• Series Premiere Date: Nov 25, 2022
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Moreau
    Nov 23, 2022
    90
    If “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3” really is the end of Gunn’s run with Marvel, then this holiday special is a near-perfect, penultimate film from one of the superhero genre’s best.
  2. Reviewed by: Liz Shannon Miller
    Nov 23, 2022
    83
    It may not move the overall MCU narrative forward all that much, but it does deliver a sweet, if slight, morsel of holiday cheer.
  3. Reviewed by: Angie Han
    Nov 23, 2022
    80
    And yet it all works, at least if (like me) you’re a bit of a sucker for the Guardians to begin with. It’s funny enough to provoke out-loud laughter and poignant enough to elicit that telltale sting behind the eyes, if not quite enough to draw full-on tears. Maybe it lacks the heft of a true Guardians feature or series, but it’s exactly the holiday confection you’d want from this motley crew: shiny, fluffy and just odd enough to feel personal.
  4. Reviewed by: Ross Bonaime
    Nov 23, 2022
    75
    Gunn’s special is a fantastic holiday present, a heartwarming reminder of how much we enjoy these characters, mixed with Gunn’s great ability to blend humor, touching moments, and friendship.
  5. Reviewed by: Rodrigo Perez
    Nov 23, 2022
    75
    If you like your Christmas specials with laughter and delight but, ultimately, an understanding of the innate bittersweetness and melancholy that can live beneath the merriment, this is likely the special for you. And the possibilities of what Gunn seems like he’s going to aim for in his final ‘Guardians’ installment, something potentially very poignant, sad, and special.
  6. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Nov 23, 2022
    70
    It all ends happily, sappily ever after, as such things should. And if you wish it had upped the outrageous ante a tad, a pushed a few more Christmas-card envelopes, had a little more of the gonzo spirit that has made the Guardians of the Galaxy movies a breath of fresh franchise air, look on the bright side. No one says a single word in Wookie. Not once.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Nov 25, 2022
    9
    Should not work or be as good as it was but Drax, Mantis, and good ol Kevin Bacon make this a nice short special with some surprises along theShould not work or be as good as it was but Drax, Mantis, and good ol Kevin Bacon make this a nice short special with some surprises along the way and introduces someone that we've all been waiting for. Watch it with the family or alone, it's a hilarious and heartwarming special. Full Review »
  2. Nov 25, 2022
    10
    I had so much fun watching this special. It felt like a thoughtful holiday treat from an old friend. I am still smiling even though I finishedI had so much fun watching this special. It felt like a thoughtful holiday treat from an old friend. I am still smiling even though I finished watching it a while ago. Thank you to everyone who helped create it. I haven't laughed so much in a long while. Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2022
    0
    It is so bad
    The mcu has lost its essence We don't need **** like this
    ATP marvel should just cancel their mcu