Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D 3DS

Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D is a portable 3D makeover of the smash-hit Wii game.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 9, 2013
    100
    An excellent platformer that will test your patience along with your skills in a fair, entertaining and imaginative way. [Issue#231]
  2. May 17, 2013
    90
    Where Rare fell into obscurity, Retro and Monster Games seem to have picked up the pieces and evolved the platforming formula to a new level, streamlining certain features and giving the 3DS yet another must-play game.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 4, 2013
    90
    Still the best 2D platformer in years. [Aug 2013, p.77]
  4. May 28, 2013
    82
    While this game offers the same magnificent platform experience than the original Wii version, it suffers from issues associated with the smaller screen. The new controls are precise, specially now that you don't have to shake the controller. Even though the art direction and the levels where designed with a TV screen in mind, the 3D effect really enhances the backgrounds and environments. Challenging, fun and solid, the game design of this title shines even through its flaws and the patches that where made while adapting it for the 3DS.
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    Until then, it’s hard to recommend buying this if you’ve beaten the original, but if you loved it, couldn’t beat it, and want to give New mode a shot, it’s easily worth either buying it at a lower price point or simply renting it.
  6. As with any rehash of a great, it's the problems that stand out, but the uninitiated will find a huge amount to love. DK's still playing his second fiddle very nicely.
  7. May 24, 2013
    60
    The Wii version is superior, but Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D has both the simple charms of a gimmick-free 2D platformer and a strong grip on nostalgic heartstrings.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. May 26, 2013
    10
    I just can't believe they put a full fledged wii game on the 3ds. Diddy's Kong Quest was one of the best Donkey Kong games I've ever playedI just can't believe they put a full fledged wii game on the 3ds. Diddy's Kong Quest was one of the best Donkey Kong games I've ever played and it sits in the top 10 best games I've ever played. This one is a whole new twist that doesn't take away from the originals. Retro has their own flavor and they respect the Rareware games as well by not using their enemies. Utimately it's a fantastic game that does better on the 3ds with all the entertainment coming at your face from the background. I'm just overly impressed and I hope that Nintendo keeps coming up with rereleases like this. I never got to play Skyward sword and am wondering if they could put that on the 3ds as well. I'm sure that would go over extremely well too. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2014
    10
    Dayum this game is good. Best side scroller since Yogi Bear's Gold Rush on the OG Game Boy. This game is hard, I died hundreds of times. IDayum this game is good. Best side scroller since Yogi Bear's Gold Rush on the OG Game Boy. This game is hard, I died hundreds of times. I love red balloons. Expand
  3. May 7, 2015
    10
    I can't believe that this game is on the 3DS! Why wasn't it originally on the 3DS? There is a lot of background play that makes it perfectI can't believe that this game is on the 3DS! Why wasn't it originally on the 3DS? There is a lot of background play that makes it perfect for the 3ds! This game is almost amazing (but still worthy a 10) there is one little flaw I tend to ignore: The controls on the Rocket Barrel levels! Get the game you'll know what I mean! Besides this minor flaw the game is fantastic! Expand
  4. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    Great game to play on the go.

    Pretty much the same as the Wii version which was one of the best games for the console. A must have if
    Great game to play on the go.

    Pretty much the same as the Wii version which was one of the best games for the console.

    A must have if you like:

    Platformers
    Donkey Kong
    Super Mario
    Apes and bananas
    Fun
    Good video games
    You havent played the Wii version

    The 3D is good, I do wish they would let you play multiplayer online. But other than that, you can't reallt find a lot of bad things about this game.

    A great addition to the 3DS library, 9 of 10.
    Collapse
  5. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    When Donkey Kong Country came out on the SNES it was a class above anything I'd ever seen before on a console. Donkey Kong Country ReturnsWhen Donkey Kong Country came out on the SNES it was a class above anything I'd ever seen before on a console. Donkey Kong Country Returns builds upon that game and brings it to the 21st Century though it's not the quantum leap from all other platformers that the original was.

    That being said, this is a very good platformer with great graphics, wonderful sound, and many challenging and fun levels. Overall, DK is back and this one will bring a smile to the face of those new to the franchise and those who have played previous games.

    The only people that will hate this game are Sony as it's yet another nail in the coffin of the Vita.
    Expand
  6. May 11, 2015
    8
    I haven't played the Wii version, but I have played the original DKC trilogy on SNES, so this review will naturally include comparisons toI haven't played the Wii version, but I have played the original DKC trilogy on SNES, so this review will naturally include comparisons to those.

    This game captures the style and flavour of those games, but of course with much prettier polygonal 3D graphics. In some ways this lacks the amazement of the originals, which anyone old enough will remember were really quite special on the SNES, but they are certainly amongst the crispest, prettiest graphics on the 3DS.

    The 3D effect is the best I have yet encountered, especially when you find yourself shooting deeper into the screen in some short sections of the levels (you will experience this towards the end of level 1-1, so you don't wait long to see it. Unfortunately I have also found that I struggle to maintain focus on the 3D such that it wobbles about and flickers on occasion, more than in any other game. This is on New 3DS with Super Stable 3D enabled. It's only occasional, so doesn't distract too much, but does take a few seconds to right itself when it does happen. The HUD has some nice intergration with the game, such as the health bar in the top left shaking as you pound the ground. The HUD also uses the 3D depth well, floating as it does above the main game.

    The levels are expansive, taking several minutes to complete each one. During this time, you will face many difficulties even from the first stage. The enemy placement and movement patterns, high inertia on DK himself, and tricky platforming will challenge you. I'm also playing it in "original mode" for the best challenge, but the game does come with a "New mode" which makes the game easier for those that want it. Sadly you can't switch between the two modes within a save, but the cartridge has 3 save slots so you could sample both if you want to try without losing progress.

    Controls have two options - using the analog stick of the D-pad. You can change this during a game, and your choice also changes the other controls - either using Y/X or L/R for rolling, pounding the ground, or blowing - you can blow dandelions to get bananas or hearts, and pounding the ground serves to daze nearby enemies or access hidden areas below you.

    All in all this is a great update to the ideas brought about 20 years ago. I'm glad I bought it, and look forward to revisiting it every couple of years. There is plenty of length in the game, and plenty of challenge for the most hardcore platform fan - and the new mode makes it more accessible for those who want it a little easier.
    Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2014
    0
    All and all this game is ok, it stays true to the whole 2D side scrolling concept but falls short of entertaining. I have more fun playingAll and all this game is ok, it stays true to the whole 2D side scrolling concept but falls short of entertaining. I have more fun playing Zelda, Mario, or Monster hunter currently and playing this game just feels like a choir. I would stay away from it and hope for a more innovative donkey kong country game to be released. Feels like a cheap mobile phone game. If the 3Ds would just release SNES titles on the 3DS already I would just pay for the SNES version of Donkey Kong Country, heck I would even pay $30 for the SNES version on the 3Ds over this garbage. I am rating this a 0 just to bring the score down as many of these reviews of a "10" is over nostalgia and may miss lead others into paying for this title. My honest score is a 5. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.