• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan has players board their skyship and set out into the clouds in search of treasure, glory, and the answer to Tharsis' oldest mystery.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 4, 2013
    100
    But for everyone else, Etrian Odyssey IV offers more of what you already love about the series, just this time it’s a little prettier in action.
  2. Mar 4, 2013
    90
    If someone is looking for one of the most entrancing, addictive RPGs on the 3DS, then they should not hesitate to run as quickly as they can to their nearest game store to purchase Legends of the Titan; it’s certainly worth every penny of its price tag, and then some.
  3. 90
    Etrian Odyssey IV’s sense of adventure is ever present as you explore its wide variety of environments. The game’s lackluster story and occasional difficulty may scare some away, but between the amazing dungeons, challenging battles, and great music, this is an accessible and worthwhile chapter in the series.
  4. Sep 14, 2013
    85
    This is a game for those who enjoy what a game used to be: a challenge. If that's not what you're looking for, even the "casual mode" could be too much for you.
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    80
    It all comes down to your affinity for JRPGs, but credit falls to Atlus for offering curious newbies that helping hand, a hand that has the strength and power to pull you into the world and become entranced.
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    80
    Thanks to the all new Casual Mode, Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan will finally appeal more than just the hardcore players looking for an extremely deep battle system and a real challenge. However, it's still a retro RPG with a thin plot that won't be easy to overcome. It's not Final Fantasy, but Etrian Odyssey IV is great on its own terms.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    Unless you’re a chronic stat-cruncher and menu enthusiast, though, I can’t imagine that this incremental and grind-heavy sequel will resonate with you.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Atlus keeps my 3DS busy. Etrian Odyssey IV brings a modern jRPG twist on first person RPGs akin to Eye of the Beholder, and Wizardry. FuseAtlus keeps my 3DS busy. Etrian Odyssey IV brings a modern jRPG twist on first person RPGs akin to Eye of the Beholder, and Wizardry. Fuse those concepts with incredibly charming (and adorable) anime art, and a fantastically fitting soundtrack, and you have one of the best time sinks on the 3DS. The 3D effect on the menus is pleasing to look at. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    This series has come a long ways from the first entry on the ds. With the added power of the 3ds we now have a better draw distance in theThis series has come a long ways from the first entry on the ds. With the added power of the 3ds we now have a better draw distance in the dungeons as well as visible foes. no longer are forced to run into them to see what we are going to fight. visuals look excellent compared to even the previous entry. this game however is not for the faint of heart as its one of the more challenging games out there! Be prepared to spend upwards of 70+ hours to even get close to the end! With the added casual mode its now accessible to New comers as well as veterans of the series! If anything check out the demo to see if this game's for you! Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    The vibrant DS series classic, Etrian Odyssey, continues on stronger than before in it's 4th installment on the 3DS with beautiful 3D models,The vibrant DS series classic, Etrian Odyssey, continues on stronger than before in it's 4th installment on the 3DS with beautiful 3D models, an exploitative over world traversed via airship, and plenty of dangerous dungeons, forest and ruins to explore full of treasure.

    The difficulty is a bit more forgiving than the prior 3 installments, but the end and post-game content is a true test to your party matching and skill stacking abilities.
    Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    While I can understand how this kind of game may be boring or even tedious, I enjoyed the hell out of this game! The presentation isWhile I can understand how this kind of game may be boring or even tedious, I enjoyed the hell out of this game! The presentation is astounding and the environments you find yourself taking in are dangerous, beautiful, and unique. While the first area suffers from green hill zone syndrome, once you beat the first maze you'll be amazed by the unique colors and orchestrated music of the second area. Going on to the game play, it's more on the traditional side of your modern JRPG but because you have to put so much thought into your party it's not tedious at all. This game is surprisingly easy to jump into because it has an easier difficulty setting, which doesn't detract too much from the overall experience and can always be changed. Try out the demo before you get it, but I believe that this is the best JRPG on the 3DS. Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    This is the fourth in a series that became my favorite on Nintendo's DS, and even though the series is not a graphics powerhouse, the stillThis is the fourth in a series that became my favorite on Nintendo's DS, and even though the series is not a graphics powerhouse, the still artwork put into the characters and the backgrounds is beautiful, and one of the most attractive attributes of the series. But the biggest draw of these dungeon crawler-style games is definitely the mechanic of having to draw a map of the labyrinths on a grid on the bottom screen of the DS and now the 3DS. The point of view of the player is first-person, like the dungeon crawlers of old, and the view is now enhanced with the use of 3D on the upper screen. All in all, if you want a deeply involved role-playing game for your 3DS, this is one of the best! Managing the powers, attacks, and weapons of your characters as you slowly level up is incredibly nuanced, and you will start thinking of these avatars as real people by the time you clock in your 25th hour on the game. This is not a game that will charm everyone, though, as you will need a lot of patience and handle frustration well unless you play it on the new "casual" mode (although I can't imagine the game being much fun on that setting!). The developers also implemented a very clever use of the Street Pass and the use of QR codes for this installment that will give a whole new twist to veterans of the series. Highly recommended, but play the demo first (available on eShop) so you know what you are getting into! Incidentally, this is the first time I have encountered a console game demo that will let you save your progress and then use it towards the full version of the game... clever move! Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    Etrian Odyssey games have always made me nervous when playing them. I like a challenge, but sometimes these games can take it a bit too far,Etrian Odyssey games have always made me nervous when playing them. I like a challenge, but sometimes these games can take it a bit too far, especially if you don't have a lot of time to focus on the game. This is in no way a knock on the game, many people like that aspect, I just never had time. Well, Atlus seemed to focus on solving that issue with Etrian Odyssey 4. There is a casual mode that decreases difficulty, allows you to use items over and over again, and instead of giving you a game over the game sends your party back to town. This is just what I needed to get into the series. The game is beautiful, the 3D is done well, and the characters and story really bring the world to life. There is a lot of game here and it's not for the feint of heart. But, if you like a challenge (even casual is tough by the way, just not as tough as before) and want to experience a game akin to Wizardry of old, then this is your ticket. Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    Ever since the SNES era, I've been a huge RPG fan. From Japanese masterpieces like Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy VI, and EarthBound toEver since the SNES era, I've been a huge RPG fan. From Japanese masterpieces like Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy VI, and EarthBound to American franchises like The Elder Scrolls, I'm always enthralled by the epic storylines, memorable characters, and ridiculously immersive gameplay.

    There are, however, plenty of pitfalls in the genre. Sometimes, a game with all of the above qualities will simply force you to grind way too much (hello, Secret of Mana!). Other times, games turn into a slugfest of item and/or stats management that makes it a lot harder to enjoy their other qualities (much like The World Ends With You).

    To be blunt, Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan features none of the qualities I mentioned above AND all of the hassles. The game is an endless grind, with no real compelling story and no memorable characters (all of your party are almost-faceless, player-created drones).

    Everything you do in the game, you do in the coldest way possible, through a crapload of menus and submenus. You don't get to wander around towns, approach townsfolk, look for secrets in the back alleys... you simply choose what to do from a list, suffer through boring dialogues, and proceed to grind the next dungeon.

    As if all of this wasn't enough, the game (apparently, the series) forces you to draw your own map as you go along. Words can't describe how aggravating I found that experience. Of course, it's something that real life adventurers would have to do, but it's also the sort of minutia I really don't want to have to deal with in a game. It makes adventuring seem more like a job than, well, an adventure.

    I know there are stat-grinding aficionados out there. For them, this game must be heaven (and the excellent graphics will definitely help). If that's not your case, however, chances are you'll find it a soulless, charmless drag.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews