Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This Cartoon Network Fighter is a crossover fighting game featuring the stars of Ben 10, Dexter's Laboratory, PowerPuff Girls, and more.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. 75
    A wonderful example of how to make a good Smash Bros. send-up. It's not quite as polished as Nintendo's premier fighting franchise, but it is a fun experience with an entertaining and interesting single-player mode, as well as amusing multiplayer, if you can find the people around to play it.
  2. May 6, 2011
    70
    Punch Time Explosion is not a trendsetter; that's for certain. But with no portable Super Smash Bros. in sight, it's a likeable interpretation that will curb your cravings--or start them anew. [May 2011, p.89]
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    70
    Solo fighters can also duke it out with the CPU, but the real draw here is CNPTE's surprisingly fleshed-out story mode. Lightning-quick combat, loads of unlockable characters, fun stages that effectively capture the flavor of the source material, and varied challenges should keep fans absorbed throughout. It's not about to rob Smash Bros. of its championship belt, but it's still a thumb-blistering good time for anyone who can claim to have spent a few couch-bound afternoons soaking in Cartoon Network's unique brand of boob-tube fare.
  4. Shows promise, but the combat hasn't been fine-tuned carefully enough. [Apr 2012, p.94]
  5. Feb 26, 2012
    52
    A passable clone of Nintendo's classic brawler is undermined by a frustrating single-player mode. You're better off waiting for the real thing instead. [Feb 2012, p.97]
  6. May 29, 2012
    50
    Super Smash Bros in all but name, this basic fighter just doesn't do enough with its fighting engine or character-rich licence.
  7. May 29, 2012
    40
    If you watch Cartoon Network during the day you may like it, if you prefer their Adult Swim shows avoid.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This game was a huge surprise, because I thought it was just going to be shovelware based on all the different cartoons in the game. After sixThis game was a huge surprise, because I thought it was just going to be shovelware based on all the different cartoons in the game. After six hours deep into the storyline, I realized that Punch Time Explosion was not an attempt for the creators to make a quick buck. The game has great production value, great gameplay, and awesome wi-fi multiplayer (even though my roommates are better than me).

    We used to play a LOT of SSBB, and when we started playing Punch Time, it brought back some great memories. The game has a good range of characters that are nicely balanced. I actually like that the makers of the game followed some of the rules that Smash did. Your damage percentage goes up during a fight, which will make you fly farther off the arenas. The characters have Smash attacks that can be timed to do a lot of damage. I wish Smash was on 3DS, but since it's not, you can at least play Punch Time. It's easily the best smash fighter out there on 3DS.

    They definitely chose the best characters from Cartoon Network. Samurai Jack and the Powerpuff Girls are probably the best fighters, in my opinion. However, my roommates tend to use Dexter, Grim, Ben10, and Numbuh One the most. You'll have to play the game to find your best characters.

    The reason why I'm giving the game a 10, is because it's a brand new title on a brand new console, and offers quality art and gameplay. I was getting bored with playing Street Fighter, because I had already played it to death on 360. Of all the original titles for 3DS, this is the best one.
    Collapse
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    As an old time Cartoon Network show fan (especially Dexter and Power Puff Girls) this game really hits the spot. It comes with a great singleAs an old time Cartoon Network show fan (especially Dexter and Power Puff Girls) this game really hits the spot. It comes with a great single player experience that combines fun game play and combat with platform elements and mini-games that make this feel refreshing and fun from start to end. Further if you have some friends around it lets you play up to 4 players Wi-fi and lets you battle it all out. It is a plus if you are familiar with Super Smash controls as this game mimics those and it will give you and edge fighting your friends (or AI if you have no one around) or just beating up enemies in single player. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    After reading many of the negative reviews online and from Game Informer which gave it a 4 out of 10.... But when my gamefly account startedAfter reading many of the negative reviews online and from Game Informer which gave it a 4 out of 10.... But when my gamefly account started up again I decided to pick it up. I am about 2 hours through the story mode. The game is pretty solid with good platforming(despite what others say) and combat that isnt as polished as it could be but good enough. The graphics are good and the 3d does make it look great and it has no frame drops. The roster is made of a variety of characters and each with their own move sets. The story itself is solid and does a pretty good job at changing the scenes and characters. The amount of different scenes is very good and varies from cartoon to cartoon. multi player is also a plus since it has Download play, vs cpu and vs player local. The only real error I can find in this game is the terrible voice acting and sounds in general. While some characters do sound fine most of them seem off even with earphones. The explosions and other noises tend to be low quality and the only thing that didnt hurt my ears was the narrator,but this problem can be easily fixed by turning your volume off. So overall this is a very solid 3DS brawling and will help kill off your bordom till better games come out and eventually they bring smash brothers to the 3DS(it has been announced). Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2015
    7
    The main gripe about this game is that it didn't have new characters (i.e Finn, Jake, Mordecai, Rigby, Gumball etc etc). This game is meant toThe main gripe about this game is that it didn't have new characters (i.e Finn, Jake, Mordecai, Rigby, Gumball etc etc). This game is meant to remember the old characters like Chowder and Numbah 1. There is a wide selection of characters, along with good gameplay and graphics. Though, I recommend the re-release for the consoles, as it has a larger selection of characters (Johnny Bravo being an example), and slightly better graphics Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2011
    7
    Cartoon Network Punch Time Explosion is an Average Game That is A Super Smash Bros.Clone That is Okay. Emphasis on Okay. It is Fun on BattleCartoon Network Punch Time Explosion is an Average Game That is A Super Smash Bros.Clone That is Okay. Emphasis on Okay. It is Fun on Battle Mode, Hard on Story Mode and Packs a decent Super Smash Bros. Clone, 7 Out of 10, 71.4% Out of 100%, Rent it Before Buying it to see if you Like It Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2011
    5
    A decent game. if you are a cartoon network fan, you will love it. The Gameplay is alright (Not even close to Smash Bros.) . The 3-d aspect isA decent game. if you are a cartoon network fan, you will love it. The Gameplay is alright (Not even close to Smash Bros.) . The 3-d aspect is fantastic and adds to the game. The main problem though, is that this is the most glitchy game have ever played. You can't go through 30 minutes without the screen freezing up in story mode. The game was a let down for me. Without the glitches, would've given this game a 7, but sadly the glitches make an otherwise good game... suck. Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2013
    1
    Before I think I over exaggerated the positive aspects in this game, good bosses, and good graphics. Now it is time to take into account theBefore I think I over exaggerated the positive aspects in this game, good bosses, and good graphics. Now it is time to take into account the bad things: -Terrible Music, -Short length to beat the whole game, -Atrocious and outdated character selection, -Almost retarded AI, -No Online, -No Street pass, -Imperfect Precision in Controls, -Similarity in Move sets, -Bad Cut scenes in Story Mode, -Similar level design for Story Mode, -Inconvenient menus, -Imperfect hit detection, -Glitches that cause the 3DS to restart (3 times, even; this has never happened in another 3DS game before), -Tediousness within the game -Overall, a lack of polish that should have been considered during its creation. If you know what's good for you, consider this before buy this game (most likely if off eBay or from Walmart). Overall, 0.8/10, the worst 3DS game I have ever played Expand

See all 14 User Reviews