Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 490 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizingThere are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizing your world is part of the fun. Create cool patterns for clothing or furniture, build new structures in your town, design gardens and museum displays, and so much more. Time passes in the world of Animal Crossing just as it does in real life. Celebrate holidays and see the seasons change. Meet new visitors or get gifts from your neighbors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf represents not only the pinnacle of the series, but also the ingenuity of the life simulation genre.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    97
    It’s not something that you can marathon, it’s not something you can “beat,” and going in without those expectations will ruin it for you. Its portable nature, plus all of the extra features that they’ve been adding since the first game on the GameCube make this not only the best game in the series, but also a perfect starting point for newcomers.
  3. 90
    The definitive version of one of the best feel-good franchises ever.
  4. 90
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf is a beast of a game, featuring hundreds of hours of open-ended gameplay. If you were turned off by the lack of structure and real goals in previous Animal Crossing games, nothing here will change your mind.
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    New Leaf is a truly magical game. It is the best entry in the series yet.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    84
    New Leaf has an addictive bent unmatched in most other titles, and it will keep those even mildly interested coming back for days and days.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    A new leaf has not been turned. Rather, an old dog is on display. Faithful, loyal, and hard to dislike, but you know what it can do already.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 114
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Much different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so muchMuch different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so much smoother and better in every way! The whole game seems happier and Nintendo really listened to its fans. It may sound silly, but being able to sell all your items at once or have the owl appraise all your items at once saves a ton of time and is so convenient! No game is perfect, but this is so close! 9.9/10 Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    It is my first Animal Crossing game and it's absolutely fantastic :-) It's like a "free to play" game, without the micro-transactions, reallyIt is my first Animal Crossing game and it's absolutely fantastic :-) It's like a "free to play" game, without the micro-transactions, really charming and heartwarming. You decide on how much you want to spend with the game, but I already scored over 70 hours in around a month, there's always something to do: take care of fruit trees, plant and water flowers, collect shells, visit other gamers, have mini parties with your villagers, who are cute and silly and funny. It's a great game to play when you don't want to save the world another time, or you just want to do something positive, since you can never loose in this game, every villager tells you how awesome you are, and in general this game makes you feel great about life and yourself. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    Absolutley magnificent! I've really enjoyed this game so far, it's so relaxing and fun at the same time, very pretty visuals and a lot ofAbsolutley magnificent! I've really enjoyed this game so far, it's so relaxing and fun at the same time, very pretty visuals and a lot of charm! A lot of things to do and the new online modes are very intresting. Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Animal's Crossing: New Leaf is a sort of life simulator game, where time flows just like it does in the real world.

    If you ever played an
    Animal's Crossing: New Leaf is a sort of life simulator game, where time flows just like it does in the real world.

    If you ever played an AC game before you know exactly what you're diving into, it's more of the same, only done better!

    For the newcomers, this is a game that you play day by day as the year goes by, partaking in events, meeting the locals, relax as you catch fish/bugs and generally just do whatever you feel like, there are lots of goals to accomplish in-game, be it completing the museum with various collectibles or decorating your house to your liking, pay your loan to get expansions to your house or just casually play with friends, there's something for everyone here.

    AC: NL brings some major and a lot of minor additions to the game, which ultimately enriches the experience by quite a lot, the biggest major addition tho, is being the mayor of your own little virtual town.

    Being the mayor brings in all sorts of extra features, like being able to build town projects and putting ordinances into place. These projects range from building a new bridge over the river to an expansion of the town museum...

    A minor addition (but a good one at that) is the ability to play with more people on 1 cartridge/town, this means if you and a friend/girlfriend want to live in the same town this is completely possible, but if your friend/girlfriend does something, this will be reflected the next time you start up the game for your character.

    All in all, Animals Crossing: New Leaf has something for everyone and when you find time to invest in it, you can play for months to come, it's not for people looking for a fast and action paced game, it's something you need to do a few minutes/hours a day while relaxing and enjoying your ever growing/evolving town.
    Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    fiancé loved it, I thought it was alright. She was a fan since the wii version. if you like the wii version you will more than likely love thefiancé loved it, I thought it was alright. She was a fan since the wii version. if you like the wii version you will more than likely love the 3DS version. its not really my cup of tea but I can see how some like it. I gave it a 9 because I feel the developers accomplished what they were going for and gave you more choices. still could use more changes especially if it takes a couple years to make Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2014
    9
    Before playing New Leaf, the only experience I've had with Animal Crossing was the original on the GameCube and while I enjoyed the original,Before playing New Leaf, the only experience I've had with Animal Crossing was the original on the GameCube and while I enjoyed the original, I was completely blown away from this game. I was addicted to this game since day one, there was lots to do and the game changes as time goes on which is both good and bad in a way. It's good because it gives you things to look forward to, but it was also bad for me mainly because I would get a bit impatient to see what happens next to the point of where I would start playing early in the morning. But there was plenty of activity to do and I would strongly recommend this game to anyone who has a Nintendo 3ds or 2ds. If you are only going to buy one animal crossing game, then let it be Animal Crossing: New Leaf. Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    4
    If your a classic traditional Animal Crossing Fan like me. You may find the game wanders away from the original game. You become the mayor ofIf your a classic traditional Animal Crossing Fan like me. You may find the game wanders away from the original game. You become the mayor of your chosen town which strays away from staring from the bottom as in other Animal Crossing titles such as City Life and Wild World. I felt disappointed with the game and felt the 3D in the game felt as if it was a gimmick.
    4/10 Poor Check Out My other reviews
    Expand

See all 114 User Reviews