• Network: LIFETIME
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 12, 2011
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Jun 13, 2011
    70
    It's hard to find one that's not more entertaining than watching one of your winter favorites the second time around. Picking three or four regulars to go with summer's more esoteric fare, which includes Breaking Bad, The Big C, Curb Your Enthusiasm, and some others, makes an excellent TV strategy. The Protector deserves a slot in the rotation.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 10, 2011
    70
    The Protector is fairly routine plot-wise but the breezy tone--conveyed through upbeat music and snappy dialogue--and strong, collegial performances make this series a welcome summer diversion.
  3. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 9, 2011
    63
    The show is light, viewer-friendly entertainment, but without the conceptual novelty that gives USA dramas their oomph. [20 Jun 2011, p.48]
  4. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    50
    The only thing that separates this bland cop drama from others is that Gloria is also a divorced single mom with two kids who lives with her recovering drug abuser but looks-good-in-a-towel brother (Chris Payne Gilbert).
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 13, 2011
    50
    Why is she The Protector? Why didn't Lifetime call this series "The Protectors" and give Campbell-Martin and her character equal footing? As this show proves, some mysteries aren't worth solving.
  6. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jun 10, 2011
    50
    Ms. Walker is an appealing actress with a strong presence, but in the pilot, at least, her character isn't as well formed or well written as other tough-talking television dames.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 9, 2011
    50
    Campbell-Martin very ably acquits herself while Walker runs a little low on overall oomph. Together they're less than dynamite, but capable of a few sparks.
  8. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jun 14, 2011
    42
    The Protector might be worse if it were attempting to do something ambitious and failing. Instead, it's set the bar near the ground, but I guess some viewers will be satisfied to see it succeed.
  9. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 13, 2011
    40
    Where "Army Wives" can get soapy at times, it also starts with a premise that sets it apart. The Protector doesn't start with that advantage.
  10. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 10, 2011
    40
    Admittedly, the whole career/mom juxtaposition in this sort of extreme setting will surely resonate with some viewers, but it's so limply handled as to make ABC's similarly themed "Body of Proof" look scintillating by comparison.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Dec 15, 2018
    1
    Spoiler Alert....But you're not missing much.
    The Plot --oh what a plot -- I've heard of the plot thickens. But never of it becoming thicker
    Spoiler Alert....But you're not missing much.
    The Plot --oh what a plot -- I've heard of the plot thickens. But never of it becoming thicker CaCa as it unfolds.
    Hero: "Aaaahhh.!!! Faisal I will kill you because I was told by some strange people today that its my new, old job and because you want to resurrect immortal people who might be able to solve human death issues".
    Faisal: "Hero, I want to resurrect my wife. That's it. And I need a vial of your blood for it. I don' care about anyone else and I've never cared about humans. Just leave us alone ".
    Hero: "Aaaargh, I will kill you bastard because you sound logical and you may have killed my parents after my dad killed your wife..., But first I need to cry every time a girl touches me as that's what gets the laaadies".
    I smoked a J midway as it was getting too mental. The show nevertheless managed to sober me up within the next 3 episodes. Yeah. What a waste of a doobie.
    One thing worth watching is the chick called Leyla. She is stunning. Very yummy. The other girl who plays the role of the hero's coach is pretty kick ass too. Come to think of it almost everyone does a good job except for the hero. He's more like Ross from Freinds - you just want to slap him when you see him for being such a flacid & morose dick who is constantly looking for a shoulder to cry on.
    Someone needs to show him where the local ball shop is so he can go buy a pair and stop snivelling all the time. Apparently, it seems to work as both the lead women - who are portrayed as strong ambitious women - seem to go goo-goo gaga for this chocolate hero **** Maybe they can lend him a pair.
    Hope season 2 gets that douche out and brings a new guy in with a bit more grit to pay homage to the rest of the cast. And hope they write a plot with some intrigue. Come on Netflix. If you can do it with Voltron, you outta be able to do it with this.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    8
    The protector is very well written and the casting is really interesting. The show has an all too familiar spin to it, with the strong,The protector is very well written and the casting is really interesting. The show has an all too familiar spin to it, with the strong, independent, stubborn yet intelligent woman for the main character. However it's a very entertaining show, with the right amount of funny. I look forward to more episodes. Full Review »