HomeTown Story 3DS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
HomeTown Story Image
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A Tale of Life, Love, and Friendship. Hometown Story takes you to a lush, green village tucked away in the countryside. The shop you inherited has brought you back to your hometown. However, the shop has become run down, and no one wants to even window shop there anymore. Can you turn theA Tale of Life, Love, and Friendship. Hometown Story takes you to a lush, green village tucked away in the countryside. The shop you inherited has brought you back to your hometown. However, the shop has become run down, and no one wants to even window shop there anymore. Can you turn the shop around and even expand it, or is it destined to stay in the red forever? You won't have to go it alone, though. You'll get help from a magical sprite named Pochica, who will help you get the store back up and running, and introduce you to all of the unique characters who reside in the town. The villagers will all change and grow throughout the game, and that person who you thought might be up to no good when you first met them just might have a heart of gold! Your experiences will be completely different from anyone else's. You'll never know what to expect in Hometown Story. [Nintendo]
    Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 8 out of 14
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    60
    Quick to pick up but difficult to master, Hometown Story's a tough sell but will yield an investment of enjoyable, quick play sessions if you're patient.
  2. Oct 22, 2013
    60
    I can't deny Hometown Story has charm with its premise and I love the ideas, but the execution needs work. Owning a shop should be more frantic and rewarding. If the developer, Toybox, can smooth out the rough edges, it may one day match the lure of simulation games like Harvest Moon and Animal Crossing. Sadly, it's not in the same league.
  3. Jun 20, 2014
    50
    Hometown Story’s attempts at setting up an involving store management game end up falling in a tiresome, repetitive and often difficult to understand challenge, where the rules are not clear and where aspects which are logic in everyday life gain a completely illogical dimension in the game. While the beginning may be alluring enough to bring some players in, the game will quickly wear out those with higher expectations.
  4. May 20, 2014
    40
    It's charming, mind you, but it still boggles my mind how Yasuhiro Wada, the mind behind the brilliant Harvest Moon, managed to make this boring a game.
  5. Jul 15, 2014
    40
    Hometown Story is charming on first glance, but there are a lot of problems that overshadow it.
  6. games(TM)
    Jun 28, 2014
    40
    Shows some potential, but ultimately uninspiring. [Issue#149, p.122]
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    20
    To be honest, I have a difficult time even calling Hometown Story a game, as its gameplay mechanics have almost nothing to do with its progression. Without a massive overhaul of how progression in the game works, it would probably have been better served as a visual novel, and even then, it would have been a pretty poor one.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Oct 26, 2013
    7
    This is definitely a game for people who have patience because there isn't much to do in the game. But doing "missions" while exploring theThis is definitely a game for people who have patience because there isn't much to do in the game. But doing "missions" while exploring the area and owning a shop is just enough fun to be considered a good game. Collapse
  2. Jan 31, 2014
    6
    its not as good as the harvest moon games, but it's still fun and addicting. The only problems i have with it is that you'll find yourselfits not as good as the harvest moon games, but it's still fun and addicting. The only problems i have with it is that you'll find yourself running out of things to do and get bored of it, and like everyone else says, the camera really sucks.
    other than that i feel as if it's a very solid game! with a great map and fun characters.
    Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2015
    6
    Este juego es divertido, a principio pensé que era npc simulator y si, este juego es para pasarlo poco a poco y disfrutarlo, mecánicasEste juego es divertido, a principio pensé que era npc simulator y si, este juego es para pasarlo poco a poco y disfrutarlo, mecánicas sencillas y con una historia predecible, hacen de este juego algo disfrutable. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2013
    5
    It is fun and strangely addicting, but the gameplay is seriously lacking. Weird camera angles and controls can get a bit frustrating. AIt is fun and strangely addicting, but the gameplay is seriously lacking. Weird camera angles and controls can get a bit frustrating. A general lapse in interesting characters and dialogue can make this game boring and repetitive. That being said it is charming, and as a die-hard Harvest Moon fan I still happen to enjoy it. However I hope to see improvement in the future if this series keeps up. Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2016
    3
    It's just boring, interaction is minimal, who befriends people by selling them things?! There is no point in talking to them. The only goodIt's just boring, interaction is minimal, who befriends people by selling them things?! There is no point in talking to them. The only good thing is the art, that is the thing that made me buy it but is just plain bad. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2015
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is what hell looks like. Poorly drawn characters, that a seven year old could have done. Terrible, ear destroying 'music' that loops forever. Boring as hell characters that show none of the usual interesting quirks you get from a Harvest Moon or Rune Factory game. This is literally, one of the only games I have ever played that was completely deserving of a two out of ten rating. When the whole games purpose is done as a usual side feature in most other games, you best build a lot of extras around it. Disgusting. I'd rather play the 3DS port of Duck Dynasty. The game could have only been worse, by being completely broken. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2014
    1
    I have never played such a boring game, the quests are inconsequential the gameplay is stale, the "Makers or Harvest Moon" is so misleading,I have never played such a boring game, the quests are inconsequential the gameplay is stale, the "Makers or Harvest Moon" is so misleading, there is no sourcing mechanic like there is in the Harvest Series, whats worse is that it seems to be a Poor mans "Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale", and I paid next to nothing for that! I was upset that Rune Factory 4 wasn't coming out in my region, and this game has made me feel even worse! Expand

See all 9 User Reviews