Chibi-Robo! Photo Finder 3DS

Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Jan 13, 2014
    80
    Despite the occasional stutters, Chibi-Robo! Photo Finder is a uniquely enjoyable game that will test your creativity from start to finish.
  2. Aug 6, 2014
    70
    As a standalone retail release it would be passable, but as a cheap download what has been packed in is simply amazing and surprisingly addictive.
  3. Jun 16, 2014
    70
    Although this tiny, yet full of secrets house world is cut into little areas, hence constraining exploration, Chibi-Robo develops its talent for photography by exploiting the 3DS features cleverly, while still doing odd jobs for the even weirder inhabitants.
  4. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Aug 8, 2014
    64
    It's hard for a game to win hearts when it keeps kicking you in the shins. [Aug 2014, p.82]
  5. Jul 6, 2014
    60
    A bizarre game that works on paper but much less on screen. At first glance it's fun, but after a while it loses its steam and it becomes tedious and frustrating.
  6. Jun 18, 2014
    60
    Let’s Go, Photo!’s biggest stumbling block is the Nintendo 3DS itself. Its poorly spec’ed camera has always been pretty useless, even for taking pictures – trying to use it for a game is a mostly fruitless endeavor.
  7. Jun 18, 2014
    60
    The tasks presented are fun to fulfill and make use of one of the most overlooked assets of the 3DS. Let's Go, Photo! could use some more variety in its whole but it shows Nintendo can deliver more than the usual series everyone knows.
  8. Jan 20, 2014
    60
    If you’re still interested after reading through our criticisms, there’s likely enough here to justify a purchase; otherwise, you’re probably best off leaving this photo undeveloped.
  9. Jul 9, 2014
    58
    Taking pictures of your house and stealing your own objects with Chibi-Robo is pretty fun, even with the poor 3DS' camera. But the minigames required to finally take some photos are just boring and uninteresting.
  10. Feb 3, 2014
    58
    Photo Finder is a decent adventure stuffed with charm and fun.
  11. Aug 6, 2014
    50
    Dull mini games and misinterpreted pictures: after the solid Gamecube game, we would have expected a brighter future for Chibi.
  12. Jul 21, 2014
    50
    Despite its flaws it's a game that focuses on interaction and the use of some features of the 3DS. Not everyone will feel rewarded playing it but no doubt they will experience something different.
  13. 50
    Photo Finder is easily the weakest entry in the Chibi-Robo series and lacks the same vision and atmosphere of its forerunners, but it still has the love Skip always pours into its quirky adventures.
  14. Jan 20, 2014
    50
    It's a noble and sweet idea, held back by monotonous grinding and technical issues. And by "technical issues" I mean "the camera."
  15. Jul 18, 2014
    40
    Chibi-robo deserved a much better return after the GameCube times than this inconsistent and pricey experiment: it's really difficult to recommend Let's go, photo! to anyone, no matter the tastes and age.
  16. Jul 6, 2014
    40
    When you start the game up, it seems fun and original to use the 3DS camera to take pictures that are actually being used in the game. It is too bad that underneath that interesting surface, a very repetitive game is waiting for you. The mini-games feel like chores and the graphics are a little too random to feel like a good and solid game.
  17. Jul 2, 2014
    40
    Chibi-Robo simply isn't much fun.
  18. Feb 10, 2014
    30
    While the idea of turning real world items into in-game ones is pretty neat, the game throws in everything it can to make the experience as uninteresting as it possibly can.
  19. games(TM)
    Aug 20, 2014
    20
    The central mechanic barely works. [Sept 2014, p.122]
  20. 20
    A bafflingly dull extension of a franchise that barely deserved one sequel, let alone three; with tedious mini-games and laughably bad use of the 3DS camera.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    This is an adorable, fun game. The original Chibi Robo was one of my favourite games of all time, and this one doesn't disappoint for what theThis is an adorable, fun game. The original Chibi Robo was one of my favourite games of all time, and this one doesn't disappoint for what the price is. It's a really cool idea and I didn't realize how quickly it would turn into a scavenger hunt - I'm 26 and I have my parents helping me find things to fit the outlines. It's pretty awesome seeing your household items come to life (my personal favourite was the outlet). The only thing I would improve at this point is adding an option for text speed. There's a lot of repetitive dialogue and it gets annoying waiting for it to finish. Otherwise I would have given it a 10. Looking forward to playing more of this game. it's worth every penny! Full Review »
  2. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    It's really good and fun. Before I bought, I was thinking "It looks fun to take a real picture and it be transported to the game by Chibi, butIt's really good and fun. Before I bought, I was thinking "It looks fun to take a real picture and it be transported to the game by Chibi, but just it?". Fortunately, I was mistaken. There are a lot of things to do in the game: Missions, exploring, etc. And it all for just $ 9,99. Buy and enjoy =) Full Review »
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Love the game ^_^
    Keeps you busy, keeps you striving for 100% shots, and there's plenty of laughs from all the different characters.
    The challenges and puzzles keep you on your toes, though some are rather easy.

    As a hint, if you're having trouble getting 100% shots or don't have some items in your home or nearby, google images is always an option lol
    Full Review »