• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DEAD OR ALIVE Dimensions takes the vivacious characters and locales that have made the DOA franchise a hit with gamers everywhere and presents them in eye-popping 3D. All of the punches, kicks, counters and holds that have defined the series as a top-tier fighter are present for the first time on a portable gaming system - the Nintendo 3DS®. DEAD OR ALIVE Dimensions features some of the best content from the series spanning all of the titles from the original DOA up to DOA 4. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. May 28, 2011
    91
    Having played both Super Street Fighter IV and Dead or Alive Dimensions, DOAD is far superior is our books and is easily one of the best fighters available on any portable console. The gameplay is flawlessly fun and even though we have seen it all before, this may be the fact on home consoles but not in the portable world of gaming. The developers have included enough fan service to make any Dead or Alive fanboy or girl glee from joy but best of all, it's got the gameplay and the graphics.
  2. May 6, 2011
    90
    Within the launch window of the Nintendo 3DS, we've gotten two--Dead or Alive Dimensions and Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition--and they're the two best games in the handheld's library so far. [May 2011, p.84]
  3. Jun 1, 2011
    90
    Playing Dead or Alive again has been a highly enjoyable journey of rediscovery. The more time I've spent playing it, the more I've remembered why I've really enjoyed the series over the years. It's a really fun fighting game that's easy to pick up and play, features some great characters, and delivers some very satisfying moments, especially when you pull off a huge series of moves that look spectacular, or punch someone off the top of a particularly high area so they fall to their death.
  4. May 22, 2011
    80
    Dead or Alive: Dimensions is a solid entry into the classic fighting series whether you're a fan or series newcomer. It's just as fast, responsive and enjoyable as past iterations, with far more balanced movesets and counters; a visually appetising, impressive fighter particularly for a game released in 3DS' launch period.
  5. 80
    Dead or Alive Dimensions fully justifies the interest of fans or new players. The way the various events are presented in story mode is able to maintain the interest of both.
  6. May 30, 2011
    75
    Dimensions' bosomy action-figure characters are as devoid of moral perspective as a box of Legos with circles drawn on them. Like Legos, though, they're fun to play with.
  7. May 20, 2011
    50
    I spent a lot of my time waiting, begging, willing the game to spread its wings and fly. But it never left the ground. A real shame.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    This game is a lot of fun, and a great addition to the 3DS's fighting game lineup. But how does it compare to Street Fighter? Watch my review to find out!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BRmhmVnFA4U
    Expand
  2. May 24, 2011
    10
    Don't believe all the graphics hype around this game or the 3DS in general. Sure the character models look great, but the screen resolution holds the system back. Almost every scene in the game or any of the 3DS games I have purchased so far (7 total) are plagued with jaggies. Its a real shame that the system isn't powerful enough to use some form of AA. If your looking for impressive graphics the 3DS isn't it, Its just too bad the NGP won't support 3D because it is impressive. Expand
  3. May 24, 2011
    10
    The graphics and gameplay are clean, and the storyline mode was actually enjoyable. Internet match mode was simple enough to access and despite early testing reports of framerate issues, I have seen none while running full 3d. If you're only going to have one fighting game in your 3ds library, I recommend this over any other... unless Super Smash Brothers comes out...

    All the bounce of the previous DOA in the palm of your hand... wait, that sounded dirty.
    Expand
  4. May 28, 2011
    9
    Love the Dead or Alive series, I thoroughly played all the DOA games over time and this game is a very worthy sequel. The 3d in Dead or Alive Dimensions plays very well but it's not exactly groundbreaking, though its a very neat experience to witness as a Dead or Alive fan. OK!

    -the weird*
    Model Viewer not needed and so far from the statues I've gained not very perverted, very hard to move around the 3ds to get a 3d shot of the model with the slider up.

    "Chronicle" works almost like a tutorial but its a story mode and only way to gain characters.

    -what i miss from old DOA that this one does not have

    You are not able to damage the opponent some more after a KO. The game just leaves you standing
    No after KO replay.
    No replay mode (which is a shame because the levels are beautiful in this game, large and exquisite)
    No story for each character in arcade
    and No tag team mode.. its hard to compare this game to DOA4 because dead or alive 4 is a perfect online fighting game.

    the good!
    The 3d in this game is very cool
    slider down at any time makes the game run smoothly and perfectly and it looks like its running at 60fps.. so much wow factor for a 3ds game.
    ITS DOA ON HANDHELD! its essentially DOA to go! the details they added into this game is amazing. Online in this game is quick and fun! most matches for me run smoothly. Love it.

    Did not regret buying this game :)

    PS: This game is kind of hard if you go against a pro player. Though once you get how to play, your fights end up becoming intense with so much action! which is why i miss replay mode :|
    Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    Dead or alive dimensions continues the series only being available on the 3ds.
    for followers of the series this game turns out to be a
    surprisingly well put together addition to the dead or alive series.

    both as a fighting game that actually plays well runs smoothly and looks great with or without the 3d turned on. Recommended if you are looking for a fighting game that is easy to get into but
    difficult to master. Great for beginners ok for pro fighters. the only point i could find was that a switch difficulty option is only available in the free play mode. were you set everything from the difficulty to the background stage and character costumes . The game contains enough unlockable content and game modes to keep you busy for a good 20hours or more. Overall a quality 3ds release. playing in the dark with the 3d switched up the characters almost jump out of the screen. one of the best 3ds release games.
    Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    The second best fighter for the 3DS. Although it offers a perhaps more realistic fighting experience than Street Fighter it is not quite as good. The characters aren't as well developed as those in street fighter, a lot of them are relatively forgettable, there are 25 characters to play as which is fine. The graphics (at some points) are very good, you sometimes forget you're playing it on a handheld console. I think the 3D effects are very good, with various body-parts coming out of the screen. It doesn't get a 9 because, the gameplay isn't as deep as that of Street Fighter's and some of the characters just aren't that memorable. I wouldn't however, recommend Street fighter over this, as they both offer quite amazing fighting experiences on the 3DS, I'd recommend getting both, you might be different and prefer this to Street Fighter. Oh, and before I forget, there is quite a lot to do and unlock, spotpass support and streetpass add to the overall length of the game, which otherwise would be quite short. The multiplayer offerings are also great fun. If I could give this game an 8.5/10 I would. Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2011
    4
    This game is good for your first 3ds game or when you are waiting for the next great 3ds title. I wouldn't recommend this game for the hardcore unless your a hardcore fan of DOA. Most of the single player modes will last you a day or two. The Tag Missions are great for Co-Op Online or Local, but the AI partner will leave you fustrated. The internet gameplay is horrible. There is a lot of lag, no rematch selection, and the ranking system is awful. If your depending on the online you may want to either look at the current options for online gameplay, or wait for something better. The Streetpass/Spotpass for this game is the best unless you don't live near a well populated area with people who also own this game on their 3DS. In which case your just gonna have to wait for the weekly Spotpass download Challenge. Spotpass downloads are daily costumes for different characters. The Character Roster is unbalanced. It does use the 3d feature well,but this game is a rent or a discount buy at best. It's not worth the $39.99 new. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews