Animal Crossing: New Leaf 3DS

Animal Crossing: New Leaf Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 580 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizingThere are no points or levels, just a myriad of sights and sounds, places and activities...all ready to explore. Spend your time passing new ordinances—or going fishing. Hang out at a coffee shop or visit a tropical island. It's up to you. Your game is what you make of it—and personalizing your world is part of the fun. Create cool patterns for clothing or furniture, build new structures in your town, design gardens and museum displays, and so much more. Time passes in the world of Animal Crossing just as it does in real life. Celebrate holidays and see the seasons change. Meet new visitors or get gifts from your neighbors. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf represents not only the pinnacle of the series, but also the ingenuity of the life simulation genre.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    97
    It’s not something that you can marathon, it’s not something you can “beat,” and going in without those expectations will ruin it for you. Its portable nature, plus all of the extra features that they’ve been adding since the first game on the GameCube make this not only the best game in the series, but also a perfect starting point for newcomers.
  3. 90
    The definitive version of one of the best feel-good franchises ever.
  4. 90
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf is a beast of a game, featuring hundreds of hours of open-ended gameplay. If you were turned off by the lack of structure and real goals in previous Animal Crossing games, nothing here will change your mind.
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    New Leaf is a truly magical game. It is the best entry in the series yet.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    84
    New Leaf has an addictive bent unmatched in most other titles, and it will keep those even mildly interested coming back for days and days.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    A new leaf has not been turned. Rather, an old dog is on display. Faithful, loyal, and hard to dislike, but you know what it can do already.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 126
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Much different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so muchMuch different than the previous DS version I popped in the old game today to see the difference, and "Animal Crossing: New Leaf" is so much smoother and better in every way! The whole game seems happier and Nintendo really listened to its fans. It may sound silly, but being able to sell all your items at once or have the owl appraise all your items at once saves a ton of time and is so convenient! No game is perfect, but this is so close! 9.9/10 Collapse
  2. Jul 6, 2015
    10
    This game is one of the most addictive life simulation games out there for Nintendo! Because you play as the mayor there is so much to do toThis game is one of the most addictive life simulation games out there for Nintendo! Because you play as the mayor there is so much to do to customize your town and so much replay value in completing all the aspects of your town and such. Really is a great buy Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    I have been a long time fan of this series, and this game makes me glad to still be a fan of it. The fact that you can be mayor of the town isI have been a long time fan of this series, and this game makes me glad to still be a fan of it. The fact that you can be mayor of the town is awesome, not to mention the fact that you can choose where your house is, is awesome. The graphics are also beautiful, and the 3D really gives the game depth, which is subtle but very nice to have. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    I personally did not have high expectations for this game, but this game exceeded the levels of greatness. The characters somewhat sometimesI personally did not have high expectations for this game, but this game exceeded the levels of greatness. The characters somewhat sometimes feel repetitive as far as dialogue is concerned.
    After dark the game can become quite boring, but this is what Animal Crossing is all about. A world where your little animals seem alive even when not playing.

    Superb.
    Expand
  5. May 27, 2014
    9
    Story: N/A
    Gameplay: 9/10
    - Simple and easy to learn. Art: 9/10 - Cute and quite adorable. Characters: 8/10 - All the villagers seem to
    Story: N/A
    Gameplay: 9/10
    - Simple and easy to learn.
    Art: 9/10
    - Cute and quite adorable.
    Characters: 8/10
    - All the villagers seem to have a certain type of personality, all interesting in their own way.
    Sound: 9/10
    - Pleasant sounds and music; DJ K.K. provides a variety of catchy songs.
    Enjoyment: 7/10
    - It is fun to play from time to time, but it can get extremely repetitive.
    I recommend people to play this with friends, since playing it by yourself can get boring really fast.
    Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2014
    9
    A wonderful game. From someone who hasn't played the other ones, makes me want to play them. This so far is one of my favorite 3DS game. OnlyA wonderful game. From someone who hasn't played the other ones, makes me want to play them. This so far is one of my favorite 3DS game. Only thing I don't like is that In the begging, It makes you wait for a pretty long time for things to get "interesting". But If you can get over that, this game will keep you entertain for a LONG TIME Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2015
    1
    I know Nintendo DSes don't have many good game options so people got crazy over this game because it's different from most and has more to itI know Nintendo DSes don't have many good game options so people got crazy over this game because it's different from most and has more to it than the first Animal Crossing, but I can't give into the hype. Honestly this game made me feel like I was playing a game meant for a 5 to 10 year old. Collect fruit, shells, and fish for money. Upgrade house, build bridges, do ridiculously easy favors like give a present to someone in exchange for a t-shirt, dig holes, catch bugs, send letters.. After just a week of playing this game, I was sick of the boring tasks I had to do repeatedly for dosh. I didn't feel like there were any difficult missions or game structure. I know there's more to it when you get deeper into the game but I couldn't tolerate how slow moving it was and the lack of things to do at night. Fantasy Life and Rune Factory 4 basically has the same things included in this game along with in depth missions and hours and hours of gameplay that is enjoyable. A few hours pass by and you're like wow I didn't realize. In Animal Crossing, I struggled to play for more than 30 minutes at a time, I lost interest easily. If you're in the younger crowd, this is for you. Expand

See all 126 User Reviews