Cave Story 3DS

  • Publisher: Nicalis
  • Release Date: Oct 4, 2012
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    90
    It is a well-designed, challenging, fun, evocative experience that rewards multiple play-throughs.
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    95
    This new release has just as much content as any other version of the game, if not more. Overall, it stands right alongside Cave Story+ as one of the best, if not the best, version of Cave Story to date.
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    91
    Minor complaints aside, it's great to see an enhanced version of Cave Story available on eShop. The stereoscopic 3D adds a little depth, which is nice, and the game controls as wonderfully as ever. But once again, choosing the best version depends on personal preference.
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    90
    Cave Story may come from humble PC beginnings but it feels most in its element in this slick portable package. Nicalis has put together the definitive Cave Story compilation, but without any earth-shattering changes or additions it's ultimately just another way to play an all-time classic on familiar hardware. Granted, that's still a rather excellent thing, as the game is so pleasing to play that we're more than happy to delve into it yet again, and again.
  5. 95
    Even without any additions, Cave Story is still the same amazing game people have raved about for eight years. It's one of the best 2D platformers in recent memory, and this version is worthwhile if you've never played it before or are itching for a reason to play it again.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games ever, now for download on the eShop, this great title looks even better with the 3D effect that make the spritesOne of the greatest games ever, now for download on the eShop, this great title looks even better with the 3D effect that make the sprites come to life even more. One of the jewels in the indie department. Get it now! Full Review »
  2. Aug 14, 2014
    10
    probably the best indie game there is.

    gameplay: so f***ing addictive 10 graphics: beautiful (yes i love 8-16 bits visuals more than the
    probably the best indie game there is.

    gameplay: so f***ing addictive 10
    graphics: beautiful (yes i love 8-16 bits visuals more than the high-tech stuff we have now) 10
    sounds: amazing 10
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    Him - "Cave Story is better than Metroid"

    Me ( die-hard Metroid fan ) - *cocks gun* "whadju say?" *shows me game* I beat it in a casual
    Him - "Cave Story is better than Metroid"

    Me ( die-hard Metroid fan ) - *cocks gun* "whadju say?"

    *shows me game* I beat it in a casual week.

    *head explodes. mind blown*

    Him - "You actually made this vague crappy dialogue a full review?"

    Me - *still dead*
    Full Review »