Mario Party: Island Tour Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features seven different game boards, each with its own set of rules. The game offers 81 new mini-games that test speed, concentration and luck. In addition to the board game elements, players are be able to play mini-games exclusively or try their hands at a 30-floor tower climb, AR Card games and StreetPass battles. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 47
  2. Negative: 6 out of 47
  1. 85
    A fantastic addition for the 3DS. The graphics are crisp and utilize 3D well, while the music fits each game and board without becoming monotonous. Every mode and board is easy to pick up and play with anyone, anytime.. Island Tour is a perfect balance of old and new that keeps the game fresh with playing styles to meet every need.
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    70
    It was nice to have a brief but satisfying match while out and about.
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    65
    Nintendo is a master at finding a specific target audience and offer them exactly what they want, sometimes even with a little less quality than usual. Mario Party: Island Tour does just that, speaking to the more casual audience among the owners of Nintendo 3DS.
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    Board game enthusiasts will find themselves bored quickly, the average player will only break it out when there are friends around—which is the point, and I guess with friends the skill-based games aren’t too bad—and Party aficionados will be able to scratch that virtual itch.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    58
    This doesn’t hold up even compared to previous portable Mario Party titles, and it’s one of the few Nintendo published titles you can safely skip this holiday season.
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    50
    One Person doesn't make a party, and when trying to make my friends play this with me they all instantly wanna switch to Mario Party 9 instead.
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, no amount of options can overcome the inane gameplay. I’ve defended the series in the past as harmless, dumb fun, but Island Tour is wholly unenjoyable.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 7 out of 23
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mario Party: Island Tour isn't perfect, as is any Mario Party game, but I feel like it stands up to its console competitors. The minigames are fun, the boards are unique, and the multiplayer is amazing. The only downside is Bowser's Tower. It ultimately sullied my single-player experience as I found out that it doesn't really end. I have climbed the tower seven times now, and each time I find my character, Toad, being trolled by Bowser, saying that the Bowser I defeated was a decoy, and then punching me off the tower. It gets very annoying, and I have yet to see a definite storyline or a plausible ending. Maybe if I use a different character? If someone has a way to see a different ending, do tell me.

    Overall, Mario Party: Island Tour is charming, fun, and a very good time to be had. Too bad Bowser had to ruin it from being the best handheld installment. 8.75/10
    Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    Maybe the minigames aren't the most creative but its fun to play with friends! The story isn't the main point of Mario parties anyways so no need to complain about that. The only reason this isn't a ten is because there is no regular party mode with stars and coins. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    If your looking for the funnest Mario Party this could be the best decision but keep in mind it's no longer the same formula as one through eight and that could really hurt it but it doesn't the game feels fresh and the controls are well put together similar to Mario Party 9. This time around Mario and the crew set off to party across 7 different unique boards each having it's own set of rules with one of them needing at least three human players to play which isn't that fair considering not all of us have family or friends with a 3ds. Party mode isn't the only mode there is to play there's also the "story"mode where you climb up a tower defeating bubble clones Bowser created to advance to the next floor. Another mode is Mini-game mode which is like the previous games there's free-play, time-attack,and Hot air jinx where the first player to get there hot air balloon to the top is declared the winner.On the other hand the mini-games are beautiful probably the best up to date. It's not the traditional Mario Party you grew up with but it's worth a shot. That being said I'm giving Mario Party Island tour a 9/10 Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2014
    7
    I don't get the hate for the Mario party games, i'm actually kind of a fan of them. They might not be as good as the Super Mario Galaxy games but they are still a lot of fun, especially with a lot of people playing with you. This Mario Party title succeeds at what I wanted good new mini games and a added multiplier that is a great add on. It is a improvement on Mario Party DS. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    7
    Mario Party Island Tour is an OK game. this game could be a lot better. Nintendo you rushed this game for sure I know this is not on a console but there is no excuse. There is no online which is just stupid. 1 player mode is not that great and is very short. also do not buy this game unless you have 3 other friends. There is also not many characters only 10 with only 1 unlockable. I have almost all the Mario Party games and this game is in the middle. Nintendo stop trying to change Mario Party they are getting worse keep it like the old ones. The mini games are fun for the most part but some are boring. I hope the next Mario Party is a lot better with some bigger improvements. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2014
    6
    Mario Party: Island Tour is an enjoyable game, but I find it based too much on luck. The minigames are somewhat short and are not Nintendo quality. The boards are short and stray too far away from the classic Mario Party experience. I was hoping Nintendo would make Island Tour a classic Mario Party game where you collect stars and coins but they decided to change that again and make something totally different and in my opinion, not as good. For the next Mario Party game, Nintendo should go back and make a proper Mario Party game. I probably wouldn't mind if they released some DLC for Island Tour with a more classic Mario Party board. I would totally buy that! The sound effects and music are also the same ones from Mario Party 9 so if you've played that game before, you'll get tired of the same sound effects and music quickly. This Mario Party game also seems to give too many hints and tutorials (ex. Yellow Toad talks to you and gives you hints every turn). Overall, Mario Party: Island Tour is not a bad game but is not what I was expecting from a Nintendo Mario Party game. It is good for a good pick-up-and-play and does have some fun minigames. Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2014
    0
    I usually encourage Nintendo to try new things, but the past 2 Mario Party games have been dreadful. They don't even offer to have the old school mode, its like Mario Party 9 but worse, its literally boring, don't buy it. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews