• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 6, 2020
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Feb 15, 2020
    85
    A funny, horrifying, and generally thrilling account of a female Los Angeles police chief's rocky relations with the city's scummy, thieving (and, of course, male) power brokers.
  2. Reviewed by: Terry Terrones
    Jan 31, 2020
    83
    Smart, well-written and with an excellent cast, “Tommy” is a strong new series that offers a fresh and welcome take on the police procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Amatangelo
    Feb 6, 2020
    79
    It’s no surprise that Falco presides over all of this with aplomb. She’s instantly believable, instantly real. You’ll root for her take-no-prisoners Tommy, be frustrated for her, question her decisions, and admire her decisiveness. She’s everything you need in a lead character. It helps that Falco is supported by a strong cast.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 7, 2020
    70
    Lately, the broadcast drama has a hard time competing for attention with shinier objects in the pay and streaming universes. But operating within those parameters, Falco's leadership quickly vaults "Tommy" to near the top of its class.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 7 out of 10
  1. Feb 8, 2020
    10
    It is a fantastic show. Please don't let the severe right wing people dissuade you from this show because it addresses women in power, aIt is a fantastic show. Please don't let the severe right wing people dissuade you from this show because it addresses women in power, a lesbian, immigration, etc. It is well written and the actors are superb. Full Review »
  2. Feb 7, 2020
    0
    Premise had some promise, but the writing is just too left wing PC crap out of the gate.

    We like lesbians who were rotten mothers. We like
    Premise had some promise, but the writing is just too left wing PC crap out of the gate.

    We like lesbians who were rotten mothers.
    We like women in power.
    We hate ICE.
    White males are all corrupt.

    Predictable and not at all accurate representation of female police officers. I have one in the family and she is nothing like “Tommy!”

    Hoped for better. Didn’t get it.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 9, 2020
    2
    I wanted to like it, but I just can't. Edie was wonderful, but someone give her a decent script to work with. It glossed over all the dramaI wanted to like it, but I just can't. Edie was wonderful, but someone give her a decent script to work with. It glossed over all the drama so it could introduce the premise... chauvinist mayor 'forced' to hire a woman to do the job of chief of police midst a corrupt and misogynistic police force and system. I just wanted a good cop drama. I got an "everything that's wrong with the system" and one woman is going to clean it up, even though she can't seem to clean up her relationship with her daughter.

    Edie is worth so much more than this. What a shame.
    Full Review »