• Publisher: Koei
  • Release Date: May 24, 2011
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 94
  2. Negative: 6 out of 94

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 24, 2011
    10
    The graphics and gameplay are clean, and the storyline mode was actually enjoyable. Internet match mode was simple enough to access and despite early testing reports of framerate issues, I have seen none while running full 3d. If you're only going to have one fighting game in your 3ds library, I recommend this over any other... unless Super Smash Brothers comes out...

    All the bounce
    The graphics and gameplay are clean, and the storyline mode was actually enjoyable. Internet match mode was simple enough to access and despite early testing reports of framerate issues, I have seen none while running full 3d. If you're only going to have one fighting game in your 3ds library, I recommend this over any other... unless Super Smash Brothers comes out...

    All the bounce of the previous DOA in the palm of your hand... wait, that sounded dirty.
    Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    4
    This game is good for your first 3ds game or when you are waiting for the next great 3ds title. I wouldn't recommend this game for the hardcore unless your a hardcore fan of DOA. Most of the single player modes will last you a day or two. The Tag Missions are great for Co-Op Online or Local, but the AI partner will leave you fustrated. The internet gameplay is horrible. There is a lot ofThis game is good for your first 3ds game or when you are waiting for the next great 3ds title. I wouldn't recommend this game for the hardcore unless your a hardcore fan of DOA. Most of the single player modes will last you a day or two. The Tag Missions are great for Co-Op Online or Local, but the AI partner will leave you fustrated. The internet gameplay is horrible. There is a lot of lag, no rematch selection, and the ranking system is awful. If your depending on the online you may want to either look at the current options for online gameplay, or wait for something better. The Streetpass/Spotpass for this game is the best unless you don't live near a well populated area with people who also own this game on their 3DS. In which case your just gonna have to wait for the weekly Spotpass download Challenge. Spotpass downloads are daily costumes for different characters. The Character Roster is unbalanced. It does use the 3d feature well,but this game is a rent or a discount buy at best. It's not worth the $39.99 new. Expand
  3. May 24, 2011
    10
    Don't believe all the graphics hype around this game or the 3DS in general. Sure the character models look great, but the screen resolution holds the system back. Almost every scene in the game or any of the 3DS games I have purchased so far (7 total) are plagued with jaggies. Its a real shame that the system isn't powerful enough to use some form of AA. If your looking for impressiveDon't believe all the graphics hype around this game or the 3DS in general. Sure the character models look great, but the screen resolution holds the system back. Almost every scene in the game or any of the 3DS games I have purchased so far (7 total) are plagued with jaggies. Its a real shame that the system isn't powerful enough to use some form of AA. If your looking for impressive graphics the 3DS isn't it, Its just too bad the NGP won't support 3D because it is impressive. Expand
  4. May 24, 2011
    9
    Best game on 3ds so far , big fan of dead or Alive this is the best version yet.Loads of modes and tons to do and great graphics for a hand held .Add me if you want to fight on line my Id is mattdeniro and friend code is 0344 9269 4234
  5. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    I've always preferred the simple rock-paper-scissors combat mechanic of DOA games over older fighters like Street Fighter & Tekken. Plus the animation is smoother and the moves don't carry the burden of a 2D legacy as DOA has always been a pure 3D fighter. I also enjoy the wide variety of realistic fighting styles and the destructible, multi-level fighting arenas. While other editionsI've always preferred the simple rock-paper-scissors combat mechanic of DOA games over older fighters like Street Fighter & Tekken. Plus the animation is smoother and the moves don't carry the burden of a 2D legacy as DOA has always been a pure 3D fighter. I also enjoy the wide variety of realistic fighting styles and the destructible, multi-level fighting arenas. While other editions have had more in the way of costumes and there are some stages I'd like to see that aren't in here (though the free downloads may help with this), this is the most complete character roster ever, there are tons of play modes and the controls and smooth and responsive. It looks great for a handheld game (except the colors have odd compression). There's more story here than in any previous DOA game as well. The 3D looks great and they've lowered the difficulty from the previous games, which is a welcome change (especially for younger, less experienced players). It's an impressive game to show off on your 3DS and a blast to play. Most fun you can have on the 3DS right now, IMO. Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2012
    8
    DOA Dimensions is the freshest fighter on the 3DS, An instantly accessible, frenetic and exciting scrapper that will please fighting game fans everywhere. Granted the Chronicles mode narrative is laughable, with some odd design choices, and the controls- whilst very robust, may confuse some with the many stick movements for particular reversals and grabs. What is undeniable however, isDOA Dimensions is the freshest fighter on the 3DS, An instantly accessible, frenetic and exciting scrapper that will please fighting game fans everywhere. Granted the Chronicles mode narrative is laughable, with some odd design choices, and the controls- whilst very robust, may confuse some with the many stick movements for particular reversals and grabs. What is undeniable however, is that this game is gorgeous, even if the 3D effect isn't up to much. This is easily a more accessible, more unique and more extravegant fighter than SSFIV3D and is the fighting game to own on 3DS. Expand
  7. May 25, 2011
    10
    DOAD is great. 3D effects were far better than expected, way better than SF4. I have both of those and now ill probably trade it SF4. DOA has more DLC than any 3ds game out, dlc literally comes out daily. Touch screen commands more effectiver than SF4. Graphics are way better too. Mass amounts of unlockable content. As well for the street pass battles you can actually watch the fightsDOAD is great. 3D effects were far better than expected, way better than SF4. I have both of those and now ill probably trade it SF4. DOA has more DLC than any 3ds game out, dlc literally comes out daily. Touch screen commands more effectiver than SF4. Graphics are way better too. Mass amounts of unlockable content. As well for the street pass battles you can actually watch the fights instead of just check the stats as in SF4. This game is the best 3Ds game out now. Ive worked at gamestop 3.5 years so there is a small chance i may know what im talking about. Too bad it will be a while before more top notch games will come out. Res Evil 3D im looking at you

    PS...Phil 4000, your supposed to rate the game not the console. If your so oblivious you cant realize that then there is no point in taking you or your reviews seriously.
    Expand
  8. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    Am I playing this on a handheld? This is the closest any handheld game that I've played to a console game. Also, I like this way better than DOA4 (can't wait for 5, based on this game). The fighing is still button-mash-like, but that's an ok break from all the technical fighters (although I know this is technical at higher levels). And I love the 3D; it works and doesn't get in the way. SFAm I playing this on a handheld? This is the closest any handheld game that I've played to a console game. Also, I like this way better than DOA4 (can't wait for 5, based on this game). The fighing is still button-mash-like, but that's an ok break from all the technical fighters (although I know this is technical at higher levels). And I love the 3D; it works and doesn't get in the way. SF Alpha 3 Max (psp) will probably remain my all-time favorite handheld fighter, but it doesn't make me feel like I'm playing on a console in 3D like this one. I am so glad I purchased this. Expand
  9. May 26, 2011
    9
    Great game, as usual DOA delivers. I just wish Nintendo had decided to make a more powerful handheld than the original DS instead of insisting on gimmicks. It is really sad when a system can't even handle its primary selling point. In any game I've played so far, if you turn the 3D on the framerate is terrible, turn it off and the game is silky smooth. That's the case here, when the 3D isGreat game, as usual DOA delivers. I just wish Nintendo had decided to make a more powerful handheld than the original DS instead of insisting on gimmicks. It is really sad when a system can't even handle its primary selling point. In any game I've played so far, if you turn the 3D on the framerate is terrible, turn it off and the game is silky smooth. That's the case here, when the 3D is off the game looks amazing and runs great. Hopefully Nintendo will address this as the platform matures. Aside from that, the only other real issue is laggy multiplayer, but since I primarily play solo anyway it isn't an issue for me. Great fighting engine, great graphics, tons of content spanning the entire series, a good story mode even with a story that is as convoluted as this one's is, tons of modes to play. Probably sacrilage but this is better than Street Fighter IV in my opinion. I dock it a half a point for the 3D and a half a point for the online issues, other than that awesome game. Expand
  10. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    It's all the DOA fighting fun you love but it's portable and in 3d. That's about it. You will play about one new level. All the rest are remakes from DOA 2 through 4. All the best ones will be there and all the old characters. Graphically expect about he par of DOA2 hardcore on PS2 (I say PS2 cause the Dreamcast import of hardcore wasn't as Jaggy as this but the PS2 1 was)
    This game sums
    It's all the DOA fighting fun you love but it's portable and in 3d. That's about it. You will play about one new level. All the rest are remakes from DOA 2 through 4. All the best ones will be there and all the old characters. Graphically expect about he par of DOA2 hardcore on PS2 (I say PS2 cause the Dreamcast import of hardcore wasn't as Jaggy as this but the PS2 1 was)
    This game sums up the best and worst of 3DS. All the stuff you loved in awesome presentation... but it's a remake. You will relive the entire mythos of each character. I did love it and recommend it to all 3DS owners. You don't have much good games to choose from and this one is awesome. Yet I HATE looking from a 3d screen down to 2d one taking my eyes off the action. So I don't use the touch screen. If you like the series this is the entire series in 3d and portable remade as one big game. You will love it. Also you will hate the people online reversaling you face 24/7 but oh well.
    Expand
  11. May 26, 2011
    8
    This game is one the best 3DS games out right now. That might not be saying much, but it's enough to warrant a purchase. The 3D looks pretty cool, but the framerate takes a HUGE hit. It's a shame really, but it still doesn't make it a graphically impressive game. There's jaggies alright, but you see next to no jaggies in gameplay, mainly cutscenes. As for the story, it's ridiculous. MightThis game is one the best 3DS games out right now. That might not be saying much, but it's enough to warrant a purchase. The 3D looks pretty cool, but the framerate takes a HUGE hit. It's a shame really, but it still doesn't make it a graphically impressive game. There's jaggies alright, but you see next to no jaggies in gameplay, mainly cutscenes. As for the story, it's ridiculous. Might be good to some not expecting a serious take. The gameplay is definitely for newcomers though, as it made me feel like I was skilled almost immediately, especially since Chronicles does such a good job taking you in the game. Online is important, but SSF4 beats this one. No lobbies, nor even a rematch button! Overall though, I couldn't recommend this game enough. The combat system is MUCH more deep than what you see on outside. Counters galore. Expand
  12. Jul 11, 2014
    7
    Excellent portable version of Dead or Alive, with just one major problem - game modes. There are plenty of them and the main one Chronicle Mode is fantastic both for newcomers and long-time fan series from story and series lore perspective, but they are all so short and basic that I was bored with them very quick. Chronicle Mode lasts an hour or two of actually interesting content (lots ofExcellent portable version of Dead or Alive, with just one major problem - game modes. There are plenty of them and the main one Chronicle Mode is fantastic both for newcomers and long-time fan series from story and series lore perspective, but they are all so short and basic that I was bored with them very quick. Chronicle Mode lasts an hour or two of actually interesting content (lots of annoying tutorials!). Perhaps lack of actual story mode or proper arcade mode are the reasons (the DoA:D arcade mode can be finished in 3-4 minutes max! no endings or even credits after!). Tag Challenge pairs you up with a CPU controlled teammate that is retarted, becoming extremely difficult later on (really a mode for patient, constantly retrying gamers), while the Survival is ultra-uneven, makes you asleep while fighting with regular enemies then pummels and stomps you with bosses every now and then. Finally, the remaining collectibles and unlockables are laughable (1000 figures each being a single frame of ingame animation? really?). The game could be saved by multiplayer (the core of every DoA!), but the online play is sluggish (plagued by lags!), badly designed (cannot rematch instantly? what the hell!?) and quite deserted nowadays. Great core game, but just begging for a proper Story/Arcade mode. Expand
  13. May 28, 2011
    9
    Love the Dead or Alive series, I thoroughly played all the DOA games over time and this game is a very worthy sequel. The 3d in Dead or Alive Dimensions plays very well but it's not exactly groundbreaking, though its a very neat experience to witness as a Dead or Alive fan. OK!

    -the weird* Model Viewer not needed and so far from the statues I've gained not very perverted, very hard to
    Love the Dead or Alive series, I thoroughly played all the DOA games over time and this game is a very worthy sequel. The 3d in Dead or Alive Dimensions plays very well but it's not exactly groundbreaking, though its a very neat experience to witness as a Dead or Alive fan. OK!

    -the weird*
    Model Viewer not needed and so far from the statues I've gained not very perverted, very hard to move around the 3ds to get a 3d shot of the model with the slider up.

    "Chronicle" works almost like a tutorial but its a story mode and only way to gain characters.

    -what i miss from old DOA that this one does not have

    You are not able to damage the opponent some more after a KO. The game just leaves you standing
    No after KO replay.
    No replay mode (which is a shame because the levels are beautiful in this game, large and exquisite)
    No story for each character in arcade
    and No tag team mode.. its hard to compare this game to DOA4 because dead or alive 4 is a perfect online fighting game.

    the good!
    The 3d in this game is very cool
    slider down at any time makes the game run smoothly and perfectly and it looks like its running at 60fps.. so much wow factor for a 3ds game.
    ITS DOA ON HANDHELD! its essentially DOA to go! the details they added into this game is amazing. Online in this game is quick and fun! most matches for me run smoothly. Love it.

    Did not regret buying this game :)

    PS: This game is kind of hard if you go against a pro player. Though once you get how to play, your fights end up becoming intense with so much action! which is why i miss replay mode :|
    Expand
  14. May 28, 2011
    10
    Great graphics,great gameplay , with the slide pad feesl like a big console game, could have been a little harder but besides that I think it is great, to me the best 3ds game so far
  15. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    These are the best 3D graphics I've seen in a handheld gaming system yet, though this is the only game I own for the 3DS thus far. The gameplay is extremely fun and I find it pretty addicting, plus the amount of unlockables is insane (though most of them are extremely easy to get). I feel like I've beaten just about everything there is to beat so far, but the replay value is so great thatThese are the best 3D graphics I've seen in a handheld gaming system yet, though this is the only game I own for the 3DS thus far. The gameplay is extremely fun and I find it pretty addicting, plus the amount of unlockables is insane (though most of them are extremely easy to get). I feel like I've beaten just about everything there is to beat so far, but the replay value is so great that I can't help but play it all again. The online play is also very fun, though it has some severe lagging at times - but I blame either my opponent or my internet connection for that, because it regularly moves very smoothly for me. Expand
  16. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    This game is a lot of fun, and a great addition to the 3DS's fighting game lineup. But how does it compare to Street Fighter? Watch my review to find out!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BRmhmVnFA4U
  17. Oct 9, 2011
    8
    The graphics of them game are generally very attractive and is one of the best looking games on the Nintendo 3ds thus far. The gameplay is fluid although the addition of the touch screen input for combos becomes more of a hinderance than a perk when playing the game competitively it is better to use the buttons and nub which work quite effectively and fluidly with the game. The 3D effectThe graphics of them game are generally very attractive and is one of the best looking games on the Nintendo 3ds thus far. The gameplay is fluid although the addition of the touch screen input for combos becomes more of a hinderance than a perk when playing the game competitively it is better to use the buttons and nub which work quite effectively and fluidly with the game. The 3D effect is quite solid within the game, however this is hindered by frame rate problems which won't greatly ruin your experience unless playing online, frame count drops from around a sleek 60 to around 30 - 40 fps. Which is not ideal. The modes themselves are great and although the narrative isn't the best within the story it is still very effective at adding play time to the game itself. There is also a few other modes like arcade, time attack, survival , training and an online mode respectively. The real challenge within the game itself comes from the tag mode which towards the end requires real skill to pass the challenges. There is the use of streetpass and spotpass within the game, these features are very solid with the streetpass giving ghost data to fight against and spotpass giving challenges and new costumes for characters. The final problem with the game however is it's online mode which is very inconsistent and may take you ages to find a game. More often than not once your connected there may be some minor lag which is not at all good for a 3D fighter which plays at this pace. Graphics: 8
    Presentation: 7
    Story: 7
    Gameplay: 7
    Longevity: 10
    Expand
  18. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    The second best fighter for the 3DS. Although it offers a perhaps more realistic fighting experience than Street Fighter it is not quite as good. The characters aren't as well developed as those in street fighter, a lot of them are relatively forgettable, there are 25 characters to play as which is fine. The graphics (at some points) are very good, you sometimes forget you're playing it onThe second best fighter for the 3DS. Although it offers a perhaps more realistic fighting experience than Street Fighter it is not quite as good. The characters aren't as well developed as those in street fighter, a lot of them are relatively forgettable, there are 25 characters to play as which is fine. The graphics (at some points) are very good, you sometimes forget you're playing it on a handheld console. I think the 3D effects are very good, with various body-parts coming out of the screen. It doesn't get a 9 because, the gameplay isn't as deep as that of Street Fighter's and some of the characters just aren't that memorable. I wouldn't however, recommend Street fighter over this, as they both offer quite amazing fighting experiences on the 3DS, I'd recommend getting both, you might be different and prefer this to Street Fighter. Oh, and before I forget, there is quite a lot to do and unlock, spotpass support and streetpass add to the overall length of the game, which otherwise would be quite short. The multiplayer offerings are also great fun. If I could give this game an 8.5/10 I would. Expand
  19. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    Dead or alive dimensions continues the series only being available on the 3ds.
    for followers of the series this game turns out to be a surprisingly well put together addition to the dead or alive series.
    both as a fighting game that actually plays well runs smoothly and looks great with or without the 3d turned on. Recommended if you are looking for a fighting game that is easy to
    Dead or alive dimensions continues the series only being available on the 3ds.
    for followers of the series this game turns out to be a surprisingly well put together addition to the dead or alive series.

    both as a fighting game that actually plays well runs smoothly and looks great with or without the 3d turned on. Recommended if you are looking for a fighting game that is easy to get into but
    difficult to master. Great for beginners ok for pro fighters. the only point i could find was that a switch difficulty option is only available in the free play mode. were you set everything from the difficulty to the background stage and character costumes . The game contains enough unlockable content and game modes to keep you busy for a good 20hours or more. Overall a quality 3ds release. playing in the dark with the 3d switched up the characters almost jump out of the screen. one of the best 3ds release games.
    Expand
  20. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    A great game of fight for Nintendo 3DS. It has a clean, powerful and spectacular graphs, is full of options and moves and seems brilliant. The indispensable fighting game for Nintendo 3DS.
  21. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    Unlike Street Fighter 4, which felt somewhat clunky and forced on the 3DS, the control scheme for Dead or Alive just seems to fit handheld gaming. Along with great visuals, active online, and a decent amount of unlockable content, Dead or Alive is the preferable Fighter to own on your 3DS.
  22. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    This game is da bomb. That's right. Da bomb. It has good graffics for the 3ds. A nice controll set with a good easy playable way to controll your character to beat the living crap out of someone.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    87
    If you like Dead or Alive and own a 3DS, you will surely be happy with Dead or Alive: Dimensions.
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    82
    Dimensions is a surprisingly good fighter for a handheld platform, full of jiglly graphics and good single player content. Even though my personal pick would be Street Fighter 4, Dead or Alive is still a good purchase. [Aug 2011]
  3. Sep 14, 2011
    90
    Dead or Alive Dimensions does a great job at creating a true Dead or Alive experience on a portable console.