Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. Apr 6, 2011
    70
    There is no question that many may likely enjoy this game; however, do not expect the complete Madden experience we have come to take for granted.
  2. Apr 13, 2011
    60
    So EA didn't totally drop the ball; this offering just doesn't live up to the high standards we've come to expect from the Madden name. [April 2011, p.77]
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    60
    In an era where millions of football fans obsess over stats, build fantasy teams, and even tune in to watch NFL combine drills, I'm not sure what audience EA is targeting by stripping Madden of its core multiplayer and franchise mode features. Nintendo handhelds may not always attract hardcore gamers, but that doesn't mean football fans who own the devices don't want a fully featured game.
  4. 60
    Madden NFL Football isn't a bad game; it's just empty. The content that's there is polished, but there just isn't a lot of it.
  5. Mar 31, 2011
    55
    The lack of features, especially multi-player, really hurts the game.
  6. Mar 28, 2011
    55
    I'm not saying Madden's first outing on the spanking new 3DS platform doesn't deserve any attention but for a first shot, it's certainly a disappointment. Rushed? It sure has all symptoms.
  7. Mar 28, 2011
    52
    Feels like an over-long demo, and its $40 price tag is a hard thing to swallow for the amount of features that are present in the game.
  8. Mar 30, 2011
    51
    It's a bare minimum situation that will disappoint even the most desperate player. We have to go back a long way to remember a Madden game that offered so little.
  9. Apr 4, 2011
    50
    Everything about Madden 3DS is curious, from its timing (released well after the end of the NFL season) to its design (no multiplayer, no franchise) to its price ($40 when it should be half that). Our cynical side thinks it's an attempt to cash in on the excitement of a new handheld device, while our naïve side prefers to think of it as an honest attempt at meeting a deadline and having to prioritize.
  10. Mar 31, 2011
    50
    The core gameplay is fundamentally solid and filled with potential, but it seems like the developers gave up at halftime instead of pushing through to the end. The end result is a featureless title that feels like a demo of things to come instead of a full $40 retail release, and the lack of multiplayer is a glaring oversight.
  11. Mar 24, 2011
    50
    I was most disturbed by the game's complete lack of multiplayer functionality, and the inexcusable state of its season mode, the two things that are the biggest draws in today's Madden franchise. It should go without saying that you should pass on this rushed iteration of Madden.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jan 12, 2013
    6
    The game is ok however the game was just too simple and didn't have many features (multiplayer and franchise mode) that the Madden games areThe game is ok however the game was just too simple and didn't have many features (multiplayer and franchise mode) that the Madden games are known for. Full Review »
  2. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    It's a decent football offering for the 3DS. It kind of sucks that there is not a multiplayer or online option. As well, the AI is not thatIt's a decent football offering for the 3DS. It kind of sucks that there is not a multiplayer or online option. As well, the AI is not that difficult to defeat even on the most difficult setting., if you are just looking to kill some time and you are a madden fan, it is fun. I would pick it up as a used game though. Full Review »
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    7
    this is a pretty good lil football game for on the go as a launch game im a tad more forgiving then most it still its fun for a play eventhis is a pretty good lil football game for on the go as a launch game im a tad more forgiving then most it still its fun for a play even though it has no online franchice or fantasy draft options Full Review »