Mario Tennis Open 3DS

Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
Buy On
  1. Games Master UK
    May 20, 2012
    87
    Entertaining tennis action that proves both challenging and fun. Best played with friends. [July 2012, p.76]
  2. May 17, 2012
    83
    This might not be the heftiest title in the 3DS line-up content wise, but there's still plenty of fun to be had here.
  3. May 30, 2012
    82
    Mario Tennis Open doesn't redefine the genre completely, but it does a lot of things right. The controls are easily learned and in addition there are some minigames and unlockable content. It makes use of the 3DS possibilities and so Mario Tennis Open is a must have for all sport fans of Mario & Co.
  4. May 16, 2012
    81
    Mario Tennis Open's single player mode is fun for a few hours, but it will ultimately leave you wanting more. Thankfully, the multiplayer mode with its online functionality will keep you coming back well after you've plowed through the main course.
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    80
    Thanks to its motion control, online multiplayer, system of tournaments and its minigames this sport title that's been fairly executed is going to entertain you for a very long time.
  6. May 25, 2012
    80
    Like any title starring the famous plumber, Mario Tennis Open gathers all the impressive bases set by Nintendo. The absence of an RPG mode that fans were waiting for, will be difficult for Big N to explain, as much as the online features that only propose classic meetings to enjoy with friends. However, these minor problems are not enough to forget how good the gameplay is compared to the Gamecube version of the IP, Mario Tennis Open offering strictly the best. A newcomer Nintendo can easily rely on.
  7. May 25, 2012
    80
    With local or online play, and StreetPass features, the multiplayer side of Mario Tennis Open rivals, at last, the one of the home console versions. Sure, the usual RPG side we had on the portable versions didn't make the cut, thus diminishing the quality of the solo mode to some extent, but the AI quality and the collection side make up for it. With accessible yet deep gameplay, Mario Tennis will appeal to all Tennis fans.
  8. Nintendo Gamer
    May 25, 2012
    80
    The special moves might be a tad too powerful, but otherwise the plumber serves up a well-aimed slice of sporting fun. [June 2012, p.94]
  9. May 21, 2012
    80
    Although the special modes tire after a few dozen serves and the modes are a little shallow, despite the constant stream of unlockables, Mario and friends are still a blast to play with and letting your Mii join in on the fun is a natural evolution for the roster. As a package, Mario Tennis Open isn't a killer app, but it's another must-have title for 3DS owners.
  10. May 18, 2012
    80
    While Mario Tennis Open is one of the shallowest Nintendo sports games we've seen, it's still highly enjoyable, well-polished and attractive, with Nintendo once again proving that it's the master of glasses free 3D. Worth a look for solo players, and definitely a must buy for multiplayer.
  11. May 16, 2012
    80
    For the first time in series history, Mario Tennis Open offers full online multiplayer – both singles and (impressively) doubles. It also has local wireless multiplayer. Based on my experience, both modes work smoothly. This isn't the tennis revolution that some might have hoped for, but it's a solid new feature in a franchise that's built its popularity on slow, incremental improvement.
  12. This is no-frills Mario Tennis then, as undiluted and distilled as the series has been perhaps since the Virtual Boy. [June 2012, p.97]
  13. May 21, 2012
    79
    The new Mario Tennis Open continues with his famous and funny arcade style. In addition you must try the multiplayer mode, is the best one in that videogame. On the other hand, the single-player mode is too short, but you can enjoy playing four different minigames that are available. In conclusion, it is just the newest Nintendo sports game.
  14. May 21, 2012
    77
    Mario Tennis Open is a great addition both to the Mario Tennis franchise and Nintendo 3DS line up… but it´s not a deep experience in single player.
  15. Aug 2, 2012
    75
    Mario Tennis Open feels a bit lifeless at first, simply because it doesn't give any other incentive for playing than to keep unlocking things and to just play more tennis.
  16. May 29, 2012
    75
    Mario Tennis Open Series continues the tradition with a fun and enjoyable new chapter. Sadly, there is only a bit of innovation.
  17. May 24, 2012
    75
    The first couple of difficulty levels are complete pushovers, so anyone with previous experience should jump to the Hard difficulty level. Then the game comes down to accurately predicting opponents and taking advantage of their weaknesses. (Luigi is atrocious at returning "fish tile" power shots.) As with most games like these, maatching skills against computer-controlled opponents takes a backseat to human competition. Either way, Mario Tennis Open is pleasant, though it seems to lack any addictive extras or some hook to make it addictive.
  18. 75
    It might not hold a candle to the handheld Mario Tennis games in the Game Boy lineage, but Mario Tennis Open is a still great game that is sadly hampered by a small feature set and harebrained online.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 5 out of 33
  1. May 26, 2012
    5
    Two of the previous Mario Tennis titles (the GBA one and the GC one) are firmly on my list over the 50 best games of all time. That shouldTwo of the previous Mario Tennis titles (the GBA one and the GC one) are firmly on my list over the 50 best games of all time. That should give you an idea of how much I love this series, and how much I was looking forward to playing this game. But sadly, this is the biggest Nintendo disappointment I've had since Wave Race: Blue Storm. The only thing you really need to know about this game is that the players are randomly dealt super shots. So-called "chance areas" pop up randomly on the court, and if you stand in that circle when hitting the ball, you'll pull off a super shot. So every match I've played both offline and online has pretty much been a game of luck, where the person who gets the smash shot first wins that point. It's more about hoping you get the right areas before your opponent does, than about actually setting up your own shots with skill. And it ruins the game for me. Now, there are som redeeming qualities about the game. For example, the mini games are alright. And collecting better gear is quite addictive since you really notice the difference when you've made a big upgrade. You need to actually play the game in order to unlock them, though. And playing the game just isn't that much fun. Mario Tennis just went from Mario Kart competition, to Mario Party competition. And as long as you care about winning, it won't be much fun at all. You'll just become irritated when your opponent gets his/hers third smash circle in a row, while you get nothing. And when you're the one getting the smash circle, winning isn't satisfying since you know it's just luck and random chance. Mario Tennis Open is a huge disappointment, for sure. Full Review »
  2. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    i feel people are being far to harsh to this game, don't trust the critics as it seems like they only played it a couple of days. I've had thei feel people are being far to harsh to this game, don't trust the critics as it seems like they only played it a couple of days. I've had the game over a month now and i'm still playing everyday online, it plays like the n64 game which i loved , i will admit if you don't have online it would get boring really fast , but if your online this one could last you years, the amount of tactics you have to go through to beat the best is serious stuff.
    overall if your online 10/10 if your not online and don't have friends to play skip it as the single player is only a load tournaments 5/10.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 23, 2012
    5
    Nintendo's latest entry in the mario tennis is quite disappointing. the game is very light on content, i feel that nintendo made the gameplayNintendo's latest entry in the mario tennis is quite disappointing. the game is very light on content, i feel that nintendo made the gameplay a little to simplistic for experienced players, but very welcoming no newbies. but overtime the game gets way too repetitive due to the lack of extra game modes. Full Review »