• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 1, 2019
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Amy Glynn
    Jan 4, 2019
    87
    Tidying Up with Marie Kondo will convince the most cynical among us that it’s reasonable to derive joy from every single thing in your house, and that anything you’re hanging onto that doesn’t provoke a joy reaction should be seriously held to account. ... What’s interesting about Tidying Up is that it isn’t especially voyeuristic--and that seems to be what makes it work.
  2. Reviewed by: Sarah Archer
    Jan 4, 2019
    80
    There’s something about the way in which Kondo explains the goals of her exercises that gets her clients to open up. This is the key difference between Tidying Up and most other reality shows: There’s no sense of competition, and the ostensible makeover at the heart of every episode simply involves regular people becoming happier and more at ease in their own home.
  3. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Jan 2, 2019
    80
    Considering that this show is the literal equivalent of watching other people clean their houses, something I barely want to do myself, it is far more absorbing and interesting than I expected. ... You don’t want to recognize yourself in these “untidy” people who can’t bear to part with maternity clothes or high-school notes or the 85th nutcracker they collected. But you will.
  4. Reviewed by: Daniel D'Addario
    Jan 2, 2019
    70
    Happily for those spending their New Year’s Day seeking a bit of uplift for the year ahead, Kondo makes decluttering seem within reach, and appealing, too. Better still for all television fans, she’s an amiable presence.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 2, 2019
    70
    The show isn’t all that revelatory, but it certainly qualifies as a fine New Year’s Day binge for people who intend to drag the Christmas tree to the curb sometime before Easter.
  6. Reviewed by: Marissa Martinelli
    Jan 2, 2019
    60
    By eschewing the typical extreme-makeover excesses, the highest-high inspirations and lowest-low humiliations that we’re used to from our reality television, Tidying Up showcases a kind of gentle moderation that should make its star proud--and leave everyone else mildly underwhelmed.
  7. Reviewed by: Malcolm Venable
    Jan 2, 2019
    60
    It may not provide much in terms of tips or motivation (watching Netflix kinda implies that the viewer is chillin', by definition) but it does spark a glimmer of inspiration and yes, some joy, much like its happy and gay counterpart Queer Eye.
  8. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jan 7, 2019
    50
    The show is decent company if you’re just sitting there folding the laundry, and you will be folding it with unprecedented panache--conveying “love to your clothes from the palms of your hands,” Kondo says--if you follow her teachings. Tidying Up is mindless television on the topic of mindful domesticity.
User Score
4.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 8 out of 16
  1. Jan 18, 2019
    0
    Boring, terrible show trying to capitalize on the popular book. I skimmed through several episodes. I watched one episode completely.
  2. Mar 31, 2019
    0
    Do you feel that your house is a mess? You are in a bad mood at home? This is your series!
    One day I realized that I don’t have any time for
    Do you feel that your house is a mess? You are in a bad mood at home? This is your series!
    One day I realized that I don’t have any time for enjoying my free time because I was spending a whole weekend doing house chores or tidying up my house. In spite of spending so time, I didn’t get to keep it organized during the week. Besides, I was in a bad mood and I started to thinking whether there was some relation between to keep your house in order and feel happy.
    Therefore I looked on the Internet some information about my theory, and it was con-firmed. Experts say that the house’s atmosphere is important so that you can feel better. After that, Marie Kondo crossed in my path and gave me the clue.
    Who is Marie Kondo? She is a home organization consultant, who explains her method of tidying, called Konmarie, through this series. In each episode, she explains different tips about be well-ordered. Her main idea is that you must keep only things that provoke a joy full reaction. If you don’t feel this you must get rid of it. This it will helps you to have less things in your house, therefore, less stuffs to tidy.

    If you are in the same situation that I was some months ago, I recommend you will watch this series because I am sure what it will inspires you and change your life. Try it!
    Full Review »