• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 8, 2015
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 5, 2015
    100
    Intercut with brief, unobtrusive reenactments and accompanied by a dangerous-sounding music track, The Jinx very much looks like a masterwork of the true crime genre.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Feb 12, 2015
    91
    The Jinx might make amateur sleuths of us all. But judging by this gripping, stranger-than-fiction detective story, Jarecki’s the real thing.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Feb 7, 2015
    91
    "The Jinx" is an utterly compelling watch. Through the two episodes I've seen, it's chilling, emotional and occasionally morbidly funny and moves at a thrilling pace.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 5, 2015
    83
    The Jinx does channel that we're-all-on-this-ride-together thrill that hooked so many listeners of last fall's NPR podcast, "Serial," about a murder of a Maryland teen. This may be a high-gloss treatment that utilizes all the tricks of the TV trade, including dramatic re-creations, and a way-over-baked credit sequence, but that sense of unfolding discovery remains.
  5. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Mar 26, 2015
    80
    The Jinx is wickedly entertaining: funny, morbid, and sad, at once exploitative and high-minded, a moral lasagna of questionable aesthetic choices (including reconstructions of ghastly events) and riveting interviews (of Durst, but also of other eccentrics, like his chain-smoking-hot second wife).
  6. Reviewed by: Sonia Saraiya
    Feb 10, 2015
    80
    The Jinx can be a tad too self-referential at times, and unlike the hot-blooded thrill of the podcast “Serial,” this is a story whose particulars can all be found—albeit presented far less well—on Wikipedia. But it’s absorbing, due to the exhaustive research underpinning it and the hook of Durst’s actual, shiftless presence.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 10, 2015
    80
    It's possible that, barring a confession, you will come to the end of The Jinx unsatisfied, wondering how it was you spent six unreclaimable hours in the company of a person you have decided is a creep. Either way, it's fascinating as it gets there.
  8. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 6, 2015
    80
    The story so far is compelling, but, as with that true-crime podcast, our judgments will be heavily influenced by how the series plays out and what kind of resolution it provides (or doesn’t).
  9. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Feb 6, 2015
    80
    This documentary, which promises to twist and turn a bit with each new episode, is one of those macabre sagas that once again proves that truth is stranger than fiction. The most haunting part of The Jinx, though, is Durst himself and his ice-cold eyes. They’ll send chills right up your spine.
  10. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 6, 2015
    80
    The beady-eyed Durst is a wily but generous interview subject, but where The Jinx really succeeds is in its fantastic attention to pace and detail, particularly in reenactments that are far and away better than what we usually see on “48 Hours,” et al.
  11. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Feb 6, 2015
    80
    The filmmakers grant Durst his humanity, allowing us to see the charm, and occasional flashes of humor, that animate the man when he sometimes emerges from the fog of good fortune. In the two episodes I’ve seen, The Jinx makes good, sparing use of dramatizing some of the moments Durst describes.
  12. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Feb 5, 2015
    80
    The Jinx is as unnerving as it is engrossing, and that’s exactly as it should be.
  13. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 5, 2015
    80
    Fans of podcast sensation “Serial” and anyone intrigued by a good character-driven murder mystery will want to jump on board HBO’s six-part documentary series The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst.
  14. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 5, 2015
    80
    Gripping and slightly unnerving, Durst’s impassive demeanor ensures this six-part series will be widely discussed, trumping some artistic choices that, like Durst’s account of events, can easily be second-guessed.
  15. Reviewed by: Joshua Alston
    Feb 6, 2015
    75
    The Jinx continues the tradition of controversial stories too disturbing to invest in but too well-told to dismiss.
  16. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 5, 2015
    75
    Some may criticize Jarecki’s rigidly amoral documentary style, but even if he and co-producer Smerling don’t skew their filmmaking to underscore the guilt of their subjects, the facts, as they say, speak for themselves. When the facts are as extraordinary as they are in The Jinx, it’s impossible not to listen.
  17. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Feb 5, 2015
    70
    Jarecki is an excellent interviewer, making Durst comfortable enough and yet also asking the tough questions. I wish some of the flashier filmmaking aspects of The Jinx weren’t quite so overcooked.
  18. Reviewed by: Chris Barsanti
    Feb 10, 2015
    60
    There are undeniably pulpy elements here, from the teasing out of material through multiple episodes to the melodramatic True Detective-esque credits sequence and crime reenactments. So far, it appears the film offers a spectrum of voices, some countering Durst’s.
  19. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 6, 2015
    60
    After a 40-minute trip through the strange life of Robert Durst, we have no idea whether he’s a killer or a survivor.
  20. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Feb 6, 2015
    50
    [Robert Durst's] eagerness to be interviewed by filmmaker Andrew Jarecki ("Capturing the Friedmans") lends the six-part documentary premiering Sunday more creepiness than cachet.
  21. 40
    You never get the sense that the filmmaker is pushing beyond prurient interest to uncover a deeper truth, much less discovering something within the subject that makes him seem theoretically redeemable, or at least recognizably human.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Mar 1, 2015
    10
    I am absolutely addicted to this show. I have never seen anything like it. Having seen All Good Things years before I was curious how thisI am absolutely addicted to this show. I have never seen anything like it. Having seen All Good Things years before I was curious how this could possibly be a series. Once I saw the first episode I was even more curious, since it seemed they told us the whole story in the first episode. Every episode takes us further and further down a rabbit hole. This is a wild ride and I can't wait to watch the next episode.

    My biggest frustration with this show is that no one I know is watching it. I am begging everyone to watch it, but either they don't have HBO or "don't like true crime." Watch this show! It is fantastic!
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 21, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I never really paid attention about this documentary series until a day before its finale aired when the subject of this docu-series Robert Durst was arrested on first degree murder charges. As more people talked about Robert Durst and the docu-series, I decided to check it out with little knowledge or little interest about Robert Durst. I predicted it's just about an old white dude who got out of an open and shut case because he is rich. That is a bad oversimplification about the documentary series because while it is essentially correct, there is more to the story and it's not only one open and shut case but three open and shut cases! That explains why it needed six episodes to tell the story about the life and deaths of Robert Durst.

    What I loved about The Jinx is that it uses the information the filmmakers have about Robert Durst to tell a very serialized, compelling story. I do agree that it manipulated its viewers with the way it narrated the facts but that's the simplest yet clever way to tell the viewers and it doesn't change much about the truth about Durst and his involvement in three murder cases.

    The Jinx has the best cinematography I have seen in a documentary. It actually enhances the viewing experience for me. I also liked how the re-enactment scenes is naturally cooperated to the docu-series.

    My only problem I had with this docu-series is the crucial evidence they had on Robert Durst that was featured in the end of the docu-series in which in an audio file reveals that Robert Durst confessed that he "killed them all" in a bathroom by himself with a microphone that he forgot to give it to the filmmakers after his second interview. The docu-series was recorded on 2013 and the filmmakers had this evidence for a long time and it took them long to give the evidence to the police. I can't really believe the filmmakers' claim that they just only found it during post-production. It just seems a bit of a dick move made by them just to give more hype and suspense for the docu-series. At least Robert Durst is in big trouble now and the whole world knows it. Better late than never I guess.

    Despite that problem and its manipulative use of its narrative, The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst is an excellent docu-series that tells the story about the life and deaths of Robert Durst in a serialized, compelling way.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2016
    4
    This felt about 3 or 4 times as long as it should have been. The backing music was often irritating, especially the tinkling "mystery" music.This felt about 3 or 4 times as long as it should have been. The backing music was often irritating, especially the tinkling "mystery" music. The case was presented to viewers in a confusing manner. It felt like they were going for an artisitc/dramatic effect rather than just presenting a case in a straightforward manner and letting the story be the feature attraction. I am fascinated by cases such as this one, but the style of this series really disappointed me. Full Review »