Kirby: Triple Deluxe 3DS

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
Buy On
  1. Jun 25, 2014
    70
    Without doing anything particularly innovative or great, this adventure of the beloved Kirby is a quite good platformer, ideal for your summer vacation with your 3DS.
  2. games(TM)
    Jun 3, 2014
    70
    This is a high-quality platformer packed with variety - if you don't mind a pushover, you'll find plenty to like. [Issue#148, p.119]
  3. May 19, 2014
    70
    We really enjoyed Kirby Triple Deluxe, even though it only kept us entertained for six hours. It's pretty and charming and has a few fun extra background puzzles. It's just a shame that it's so very easy.
  4. 70
    It's not quite what Kirby deserved. But Triple Deluxe is still well worth the two or three carelessly entertained afternoons between feathery clouds and cotton candy.
  5. Apr 29, 2014
    70
    Despite the main story mode being a bit too easy for its own good, Kirby: Triple Deluxe is still one of the best entries in the series. The combination of old and new abilities will entertain fans young and old, and the two extra mini-games are worth returning to, an ideal cure to the forthcoming summertime blues.
  6. Apr 28, 2014
    70
    The versatility of the Kirby franchise is only surpassed by Kirby's capacity to absorb enemies and their respective abilities. Triple Deluxe, however, does not go all the way through and is rather an example of a classic Kirby game transplanted to the 3DS. Level design starts to show some fatigue but Kirby and his enemies are as delightful as ever in their colourful ways and 3D depth perception effects.
  7. Apr 28, 2014
    70
    Kirby: Triple Deluxe is a great package with two entertaining side games to complement the super-slick platforming quest. With a stronger final quarter, this would be essential.
  8. Apr 28, 2014
    70
    It won’t blow anyone away, but it’s another decent Kirby game, with smart levels, puzzles and unlockables that’ll keep the Kirby Hardcore happy. If the Kirby Hardcore exists. Don’t Google that.
  9. Apr 28, 2014
    70
    One of the best Kirby games so far, although it still suffers from all the series’ usual faults – including the nagging concern that the whole concept could be so much more.
  10. Apr 28, 2014
    70
    As it is, his 3DS debut is too uneven to be essential, but too charming for fans to miss.
  11. Apr 28, 2014
    70
    Kirby Triple Deluxe is a pleasant package that doesn’t push the envelope very far.
  12. May 2, 2014
    60
    It doesn't matter if this game looks great, it's a dull experience nevertheless, disguised with gimmicks such as jumps between foreground and background. The minigames included don't add up much to the experience. When you have so many quality platformers on the 3DS, it's hard to find a good reason to play this one.
  13. Apr 29, 2014
    60
    It makes the best argument in favor of the 3DS's defining feature since Super Mario 3D World.
  14. Apr 28, 2014
    60
    Kirby Triple Deluxe may look great and has some clever ideas for how to use 3D, but falls into a rut of simple platforming and puzzles that rarely require any thought or skill. I admire that it tries to give us more powers and abilities to play with than ever before, but that empowerment shouldn’t come at the expense of any real difficulty.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 195 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. May 6, 2014
    10
    This game is an absolute joy. It's got the charm and wonder of games like K64 and Epic Yarn, without sacrificing the awesome movesets theThis game is an absolute joy. It's got the charm and wonder of games like K64 and Epic Yarn, without sacrificing the awesome movesets the classic Kirby Super Star introduced. It's simply an enjoyable experience. It takes what Return to Dreamland attempted but really polishes the gameplay elements. Everything melds a lot more harmoniously in this game. The Extra fighter mode is frantic and fun. A good way to ease a Smash appetite a bit until the actual game comes out. You've got unlockable modes that provide some more remix of the main game experience, and extra harder boss rush. Plenty of keychains to collect and enjoyable enough I can see myself replaying it. the MUSIC IS AWESOME. It's also the best looking game on the 3DS hands down. It's lush, uses the 3D amazingly, and with the added layers, really enhances some of the exploration and collection. Kirby games are entry level titles but after 22 years, it's easy to see why he still appeals to so many, young and old.

    The Kirby franchise's mission is that it's completion be accomplished by anyone. It's was to be a great entry level title in an era of really brutal and often non-welcoming NES and gameboy titles. It was pretty revolutionary at the time. However players of all skill levels have enjoyed the series immensely. Kirby games manage to be engaging regardless of their ease for many people. Their charming worlds, the fun and quirky nature of Kirby's powers, and the high quality of it's visuals and music make gamers happy. Kirby really helped me enjoy gaming as a kid. At the time I felt Dreamland was a lot longer and harder than it actually was. Now I can beat the original in 5 minutes top. Still it gave me the confidence to play more single player games on my own. Now I'm a Monster Hunter fanatic and have played a slew of much harder titles, but I still adore the pink puff ball. As a huge fan, I'd say Kirby's Triple Deluxe is amongst my favorite Kirby games. It stand tall and proud beside the Kirby Super Star classic, in my heart.
    Full Review »
  2. May 3, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Kirby Triple Deluxe is a great 3DS game and shows what the system is capable of. Although the game's main story might be too short, (around 7-8 hours collecting all sun stones) the other game modes make the game even longer and worth it, such as Dedede Tour, where you play all 6 Worlds in a short amount of time as King Dedede, and a boss rush mode. Kirby Fighters is a fun diversion where you get to choose one of 10 powerups and duke it out with other Kirby's. You can play a single-player esque campaign or play with your friends, local or download play. Dedede's Drum Dash is a really tricky minigame that has you controlling King Dedede bouncing to the rhythm. It is awkward to control, but the music is great though. Speaking of music, the soundtrack is absolutely amazing, with the boss themes being standout examples. The bosses in this game are outstandingly creative, with Flowery Woods, the first boss in the game, giving a really good impression. Although slightly too easy, Kirby Triple Deluxe is a fun platformer with outstanding music and lots of extra content to make this worth a purchase. Full Review »
  3. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    I bought my 3ds xl just for some games like m3hu bravely default zelda,monster hunter 4 ultimate (2015) and KIRBY TRIPLE deluxe. ( I'd seenI bought my 3ds xl just for some games like m3hu bravely default zelda,monster hunter 4 ultimate (2015) and KIRBY TRIPLE deluxe. ( I'd seen some trailers many months ago and I definitely wanted this game). After I bought it I play it every day,I consider it a "relax and delighting moment" . Very coloured and delightful graphic,which make you addicted to the game,til you finish it. Very very great game, a must have for 3ds owners. great job hal. Full Review »