Season #: 3, 2, 1
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Emily L. Stephens
    May 22, 2017
    100
    If you, like me, had heard whispers that this revival was going to be Lynch’s vision almost entirely unconstrained by network notes--if you, like me, were buckled in for two hours of uncompromising surrealism and horror, this premiere delivered.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    May 22, 2017
    100
    What comes across most potently is Lynch’s liberated artistry and style, allowed free reign and immediately making even the most bold of other TV series, from American Gods to The Americans, look timid and compromised in comparison to Lynch’s latest moondrunk flourish.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    May 22, 2017
    91
    But the best stuff easily reminded true blue fans--and only true blue fans--why they loved this so deeply to begin with.
  4. Reviewed by: David Sims
    May 22, 2017
    90
    These episodes scattered a lot of fascinating imagery, disconnected story ideas, and inter-dimensional nightmare antics in front of its audience; it’s up to viewers to try and put the pieces together, or (my preferred method) simply soak in every bizarre tableau with glee. ... Twin Peaks (subtitled The Return) is a worthy new entry in his canon.
  5. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    May 22, 2017
    90
    Its power comes from its electric inventiveness and gleeful inscrutability. An inimitable stew of the romantic and the demonic, the cartoonish and the crazy, it is, in the purest sense of the term, Lynchian. Peak TV, indeed.
  6. 90
    I was riveted--I highly recommend watching this show on the largest screen possible, in dark room, with no interruptions. But I didn’t see much evidence that the new Twin Peaks is going to pivot anytime soon and turn into the show that people remember, or think they remember.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Molloy
    May 21, 2017
    90
    God what a good show this is. Who cares who killed who?
  8. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    May 21, 2017
    90
    It was slow and strange in ways that felt like Lynch was deliberately baiting his audience to see how much they would tolerate--and how much they actually remembered about the old show--after so much time away. ... And yet I loved every plodding, baffling minute of it. ... I went into the night terrified that all the usual TV revival problems would become exponentially worse when filtered through Lynch’s own storytelling eccentricities, and I came out of it exhilarated. Baffled at times, but exhilarated.
  9. Reviewed by: Liz Shannon Miller
    May 21, 2017
    83
    The violence against women in the first two episodes, especially in comparison to what was experienced by men, stands out as perhaps the most antiquated element of the new series--a series we’re looking forward to following, but hoping that it remembers women deserve as much a chance to be heroes as men.
  10. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    May 22, 2017
    80
    It is a splendid, focused and wholly assured resurrection.
  11. Reviewed by: Laura Miller
    May 22, 2017
    80
    For those who can get comfortable with all the director’s imponderables, the series’ spell soon becomes immersive. This may not be the Twin Peaks we grew up with, exactly, the show that changed television forever by proving how far the medium could reach. Instead, it’s the Twin Peaks we’ve grown into, the one we’re finally ready for, wherever it plans to take us.
  12. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    May 22, 2017
    80
    The show immediately finds just the right balance between challenge and pleasure.
  13. Reviewed by: Joseph Falcone
    May 22, 2017
    80
    True to form, the complete picture remains an enigma and it may never be viewed with complete clarity, even by season’s end. If you can stomach the unknown and visual viciousness though, finding entertainment in the journey and joy in the minutiae, then strap yourself in for a wild ride. Conclusively, it's far too early to fall on either side of the fence, but from what we’ve seen of the show's return thus far, Lynch and company have set up what is sure to be a damn fine season.
  14. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    May 22, 2017
    80
    Beautiful and puzzling, funny and exciting.
  15. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    May 23, 2017
    75
    You got two hours that were often gorgeous, sometimes goofy, frequently disturbing and far more graphically violent than the original--filled with performances that ranged from amusing to disquieting to the flat-out amateurish.
  16. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    May 22, 2017
    70
    Twin Peaks: The Return was creepy, surreal, bizarre, and often unintelligible. Just like its predecessor.
  17. Reviewed by: Melanie McFarland
    May 22, 2017
    70
    Very little of this re-entry into “Twin Peaks” makes any sense. Yet it’s admirable that the drama’s creators have found a way to update the universe without relinquishing its signature atmosphere. The story still wields the power to mystify and confuse, even 26 years after the original episodes ended.
  18. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 21, 2017
    70
    It's too soon, ultimately, to conclude whether "Twin Peaks" will justify the investment or, like many a revival, should have stayed in limbo. The first two hours should, at least, pique any fan's curiosity.
  19. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    May 21, 2017
    70
    The thing that struck me most immediately about the premiere is how relatively cogent it was, with a clear emphasis on "relatively." What premiered on Sunday was as accessibly scary, disturbing and audaciously funny as many of the best parts of the original Twin Peaks, and nowhere near as hallucinatory and subtextually distilled as the prequel film Fire Walk With Me. ... That does not mean that I could tell you in any linear description what happened in the two hours.
  20. Reviewed by: Sonia Saraiya
    May 21, 2017
    70
    Twin Peaks: The Return is weird and creepy and slow. But it is interesting. The show is very stubbornly itself--not quite film and not quite TV, rejecting both standard storytelling and standard forms. It’s not especially fun to watch and it can be quite disturbing. But there is never a sense that you are watching something devoid of vision or intention. Lynch’s vision is so total and absolute that he can get away with what wouldn’t be otherwise acceptable.
  21. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    May 21, 2017
    70
    At times it feels as if it were a nostalgic 1990 version of the show is alternating scenes with a colder, harder-edged 2017 version. Whether and how the two come together may determine whether this sample, one-ninth of a unitary work, has staying power beyond the class-reunion phase. But there’s enough unshakable imagery to promise a few months of unsettled Sunday nights’ sleep.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 455 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 455
  1. May 22, 2017
    10
    It took me awhile to recognise and remember all the aged original characters as i saw them appear but it was like seeing old friends again.IIt took me awhile to recognise and remember all the aged original characters as i saw them appear but it was like seeing old friends again.I find David Lynch's world to be very soothing and hypnotic and loved this new entry.
    There was enough beautiful fresh new mystery to keep me wanting more in weeks to come .
    Welcome back David .
    Nice to see you haven't succumbed to the mainstream.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 1, 2017
    2
    For anyone not merely reviewing the season premier (which appears to be most), the reality of Twin Peak's return is far more bleak. WhileFor anyone not merely reviewing the season premier (which appears to be most), the reality of Twin Peak's return is far more bleak. While they opened on a very high note, the show then immediately devolves to some individually terrible acting, an overly bizarre script that stagnates and moves sideways instead of developing, and directing that can only be described as idiot-savantism. There are brief glimpses of the original show, but none of the snappy dialogue, strange, yet coherently tied together story elements, that made the original a classic. Season three is just a painful show that we want to be far better than it is. Most disappointing of all is that this is Twin Peaks in name only, with most of the screen time devoted to anywhere else. Full Review »
  3. May 24, 2017
    10
    This is near-Perfect Lynch. This is more a show for fans of Lynch.....not so much for Fans of Twin Peaks.
    This has everything I love about
    This is near-Perfect Lynch. This is more a show for fans of Lynch.....not so much for Fans of Twin Peaks.
    This has everything I love about this Director. Off-beat Humour, Great Direction, and a constant sense of dread.
    LOVE IT. ;)
    Full Review »