• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 31, 2015
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17

Where To Watch

Buy On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Mar 31, 2015
    60
    The principals are all good.... And there are funny lines.... At the same time, the show feels something shy of essential.
  2. Reviewed by: Judy Hur
    Mar 31, 2015
    50
    Weird Loners is not so fresh as its title might presume. Its protagonists are more familiar than strange, and their stories are clichéd.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Mar 30, 2015
    50
    It has an appealing cast (here's hoping, in particular, that this is not the last we've seen of Kumbhani), and there are moments when actors and material mesh, as in a gleeful group attempt to lip-read a wedding. But then those moments pass, and the show falls back on jokes that are either creaky (could we please have an overweight character who isn't bitter or blissfully stupid?) or cruel.
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Mar 30, 2015
    50
    Weird Loners wants to be a cheeky howl on behalf of the unloved, but it does little to elicit sympathy or laughter from its familiar, humorless, formulations of weirdness and lonesomeness. [3 Apr 2015, p.58]
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 30, 2015
    50
    The sitcom starts with one of the best introductions to a group of losers. By the end of the third episode Fox provided for review, I was yawning and daydreaming about buying nail fungus remover.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 27, 2015
    50
    Weird Loners instead re-shuffles the aimless singles deck before falling well short of coming up aces.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 30, 2015
    40
    As is, the series spends an inordinate amount of time concerned with matters below the belt--including Stosh’s complaint that with Eric hanging around, he won’t be able to “choke the sheriff”--and delivers less charm or laughs than something like “New Girl,” itself a show whose most “adorkable” days appear to be behind it.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Apr 2, 2015
    9
    Great pilot episode! I haven't been as excited for a sitcom since "Happy Endings" which Zach coincidentally starred in. I especially like theGreat pilot episode! I haven't been as excited for a sitcom since "Happy Endings" which Zach coincidentally starred in. I especially like the characters played by him and Becki but Meera looks to be a breakout. They all - minus Becki - did a hilarious scene near the end by ad-lip-syncing a couple's wedding vows. Sharply funny stuff. Great writing and directing, at least in the pilot. Just added to my DVR as "Record Series". Full Review »
  2. Apr 9, 2015
    10
    Surprisingly low score for a potentially fantastic show! Each character is purely individualistic and they all mesh really well. NO LAUGHSurprisingly low score for a potentially fantastic show! Each character is purely individualistic and they all mesh really well. NO LAUGH TRACK either...that's a huge plus! I saw a review asking what the point of the show is...It's to ENTERTAIN you and give you an escape from reality as per the reason television was invented. You don't have to learn something with every TV show. Sometimes you just need a good 25 minutes away from everything and laugh with fictional characters. I hope this continues to air! Full Review »
  3. Apr 6, 2015
    10
    I am glad i came across this pilot show by accident. It's a warm and fuzzy comedy. Not laugh out loud, but will keep you smiling. The end ofI am glad i came across this pilot show by accident. It's a warm and fuzzy comedy. Not laugh out loud, but will keep you smiling. The end of the pilot episode was very funny though. I think this is gonna be a good one. Full Review »