Season #: 2, 1
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Watch Now

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Aug 23, 2021
    95
    “The Other Two” remains frequently screamingly funny, but it’s the rare TV comedy that also allows itself to show some heart, particularly when it comes to the relationships among the core family.
  2. Reviewed by: Kristen Baldwin
    Aug 23, 2021
    91
    The savage humor is tempered by the underlying sweetness of its characters. After watching the six episodes made available for review, my only quibble is that we don't get enough together time with the Dubek clan. ... But I'm not worried, because everything else about The Other Two remains a total delight.
  3. Reviewed by: Saloni Gajjar
    Aug 19, 2021
    91
    The second season balances the two siblings’ moments of genuine sentimentality with off-kilter humor, as they grapple with professional opportunities. Regardless of how successful Brooke and Cary are in these new endeavors, The Other Two season two is a resounding win for Kelly and Schneider.
  4. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Aug 26, 2021
    90
    There’s a fine-tuned-joke-machine quality that’s less prominent in the 10-part second season; the flawless one-liners are ever-so-slightly fewer and further between. But this iteration still hits just the right note of parodic effervescence, punctured occasionally by the shock of unresolved trauma.
  5. Reviewed by: Josh Sorokach
    Aug 19, 2021
    90
    All you really need to know about the second season is that it was absolutely worth the wait.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Greene
    Aug 26, 2021
    83
    So while “The Other Two” can still slice Blake Lively, Vogue, and “The Big Bang Theory” jokes with relative ease, this season has some extra tears and introspection, too. Maybe not everyone in the Dubek inner circle has found what they’re looking for, but the show smartly keeps giving them new and illuminating ways to try.
  7. Reviewed by: Sonia Saraiya
    Sep 22, 2021
    80
    Some of the plotting in the back half of season two is a little predictable, but the finale brings everyone together for a big shouting match in a cathartic moment that has been a long time coming.
  8. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Aug 26, 2021
    80
    Ultimately, Cary and Brooke — and Pat and Chase, too — have some measure of integrity that they cannot compromise, affording the series just enough sweetness to balance the sour.
  9. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Aug 26, 2021
    80
    It’s even better than the first. The scripts are sharper and more focused — I’ve seen six of the 10 new episodes — and there’s more of Molly Shannon as their mother, which is a good thing. There’s also more character development, as we go further into the individual struggles of Brooke and Cary.
  10. Reviewed by: Lily Moayeri
    Aug 25, 2021
    70
    You need to keep your wits about you to pick up on all the witticisms of The Other Two, and it’s worth a re-watch to pick up on all the little quips that are littered throughout the series. They’re even better the second time around.
  11. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Aug 25, 2021
    60
    The show is still aggressive in its run of hit-and-miss dialogue, but I’d say there’s more confidence that if one line or gag falls flat (or even works), it’s OK to just move on to the next one. It can still be exhausting.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Sep 27, 2021
    4
    i really enjoyed the first season more. this new one sure has good things, but mostly falls flat
  2. Aug 27, 2021
    8
    When the first season came and went on Comedy Central, I thought, oh well, at least we had one season to spend with these wonderfulWhen the first season came and went on Comedy Central, I thought, oh well, at least we had one season to spend with these wonderful characters. In swoops HBO MAX and yeah, season two arrives with the same wit, heart, satire of all things show business (Pat! looks like an actual local talk show with wonderful schmaltzy marketing), and the wonderful cast. And between this and The White Lotus, Molly Shannon can do no wrong. Full Review »