Season #: 2, 1
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
Watch Now

Where To Watch

Buy on
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Jan 24, 2019
    100
    The Other Two is so smart and so funny about celebrity, success, family, pop culture, relationships, and the various kingdoms of Andy Cohen’s reality-show empire. It’s a star-making vehicle for Heléne Yorke and Drew Tarver. ... The Other Two is TV’s first can’t-miss comedy of 2019.
  2. Reviewed by: Hanh Nguyen
    Jan 24, 2019
    91
    The Other Two proves itself a worthy companion. It’s raucously sex-positive and delightfully weird, but underlying is a love of the very culture it’s mocking. It’s exactly the comedy that’s needed now: funny, feel-good, and forgiving of humanity.
  3. Reviewed by: Kristen Baldwin
    Jan 14, 2019
    91
    The Other ensemble is across-the-board excellent. ... With its blend of biting showbiz commentary and earned emotional moments, The Other Two is a goofy gem, a modern-day fable about the healing power of other people’s fame.
  4. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Jan 24, 2019
    90
    It is not a new subject for a television show. But The Other Two, the ten-episode Comedy Central series that debuts Thursday, is so funny and comes at this territory from such a different side street, that it manages to feel like something entirely fresh.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 24, 2019
    85
    While the premise is plenty clever, it's the writing -- courtesy of former "SNL" head writers Chris Kelly and Sarah Schneider, who created the show -- that consistently generates laughs, from the title of Chase's hit song ("I Want to Marry You at Recess") to a red-carpet line interviewer who earnestly follows up the question "Boxers or briefs?" with "Israel or Palestine?"
  6. Reviewed by: Krutika Mallikarjuna
    Jan 22, 2019
    82
    Across the board the cast is phenomenal and, combined with the comedic legacy of the writers, the show does so much more than expected.
  7. Reviewed by: Sophie Gilbert
    Jan 28, 2019
    80
    The series is acutely keen satire with a pantomathic cultural IQ, dropping references to the most-online personalities (from Logan Paul to Tomi Lahren), the indignity of post-internet fame (“Burger King is ripping him apart,” Cary says, wincing, after Chase’s botched performance is lampooned by the brand on Twitter), and the strange composure of Generation Z amid all this absurdity.
  8. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jan 24, 2019
    80
    Created by Chris Kelly and Sarah Schneider, The Other Two has a melancholy and an off-kilter kindness that undergird its cutting jokes and rude gags. ... The show, in its daffy way, is in tune with both the routine disgraces and great degradations of our age.
  9. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Jan 24, 2019
    80
    The Other Two doesn’t actually make many mistakes in its short and delightful first season, as it holds a mirror up to our celebrity-saturated culture while also making us admit that sometimes we deride it only because we aren’t a part of it.
  10. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 23, 2019
    80
    It’s a witty and sufficiently demented comedy created and written by Chris Kelly and Sarah Schneider, former “Saturday Night Live” head writers. ... There are plenty of jokes about the fickleness of Chase’s fame in the social media age, but Cary and Brooke are the show. ... Together, they’re a milder version of Billy and Julie in “Difficult People.”
  11. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 16, 2019
    80
    No reservations, just a ringing endorsement for Comedy Central’s The Other Two, a smart half-hour comedy.
  12. Reviewed by: Caroline Framke
    Jan 14, 2019
    80
    The comedy is smart about its focus and targets. ... Comedy Central’s new show keeps itself timely by not relying on clichés to sell the absurdity of the situation. Instead, it relies on the wit of its writers to prove why this show, out of all shows, can handle it.
  13. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 31, 2019
    70
    A raunchy comedy of soul-degrading envy and desperation, with an unexpectedly sweet core. [4-17 Feb 2019, p.13]
  14. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jan 23, 2019
    70
    While the punchlines of The Other Two only erratically tickled my funny bone, there are things here that some viewers will find nonstop hilarious. ... Even if I was frequently annoyed by the show's needless underlining or topping of its own jokes, there was enough I was enjoying to keep going along with the show, and enough that I was enjoying in the serialized story it was telling.
  15. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 23, 2019
    70
    As you might expect from the concept, there’s a lot of cringe humor, sometimes too much. (In those moments, I would pause the screener in hopes that when I hit play again, Cary or Brooke’s mortification would have already passed. Reader, it turns out that’s not how storytelling or technology work.) But Tarver and Yorke and the creative team turn the sibs into appealingly three-dimensional and vulnerable characters for whom we want good things, even when they’re giving into their worst impulses.
  16. Reviewed by: Michael Haigis
    Jan 24, 2019
    50
    [In] fleeting moments, the series reveals qualities in Brooke and Cary which amount to more than mere generational punchlines. Mostly, though, The Other Two is determined to define the siblings by their age bracket, and amounts to yet another portrait of underachieving, navel-gazing ‘80s babies.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Aug 27, 2021
    6
    While I like the show - inconsistent tone and, frankly speaking, Ken Marino's overly hammy performance, in my opinion, and the main kidWhile I like the show - inconsistent tone and, frankly speaking, Ken Marino's overly hammy performance, in my opinion, and the main kid actor‘s (again my opinion) lackluster performance prevent the idea and interesting premise from being fully realized. All the ingredients are here but they don't seem to gel as well as other comedies. Maybe it will find it’s groove. Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2019
    10
    This show gets better with each episode and continues to surprise. Clever comedy that makes you laugh.
  3. Feb 14, 2019
    7
    I happened to see a promo for this show while I was watching a old classic series on Comedy Central. I figured, what the heck, I'll give it aI happened to see a promo for this show while I was watching a old classic series on Comedy Central. I figured, what the heck, I'll give it a watch.

    It's a surprise.

    This show succeeds where the show Nobodies failed. The writing is quite good. The actors work excellently in their characters. Oh so well.

    The writers have captured something elusive here. The bonding among the three siblings is strong, and is a strong part of the show.

    And its funny. Real humor.
    Full Review »