Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 524 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizingThere are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizing your world is part of the fun. Create cool patterns for clothing or furniture, build new structures in your town, design gardens and museum displays, and so much more. Time passes in the world of Animal Crossing just as it does in real life. Celebrate holidays and see the seasons change. Meet new visitors or get gifts from your neighbors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf represents not only the pinnacle of the series, but also the ingenuity of the life simulation genre.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    97
    It’s not something that you can marathon, it’s not something you can “beat,” and going in without those expectations will ruin it for you. Its portable nature, plus all of the extra features that they’ve been adding since the first game on the GameCube make this not only the best game in the series, but also a perfect starting point for newcomers.
  3. 90
    The definitive version of one of the best feel-good franchises ever.
  4. 90
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf is a beast of a game, featuring hundreds of hours of open-ended gameplay. If you were turned off by the lack of structure and real goals in previous Animal Crossing games, nothing here will change your mind.
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    New Leaf is a truly magical game. It is the best entry in the series yet.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    84
    New Leaf has an addictive bent unmatched in most other titles, and it will keep those even mildly interested coming back for days and days.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    A new leaf has not been turned. Rather, an old dog is on display. Faithful, loyal, and hard to dislike, but you know what it can do already.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 120
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Much different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so muchMuch different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so much smoother and better in every way! The whole game seems happier and Nintendo really listened to its fans. It may sound silly, but being able to sell all your items at once or have the owl appraise all your items at once saves a ton of time and is so convenient! No game is perfect, but this is so close! 9.9/10 Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2015
    10
    This is such an addictive game, I bought several games since getting this & I just can't put this 1 down such a relaxing care free game ifThis is such an addictive game, I bought several games since getting this & I just can't put this 1 down such a relaxing care free game if this is your type of game you won't be disappointed with this one Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am completely new to the Animal Crossing series. Up until this game, I had no prior knowledge of this series or what to expect when getting New Leaf. All I knew was that it was a life simulator with cute animal people in it.

    I ended up getting far more than I could have ever imagined. Your town and your people are ALIVE, make no mistake. This game is packed with little details and small charms all over the place that will make anyone new to the series say "Wow, really? I wonder what else will happen..."

    Your villagers are intelligent, they know what goes on around them and will comment on it. Your town grows over time, day by day, very slowly. Relationships develop, buildings rise, seasons change and villagers move in and out. There are over 300 possible citizens for your village, and you can only have 10 at a time. This is a painful kind of potential where you want to see as much as you can, but you'll only get there with time.

    It's much more than a slice-of-life simulator. It's literally another life, all to yourself, where you're in charge and these little animal people look up to you to make their town the best in the world. After a week, you may find yourself getting a deep-seated feeling for your little town and it's people, smiling at some of the things they say and hopefully getting a little chuckle out of it sometimes too.

    Daily routines are common, but somehow not repetitive or boring. There's plenty of options for things to do if something doesn't suit your mood that day, or you can just do nothing at all! This game has literally no obligations tied to it, and it makes for a very therapeutic sort of relaxation game. Go fishing. Plant some trees, water some flowers. Or just gaze at the stars.

    The possibilities are endless, and no two people will ever have the exact same town.

    I don't think I could have picked a better time to dive into the Animal Crossing series. $40 well spent; I'll be playing this game for years to come.
    Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    This is my first Animal Crossing game and I have no regrets. This game was basically my summer, giving me lots of things to do everyday,This is my first Animal Crossing game and I have no regrets. This game was basically my summer, giving me lots of things to do everyday, growing my town, gaining the respect of my residents and developing my own house. If I have any issues with this game, is that the chatbox when talking to others is very short. Other than that, everything is so perfect that I don't even notice the little flaws. This game is known to be the best in its series, and I'm not surprised. Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Animal Crossing New Leaf takes the fun of the previous games in the series, and adds new and innovative features. In this instalment, youAnimal Crossing New Leaf takes the fun of the previous games in the series, and adds new and innovative features. In this instalment, you become the mayor of the town, which means there is a lot more freedom and activities to do in the game. The game is fun and relaxing, so it is not for everyone, but most people can get lost in the game and spend hours playing it. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2014
    9
    Animal Crossing is an example of a simple game that is simply enjoyable. The art style is quaint, bright and cheerful. The characters are funAnimal Crossing is an example of a simple game that is simply enjoyable. The art style is quaint, bright and cheerful. The characters are fun and memorable. It is truely a quintessential Nintendo game and displays the creativity and uniqeness that Nintendo brings to the gaming industry. Yes, the game can be a bit slow and is not too enjoyable to play for hours at a time. However, for how simply the game is--it is quietly dynamic. Every day brings something new and fun to do. Every week brings a new surprise (like a lost sailor, an art dealer selling potential conterfits, a DJ, and more). Even every month can potentially bring a new surprise with new animals moving into your town, a holiday or a specifical event. Again, this game possess a quiet dynamism coupled with a cheerful art scheme and charming characters and charming activities to partake in. Enjoy. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2015
    1
    I know Nintendo DSes don't have many good game options so people got crazy over this game because it's different from most and has more to itI know Nintendo DSes don't have many good game options so people got crazy over this game because it's different from most and has more to it than the first Animal Crossing, but I can't give into the hype. Honestly this game made me feel like I was playing a game meant for a 5 to 10 year old. Collect fruit, shells, and fish for money. Upgrade house, build bridges, do ridiculously easy favors like give a present to someone in exchange for a t-shirt, dig holes, catch bugs, send letters.. After just a week of playing this game, I was sick of the boring tasks I had to do repeatedly for dosh. I didn't feel like there were any difficult missions or game structure. I know there's more to it when you get deeper into the game but I couldn't tolerate how slow moving it was and the lack of things to do at night. Fantasy Life and Rune Factory 4 basically has the same things included in this game along with in depth missions and hours and hours of gameplay that is enjoyable. A few hours pass by and you're like wow I didn't realize. In Animal Crossing, I struggled to play for more than 30 minutes at a time, I lost interest easily. If you're in the younger crowd, this is for you. Expand

See all 120 User Reviews