Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 6, 2014
    90
    The translators and proofreaders have done an excellent job conveying both meaning and emotion through text. The music is cute, and the art is simple and beautiful. This game is so worth its eShop price.
  2. Oct 23, 2013
    80
    Hakuoki: Memories of the Shinsengumi brings the world of Japanese girls’ romance games to English-speaking 3DS owners in a game that’s a fascinating experience into typically uncharted gaming territory.
  3. 80
    It may not provide the technical challenge other video games boast, but for anyone who enjoys a different, more story-centric style, there are few other places to look.
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    It's not a game for everyone, but even those outside of the targeted demographic will treasure Hakuoki if they allow themselves to fall into the story.
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    Hakuoki: Memories of the Shinsengumi is an excellent example of how to pen a visual novel without a horrific female lead, and an intriguing tale to boot. This is a gripping read, with the mystery surrounding Chizuru’s father taking center stage rather than the romance plots.
  6. Mar 7, 2014
    79
    An intense and unique romantic Japanese graphic novel based upon the world of Hakuoki. Not for every player, we guess.
  7. Feb 3, 2014
    70
    The fact that it is a visual novel in the stricter sense of the term, unlike games such as Virtue's Last Reward, which contained much more interactivity than most games of the genre, may put off certain players.
  8. Nov 11, 2013
    70
    Gamers looking to try something new may just find this gem will become their favourite book on the 3DS, but those looking for an adventure wherein they can make meaningful choices may find themselves disappointed in Hakuoki’s rigid structure.
  9. Hypnotically odd. [Dec 2013, p.88]
  10. Dec 25, 2013
    61
    The story is slow and meaningful choices are rare. [Jan 2014, p.83]
  11. Mar 17, 2014
    60
    As laudable as it can be in storytelling and in presenting a solid narrative which gives its players a few clear choices of what to do next, Hakuoki: Memories of the Shinsengumi offers little in terms of gameplay and challenge. By attempting to be a hybrid between a book and a game, it ends up sacrificing interactivity to a level which will put off many players.
  12. Nov 19, 2013
    60
    Hakuoki 3D: Memories of the Shinsugami suits a very particular niche, and it does so with admirable confidence.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    Yes, this game is for a very particular target market. But this target market (at least myself) has been craving for a dating sim with men inYes, this game is for a very particular target market. But this target market (at least myself) has been craving for a dating sim with men in it, *actually* useful vampires and samurai in english! Who can resist a hot samurai male who will protect you from harms way? I for one, simply can't. Art is amazing, character design typical but nonetheless detailed and amazing and the storyline is just really enjoyable.

    8/10 awesome game however not for everyone.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2014
    8
    I've just finished playing one of the story arcs for this game and just started on the second (Have completed HiJikata's route and startedI've just finished playing one of the story arcs for this game and just started on the second (Have completed HiJikata's route and started Saito's) . I found it quirky - very different to what I'd normally play, but ultimately lots of fun, The plot is intriguing and I really loved the characters. The choose your own adventure style play was great and I like that each choice leads you down a radically different path after chapter. Personally, I found the whole thing with the war a bit tedious and would have been happier if the story had just dealt with the Fury corps and kept the story in Kyoto. They over egged the pudding a bit in my opinion.
    If you're expecting actually game play(in all honesty all you do is read text, press A and occasionally make a decision) then this probably isn't the game for you. However I would still highly recommend
    Full Review »