Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6

Where To Watch

Buy On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jul 9, 2015
    60
    The premiere episode of Why? With Hannibal Buress on Wednesday night was an amiable half-hour.... The Schumer segment had a few laughs; the others were pretty flat.
  2. Reviewed by: Jonathan Dornbush
    Jul 9, 2015
    50
    The premiere’s apparent DNA blended with Buress’ unique style leads to a disjointed but occasionally funny premiere.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jul 9, 2015
    50
    It is almost a given that shows like this, which invent variety anew for every new host, start on shaky legs, and Why? did not buck the trend. Still, it came out of the gate strong, before stumbling a little in the stretch.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jul 9, 2015
    50
    What he did talk about, during a surprisingly old-fashioned opening monologue, was Donald Trump’s presidential aspirations, the Greek financial crisis and the dullness of soccer.... He spent the rest of the half-hour show introducing taped segments and scripted sketches. These were mostly underwhelming.
  5. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 9, 2015
    50
    The premiere left the Why?--that is, the show’s purpose and point of view--unanswered.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 9, 2015
    40
    This is only a first take, but a few things can be derived from it. The most obvious one is that this is a show that's a work in progress. The Wednesday premiere felt disjointed, lacking a point or a clear reason for being and--least promisingly--it wasn't very funny.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. Jul 8, 2015
    3
    I was hoping this would be good, because I like Burress' standup and his role on Broad City. But i just got through watching the premiereI was hoping this would be good, because I like Burress' standup and his role on Broad City. But i just got through watching the premiere episode, and I'm sorry to report that it's kind of a mess. Most of the comic writing is uninspired, and the whole thing lacks energy and originality. A shame. Full Review »
  2. Oct 4, 2015
    0
    Hannibal has great stand-up and I really like his cameos on 30 Rock, Broad City, Louie, and his appearances on @Midnight. However, this showHannibal has great stand-up and I really like his cameos on 30 Rock, Broad City, Louie, and his appearances on @Midnight. However, this show is terrible. He seems uncomfortable in all his monologues that are, at best, disjointed. Even the crowd seems perplexed. His segments are mediocre giving an occasional smirk less often than Fox News is fact checked. Comedy Central is turning into the worn out genre of dystopian landscape that we see in movies, TV and, tragically, real life. Full Review »
  3. Sep 4, 2015
    10
    Hannibal is humorous in a way that you can miss if you're not paying attention or astute enough to pick up on it. It's subtle. It'sHannibal is humorous in a way that you can miss if you're not paying attention or astute enough to pick up on it. It's subtle. It's intelligent. I love this show. "Why are we ok with Caitlyn Jenner becoming a woman but not comfortable calling a woman Bruce?" He said this in his first show and I was hooked. It's clever. It's topical. It doesn't make you pee your pants because it's not supposed to. It's the kind of humor that makes you come to realizations, examine the world a bit closer then chuckle at it. If you want non stop laughs, watch something like Family Guy that is not so much a show but a series of gags. I enjoy that as well., but it's a different animal. If you watch Hannibal Buress with that expectation, you are making a mistake. Hannibal's show may not make it bc people have a tendency to want to turn off their mind when watching TV, particularly comedy. At least Colbert and Stewart kept it silly enough to keep the that audience engaged. I'm not sure Hannibal will be able to do the same, sadly. Full Review »