• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
Season #: 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2741 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Buy On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    This first taste is damn near perfect.
  2. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Bloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the next five episodes. Hands-down the best show or movie to feature zombies in a long, long time.
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    It amazes me that american t.v. continues to create weak and over dramatised rubbish that idiots rate as positive. This show promises so much but delivers a lot of disappointment. The characters are so annoying that the show leaves you wanting them to be eaten just to save the world before they breed. Love the zombies, but hate the imbeciles this series is based around. Producers of t.v.It amazes me that american t.v. continues to create weak and over dramatised rubbish that idiots rate as positive. This show promises so much but delivers a lot of disappointment. The characters are so annoying that the show leaves you wanting them to be eaten just to save the world before they breed. Love the zombies, but hate the imbeciles this series is based around. Producers of t.v. need better writers. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    0
    I can't believe the number of sheep who lap up this garbage with zeal. I've come to the conclusion that the writers haven't yet let us in on the survivors' ultimate plan: bore the zombies death by spending two-thirds of every episode discussing their feelings.
  5. Nov 1, 2010
    3
    Points for production values; the elaborate city scenes were convincing, grand, and well-choreographed. The cinematography was quite good, especially the tense opening sequence which had some beautiful long takes. But I was unable to give a **** about any character (except the poor horse). The acting fit the parts well enough, but these characters feel so recycled and ordinary that they'rePoints for production values; the elaborate city scenes were convincing, grand, and well-choreographed. The cinematography was quite good, especially the tense opening sequence which had some beautiful long takes. But I was unable to give a **** about any character (except the poor horse). The acting fit the parts well enough, but these characters feel so recycled and ordinary that they're unreal. You really sense the writers trying to tug our heart-strings -- the manipulative plotting left me cold. It's a low-grade melodrama that fails to address any substantive social issues (unlike the excellent 28 Days Later). There was definitely some excitement in the long city sequence, in a survival-horror kind of way. If the characters weren't so hollow, and the dialogue so canned, the action sequences would have some weight behind them. Walking Dead gives the impression of a totally insincere, mass-market cash-grab made to capitalize on the zombie fad. Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2015
    3
    The characters are dumb. They are not thought-over, they don't show any kind of development, they sometimes seem act at random. Like the writers forgot who they were between episodes. Apart from that major flaw, the show is nice.
  7. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    The walking dead is an interesting take on the lives of survivors and what happens when rules and regulations they have clinged on to disappear as a strange virus/disease/whatever takes over, raising the dead and turning them into hungry abominations. The Walking Dead is more about the psychological aspects and how humans deal with these issues. While the zombies are a threat, they are notThe walking dead is an interesting take on the lives of survivors and what happens when rules and regulations they have clinged on to disappear as a strange virus/disease/whatever takes over, raising the dead and turning them into hungry abominations. The Walking Dead is more about the psychological aspects and how humans deal with these issues. While the zombies are a threat, they are not the main focus of the show.

    I think the show is really great, though the special effects are really poor in the first Season and most of the second. By the third season, it's obvious the budget has greatly improved. There are some lulls, and there seems to be a bit of filler, but the series does a good job of following the comics and such (Or vice versa?).

    Perhaps the biggest complaint I have is how big a crackshot each of the survivors seem to be. Give them a gun, and they're scoring headshots left and right. The show addresses this a bit, but it's obvious you need to "Accept it as is" to keep the story moving on, as it's only a minor complaint.

    All in all, it is an entertaining adventure and seeing the survivor's minds decay faster than the dead around them is what you can expect if you go into it.

    If you like zombies, drama and post-apocalyptic worlds, this series is for you.
    Expand
  8. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    I'm sure not everyone will agree. but this is my favorite tv show of all time. I first watched episode one of this TV show in school during media, and it just made me eager to watch on. The story line is amazing, so much tension involved. PEACE to WAR in a couple of minuted. Then an ambush of zombies, what else could you want. The special effects are also amazing. Would recommendI'm sure not everyone will agree. but this is my favorite tv show of all time. I first watched episode one of this TV show in school during media, and it just made me eager to watch on. The story line is amazing, so much tension involved. PEACE to WAR in a couple of minuted. Then an ambush of zombies, what else could you want. The special effects are also amazing. Would recommend that everyone watched it but before you do start from season one, episode one so you get the drift of the story line. Expand
  9. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first season of The Walking Dead is a fantastic introduction to a new world overrun by zombies. In the first episode of the season we are really given the scope and magnitude of the infection. Frank Darabont made a fantastic choice in developing this idea from the comic page to the small screen. With producers like this show has, how could it possibly fail!

    From the streets of Atlanta to the offices of the CDC, we don't just encounter zombies but we get a refreshing taste of drama! The character interactions in this series is fantastically portrayed and the acting gives it a realism you rarely get from other programs!

    If you haven't watched this series, you haven't lived! (So to speak...)
    Expand
  10. Sep 28, 2016
    3
    The utter pain of AMC milking the life out of a series really is insulting to viewers.

    I stuck with the Walking Dead for 5 and a half seasons, quitting before the Season 6 finale. Season 1 starts pretty strong, some likeable characters, a zombie apocoplase and a lead character, Rick, who wakes in a world turned upside down, but tries to keep his self and morals. Alike Breaking Bad,
    The utter pain of AMC milking the life out of a series really is insulting to viewers.

    I stuck with the Walking Dead for 5 and a half seasons, quitting before the Season 6 finale.

    Season 1 starts pretty strong, some likeable characters, a zombie apocoplase and a lead character, Rick, who wakes in a world turned upside down, but tries to keep his self and morals. Alike Breaking Bad, this is the story of his decline through his survival. But, like LOST, as the seasons roll on, it feels more and more like a dramatisation about the relationships and back stories of every character just to make 16 episodes a season and as many seasons as they can. Let alone a spin off series.

    My problem with the walking dead is just this.

    Season 4 was an ordeal to watch through, it was slow in pace, boring in script, yet had one stand out episode with Carol and the kids, outside that, it was dull with very little of consequence happening. I think this is probably because I'm no longer in the target audience demographic. If I wasn't in my 30s now, and was 15, I would be hooked on this series for the gore and killings alone. Seeing a zombies face being caved in by a butt of a gun would of been gore-p0rn for 15 year old me, but in my 30s, and having watched some truly horrific movies and gore (Irreversible/A Serbian Film/GuiniaPig etc) it now feels very repetitive, which sums up the Walking Dead. I imagine a team of writers looking to do the plot of a new season goes something like:
    "The gang learn of a new place to take refuge off a man that dies in the 1st episode. Milk 6-7 episodes reaching said place, ensuring plenty of back story and flashbacks to fill up the episodes with as much "Brother and Sisters" like drama as they can, then have a mid-season Finale on the next episode when they reach the destination. Episodes 9-13 tackle to dynamics of the new destination and the people there and how the gang mix or dont mix with them. Season Finale = gang realises that there's no refuge where they arrived, and decide to move onto the next place inline with the next season."

    I read a few of the graphic novels, as a friend is obsessed with them, and the plots have a few massive differences. I think the show would of been better to keep with the comics plot. Now, it feels like this show has no direction other than Rick falling apart more and more, but it's so much filler and poorly written cliche back-stories, I can barely bother.

    And I wont add a spoiler - but COME ON ... the entire death / non death of a character in Season 5 will make you think the writers are taking you for a mug.
    Expand
  11. Dec 27, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The glory days of the show. Characters could be killed in any episode, not just season/midseason finales. Before they fired Frank Darabont. Truly one of the greatest seasons of television, and it's too bad the show couldn't keep this kind of quality. Expand
  12. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    A great example of what most horror media should be like. Not something jumping at your face and just trying to scare you for the point of just being scary. This show has a lot of depth and characters to relate to. Often at times I completely forget I am watching a show because the acting is so well done. I must admit I'm not a huge fan of horror, but this show is still really enjoyableA great example of what most horror media should be like. Not something jumping at your face and just trying to scare you for the point of just being scary. This show has a lot of depth and characters to relate to. Often at times I completely forget I am watching a show because the acting is so well done. I must admit I'm not a huge fan of horror, but this show is still really enjoyable for me to watch. The zombies in it are exactly what zombies should be and they did them perfectly. A great show and I would recommend it to most. Expand
  13. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    People who negative most think Jersey Shore is a well produced... otherwise they need glasses and hearing aids.

    This show is the BEST thing on Network TV, if you think otherwise good for you, but coming here to leave 0's when you prob saw one episode without watching the rest does nothing for people who want to watch it from the beginning you scumbags.
  14. Jun 24, 2014
    8
    This is the only consistent season of The Walking Dead. Frank Darabont's involvement was a huge boost and the series has never fully recovered from it. The only problem is in the 6 episodes not much is resolved. Also some of the acting was off at points.
  15. Aug 3, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I gotta say that this series is a thing, that you can watch these days. There is so much **** on TV these days, that you want to throw the TV out of the window and bash the skull of the "directors" who make crap like "2 broke girls" or "community".
    But if you want something deep, emotional and good taste of horror, you have come to the right series.
    I have to say, that interesting events are only happening every 4-5 episodes but besides that, this series is gold!
    8 points are fully earned!
    Sorry for my English, not my native language :D
    Expand
  16. Nov 22, 2016
    10
    Few things stop me from watching Sunday night football and TWD is one of them. All the people that love to hate this show can go fly a kite, yeah I said it! This is a great show, great story lines, great cast and I love how over the years the story has become more about survival in the new world and less about the zombies, they are more like gnats now, they are just an annoyance, but aFew things stop me from watching Sunday night football and TWD is one of them. All the people that love to hate this show can go fly a kite, yeah I said it! This is a great show, great story lines, great cast and I love how over the years the story has become more about survival in the new world and less about the zombies, they are more like gnats now, they are just an annoyance, but a deadly annoyance!! Expand
  17. Dec 30, 2017
    10
    Simplemente asombroso, ninguna otra serie de tv me habia hecho sentir lo que esta me ha hecho sentir con esta temporada, no podria existir un mejor comienzo.
  18. May 6, 2018
    9
    The first season of this show is amazing. The first episode is one of the best episodes of all time. This season builds characters nearly perfectly and was never not entertaining. That combined with some gore make this show amazing. Despite some choppy CGI, the show never seizes to amaze.

    Rating - 95%
  19. Oct 20, 2017
    10
    this is GOLD its that perfect mix between zombies and survivors i love everything about this series including the characters and zombies places and man many more things ...
  20. Nov 5, 2017
    7
    I remember starting to watch this and the first time I saw Rick ride his horse into that giant hoard of walkers... man I fell in love with the show. The acting and character development are all brilliant. I remember simply just choosing this show to watch as I was with my dad and we wanted some horror with good acting for once, this show more than provides that and to this day we are stillI remember starting to watch this and the first time I saw Rick ride his horse into that giant hoard of walkers... man I fell in love with the show. The acting and character development are all brilliant. I remember simply just choosing this show to watch as I was with my dad and we wanted some horror with good acting for once, this show more than provides that and to this day we are still watching it. Expand
  21. Mar 13, 2018
    8
    What a great way to start off the show! I love how they know what you're in for and know along the way they'll try harder to survive
  22. Oct 12, 2018
    9
    Had to a review for class so I thought I might as well upload it here too

    Review: on the 9th season premiere of the still number 1 drama series in the world 'The Walking Dead'. Last Sunday the television series premiered at 9:00 AM PST. The first episode drew an audience of 10 million people around the world. The series new season is also being called ''Rick Grimes final episodes''.
    Had to a review for class so I thought I might as well upload it here too

    Review: on the 9th season premiere of the still number 1 drama series in the world 'The Walking Dead'.
    Last Sunday the television series premiered at 9:00 AM PST. The first episode drew an audience of 10 million people around the world. The series new season is also being called ''Rick Grimes final episodes''. The leading actor Andrew Lincoln announced his departure at San Diego's Comicon this summer. After a massive drop in ratings The Walking Dead is off to a new start, the first episode's title sequence being ''A new beginning''.

    The first episode really set off the new tone for this season. In this week's episode we see how communities like Alexandria and the Hilltop have evolved since the 18 month time jump between the season 8 finale and this season's premiere. We get a first look on how Maggie is dealing with Rick's choice on saving Negan's life. While characters like Daryl and Enid seem to be siding with Maggie, Michonne and Rick have stuck to what Carl had planned for the communities. This sets up an interesting arc for the coming season.

    After season 7 and 8 The Walking Dead needed a fresh start and certainly delivers on that. It gives you some of those old vibes from the first season.

    Rating 8.8/10

    For more information on The Walking Dead stay tuned for more articles coming soon!
    Expand
  23. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    I read the comics. I saw the trailers. I watched the pilot. AMC's adaptation of The Walking Dead was truly mindblowing. The first series follows the events of the first 8 comic books. From Rick awaking from his coma up until the attack on camp. Now when they changed bits, some drastically such as the CEDA encounter for the final two episodes I was worried but they pulled it offI read the comics. I saw the trailers. I watched the pilot. AMC's adaptation of The Walking Dead was truly mindblowing. The first series follows the events of the first 8 comic books. From Rick awaking from his coma up until the attack on camp. Now when they changed bits, some drastically such as the CEDA encounter for the final two episodes I was worried but they pulled it off spectacularly and have given the TV show its own special place in an alternate setting to the comics (even if it does have a lot of the same characters). The cast are largely unknown to me but all are amazing at the role they play, bringing across the best interpretation of those well established characters possible. The Walking Dead is for any zombie fan or even people who like a good drama. A must watch by any means. Expand
  24. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    Simply the best series I have seen in a long time. The pace is fast, which I like. I actually care about the characters. The zombie makeup is stellar. The plot, borrowed from a comic, is riviting. This series is the Gold Standard against which other action series should be held. It exceeds my expectations in every area (except maybe musical score) and is far and away better than manySimply the best series I have seen in a long time. The pace is fast, which I like. I actually care about the characters. The zombie makeup is stellar. The plot, borrowed from a comic, is riviting. This series is the Gold Standard against which other action series should be held. It exceeds my expectations in every area (except maybe musical score) and is far and away better than many theatrical releases on the zombie genre. I also watched season two, and the progression of the character development during this and the next season is truly amazing. HATS OFF TO ALL INVOLVED IN THIS PRODUCTION. Expand
  25. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    The First Season of amc's the walking dead, blew me away, i was so surprised when i first sat down and watched the first episode i honestly wasn't expecting anything like this: A zombie drama that focuses more on the survivors and how they cope with the changing of their environment, The first season of the walking dead was so good, the Past was good, the action was great, the firstThe First Season of amc's the walking dead, blew me away, i was so surprised when i first sat down and watched the first episode i honestly wasn't expecting anything like this: A zombie drama that focuses more on the survivors and how they cope with the changing of their environment, The first season of the walking dead was so good, the Past was good, the action was great, the first episode was amazing followed by 6 other will down episodes, AMC's the Walking Dead is truly worth your time. FINAL VERDICT 10/10 Expand
  26. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    People who give this show a bad score don't understand it or what it's trying to do. Please ignore any criticism of its pacing, the show is supposed to be slow (and yes the first half of season 2 is extremely slow), you can't crate tension by zipping through everything the way an action movie would. I have personally found the characters to be likable, if at times a bit stereotypical. ThePeople who give this show a bad score don't understand it or what it's trying to do. Please ignore any criticism of its pacing, the show is supposed to be slow (and yes the first half of season 2 is extremely slow), you can't crate tension by zipping through everything the way an action movie would. I have personally found the characters to be likable, if at times a bit stereotypical. The show has fantastic camera work, plot, direction, and most importantly, unlike most entertainment today, it gives itself time to breath, to get a hold of itself. People complaining about the pace probably aren't used to this, and think a show about a zombie apocalypse should be about zombies instead of the survivors. This show is simply fantastic, and one of the best shows on T.V. Expand
  27. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best shows on TV at the moment. The show delivers massively intense scenes with each episode. The danger surrounding our characters in everything they do keeps you on the edge of your seat. The acting is fantastic. The make-up and effects department are probably the best I've ever seen.
    The one downside to the show is the writing of certain characters, specifically
    Easily one of the best shows on TV at the moment. The show delivers massively intense scenes with each episode. The danger surrounding our characters in everything they do keeps you on the edge of your seat. The acting is fantastic. The make-up and effects department are probably the best I've ever seen.
    The one downside to the show is the writing of certain characters, specifically females, however the majority of characters are brilliant. The Walking Dead not only refers to its realistic zombies AKA Walkers, but the minds and soul of our characters and how the world around them effects their declining morality.
    Expand
  28. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Better than any zombie movie I've ever seen. The performances, the effects, everything about the first episode is sheer brilliance. I, personally, can't wait to watch the rest of this amazing series.
  29. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    This is an excellent new and refreshing take on the zombie genre. Rather than trying to scare the audience it attempts to have the audience connect with the characters and the story and it succeeds. There has been a lack of good zombie movies and an increase trend in making zombie comedies lately; but The Walking Dead emphasizes character development and suspense rather than action andThis is an excellent new and refreshing take on the zombie genre. Rather than trying to scare the audience it attempts to have the audience connect with the characters and the story and it succeeds. There has been a lack of good zombie movies and an increase trend in making zombie comedies lately; but The Walking Dead emphasizes character development and suspense rather than action and laughs (although a bit of both can be found). Although amc is extremely **** about the quality of their shows, they have good reason to be. Expand
  30. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    Just finished watching it. Wow, it was just as good as I expected it. Never was bored, I cared for the characters, the zombie effects were way better than I expected, I cant wait for the new episodes
  31. Nov 2, 2010
    8
    I'm not a fan of the horror genre but was pretty impressed by this show. Well acted, well-directed, well-written but could afford to move along at a little bit faster pace. More gore than I think I've ever seen on a basic cable show too. Looking forward to upcoming episodes and hope they utilize the twists and turns in the writing that AMC shows are known for.
  32. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    I am a zombie kind of guy. I love the genre, even the pseudo zombie films like Resident Evil and 28 Days Later. Some are cheesy and enjoyable in their own right while others are marvelous. I am perhaps a "heretic" by saying that the remake of Dawn of the Dead was so much better than the original yet I think the original NoTLD is still the best. With Walking Dead I kind of had spoilersI am a zombie kind of guy. I love the genre, even the pseudo zombie films like Resident Evil and 28 Days Later. Some are cheesy and enjoyable in their own right while others are marvelous. I am perhaps a "heretic" by saying that the remake of Dawn of the Dead was so much better than the original yet I think the original NoTLD is still the best. With Walking Dead I kind of had spoilers going in because I had read the Kirkman books, but I was also apprehensive. When I heard a TV show was being developed I thought okay showtime or HBO, because they will be the only ones that can pull off the REQUIRED headshots, so I was worried that AMC had it. Not their rep for quality, just the reality of their audience. But wow, its gorgeous, and it had done a heck of a good job staying faithful to the source material. In the books the zombies are NOT in every frame, in fact they are ultimately secondary participants, and the fact that the show has followed this same blueprint is what makes the show superior. If the show continues keeps faith with the source, even if only 50%, we have some great television coming. Romero build the genre and the rules that go with it, but the Walking Dead will be looked upon as DEFINING the genre. Expand
  33. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    The Walking Dead is engaging, it's intense and overall very entertaining. Although a short season, this is definitely a strong one. It sets the atmosphere and story really well, has some good characters, and some annoying ones but overall it's a good start to the show and way better than season two.
  34. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the best series from AMC. They did well with Mad Men, even better with Breaking Bad, and now completely outdone themselves with The Walking Dead. A perfect opening season for an amazing zombie show. The zombies on the show have to got to be the best I've seen in a while.
  35. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    To be truthful, i havent read the comics. I dont think its fair to right off a series based on how well they have copied the comic from which it is adapted from. The Walking Dead is a an excellently filmed series with accurate characters. The series may have suffered in terms of popularity in the first and second season because the plot and the story was still developing. ApocalypticTo be truthful, i havent read the comics. I dont think its fair to right off a series based on how well they have copied the comic from which it is adapted from. The Walking Dead is a an excellently filmed series with accurate characters. The series may have suffered in terms of popularity in the first and second season because the plot and the story was still developing. Apocalyptic series or films have been known to take long to develop a story, like the film Resident Evil which has along sequel. The plot is great and I think we'l get a good 10 seasons Expand
  36. Mar 19, 2017
    0
    From cinematography to acting to the writing, this show is one of the worst. It looks like it was filmed in the early 90's and the over acting, excessive dialogue concerning everyones feelings is painful to sit through.

    The only redeeming factor is the very rare times that a zombie with nice makeup pops onto the screen.
  37. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    The perfect way to spend a Halloween is to sit down and watch a horror show. This show is well paced, well designed master-piece of a show that is thrilling and touching at the same time. The zombies walk with realizm and combines the horror of the fast and intelligent zombies of "Dawn of the Dead" with the slow yet terrifying ones of "Night of the Living Dead". They didn't hold back withThe perfect way to spend a Halloween is to sit down and watch a horror show. This show is well paced, well designed master-piece of a show that is thrilling and touching at the same time. The zombies walk with realizm and combines the horror of the fast and intelligent zombies of "Dawn of the Dead" with the slow yet terrifying ones of "Night of the Living Dead". They didn't hold back with the gore, showing the gruesome splash of blood for a gunshot wound, which some shows are editing so they appeal to larger audience, but lessens the feeling of connection with the bullet. I recommend this to those who love a story driven horror adventure, and to those who aren't faint of heart. Expand
  38. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    The best zombie apocalypse TV show so far. In the vein of Romero's "Dawn of the Dead" (large quantities of slow-walking, entropy-like zombies, destroy the brain, don't get bit or scratched); very graphic, but mostly very serious (questions of race, gender, humanity under stress...), emotional, played straight and not afraid of slow, quiet moments. These are thinking person's zombies andThe best zombie apocalypse TV show so far. In the vein of Romero's "Dawn of the Dead" (large quantities of slow-walking, entropy-like zombies, destroy the brain, don't get bit or scratched); very graphic, but mostly very serious (questions of race, gender, humanity under stress...), emotional, played straight and not afraid of slow, quiet moments. These are thinking person's zombies and all hail AMC for another excellent series for adults. This and "Rubicon" should be getting some Emmies. Expand
  39. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Very enjoyable show, guns are nice, atmosphere is amazing; and this was actually like a zombie apocalypse. The only downside is that there weren't that many episodes for this season and it ended too quickly. They should have made more. Instead of just putting it in front of you for 5 minutes, then you'll see it next year.
  40. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    The first part of the season is a well crafted, almost shot-for-shot adaptation of the original graphic novel. The second half strays away but maintains the excitement and terror you'd very much expect from a zombie apocalypse.
  41. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    With top notch performances from Andrew Lincoln, Jon Bernthal, Laurie Holden, Sarah Wayne Callies and Norman Reedus, what's not to love about The Walking Dead? Due to a great ensemble cast and some of the best writers and directors in the game (most of them are responsible for writing and directing for some of the best shows on television, including: Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, The Wire,With top notch performances from Andrew Lincoln, Jon Bernthal, Laurie Holden, Sarah Wayne Callies and Norman Reedus, what's not to love about The Walking Dead? Due to a great ensemble cast and some of the best writers and directors in the game (most of them are responsible for writing and directing for some of the best shows on television, including: Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, The Wire, The Shield, Rescue Me, and Sons of Anarchy) The Walking Dead has became a mega-hit and due to a large fan base (Although some of you don't appreciate the Walking Dead's brilliance as much as others) a rating's juggernaut. Expand
  42. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    AMC's "The Walking Dead" is an epic zombie series. It combines the scare everyone is after in a good zombie movie or show. While at the same time shows the hardships the characters go through living in a world where the dead have taken over, and now inhabit. It is bloody and brilliant, while at the same time having twists in the story leaving the viewers wanting more. "If you like bloodyAMC's "The Walking Dead" is an epic zombie series. It combines the scare everyone is after in a good zombie movie or show. While at the same time shows the hardships the characters go through living in a world where the dead have taken over, and now inhabit. It is bloody and brilliant, while at the same time having twists in the story leaving the viewers wanting more. "If you like bloody horror with plenty of zombies and suspense I would say this is the show for you!" Expand
  43. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    By far, one of the best shows on currently on cable, season one of 'The Walking Dead' manages to bring out the vibrant characters, set pieces, and palpable tension of the graphic novels, while not loosing the appeal in the transition to the medium of TV. Week after week we may find ourselves returning, not solely for the promise of zombies and gore (which are delivered in spades here, byBy far, one of the best shows on currently on cable, season one of 'The Walking Dead' manages to bring out the vibrant characters, set pieces, and palpable tension of the graphic novels, while not loosing the appeal in the transition to the medium of TV. Week after week we may find ourselves returning, not solely for the promise of zombies and gore (which are delivered in spades here, by the way), but for the lived-in, realistic drama of these troubled characters and their plights. Its a shame that the vast dramatic territory explored through the post-apocalyptic universe hasn't been charted yet (if it has, it hasn't been given justice apparently), and The Walking Dead makes for a great argument for the continuation of the horror genre. A great show that should please everyone (save for the squeamish, maybe). Expand
  44. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    This is one of the two best shows on TV. This first season was great and it keeps getting better & better. The 3rd season is starting off to be a hell of a ride. I dont know what some of these reviewers are talking about not caring about the characters; I like the show because of the character development! I was not into watching TV shows every week until I got into The Walking Dead &This is one of the two best shows on TV. This first season was great and it keeps getting better & better. The 3rd season is starting off to be a hell of a ride. I dont know what some of these reviewers are talking about not caring about the characters; I like the show because of the character development! I was not into watching TV shows every week until I got into The Walking Dead & Breaking Bad. These shows are like having 30+ hour movies! Expand
  45. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    Honestly, I have never seen a movie with a zombie apocalypse that is more interesting, thrilling, breath-taking than this TV Series. AMC really did succeed on bringing entertainment through the film. I haven't seen the comic books. Maybe that's why I got thrilled all the time. Talking about actors and their performances, one word: Legitimately magnificent.
  46. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    I am SHOCKED that anyone has anything bad to say about this show - and I am a VERY critical person when it comes to television. The first season of this show has action and heart, and something sorely missing in modern storytelling - a hero. There's plenty of action and gore, heartfelt moments and incredible storytelling and character development, and incredible graphics that seamlesslyI am SHOCKED that anyone has anything bad to say about this show - and I am a VERY critical person when it comes to television. The first season of this show has action and heart, and something sorely missing in modern storytelling - a hero. There's plenty of action and gore, heartfelt moments and incredible storytelling and character development, and incredible graphics that seamlessly mix old world prosthetics and makeup with new world CGI, There is not a single weak link in the incredible ensemble.cast. The storytellers who are writing the plot keep things just twisty enough so you never know what will happen next - but not so twisty that you can't easily keep track of what's going on. The only reason this first season has a 9 instead of a 10 is that there are a lot of characters to keep track of, and in only 6 episodes, you don't have quite enough time to get really attached. Keep up the good work, Walking Dead!!! Expand
  47. Feb 20, 2015
    10
    If TWD had been only one season long, it would have been a classic. Less episodes and a budget you can see where it went. Before the days of TWD becoming a soap opera with no sense of direction, Season One was great. Recomended.
  48. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    I usually don't stick with TV series (sometimes movies are already too long), but after I saw the first episode I got hooked. I'm watching the second season at the moment and it's even better than this one.
  49. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    This show is amazingly written. Like other series they are messy and loose their storyline but with the Walking Dead ABSOLUTELY IMPRESSED! LOVE IT MUST WATCH
  50. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    One of my all time favorite shows!!It has had me on the edge of my seat quite a bit!Ya never know what will happen next and the effects and graphics are phenomenal!!The cast is perfect...especially Hershal and Carl....well ok so I like all of the cast but those two are my favs...and Darryl...ya all are fabulous and hope it doesn't end soon...Thanks for the awesome show:)
  51. May 23, 2017
    0
    So initially I would have given this show a 8-9 out of 10, good production, meaningful content, etc.

    However, starting in season 5 the show sells out to gratuitous sensational material like cannibalism and torture, basically capitalizing on some audiences obsession with sadism. Basically a cheap thrill which illicit high levels of emotional response in the audience. This is certainly
    So initially I would have given this show a 8-9 out of 10, good production, meaningful content, etc.

    However, starting in season 5 the show sells out to gratuitous sensational material like cannibalism and torture, basically capitalizing on some audiences obsession with sadism. Basically a cheap thrill which illicit high levels of emotional response in the audience. This is certainly the sort of content I try to avoid, which is unfortunate as I enjoyed the balance the show tread during the first four seasons.

    You may enjoy this show if you are able to watch this sort of material. However, I would ask you why you watch it and if it really leaves you feeling how you want to feel?
    Expand
  52. Aug 26, 2014
    4
    I think this show is not that good, i mean all that is fun to see are the zombies and stuff, cause i mean nobody really care about the characters, they are just not so interesting. It's 4/10. Just my opinion.
  53. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This series is toats amazeballs ive never watched anything better i honestly say ive never watched anything better its SOOOOOO good. WATCH do it now NOW
  54. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    Not as much of a let-down as a show like Dexter sinceThe Walking Dead is more of a steady uniform malaise that has no heights to fall from. It's a sugary rush that leaves you empty though you'll probably notice a lingering dissatisfaction from watching the series long after you're done. There are no real characters, no cohesive viewpoints, no real theme–all empty calories. If you're inNot as much of a let-down as a show like Dexter sinceThe Walking Dead is more of a steady uniform malaise that has no heights to fall from. It's a sugary rush that leaves you empty though you'll probably notice a lingering dissatisfaction from watching the series long after you're done. There are no real characters, no cohesive viewpoints, no real theme–all empty calories. If you're in for great special effects and cheap thrills and don't want to wrestle with big ideas or emotional weight stemming from what great characters and great writing in a series can bring you, then you will be rewarded by watching this series. Expand
  55. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    Been playing the game and then I was hooked after first episode season one. Watched the entire first season in 24 hours. This is one of the better zombie shows, even better than 28 Days Later. It's really good!
  56. Mar 11, 2012
    4
    AMC's The Walking Dead is an adaptation of the comic series of the same name, about a group of survivors in the zombie apocalypse. Being a giant fan of the comics, I watched the show, and I actually didn't mind it for a couple episodes. But the farther the show goes on, the more pacing problems it gets and the more obnoxious my favorite characters would become, if they even showed up atAMC's The Walking Dead is an adaptation of the comic series of the same name, about a group of survivors in the zombie apocalypse. Being a giant fan of the comics, I watched the show, and I actually didn't mind it for a couple episodes. But the farther the show goes on, the more pacing problems it gets and the more obnoxious my favorite characters would become, if they even showed up at all. Tyreese and Michonne are nowhere to be seen. Instead, we're given the generic redneck Daryl and the EXTREMELY stereotyped token black character T-Dog. Seriously. His name is T-Dog.
    The second season definitely drags on, even though it barely touches on any actual plot from the comics. They spend about 8 episodes trying to find Sophia, a girl who went missing and (Spoilers) is a zombie. The sad part is Sophia is alive and well in the comics, nothing bad actually happens to her. The same is to be said with Shane's death, which was much more emotional in the comics, considering Carl is the one who actually kills human Shane to save his father's life. The choice to instead have Rick stab Shane was a waste of good material.
    The more and more I watch this show, the more and more I find myself no longer caring about the characters. They do dumb things, and someone dies. And I don't care. They aren't the characters I love anymore. They're annoying whiny people. Eventually, you'll find yourself rooting for the zombies.
    Expand
  57. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    I was a bit skeptical before the premiere but now I am sold. It's truly amazing how AMC continues to come up with such great series that pretty much put the big networks to shame. This series shows great promise. Watching this premiere was like watching a high production movie, but in a good way. Definitely hope it gets renewed for a second season if it hasn't yet.
  58. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Movie quality TV. Completely agree with that review. The acting, zombies, and cinematography is great. Definitely looking forward to the rest of this great TV show.
  59. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Great episode. If the show continues to be anything like it was tonight this will be one of the greatest adaptations ever! Also liked how AMC came out and proved that they aren't going to hold back on the show.
  60. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Amazing! My favorite show ever. Constant twists throughout the episodes with a great ending. I can expect season 2 to be even better. Daryl and T-Dog are the best.
  61. Dec 20, 2011
    5
    I just dont see what people see in this, I dont. Once again the short season doesnt allow for any real development in the show's story. It doesnt help that it takes far too long to get into as well. Also the show is rather generic and isnt all that interesting. The acting is ok and the production value is great but the show just doesnt hit with me.
  62. Apr 10, 2013
    3
    If you've seen movies such as Dawn of the Dead, 28 Days/Weeks later, Land of the Dead or even the Resident Evil series you'll find nothing new here. On top of that you've got boring characters doing stupid things and zombies that appear to have script adjusted speed. Many times characters say don't do X and then the next minute do X with predictable results.
    In short this is a series with
    If you've seen movies such as Dawn of the Dead, 28 Days/Weeks later, Land of the Dead or even the Resident Evil series you'll find nothing new here. On top of that you've got boring characters doing stupid things and zombies that appear to have script adjusted speed. Many times characters say don't do X and then the next minute do X with predictable results.
    In short this is a series with zombies, written by zombies for zombies. Give it a miss, things get worse in series 2. [3/10]
    Expand
  63. Apr 2, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show has fallen far from where it started. the first season was well done, actually creating tension within the group led by Rick with zombies! Now the show has devolved into "Days of our Lives" zombie edition with nothing but walking, talking, and petty drama issues that are basically, "he did it, no he did it, no she did it." It's upsetting to see the zombies have taken a complete backseat to these kind of dilemmas. When watching an episode you have a 10% a zombie will pose an actual threat. Otherwise back to the petty squabbles of humanity. I would understand if they had the drama like the first season with Merle and T-Dog but keep the zombies as the forefront of the problem. The stupid governor and his village has carried on with absolutely nothing happening in each episode for far too long. The writers even managed to make me hate basically all the characters except for Daryl and Merle (and he died when they were finally giving him some back story). I'm sorry but I was glad when Lori died (she always screwed something up and never watched Carl), I hate Carl (he is the reason Dale died), Hershel is pretty cool (he's just Santa without a foot), Rick doesn't really seem to know what's going on anymore, Michonne has potential but I started to dislike her after that dumb picture/cat scene she had with Carl. In the previously mentioned cat/picture scene I was hopeful they were bringing Morgan (that was his name right?) back from the first season because I really liked his character. He's just coocoo for cocopoofs though because his son died (it is a tragedy but I didn't like where they left him personally). They should stick to a "zombie" show that actually has zombies and not people just at each other with nothing ever happening in any of the episodes. Waste of time. Expand
  64. Feb 28, 2018
    0
    Freaking Hollywood politics and messages are so over the top. I am disappointed and finished.
    The writers went left so extremely with this, I am done. Just like football and Oscars, screw you hollywood, I am out!
  65. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    Great show, even if you don't like zombies, it has a compelling story, great character development and has action in it. It is a great show that doesn't overwhelm you senseless killing. It does a great job proportioning every aspect of an a fantastic show. Everyone who does not like it just likes complaining. Someone was complaining that the men go hunt while the woman wash clothes,Great show, even if you don't like zombies, it has a compelling story, great character development and has action in it. It is a great show that doesn't overwhelm you senseless killing. It does a great job proportioning every aspect of an a fantastic show. Everyone who does not like it just likes complaining. Someone was complaining that the men go hunt while the woman wash clothes, right, well only one man was actually hunting and the girls were washing clothes, how do you know that the men and the women do not switch that role every day? Clearly, someone is way to offended by a small glimpse into how people would live in a community that had been hit by zombies.. nothing to get offended about.... To everyone else, I would strongly suggest this show. It is the only show that I follow, I usually like t.v. shows but this is the first one I am sure to watch. It is an the best show I have ever seen by far. Expand
  66. j30
    Jan 24, 2012
    8
    A really well made show that feels more like a movie than a TV show. The make-up, acting, and direction all work together beautifully. Making a TV show where you care about the characters and what happens to them goes a long way.
  67. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    super exciting story line! Fast paced, no boring episode! I love the writing and direction of this show! I wish they will put more episodes into a series since the last time. I am definitely hooked and I can't wait for the next episode!
  68. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Great show, good plot, and entertaining characters. I had heard of this show from friends, some people I talk with online, and some family members talking about it. To my knowledge, it has a really big crazy fan base, and I can see why as I have joined this fan base. Let me start of by saying that I've always been a big fan of zombie movies/games. Resident evil namely being one of myGreat show, good plot, and entertaining characters. I had heard of this show from friends, some people I talk with online, and some family members talking about it. To my knowledge, it has a really big crazy fan base, and I can see why as I have joined this fan base. Let me start of by saying that I've always been a big fan of zombie movies/games. Resident evil namely being one of my favorite, also being one of the most prestigious series out there, I believe that this might just rival that! I don't want to talk about any specific moments in the series because I don't want to have any spoilers in this review, I mainly just want to talk about what I think. The actors in this series are great, especially that main character, Andrew Lincoln AKA Rick Grimes. He always seems to find a way out of bad situations and is a very motivational character and a great leader. The story line is very grabbing and can be very emotional at times. If you're a big zombie fan, this series is a MUST watch, if not, this series is great one to start with! Expand
  69. Dec 28, 2011
    8
    Truly a fantastic show and one of the best you'll find on TV. Great cinematography is present in every episode of the series. The fright factor does fade over time however, as you become accustomed to seeing a zombie pop up every now and then. The emotional journey that you are taken on with the characters however does leave a lasting impression. This show is well paced and featuresTruly a fantastic show and one of the best you'll find on TV. Great cinematography is present in every episode of the series. The fright factor does fade over time however, as you become accustomed to seeing a zombie pop up every now and then. The emotional journey that you are taken on with the characters however does leave a lasting impression. This show is well paced and features writing and a story that allows the viewer to immerse themselves in the world represented here that is overrun with zombies and only a handful of survivors. Expand
  70. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    Great special effects for a TV show and the story line was great. Hopefully the writers can maintain the intrigue for many years. Just watched the first season on Netflix and trying to find out where I can watch the second season already.
  71. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Survival horror is strong with this one. I have honestly never been more scared than since I have watched this show. Zombies may be slow, but they are freaking scary!
  72. May 21, 2012
    10
    I'll be honest. I love TV. It's a great way to pass the time with plenty of fun, action, humour, and good acting.
    However, I only love TV if the programme that's on it is blow-your-socks-off amazing.
    Obviously, The Walking Dead fits into this category. With it's gory but fun deaths (Don't deny it! You know the deaths are awesome to watch!), it's great acting, and it's suspenseful
    I'll be honest. I love TV. It's a great way to pass the time with plenty of fun, action, humour, and good acting.
    However, I only love TV if the programme that's on it is blow-your-socks-off amazing.
    Obviously, The Walking Dead fits into this category.
    With it's gory but fun deaths (Don't deny it! You know the deaths are awesome to watch!), it's great acting, and it's suspenseful storylines, this is my favourite show on TV. I look forward to seeing the return of it's third season later in the year where, it's been said, the show will get more gorier, more action-packed, and more better...RESULT!
    Expand
  73. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    I love this show! Sure the characters get "whiny" and the episodes move kind of slow, but compared to most of the **** that's on tv and new movies, The Walking Dead is the ultimate zombie apocalypse by far! The actors and actresses got their skills on point! The writer is just amazing writing such a powerful apocalyptic drama, and the characters execute their performance so astoundinglyI love this show! Sure the characters get "whiny" and the episodes move kind of slow, but compared to most of the **** that's on tv and new movies, The Walking Dead is the ultimate zombie apocalypse by far! The actors and actresses got their skills on point! The writer is just amazing writing such a powerful apocalyptic drama, and the characters execute their performance so astoundingly that it feels so real and makes viewers actually feel the events and the characters' personal experiences. This show, plus The Walking Dead game makes us wonder what would we do, or what choices would we make? What is our true character in a survival scenario? If you like masterpieces like this, then you should check out some new shows this year (not zombie, but just as much powerful quality dramas) like "Scandal" with Kerry Washington or "Touch" with Kiefer Sutherland. Expand
  74. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    I loved this season, lost of suspense and action and plenty of places to take the series, but as soon as it went mainstream, Seasons 2, 3, and 4 have been complete and utter **** Season 2 was a snooze fest. They tried to turn the show into a drama with some zombies here and there. Absolute boring & the drama was completely stupid too. Season 3 they tried to incorporate action with a newI loved this season, lost of suspense and action and plenty of places to take the series, but as soon as it went mainstream, Seasons 2, 3, and 4 have been complete and utter **** Season 2 was a snooze fest. They tried to turn the show into a drama with some zombies here and there. Absolute boring & the drama was completely stupid too. Season 3 they tried to incorporate action with a new town but it's too late, they were just filling in their own grave. It's boring, each episode has the same style and it's all predictable with ****ty ass characters. If they would've taken a good turn after Season 1 this probably would be one of my favorite shows, but it's complete **** now. My rating is for Season 1 and Season 1 ONLY. Not for the other ****ty seasons. Expand
  75. May 14, 2012
    7
    Yes yes we at the internet love zombies but the show needs more of them. The first season was great but with the exception of the first and last two episodes of season two it was terrible. except the episodes I mentioned each episodes is just people walking around saying "what do you think about so and so" then that person goes to another person and they say "what do you think about soYes yes we at the internet love zombies but the show needs more of them. The first season was great but with the exception of the first and last two episodes of season two it was terrible. except the episodes I mentioned each episodes is just people walking around saying "what do you think about so and so" then that person goes to another person and they say "what do you think about so and so" then they kill a single zombie and the show is over. If they continue as they ended the season this should could be really great. Expand
  76. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    A great but short beginnning of a benchmark-setting series telling the story of former sheriff deputy Rick Grimes who wakes up from a coma finding out nothing's like it used to be before. The only thing he wants now is finding and look after his wife and son. This is not just a series about zombies or the "walkers". This is a series about how people act when the world around them comes toA great but short beginnning of a benchmark-setting series telling the story of former sheriff deputy Rick Grimes who wakes up from a coma finding out nothing's like it used to be before. The only thing he wants now is finding and look after his wife and son. This is not just a series about zombies or the "walkers". This is a series about how people act when the world around them comes to an end. This is a series about getting to know all the different characters, learning to understand their thoughts, their feelings and then crying over them suddenly passing away. A world where not the walkers are the main enemies humanity has to face: Humanity has to face itself. Expand
  77. Apr 4, 2016
    9
    This is by farm my favourite season, the ending was kind of weird but the rest was impeccable. Sadly I couldn't stand season 4 and after season 2 fiasco I was already on the edge and stop watching this.
  78. Feb 11, 2018
    10
    This is the absolute peak of television, and it proves that the shorter the season the better it is. The Walking Dead season 1 is filled with incredible action, special effects, interesting characters and a brilliantly written story, the first show in a long time that had me hooked from episode 1.
  79. Aug 6, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its a good tv show, although most of the bad ratings will have been from season 2, it was a bit slow and it was not really what people whee looking for, just stick with it, it gets better. Expand
  80. Jul 27, 2017
    7
    This show's performance is like a high school boy trying to sprint a full mile in front of the whole school. In the very beginning he starts off strong and fast, everyone is cheering for him. After 200 meters, he starts to feel the lactic acid build up between his muscles and the soreness makes him slow down a bit, but he is still fast enough to make girls give a second glance. AfterThis show's performance is like a high school boy trying to sprint a full mile in front of the whole school. In the very beginning he starts off strong and fast, everyone is cheering for him. After 200 meters, he starts to feel the lactic acid build up between his muscles and the soreness makes him slow down a bit, but he is still fast enough to make girls give a second glance. After another 200, meters he feels really really tired, and the people watching can tell that he's tired. However, in order to sustain the attention on him, he starts to do some unnecessary things such as silly faces and stunts. To some of the audience, this was entertaining; but to most others it was just some unneeded action that costs his body more energy. After another 200 meters, he is completely exhausted and starts to have the thought of giving up. However, he cannot give up, because he is sprinting a mother****ing mile in front of the whole mother****ing school, and he knows what people would say about him if he gives up. All he can do is forcefully power his legs to swing at their maximum speed, which by now isn't too fast, and stand back up trips after trips and keep on sprinting, even when the audience is probably all laughing their asses off and some may have even given up on him. That is where season 7 ends.

    I remember watching the first two seasons, how it was so attractive and exciting that I had to tell my dad to hide the tv remote so I don't uncontrollably spend 24 hours every day watching. When I got to season 3, the introduction of the governor made the show somewhat different. Rick's people went from surviving from zombies to facing another, possibly more devastating, danger, the human savagery. This new theme was actually quite intriguing, and the episodes were no less awesome. On to season 4, the first season that I could't immediately recall what it was about. If you spend a week watching a season and end up not being able to recall what it was about, then that's when you should know the show's going a little bit south. This is the part where that mile-sprinter was doing some unnecessary stunts: entertaining to some, but really unnecessarily a waste of time and energy. Fortunately, after receiving some hints on wikipedia, I was able to remember some awesome moments in that episode, and I realized it wasn't too bad after all (p.s. Rick's final words of season 4 was awesome). Season 5 and 6 was similar to season 4, probably slightly worse. I remember at least 5 episodes in which the characters sorta just walked half of the screen time , reminds me a bit of how that sprinter was thinking about giving up but, for reputation reasons, couldn't. As for season 7, for those who hasn't seen it yet, (you were probably spoiled anyways) you can basically watch the first half of the first episode and the whole final episode, you really won't miss anything.

    Fortunately, that high school sprinter has saved a little bit of energy during his previous 200 meters. He wasn't running as fast as he could have, on top of that the audience doesn't have that high of a standard for him anymore. For these causes, there is much reason to hope that he will start running surprisingly fast again in the next 200 meters. Personally, if he is still going to run like a little **** I would completely give up on him and leave the gym. Forever.
    Expand
  81. Dec 23, 2017
    9
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  82. May 25, 2018
    6
    Apocalyptic setting, a lot of tension and horror are what to expect from this one. However it also develops into psychological and moral dilemmas. I lost interest after a couple seasons though, because it seems to be repeating itself over and over, throwing drama at the viewer at every turn.
  83. Jan 11, 2012
    4
    Everything just feels vanilla. It's watchable show but I've two major problems with it. One is the writing isn't good enough to tell the kind of story they are trying to tell. In so much that they are trying to tell a story about the psychological effects of the zombies on the survivors, as much as are just doing an all out zombie fest, and it doesn't work because they are going for theEverything just feels vanilla. It's watchable show but I've two major problems with it. One is the writing isn't good enough to tell the kind of story they are trying to tell. In so much that they are trying to tell a story about the psychological effects of the zombies on the survivors, as much as are just doing an all out zombie fest, and it doesn't work because they are going for the best of both worlds. The acting isn't good enough to support the former either, with the acception of Andrew Lincoln. On that note watching Sarah Wayne Callies three eye-face expressions is painful.

    The second major problem I have with this season of the show is that it's not scary. At all.

    Like I said though, it's watchable in a 'sit round having a few beers with friends' way I guess.
    Expand
  84. Jan 16, 2013
    0
    This show blows. How did they cancel Rubicon and renew this crap? Seriously. WTF. What is so exciting about Zombies? And my zombie loving friends, say there's less than 5 min of zombies in each episode anyway. Trash.
  85. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    It definitely had me staring at the screen instead of my computer, especially the end scene in the city. I'm excited for the rest of this show, and glad there's a zombie tv show, and it's actually very good. You don't really know the characters too much yet, but I feel like we will find ourselves caring about them quite a bit. I mean, it is AMC, and they tend to do shows well. If only IIt definitely had me staring at the screen instead of my computer, especially the end scene in the city. I'm excited for the rest of this show, and glad there's a zombie tv show, and it's actually very good. You don't really know the characters too much yet, but I feel like we will find ourselves caring about them quite a bit. I mean, it is AMC, and they tend to do shows well. If only I didn't have to wait... Expand
  86. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    The contrasts of the show's visuals of death with the fantastic scenes of humanity give this weekly zombie flick a surprising effect. They take this show seriously, and so should you. Even if you've seen a thousand zombie movies before, don't pass this one up. Fantastic performances, cinamatic feel, beautifully constructed tension makes the viewer crave another episode as bad as aThe contrasts of the show's visuals of death with the fantastic scenes of humanity give this weekly zombie flick a surprising effect. They take this show seriously, and so should you. Even if you've seen a thousand zombie movies before, don't pass this one up. Fantastic performances, cinamatic feel, beautifully constructed tension makes the viewer crave another episode as bad as a zombie craving brains. Expand
  87. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    All the months of waiting paid off, thank you amc got this show and not HBO. Phew and the show actually made the comic book better. The gore and violence are all in context and not just stuck in there for the shock value.
  88. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Wonderful. I have read 70 of the comics, so most of the plot has been ruined. However, AMC and Darabont included so many awesome points of embellishment to the meager beginnings of the series that the TV episodes stand on their own. This show is totally gripping. If you are a huge nerd, it can own your life. Since I am a huge nerd, I have no problems admitting I have not been thisWonderful. I have read 70 of the comics, so most of the plot has been ruined. However, AMC and Darabont included so many awesome points of embellishment to the meager beginnings of the series that the TV episodes stand on their own. This show is totally gripping. If you are a huge nerd, it can own your life. Since I am a huge nerd, I have no problems admitting I have not been this excited about any TV show since Lost. Expand
  89. BMF
    Nov 15, 2010
    10
    Holy **** this shows great its the only show I actually plan to watch every week I hope it doesnt get cancelled prematurely like other excellent series.
  90. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    This show has been a long time coming. Being that it is based off the great Graphic Novel series of the same name, it holds water that it will continue to be fantastic. I had high hopes going in and was still completely blown away. The production value and directing, special effects and acting, and sheer scope of possibilities this has to offer is astounding. They don't pull anyThis show has been a long time coming. Being that it is based off the great Graphic Novel series of the same name, it holds water that it will continue to be fantastic. I had high hopes going in and was still completely blown away. The production value and directing, special effects and acting, and sheer scope of possibilities this has to offer is astounding. They don't pull any punches here, ie: it's as bloody and gory as any zombie flick worth noting. So if you are interested in a series that has the time to really connect you to the characters ( and by the looks of it, they plan to ), and are any kind of a zombie flick fan, this is what you've been waiting for. I for one, truly cannot wait to see more. Expand
  91. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    I wouldn't go as far as pulling the trigger on giving The Walking Dead a perfect 10/10 to the head so soon after it's risen, but it's shaping up to be a hit. AMC airing the Dawn of the Dead remake right before The Walking Dead really put both in perspective. While Dawn of the Dead is an action-packed but no-brainer gorefest, The Walking Dead is convincing and unsettling in its approach.I wouldn't go as far as pulling the trigger on giving The Walking Dead a perfect 10/10 to the head so soon after it's risen, but it's shaping up to be a hit. AMC airing the Dawn of the Dead remake right before The Walking Dead really put both in perspective. While Dawn of the Dead is an action-packed but no-brainer gorefest, The Walking Dead is convincing and unsettling in its approach. When Rick Grimes saw the "bicycle girl" zombie, I felt his terror. It didn't look like masterful special effects, it looked like a person who had been brutalized, come back to un-life, rotted, and dried out crawling around in the sun. Rick is human, not a juggernaut of a protagonist. I don't know if Rick will ever truly feel safe but as long as Rick doesn't feel safe, I won't feel safe, and as long as everybody feels unsafe and The Waking Dead remains goal-oriented, the series won't just "shamble along." Expand
  92. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    Completely engrossing, movie quality series. This does nothing different, in fact, it fully embraces all the old Zombie cliches, including the old classic 'blood writing on the walls', moulding them into one fantastic show, which manages to keep you fixated on the screen.
  93. Feb 5, 2013
    2
    How does this get a user rate of 8.4? Cool zombies, good special effects in that respect, but but but! Clunkily written pure melodrama with one-dimensional STUPID characters that we don't care about. Look up over-acting and you'll see a picture of the crazy rednecks and the roided up dude. Why the hell are they camping up on a hill surrounded by deep forest? Anyone think of 'establishing aHow does this get a user rate of 8.4? Cool zombies, good special effects in that respect, but but but! Clunkily written pure melodrama with one-dimensional STUPID characters that we don't care about. Look up over-acting and you'll see a picture of the crazy rednecks and the roided up dude. Why the hell are they camping up on a hill surrounded by deep forest? Anyone think of 'establishing a perimeter'? Get to work building trenches and walls, people! My daughter and I were chanting "Zombies, Zombies" for minutes on end as we endured the drawn out scenes where the zombie-like non-zombies expressed their feelings. Expand
  94. Mar 13, 2013
    3
    I find myself willing over and over for the series to improve, but it always manages to disappoint. The pilot promises just enough to make me watch another couple of episodes, for a couple of terrific spectacle sequences in downtown Atlanta give the series an epic sense of scale. Masterful cinematography, cg, makeup, and choreography aside, however, Walking Dead is lackluster. The plot isI find myself willing over and over for the series to improve, but it always manages to disappoint. The pilot promises just enough to make me watch another couple of episodes, for a couple of terrific spectacle sequences in downtown Atlanta give the series an epic sense of scale. Masterful cinematography, cg, makeup, and choreography aside, however, Walking Dead is lackluster. The plot is contrived, characters often behave with complete disregard for common sense, the writing is poor, and every single female character is frustratingly weak and useless. I find myself wishing the protagonist would die- perhaps that way some genuinely captivating grit could find its way into a series that despite its physical blood and gore, is just a little bit too morally and interpersonally clean and pretty to take any real satisfying risks. Expand
  95. Nov 1, 2010
    6
    A drama series based on the zombie apocalypse sound entertaining, but the dialog in 'The Walking Dead' just seems like it was written by amateurs (I caught myself rolling my eyes a lot) and the incredibly slow pace makes 90 minutes feel like forever. The direction, make-up, design, etc are all pretty good... it's the dialog, or maybe the execution of the dialog that drags this show down.A drama series based on the zombie apocalypse sound entertaining, but the dialog in 'The Walking Dead' just seems like it was written by amateurs (I caught myself rolling my eyes a lot) and the incredibly slow pace makes 90 minutes feel like forever. The direction, make-up, design, etc are all pretty good... it's the dialog, or maybe the execution of the dialog that drags this show down. I watched Episode 1 twice (on Halloween, for maximized affect) to see if maybe I was missing something, but the second go-around was more boring than the first. It's worth watching if you like zombies and there's nothing else on, but it definitely won't be on my DVR. Expand
  96. Aug 24, 2013
    0
    zOMG Walking Bad is a epic RAWR! zombiez and de bacon and like epic zombie bacons are like SO epic. This epic show is like SO epically in tune with my young generation's epic aesthetic legacy right meow meng. I feel so in tune with my generation because I watch this show about zombies right meow. Epic zomby apocolips is like so comin dudes. If you don't like Walking Bad than you arezOMG Walking Bad is a epic RAWR! zombiez and de bacon and like epic zombie bacons are like SO epic. This epic show is like SO epically in tune with my young generation's epic aesthetic legacy right meow meng. I feel so in tune with my generation because I watch this show about zombies right meow. Epic zomby apocolips is like so comin dudes. If you don't like Walking Bad than you are incompetent. If you don't think this is the best tv show of the decade you don't understand the magnitude of important uniquely intellectual epic zombiez symbolizm right meow. You will be proven wrong as time passes and people look back on this as profoundly prophetically epic and edgy. Watching Walking Bad and enjoying it is tantamount to moral and intellectual truth. Walking Bad is pure swag so don't be critical of it in any way or you will be considered an uncultured idiot. I want to watch it again right meow YOLO K thx bai Expand
  97. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I come home from on Halloween night and like it was destiny I turn on the tv to find The Walking Dead just starting. From that point on I couldn't take my eyes off the tv for the next hour and a half. It was amazing! It had it all. Blood, drama, horror, and great acting from all parts. The best part it had a cliffhanger at the end. I'm so watching every episode from this point on! YouI come home from on Halloween night and like it was destiny I turn on the tv to find The Walking Dead just starting. From that point on I couldn't take my eyes off the tv for the next hour and a half. It was amazing! It had it all. Blood, drama, horror, and great acting from all parts. The best part it had a cliffhanger at the end. I'm so watching every episode from this point on! You should certainly watch this show. Expand
  98. Nov 1, 2010
    8
    Being a true horror fan, I have to say it's a nicely done show, given a basic cable series's budget. It has a good undead plot, with just enough drama, blood and gore to keep any horror fan pleased to come back for more. Yes, a true horror fan will be able to pretty much read most, but not all, of what is coming. I did like that very human element of what would you do if this were reallyBeing a true horror fan, I have to say it's a nicely done show, given a basic cable series's budget. It has a good undead plot, with just enough drama, blood and gore to keep any horror fan pleased to come back for more. Yes, a true horror fan will be able to pretty much read most, but not all, of what is coming. I did like that very human element of what would you do if this were really happening? Could you trust everyone left? Would you feel pity &/or anger towards "the (un)dead?" I also liked the fact that it's not all just an "easy" shoot 'em up, giving the series an additional dramatic dimension. Add in some good graphics and cinematography to make it "look" believable, and voila! It seems as if this will be a continued good series that makes me salivate for watching/recording some basic cable. I'll definitely be watching it over the next 5 episodes, just to see what does truly unfold. Expand
  99. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I thought this show was amazing. Obviously this review is based off the first episode which doesn't do many shows justice. However, this is the first time I've seen a horror-type film/show that is highly story driven. Usually zombie themed media relies on fear to drive the entertainment. Personally, I don't get much entertainment from the "fear" aspect and I judge things on theirI thought this show was amazing. Obviously this review is based off the first episode which doesn't do many shows justice. However, this is the first time I've seen a horror-type film/show that is highly story driven. Usually zombie themed media relies on fear to drive the entertainment. Personally, I don't get much entertainment from the "fear" aspect and I judge things on their composition. Sure, the show started slow. However, the interactions before the disaster are extremely important to the structure of relationships between characters. This show is obviously not for the someone that's looking for a "bloody" good time. I do recommend this to someone who is looking for a realistic account to a very unrealistic scenario. Expand
  100. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    Being an avid zombie fan I naturally decided to watch this show and I'm glad I did. It did not disappoint in the slightest. While it's far to early to give a full review on this show the premise is actually something that hasn't been done before in the zombie genre and that's focusing on character development. Something that I hope this show will handle well. Right from the start theBeing an avid zombie fan I naturally decided to watch this show and I'm glad I did. It did not disappoint in the slightest. While it's far to early to give a full review on this show the premise is actually something that hasn't been done before in the zombie genre and that's focusing on character development. Something that I hope this show will handle well. Right from the start the direction of the show has been great, from the great special effects to even nodding at a couple of zombie cliches. It's not scary but I don't think that's the point, it's a drama with zombies. The first episode alone is better than most zombie movies out there and I hope that the rest of the series follow.

    It's a wonderful show and I do suggest picking it up. Unless gore is not your thing, because the gore here is very high.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    Darabont uses the TV-series format to break convention not only by defying the predictabilities of the horror genre (boo!) but also by infusing the recipe with more storytelling elan.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 7, 2010
    70
    I was encouraged that the character-driven third episode was stronger than the zombie action-heavy second, and perhaps the producers will be proven right--that the longer this saga goes on past these initial six episodes, the more it will set itself apart from the zombie canon.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead, like any good horror tale, still believes in the importance of monsters, perfectly balancing the struggle of basic human decency with those palsied four-in-the-morning moments when we are convinced that everyone around us is trying to eat us alive