• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Code of Princess is an action RPG brawler for Nintendo 3DS with cooperative and competitive multiplayer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    93
    The gurus at Atlas have once again graced us with a fantastic piece of gaming art. If you own a 3DS, then you owe it to yourself to try this great game.
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    80
    With a simple gameplay but that leaves us always wanting play more, an appealing visual look, and modes that guarantee entertainment for many hours, this is certainly another great game for the Nintendo 3DS's catalog.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    75
    A really interesting new addition for the Nintendo 3DS eShop game library. An extremely engaging beat´em up experience despite its issues.
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    70
    Code of Princess is a fun and funny fantasy brawler that's unfortunately hampered by technical issues.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    69
    Beyond the winning localization and expert voice acting, though, playing through this adventure just felt lacking – its various unique ideas and innovations never came together to create a real sense of fun.
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    60
    This could have been good, but the visual chaos on-screen is really a shame.
  7. Dec 19, 2012
    30
    The JRPG genre is ripe with overused characters and plot points worth joking about, but the game's lazy mish-mash of half-assembled ideas rarely made me laugh. Code of Princess wants to be a clever parody, but it never rises above the level of shameful mockery.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    This is one of the only games from this generation that I feel deserves a 10/10. At first glance, I thought it would be just another one of Fatlus' JRPG games like all the rest. And I'm sure a lot of you felt the same. I bought this game originally just for collecting and archiving purposes, but instantly fell in love after I gave it a chance.
    Everything about the game is light hearted and goofy. And that is a great change from the usual pace of realistic dark and grimy shooters we have this days. But it doesn't ruin the combat a bit. The combat in this game is very deep and also fun. If you are a fan of fighting games, you will be able to pull of combos very easily.
    The dialogue is captivating. I haven't felt inclined to watch cutscenes in years. The characters are cool, interesting and have a lot of depth. I was also very impressed with the voice acting. Not a lot of 3DS games actually have real voice actors, just text to tell the story.
    On top of all that, this game has infinite replay value. 50 unlockable characters, all with their own stats you can customize to your playstyle, plus tons of unlockable items that do a variety of things.
    And the multiplayer. I don't know what to say, other than this is the best game to have on the 3DS if you want to play with friends.
    This is a must have game for any 3DS owner. Even if you don't like anime, trust me, you will enjoy this game thoroughly.
    Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome!... I have sunk about 10 hours into the game and am still captivated by the game play. The combat system is simple but deep executing the right moves at the right time to chain together combos takes skill and practice. The game plays more like a fighter than it does a brawler. I wish there were more depth on the rpg elements not they are shallow in anyway but i would have like to have seen more done with the weapons system. I can see why they didn't though the game is filled to the brim with content whether it be unlocked characters, online game modes, single player game modes etc. I could go on forever. I have had no frame rate drops and only had a lag issue in one match of the 30 or so ive played. The graphics are smooth and animations are seamless as well. This game is worth every penny of the 40$ price tag. Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    This is probably one of the best 3DS games I've played in a long time. Story mode is pretty awesome and the dialog is quite well written and funny. Voice actors are great too! The gameplay can be pretty challenging at times, but you can grind yourself up to the right level when you need to. I also like how you can play as different characters in both story mode and free play. Only issue i have is with the frame rate at times, but it doesn't really take away from the experience for me. A must have for any RPG fan. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    Gameplay: The gameplay is relative simple as most beat-em ups are. B is a fast, light attack, A is a stronger but slower attack, Y is a lock-on attack, X is boost which uses up your mp, d-pad/slide pad are for movement and L/R for guarding. You can chain the attacks for more damage and using on dpad while attacking produces different moves. the lock-on mechanic and boost mechanic are essential in harder encounters as boost stuns nearby opponents and both double damage individually with a 4 times multiplier for both activated at same time. Stages consist of several enemies and sometimes a boss and are usually completed within 3 minutes. Each of the 8 characters plays fairly unique. Solange plays sorta like Ike from SSBB while Zozo is a magic user. I feel the gameplay is fairly fluid except when you must run between masses of enemies but this is eased with an increased speed stat. Also with a lot of explosions/effects, the game tends to get a frame rate drop but it doesn't really hurt the experience. Actually it makes the game as if it is some sort of bullet time. However, while the gameplay is fluid and simple, it does not really allow for variety in gameplay so the game gets quite repetitious after 5 or so stages so gaming sessions should kept short like around 20 minutes. The campaign should take about 7 hours. Then, there is freeplay, to play campaign as any of the eight characters if you unlocked them, bonus quests which adds several many hard missions, and the multiplayer of co-op and versus. The online mode is great if you can find another person play with. The versus matches are intense matches between 2-4 characters of the 50 possible character. Every character, enemy and npc is playable in versus. Want to play as a troll you fought in level 2. You Can! Want to crush your foes as one of the main villians? Sure! The little girl from the orphanage too? I guess. The old woman as well? now your being extremely creepy but yes. Co-op can be even more laggy with all the different effects of the attacks. Despite this, online mode is barren because very few have bought the game.

    Art and Music: The music and art of the game are outstanding. The characters are excellent each being very unique from each other. The cutscenes, animated by Bones studios (who animated animes like Soul Eater and the Cowboy Bebop movie.) are epic. The music though mostly being 8 songs and a bit of variations, fit the mood of the current scene and are excellent pieces of music. Simply the art and music are phenomenal. Story: The story is pretty good. The story is basically on the line of typical anime stories. The hero, Solange is forced to flee her kingdom as the Distron Army overthrew the DeLuxia royal family. She joins with several fantastical characters like the thief Ali, the necromancer Zozo and the Bard/Sage Allegro. The story is made much better which the several jokes made throughout the campaign like Emble-Semble Duo, Solange's clothing (or rather lack of) and Allegro's reference to his level. Voice Acting is pretty good and fits many of the characters. The cutscenes are almost like watching an anime. All these little touches make campaign much more enjoyable and make you want to get through the stages as fast as possible. You might be disappointed that Mister T was localized as Master T though.

    Pros: Excellent art and music, very funny story, simple but good combat, great cutscenes

    Cons: Repetitious gameplay, Online is empty, if you are a feminist Solange's clothes
    Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    8
    This is a really fun jrpg with enough beat-em-up to go around. The artistic style is very appealing, and the humor aspects are silly and well balanced. In terms of gameplay, it's about as fun of mindless button mashing as there is - leveling up characters is fun as well as collecting new armor and weapons to help polish your character (which there are many fun characters to choose from for free play). My only real 'beef' with this title is that gameplay does indeed slow down a lot during during some battles - this can be distracting at times, but honestly after you've played the game for a while you get use to it pretty quickly. The slowdowns aren't enough to keep this game from being a real keeper, if you're into side scrolling beat down games, then check this one out. Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2013
    7
    The story was ok and the game was pretty funny. The beat em up gameplay can be a bit repetitive though like if you cant beat a boss you can go back and play the same levels over and over again until you get a higher level but it can still be fun. The enemies are unique and the voice acting is really good, but I still don't understand why there are seven main characters but you only get to play as four. Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2012
    3
    Fun graphics and a good sense of humor, but this game has serious slowdown issues and lag with the controls, especially when 3D is enabled. Unfortunately, since it's an action-oriented title, this seriously detracts from the gameplay experience and it ends up being a button masher with no sense of connection with your character. I was really looking forward to this title, but reluctantly have to admit that it fell far short of all my expectations. Might be worth picking up when it's eventually on sale for $10. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews