Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    90
    3D Classics: Kid Icarus is definitely worthy of its "Classic" title in this re-release for the Nintendo 3DS.
  2. Mar 14, 2012
    85
    Essential stuff. [Apr 2012, p.89]
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    Still a very tough cookie, but one that gets tastier as you go and is perfectly suited to handheld play. [March 2012, p.109]
  4. Jan 18, 2012
    80
    Take a break from plumbers, swordsmen, and bounty hunters and set some time aside to discover a classic worthy of that title.
  5. Jan 18, 2012
    80
    Kid Icarus was always a lot of fun, but for some reason it never really reached huge levels of popularity like its cousin Metroid. This 3D Classics version is almost identical, but small additions and tweaks like the new backgrounds, 3D effect, high score table and save files ensure that it's worth a look even for those who already played the original to death.
  6. 70
    This 3D Classic is surprisingly good given the base material. I actually recommend it highly. Try playing with classic controls first, then custom controls, and see how much different the experience is. As somebody who'd simply dismissed the game up until now, I'm glad I had the chance to play it because Kid Icarus is unexpectedly enjoyable.
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    70
    A classic game that few modern gamers know. You should take a look at it -especially if you're going to purchase Kid Icarus Uprsising- just to see how everything began.
  8. Jan 20, 2012
    70
    Until Kid Icarus Uprising is released, checking out this remake on the 3DS is well worth your time.
  9. 60
    Right now Kid Icarus in 3D classics convinces as a retro game. Is far from being impossible to complete, but will cause headaches for those who fail to prepare adequately for the demand.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Apr 18, 2012
    6
    Overall fairly fun, but very hard and very short. for example the monsters that steal your extremely important power ups cannot be killed, requiring you to suicide and start the level over, or pay many hearts (generally more than you'll have) to get them back.

    The castle maps are nearly useless, assuming you bother to activate them. power ups are neither self explanatory, nor easy to activate, requiring you to reach full health before they activate. I found the easiest way was to reach the end of the area, then suicide on the next one to come back with full health. each and every death requires you to restart the area.

    The first ascent (out of the underworld) is quite definitively the hardest part of the game. despite all this when you get good and get it right, its very satisfying to do well at it.

    And then it ends. My stats log lists the game as played for 5 hours when I completed it, but I completed half the game before restarting (I lost all power ups to the thieves and it auto-saved when I reached the next area), and left my 3DS on standby for at least an hour (I don't know if that is included). I could have been much faster if I wasn't so meticulous about power up collection.

    The price is like all eShop titles, more than it's worth. £5.40 for a re-release of an old game, that as far as I can tell has taken little or no effort on their part (except to label which sprites belong to which layer). if the price ever comes down to £2 or £2.50, then this would be an 8.5 or 9 out of 10, but it is too short and insubstantial to warrant the same price as so many full 3D games on steam.

    Finally, the title "3D Classics" is a bit misleading. While technically using the 3D feature to separate the sprite layers of the game, it makes almost no difference and is barely noticeable.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    A very wise move for Nintendo as it makes this 8-bit classic a visual masterpiece and keeps to the original game's control scheme. It truly is essential for this game to appear on the E-shop as Kid Icarus: Uprising is on it's way. Full Review »
  3. Aug 23, 2012
    6
    I never know how to score classics. Do I give it a 10 because I can tell that 25 years ago it was an awesome game? Or do I judge based on the fun I'm having right now? Well you see my score so you decide. Full Review »