32. Feb 9, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you are a die hard Democrat this show is for you. If you aren’t well. There is a significant lack of substance. This show is not clever. It is not funny. It is simply a severely one sided opinion of a person who hates everything about well America. Expand
  33. Feb 15, 2021
    0
    This guy is so bad it’s unreal! He’s a racist pos I hate when I want to watch South Park and this moron is on!!#cancelhim
  34. Mar 7, 2021
    0
    Terrible terrible terrible. He is NOT funny and has destroyed the legacy of this show.
  35. Mar 8, 2021
    0
    I for one can’t stand this guy. He’s not funny and he’s single handily destroyed “The Daily Show.”
  36. Oct 26, 2020
    1
    Unoriginal and tired propaganda being recited by a droll and smug poser.
    Another show destroyed by the need to force feed opinions. At least get someone who is engaging if you are going to push this ****
  37. Nov 1, 2020
    0
    Trevor Noah is not funny, his jokes literally suck, he is a racist Liberal himself. This clown comes from South Africa and makes it here in our Country and then continues to talk **** on us every single day. I am so sick of his commercials, that when he comes on TV I literally want to smash my TV.
  38. Feb 26, 2021
    0
    I refuse to watch even one episode. The commercials alone make me cringe and irritate me so much every time I hear one of them come on. Not one thing that this man has said that I have heard is even remotely funny. I have no idea how he has made it on television or been able to obtain the title of comedian period.
  39. Mar 7, 2021
    0
    Dude isn't funny whatsoever , literally chosen for his political views and color . I've never so such as smiled at his material.
  40. Apr 10, 2021
    0
    Not a fan of the show nor the host and do not to watch. However, I have a big problem with the promotions for the show containing political statements attempting to be comedic. Unfortunately the promotions air during programs that I do choose to watch. Although Viacom/CBS should, as a mainstream media outlet, be non biased, one only needs to watch CBS News programs to see they are not.
  41. May 29, 2017
    0
    TLDR: I am a liberal and I can see the propaganda spewing from every orifice and it's utterly pathetic. Pander. Pander. Pander. More propaganda. Then a final sprinkle of risible Trump hate.

    Jon Stewart was okay at times, but mostly entertaining. This dude, holy sh*t! Where do I even begin? Before I even do, it must be known that I am a liberal, but this pile or freshly dropped horse
    TLDR: I am a liberal and I can see the propaganda spewing from every orifice and it's utterly pathetic. Pander. Pander. Pander. More propaganda. Then a final sprinkle of risible Trump hate.

    Jon Stewart was okay at times, but mostly entertaining. This dude, holy sh*t! Where do I even begin? Before I even do, it must be known that I am a liberal, but this pile or freshly dropped horse manure doesn't even come close to a blip of appeal to me. When I watch this, it seems that the same fallacies that the MSM are pushing are echo chambered here as well. The message this conveys to me is 'black people can't be racist because reasons' and Trump this Trump that (which is why he won the election LOL).

    On a personal note, again as a liberal, this PC/SJW hateful rhetoric is disgusting. The double standards are bursting at the seams. Whoever plays into this type of show is ignorant beyond all hope. "Trump wants to sleep with his daughter" really? This low is pretty damn low, but it's expected from these types of hooligans.
    Expand
  42. Aug 15, 2016
    5
    Trevor Noah is a mediocre host of a mediocre fake news program. Which wouldn't be so bad, if he hadn't taken the reins from a great host of a great fake news program. It's watchable, but it's not very entertaining.
  43. Oct 2, 2015
    0
    This show, like the one previously hosted by Jon Leibowitz, is terrible. So far, each episode has been nothing more than your standard liberal snark combined with distorted facts and observations (a hallmark of liberal entertainers). "Republicans are racist!" Thunderous applause. "Conservatives are radicals because they protested the illegal harvesting of dead baby body parts" ZOMGThis show, like the one previously hosted by Jon Leibowitz, is terrible. So far, each episode has been nothing more than your standard liberal snark combined with distorted facts and observations (a hallmark of liberal entertainers). "Republicans are racist!" Thunderous applause. "Conservatives are radicals because they protested the illegal harvesting of dead baby body parts" ZOMG LITERALLY THIS! They should change the name to The Liberal Delusion, with some half black guy nobody's ever heard of. They have a blatant agenda against "right-wingers" (i.e. sane, mentally healthy white people) and it's just not funny. Like Jon Leibowitz the host and his handlers, I mean writers, are more concerned with pandering to white, self-hating liberals than the the quality of their show. The host was a piss-poor stand-up comedian, and he's a piss-poor host as well. Zero charisma, laughs at his own jokes, and he's a poor speaker. There's no natural rhythm or flow when he speaks; it's obvious that he's reading from a prompter. "Comedy" Central should have picked a host who has an IQ above 85 if they wanted the show to be successful. Expand
  44. Oct 1, 2015
    0
    Trevor Noah is a complete misfire as host. He's not really very funny by himself. He has no charisma or style and can't seem to engage the guests to get anything out of them. They seem to have to draw HIM out. I don't think he will be hosting for very long and hopefully he'll be replaced by someone who belongs in that chair. Too bad some of the best candidates left the network right beforeTrevor Noah is a complete misfire as host. He's not really very funny by himself. He has no charisma or style and can't seem to engage the guests to get anything out of them. They seem to have to draw HIM out. I don't think he will be hosting for very long and hopefully he'll be replaced by someone who belongs in that chair. Too bad some of the best candidates left the network right before Stewart left. Maybe Jessica Williams can be talked into being host or co-host. She could save the show. Expand
  45. Mar 3, 2022
    1
    Had to adjust my review - jokes, particularly ones like Trump wanting to sleep with his daughter are just taking the show in a low blow humour direction that I feel John Steward would never have stooped to. Like The Nightly Show with Larry Wilmore this show has nearly worm out its welcome.
  46. Feb 2, 2016
    4
    I am really hoping for this show to be one I look forward to watching, but have been disappointed at how shallow it has been so far. I know Trevor is young and needs to grow into the role, but I miss the deeper and more intellectual commentary and perspective that Jon brought to the show. To me the show wasn't just about comedy. It was also about being a voice of the national conscienceI am really hoping for this show to be one I look forward to watching, but have been disappointed at how shallow it has been so far. I know Trevor is young and needs to grow into the role, but I miss the deeper and more intellectual commentary and perspective that Jon brought to the show. To me the show wasn't just about comedy. It was also about being a voice of the national conscience - something we sorely lack. Expand
  47. Sep 29, 2015
    5
    It is difficult replacing a legend. That's true in sports, and it's true in TV. Jon Stewart turned "The Daily Show" into a cultural zeitgeist, so replacing him was always going to be a rocky road. The fact that Trevor Noah is a relative unknown who wasn't great or memorable in his limited work as a "Daily Show" contributor doesn't help. The first episode was OK. He has his own style, IIt is difficult replacing a legend. That's true in sports, and it's true in TV. Jon Stewart turned "The Daily Show" into a cultural zeitgeist, so replacing him was always going to be a rocky road. The fact that Trevor Noah is a relative unknown who wasn't great or memorable in his limited work as a "Daily Show" contributor doesn't help. The first episode was OK. He has his own style, I guess, but the format was too familiar. That does him no favors. He's not Jon Stewart, and that's OK, but why try to copy Stewart's format? Expand
  48. Oct 1, 2015
    7
    Is it Jon Stewart...??? Of course not. Is it decent...??? Yes. Was it mixed...? Yes. Lighten up people. Give the guy a month or three to see what develops. It was going to be a bit of a letdown no matter who took over. Only time will tell if Trevor Noah is going to fill even a portion of those huge shoes left behind.
  49. Feb 12, 2016
    10
    Trevor is doing a great job, a bit wobbly at first but I honestly can't see a difference in quality now that he has found his legs.

    Give him a few more years and he will be synonymous with the Daily Show just like Jon was.
  50. Oct 21, 2015
    9
    Trevor is doing very good for his first season, replacing Jon was a hard task and he has worked hard to honor the opportunity he was given, I think that he is funny and the writers team is incredible. Keep the good work, hope to see your Daily Show for many years to come
  51. Oct 13, 2015
    8
    Despite the phenomenal John Stewart, the thing that makes the Daily Show so interesting is the amazing writing. Trevor Noah doesn't quite look the part of a new anchor. He's a bit young and his speaking style is a little to proper for my taste but the material remains top notch. This goes for the correspondents as well. Strangely enough if John had left a year earlier they couldDespite the phenomenal John Stewart, the thing that makes the Daily Show so interesting is the amazing writing. Trevor Noah doesn't quite look the part of a new anchor. He's a bit young and his speaking style is a little to proper for my taste but the material remains top notch. This goes for the correspondents as well. Strangely enough if John had left a year earlier they could probably have gotten the excellent John Oliver to succeed him. Either way I'll keep watching. Expand
  52. Oct 5, 2015
    8
    Is it me or is it just a little too soon to be reviewing a show that's only been on for a week? I'm not going to lie, I'm giving the show an 8 just to try to round out the score a bit.

    Here is my reason why: Trevor Noah is really pretty green, in several ways, and yet he's not that bad. I really think he has a chance to make this show into something else that's great on its own. I
    Is it me or is it just a little too soon to be reviewing a show that's only been on for a week? I'm not going to lie, I'm giving the show an 8 just to try to round out the score a bit.

    Here is my reason why: Trevor Noah is really pretty green, in several ways, and yet he's not that bad. I really think he has a chance to make this show into something else that's great on its own. I remember hating Jon Stewart when he first took over the show. I thought Craig Kilborn was the funniest thing on TV. Who the hell was this impostor? Well, I ate my words then. I think the same could be true for many today.

    The bottom line: the sample size is just way too small to judge at this point.
    Expand
  53. Oct 5, 2015
    7
    Anyone looking for Trevor Noah to be another Jon Stewart is looking for the wrong thing.

    While I think he got off to a good start, I realize it is going to take him a while to get his footing and bring the Daily Show in the direction he wants to go.

    For now, I'm giving him a "7". But I'll be a bit more critical for my season two rating. ;)
  54. Oct 9, 2015
    5
    We're a couple of weeks in, and the new Daily Show is a mixed bag. To be fair, Jon Stewart's best days as a host had long passed and the show had been pretty poor for a while. It's improved somewhat simply because of a much needed fresh start. Trevor Noah is also a far better choice than the various celebrities touted to host the show. He's different, and that's a good thing. He's notWe're a couple of weeks in, and the new Daily Show is a mixed bag. To be fair, Jon Stewart's best days as a host had long passed and the show had been pretty poor for a while. It's improved somewhat simply because of a much needed fresh start. Trevor Noah is also a far better choice than the various celebrities touted to host the show. He's different, and that's a good thing. He's not quite as high energy as his predecessor was, and that's a bit tough. So far, there's been only a couple of genuinely good bits, and it'll be a while before he gets a really high profile interview and gets the chance to grill someone in the way his predecessor once did.

    The new correspondents are generally solid, though for all the talk about women not being in represented in comedy, the ones we get certainly haven't been impressive, including Desi "ha ha pregnancy belly" Lydic. Thanks, mom. Roy Wood, on the other hand, brings a better black voice to the scene than anyone on the Nightly Show has done, and Ronny Chieng's first piece was pretty clever.

    What's troubling about the show is really what hasn't changed. The new host himself has a great fresh perspective, but some of the pieces he delivers seem not in his voice. The writers seem to have more control than he does, and where Jon Stewart's heartfelt, if sometimes inaccurate perspective once permeated the show, now it seems to be in conflict between the host and the writing staff. You can see Trevor delivering some tired political junk he doesn't believe in, and that's a problem. There's a difference between being progressive and intellectual and being whiny about perpetual victimhood, and Trevor's background suggests he understands that in a way the show has not yet caught up to.

    It may be that he'll assert himself more as the show goes on. Personally, I'll give him some time in the hope that that happens. If it does, perhaps the laughs and the thoughtfulness that have gone missing from the show will return.
    Expand
  55. Feb 28, 2016
    6
    It is important to remember that Trevor Noah is primarily a standup comedian and not an American television host. There are obvious drawbacks in his "reporting" and interviewing skills. But perhaps the most annoying part of watching Noah perform is the unabashed and constant self-amusement. For some reason, Noah finds a lot of his material funnier than the audience behind the screen. LuckyIt is important to remember that Trevor Noah is primarily a standup comedian and not an American television host. There are obvious drawbacks in his "reporting" and interviewing skills. But perhaps the most annoying part of watching Noah perform is the unabashed and constant self-amusement. For some reason, Noah finds a lot of his material funnier than the audience behind the screen. Lucky for him there is a supportive studio audience, but even that audience refuses to applaud some of the flat jokes and segments, making for several awkward moments. There is also a sincere lack of depth in pop culture references and the few references feel depressingly strained. The writing is often inconsistent and substandard. I've been following the Daily Show long before Noah took over and continue doing so. Even though I do not draw parallels between Trevor Noah and Jon Stewart, my inclination and personal ranking of the show is fallen from number 1 to number 4 or 5. This is not the same Daily Show that was once a vital medium for political and media criticism championing the comedy-news market during the Stewart's reign. Back then I used to watch the news and go, 'Hmm! Wonder what the Daily Show has to say about it.' But not anymore. Expand
  56. Oct 7, 2015
    9
    I wasn't sure what to expect, since Trevor Noah was essentially unknown to me, but they kept the spirit and sharpness of the show entirely intact. While Noah doesn't have the beloved status of Jon Stewart, he's damn close to being as funny (just in a different way). I was afraid of losing one of my favorite shows, but this iteration of the Daily Show is going to occupy the same part of myI wasn't sure what to expect, since Trevor Noah was essentially unknown to me, but they kept the spirit and sharpness of the show entirely intact. While Noah doesn't have the beloved status of Jon Stewart, he's damn close to being as funny (just in a different way). I was afraid of losing one of my favorite shows, but this iteration of the Daily Show is going to occupy the same part of my life as the last one. Well done! Expand
  57. Nov 29, 2015
    10
    I think he is doing a great job! Jon Stewart chose Trevor Noah for a reason and I believe that Jon chose well. Trevor has a good delivery, still provides a satiric perspective on the news and gives us, as viewers, his own take on how the world works. Between Noah at 11:00 followed by Larry Wilmore, another of Jon's Daily Show "correspondents" there are more race issues covered and that isI think he is doing a great job! Jon Stewart chose Trevor Noah for a reason and I believe that Jon chose well. Trevor has a good delivery, still provides a satiric perspective on the news and gives us, as viewers, his own take on how the world works. Between Noah at 11:00 followed by Larry Wilmore, another of Jon's Daily Show "correspondents" there are more race issues covered and that is very topical and very important. Worldwide racism is becoming increasingly visible (it has always been there) and these two offer the legitimacy of their perspective. The Daily Show with Jon Stewart will never be the same. Yes, Jon Stewart broke up with us. But he gave us notice and he gave us a replacement. I will miss him (though I hear there will be a second coming) but the new bf is pretty good and I am sticking around. Expand
  58. Mar 18, 2016
    7
    Trevor Noah is no Jon Stewart, but that's ok. While Noah approaches The Daily Show in a way that is very different from how Stewart did it, the result is still entertaining. A difference I noticed is that Noah does not have the same passion for the show that Stewart did (very likely due to the fact that The Daily Show was Stewart's 'baby' so to speak) or Stewart's trademarked look ofTrevor Noah is no Jon Stewart, but that's ok. While Noah approaches The Daily Show in a way that is very different from how Stewart did it, the result is still entertaining. A difference I noticed is that Noah does not have the same passion for the show that Stewart did (very likely due to the fact that The Daily Show was Stewart's 'baby' so to speak) or Stewart's trademarked look of fear. However, Noah makes up for much of this with his suave presentation (which reminds me of the demeanor of someone presenting the news for real) infused with humor and his occasional use (though not overuse) of his growing up in South Africa. In addition to this the The Daily Show has maintained strong correspondents (Jordan Klepper in particular with his often deadpan delivery). I think that it did take a little time for the show to find it's footing, but I think it's there now.

    Another positive aspect of the show is the guests. Not only does the show have relevant guests, but the conversations with these guests is very well done. Noah is unique in that he is able to have conversations with many diverse guests all while making jokes to maintain the humor that don't detract from the conversation.

    I was originally skeptical about the show because Stewart left some very big shoes to fill, but Noah has definitely come into his own.
    Expand
  59. Apr 11, 2019
    10
    You know, when someone needs to continually point out that they are a "liberal" in their review, something's off. All these negative reviews are 100% right wing, snowflakes, that definitely don't watch the Daily Show. Not now. Not when Stewart was at the helm.
  60. Nov 11, 2020
    0
    Here's what's going on as U see it , and most probably closest to the truth One can get, reviewing this absolute tragedy from a so called Mulatto, as I am , although I see myself as African, Obama was labelled '' Black President, whilst even Carter pretended harder to have the African Community at heart then Minier Obama, I was fooled for 31 sec, when he got crowned , then I got to myHere's what's going on as U see it , and most probably closest to the truth One can get, reviewing this absolute tragedy from a so called Mulatto, as I am , although I see myself as African, Obama was labelled '' Black President, whilst even Carter pretended harder to have the African Community at heart then Minier Obama, I was fooled for 31 sec, when he got crowned , then I got to my senses, Back to Fake Boy Noah (I doubt sometimes, he is black, with his exaggerated Idiotic remarks supposedly against white people, and surprisingly, they've become even more sensitive and dear to call us racists, but when one has to white wash and write a whole race out of history., spend millions upon millions , covering up our incredible rich heritage, witch gave the so called EU's 2 x it's renaissance, it's first University, it's first stone buildings, as Greece and Rome, were at first African Provinces, and anybody denying that, is basically telling the Greeks who wrote many many pages on the Africans, and Africa , then called Ethiopia- Land were men are Gods, It is well known that despite the current sensitivity from white people who can not face their own brutal and extreem criminal behaviour, past and present, and have the nerve calling us racist, ...if so, we've learned from the best! I would be quite if you don't want to be destroyed on any topic, in any discusion, but hey, the moment we do talk about ''the Real deal'' you tell us that it was along time ago. I'm from 1967 .... in 1958, Belgium closed its last Zoo with Had Africans on display, what are you talking about, that was yesterday, not to mention the treatment I received until ..now! I had to give this little intro, to make you understand, that if you get upset, by an absolute Idiot, like Trevor Noah, who has the charisma of a Brick, and the personality of my dead Grandmother, and he's obviously a planted puppet, just like those idiots of BLM,. If you get upset by that, imagine how we must feel, plus the fact that most of you not even want to acknowledge the Millions that have died , raped, etc And all of a sudden, those calm intelligent white people, comfortable , and why not enjoy it, I would! loose their cool by that fakers, they are actors, BLM, and Noah! Isn't it obvious, it;'s hard to not have a sense of humor whilst being black, as one needs it to remain sane in this world, especially now, when the Only African Americans, are either grown men , shooting a ball thru a hoop, for a team that's owned by some bankers, or those fake Hip hop Muppets, with fake tattoos who are in fact colleagues from Trevor Noah, and most of them are Black Suriname Dutch born blacks pretending to be from the US, I know them personally 80% is , and the offspring off Porn-stars who bought themselves in to the movie world also, reason why everybody is complaining on the quality of even dumb (witch I liked still) movies like Terminator, Predator, I mean with all te effects, you basically need little writing, as we won't to see Predator mashing up some sh t, Even that they mess up, place in a midget so called S.A. as the new leader of the underground, and Arnold is there with his walker, pretending going of his accent, he arrived the day before yesterday, from Austria, going of his accent. Trevor Zebra, getting 6 times nominated!? That's a laugh, and then white people are taking him serious when he makes those Kindergarten jokes, His posture, he way of going, his book, it's seems all fabricated to me, and his so called Mother , that has absolutely no features in common. And all the attention from BLM, I can't believe white people are so childish, to see those Anglo-Africans, waving the black flag, bought by a Jewish white Greek, a friend of the Reuters clan, and others like him, and responding on it as if they are our representatives... I miss the good all racist days, where you all, didn't fake your true feelings, as you notice yourselves, you don't won't even totally scripted Negroes, who are actually on your side, as they are ridiculing any person of African Heritage, with their behaviour and idiotic debates, seeing that they got so quickly organised, and sooo much media attention, I thought it would be obvious to whites people that they are being used to inflame ... the not so bright ones amongst us. Anyway, word of advice, as they Noah, BLM, and all those Blond Dyed hair Negroes, impersonating a Cheeseburger, without the top bun, annoy me (us) even more then you with your sensitive self, and they even have Jon Stewart claiming in an interview, that the Show is now much more to the level it supposed yo be !!! With Trevor Zebra!!! I know he has to state that, to remain gracious, as he can't express himself the way we do (honest) Say it in an elevator, the supermarket ... but that was the title big in capital letters of some magazine .... LMAO, ( Imhotep , look him up ) and this I wrote for myself , don't expect anyone to actually read this anyway. Expand
  61. Jul 31, 2021
    0
    I am Canadian. And RIP Mayor Ford. But this is the comedic tact that Stewart had/has. Noah on the other hand to me is someone who is full of hate. I don't get him....

    Anyways, click on the link and let's remember JS!!!
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PTJY_3dyhX0
  62. Dec 3, 2021
    1
    Trevor Noah is unwatchable. Smug, dated and supremely unfunny. The original diversity hire. Paid shill for the liberals. Not worth pressing the canned laughter button for.
  63. Oct 29, 2020
    0
    Terrible show. Trevor is clearly a racist liberal. Hes not funny or correct. Its despicable that he comes here to obviously better his life, then run us down constantly. He should be thrown out of the U.S.
  64. May 4, 2021
    0
    His writers or his writing is pitiful and those not-funny commercials they show over and over on all the channels connected to Comedy Central absolutely suck.
  65. May 11, 2021
    1
    Comedy Central at least stop the horrible commercials. If all you can do is to find someone that tells school children jokes, get a kid in middle school. Once he couldn't make jokes about Trump, he is lost for any good material. Flashers? Children's rhymes? Come on.

    Now jokes about farting. Good God!
  66. May 28, 2021
    0
    My god. This guy sucks. I swear hes like a **** kid. Every time i see his dumb ass commercial it makes me want to kill myself. Seriously. Horrible. Take this show off network and burn all copies. It needs to be 100% wiped off the face of the planet. Never hated anything more.
  67. Jun 5, 2021
    0
    We need Jon Stewart back. Trevor is a race-baiting loser. His jokes aren't funny. He makes fart jokes constantly like it's funny. Idk what happened to him but after 2016 he was a whining little baby.
  68. Jun 6, 2021
    0
    Trevor Noah is toxic. Just tries to touch all the PC rhetoric and tries to be funny but is not. It's a shame they brought a man from the most racist country in the world to a country who's struggling with racism
  69. Jun 10, 2021
    0
    Let's understand that Trevor Noah's humor is not "racial", as he would say. It is racist. Trevor Noah has a problem with people of the Tawny race, whom he mistakenly calls "white". He takes every opportunity to bash, slam, snipe, and snark about us Tawny people. He calls his show The Daily Social Distancing Show, which is oh so close to true, but it misses the mark. His show would beLet's understand that Trevor Noah's humor is not "racial", as he would say. It is racist. Trevor Noah has a problem with people of the Tawny race, whom he mistakenly calls "white". He takes every opportunity to bash, slam, snipe, and snark about us Tawny people. He calls his show The Daily Social Distancing Show, which is oh so close to true, but it misses the mark. His show would be more aptly called The Daily Social Division Show. On a nightly basis (when he's not on one of his frequent hiatus absences), he unapologetically race-baits and further amplifies the animus that characterizes the state of American cultural relations, ever widening the chasm of racial tension. Smart hosts, like Jon Stewart who so deftly exemplified rare comic talent, take great pains to avoid alienating broad segments of their viewership. Not so with Trevor. He seems to care not one jot about who he alienates, as long as he can get his daily jabs in against Tawnies. Eventually, his producers will get the message when their revenues go into a tailspin, and hand him a not-too-far-in-the-offing ultimatum either to cool the racist rhetoric or find himself another home where he can rant and rage to his narrowing niche of followers to his heart's content. We Tawnies will simply go elsewhere. We are tired of being his punching bag. Expand
  70. Aug 5, 2021
    0
    Disgusting. Flat out lies and spread communist propaganda. He's also very racist and incites violence.
  71. Sep 16, 2021
    0
    Hate the new set, hate the new joke writers. Used to be real interaction with guests. Now it is all phony balogny
  72. Feb 28, 2022
    0
    I don't know where this racist idiot came from but anyone that thinks Jordan Peterson needs educated on people is an idiot. He is a clinical psychologist. Just because he isn't black doesn't mean he hasn't come across black people in his practice. Trevor isn't funny and is very predictable. That's fine if it wasn't this show which has always been a more intelligent news comedy
  73. Mar 18, 2022
    0
    I get it, goofing on politicians Is a basis for good comedy but it’s not funny when it’s so mean spirited.
    He hates trump… we all get it, but now he has no one to pick on. His jokes about Biden are far more innocuous. He just isn’t funny or entertaining. Tv would be far better without this bitter person on air.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Josh Bell
    Oct 8, 2015
    60
    His version of the show doesn’t differ much from the one Stewart hosted at the end of his tenure. The correspondents are a mix of newcomers and holdovers, and the tone remains mostly bemused outrage at the state of the world.... In his first four shows, his personality didn’t shine through often enough. He was awkward in his interviews, failing to give Republican presidential candidate Chris Christie much of a challenge, and bumbling through more superficial celebrity chats.
  2. Reviewed by: Liz Shannon Miller
    Oct 5, 2015
    67
    For his first week, there was a lot of potential, as well as potential problems.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 29, 2015
    60
    He seemed to suffer from “Jimmy Fallon-itis”--he laughed too much at his own jokes.... The show pretty much stayed on point, with almost every joke leading back to Noah. He got to make the show all about him, and that’s OK--for one night, anyway.