• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Oct 9, 2012
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 57
  2. Negative: 6 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    This is probably one of the best 3DS games I've played in a long time. Story mode is pretty awesome and the dialog is quite well written and funny. Voice actors are great too! The gameplay can be pretty challenging at times, but you can grind yourself up to the right level when you need to. I also like how you can play as different characters in both story mode and free play. Only issue i have is with the frame rate at times, but it doesn't really take away from the experience for me. A must have for any RPG fan. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    Like JRPGs but wish they were more action oriented. Well then Code of Princess is up your alley. Great looking graphics, arcade style action and goofy plot lines make for a whimsical and fun game experience. The characters are well designed but and kinda fan-service but the game play and tone more then make-up for it. The 3d has a diorama effect giving a toy-like appearance to the experience, which was a plus for me. I can't wait to unlock all the characters. Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    Being named the spiritual successor to Guardian Heroes, Code of Princess is finally here. But does it live up to the hype? Short answer, YES! COP is a beautiful JRPG beat em up game that has a ton of content, including local/WiFi co-op/vs multiplayer action, and over 50 playable characters. The campaign is broken up in bight sized sections, which is good for on the go gaming. The story is good and once I got the combat mechanics down I was hooked. There are some minor issues with slow-down but nothing that deters from the experience however, I could tell that this game was designed with the original 3DS in mind, not the 3DS XL. Either-way the game is fun and beautiful, never letting up not even at the end. Campaign isn't too long but, with 50+ playable characters and full campaign with up to 4 players Local/WiFi multiplayer and also a 2-4 player VS mode, Code of Princess will keep you busy for a long time. Enjoy and support great games from Japan. Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome!... I have sunk about 10 hours into the game and am still captivated by the game play. The combat system is simple but deep executing the right moves at the right time to chain together combos takes skill and practice. The game plays more like a fighter than it does a brawler. I wish there were more depth on the rpg elements not they are shallow in anyway but i would have like to have seen more done with the weapons system. I can see why they didn't though the game is filled to the brim with content whether it be unlocked characters, online game modes, single player game modes etc. I could go on forever. I have had no frame rate drops and only had a lag issue in one match of the 30 or so ive played. The graphics are smooth and animations are seamless as well. This game is worth every penny of the 40$ price tag. Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    Code of Princess is basically a spiritual successor to Sega Saturn's Guardian Heroes. It's a 2D brawler/beat 'em up with beautiful sprites, fun gameplay, role-play hooks like loot & leveling up, in addition to tons of unlockable characters and a fun story that uses them all very well. I love this game. So why'd I give it a 9 instead of a 10? There's some serious framerate slowdown at times, which can definitely put a hamper on the game's glorious gameplay. Had they polished up the framerate, this game would truly be a 10 for me. Definitely a rare treat of a game and for fans of Guardian Heroes. Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    This is one of the only games from this generation that I feel deserves a 10/10. At first glance, I thought it would be just another one of Fatlus' JRPG games like all the rest. And I'm sure a lot of you felt the same. I bought this game originally just for collecting and archiving purposes, but instantly fell in love after I gave it a chance.
    Everything about the game is light hearted
    and goofy. And that is a great change from the usual pace of realistic dark and grimy shooters we have this days. But it doesn't ruin the combat a bit. The combat in this game is very deep and also fun. If you are a fan of fighting games, you will be able to pull of combos very easily.
    The dialogue is captivating. I haven't felt inclined to watch cutscenes in years. The characters are cool, interesting and have a lot of depth. I was also very impressed with the voice acting. Not a lot of 3DS games actually have real voice actors, just text to tell the story.
    On top of all that, this game has infinite replay value. 50 unlockable characters, all with their own stats you can customize to your playstyle, plus tons of unlockable items that do a variety of things.
    And the multiplayer. I don't know what to say, other than this is the best game to have on the 3DS if you want to play with friends.
    This is a must have game for any 3DS owner. Even if you don't like anime, trust me, you will enjoy this game thoroughly.
    Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    It has a genius localization thanks to Atlus, its humour is just great, you'll be playing to see what the character will say next, also, for the fans of beat-em-ups its a good game. The only downside is that it can suffer from frame rate when you're playing with more than 2 people, other than that, great.
  8. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    this game is good like the games that we have in the 90's but sadly in this generation of gamers when a game wants to be like and old school god game the is underated and killed by bad critics, i think this game is vibrant ad colorfull and has a good sountrack (if your ear was trained in the 90's), i would recomend to everyone who want to had a good time. this game is replayeable and you can play with every character on the game. Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Dec 18, 2013
    70
    Code of Princess plays like an old school game, but as a package manages to feel fresh due to its witty script, complete with sharp voice acting.
  2. Like Lady Zozo, its heart is in the right place, but its arms and legs are on backwards and inside out. Too monotonous to be entertaining.
  3. May 9, 2013
    52
    A royal pain in the ass. [June 2013, p.83]