User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 206 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 206

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    3
    This was a disappointing entry into one of my favorite gaming series right now. Frankly, the series desperately needs to get back onto consoles as these handheld filler games have done nothing but detract from what the original KH and KH 2 did way back in the day. While Birth by Sleep was a good game, this game really let me down in both the story and the mechanics of the game. First ofThis was a disappointing entry into one of my favorite gaming series right now. Frankly, the series desperately needs to get back onto consoles as these handheld filler games have done nothing but detract from what the original KH and KH 2 did way back in the day. While Birth by Sleep was a good game, this game really let me down in both the story and the mechanics of the game. First of all, the Drop system that was implemented here was a huge annoyance. This game probably would have been twice as good as it was, for me, without that one little part of the game. Being forced to switch characters mid-boss fight is beyond stupid and there are other ways you can go about wanting players to play as both Sora and Riku equally than to force them to switch when they don't want too. Lastly, the story has not aged very well. In today's age with games like Bastion where the story really carried the game, this story has lost alot of it's luster. The constant jabbering about Darkness and Light and Friendship makes this seem like a cutesy anime aimed at 10 year olds. It's not longer one of the better stories out there and the fact that they won't release KH 3, which should end the series, really hurts because your just teasing the real fans of the series with crap like this. I'm extremely disappointed with this game because this was one of the 3 games I originally bought my 3DS for and it hurt when I realized it was beyond boring. While some of the classic KH gameplay is still there, real fans of the series will be bothered by how utterly lackluster this game is and the fact that they keep forcing these filler games down our throats to appease us every 2-3 years is insulting. I for one will not play another KH filler game. The next KH game I'll play will be KH 3 because that will be the last hope for the series for me. Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2012
    2
    Buying this was my fault. I simply forgot how much I hate the gameplay of Kingdom Hearts. I actually bought the strategy guide for kh 2 and was determined to get deep into the game, only to regret it forever 10 hours later. The ambiguous nature of the game play and goels and literally constant enemies make this game a total waste of $40. And the 'drop' system will go down as one of theBuying this was my fault. I simply forgot how much I hate the gameplay of Kingdom Hearts. I actually bought the strategy guide for kh 2 and was determined to get deep into the game, only to regret it forever 10 hours later. The ambiguous nature of the game play and goels and literally constant enemies make this game a total waste of $40. And the 'drop' system will go down as one of the stupidest ideas I've ever seen in a videogame. The music, however, is amazing. I like it's dedication to old style rpg music. I'll never buy another kingdom hearts. Collapse
  3. dz9
    Nov 30, 2012
    4
    Coming into this game as a true KH fan, I was deeply disappointed in this performance. Let's start with the good, KH 3D brings the stunning presentation the series is known for onto the 3DS. The gameplay, although a double-sided sword, is the same from Birth By Sleep. That's where the good ends however, the new touch screen integration feel either tacked on, annoying, or brokenComing into this game as a true KH fan, I was deeply disappointed in this performance. Let's start with the good, KH 3D brings the stunning presentation the series is known for onto the 3DS. The gameplay, although a double-sided sword, is the same from Birth By Sleep. That's where the good ends however, the new touch screen integration feel either tacked on, annoying, or broken completely. The new pet system feels forced and becomes tedious quickly. However the worst aspect of this game is the story, KH1 kicked the series off in a simplistic touching nostalgic manner while only getting more confusing and con deluded as the series has progressed. KH 3D seems to have taken a story which has already seemed to have lingered on past its due date, and kicks it off a cliff. Another detriment to the story is the way it's told, being halfway through the game, I still didn't know why the game existed and the payoff at the end could've just been explained in a short cutscene in KH3. Birth By Sleep's successful gameplay returns in KH 3D but due to the layout of the 3DS's controls as compared to the PSP's, you have to completely stop moving in order to control the D-Pad to scroll to your healing/attack powers which will result in game over more than once. (May be better on 3DS XL). The Good: Presentation, voice acting, and gameplay. The bad: Confusingly told uninspired story, gameplay, touch screen controls, and the new pet system. In the End: Only hardcore fans should pick up this game, they will be the only ones that can bare the first half of the story. Casual fans and newcomers should stay away completely. Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2012
    0
    Buying this was my fault. I simply forgot how much I hate the gameplay of Kingdom Hearts. I actually bought the strategy guide for kh 2 and was determined to get deep into the game, only to regret it forever 10 hours later. The ambiguous nature of the game play and goels and literally constant enemies make this game a total waste of $40. And the 'drop' system will go down as one of theBuying this was my fault. I simply forgot how much I hate the gameplay of Kingdom Hearts. I actually bought the strategy guide for kh 2 and was determined to get deep into the game, only to regret it forever 10 hours later. The ambiguous nature of the game play and goels and literally constant enemies make this game a total waste of $40. And the 'drop' system will go down as one of the stupidest ideas I've ever seen in a videogame. The music, however, is amazing. I like it's dedication to old style rpg music. I'll never buy another kingdom hearts. Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    60
    A solid action RPG with tons of great mechanics. However, the mechanics have been over-combined, the game is very difficult and the controls should have been tuned up.
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    90
    With it's seventh main game, the Kingdom Hearts-franchise switches things up quite a bit, making room for some exciting new elements, like the flow motion and the including of characters from The World Ends With You. At the same time it manages to keep things like they have been for the past six games, with plenty of beautiful Disney-worlds, great characters and a good mix of action and roleplaying.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    80
    Although the game is more an action-adventure than an RPG, this iteration of the Kingdom Hearts franchise is by far the best pocket adaptation yet. It ties all the loose ends, so that the Kingdom Hearts 3 can have a fresh start. [Sept 2012]